Rail transportation safety investigation R19H0021

The TSB has completed this investigation. The report was published on 8 April 2020.

Table of contents

Rolling stock collision with object and employee injury

VIA Rail Canada Inc.
Train No. 62/52
Mile 240.44, Kingston Subdivision
Brighton, Ontario

View final report

The occurrence

On 02 February 2019, at 1007 Eastern Standard Time, VIA Rail Canada Inc. passenger train 62/52, with 302 passengers on board, was proceeding eastward at about 95 mph on the north track of the Kingston Subdivision when the train experienced a train-initiated emergency brake application near Brighton, Ontario (Mile 240.8). An inspection determined that the train had passed over track maintenance material placed between the rails. Some tie plates and ballast became airborne, damaged the train and struck a nearby Canadian National Railway Company engineering hi-rail vehicle. There were no injuries to the crew or passengers aboard the train, but an employee seated in the hi-rail vehicle was seriously injured. A fuel tank on one of the locomotives was punctured and released about 1600 gallons of diesel fuel.


Safety communication

2019-03-25

Rail Safety Advisory Letter 617-03/19: VIA trains coming into contact with track materials placed between the rails in preparation for track work


Media materials

News release

2020-04-08

TSB investigation highlights risks of leaving track maintenance materials between rails while passenger trains are in operation
Read the news release


Investigation information

Map showing the location of the occurrence


Investigator-in-charge

Photo of Glen Pilon

Glen Pilon has been with the TSB since 2008 as Technical Coordinator and investigator at the TSB Head Office in Gatineau, Quebec. He has been the investigator-in-charge of a number of rail accident investigations and has acted as train operations expert on many others. Mr. Pilon worked for the Ottawa Valley Railway (OVR) from 1996 until 2008 as locomotive engineer and safety officer and with the Canadian Pacific Railway (CP) from 1987 until 1996 in operations as trainman and conductor.


Class of investigation

This is a class 3 investigation. These investigations analyze a small number of safety issues, and may result in recommendations. Class 3 investigations are generally completed within 450 days. For more information, see the Policy on Occurrence Classification.

TSB investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Date modified:

Enquête sur la sécurité du transport ferroviaire R19H0021

Le BST a terminé cette enquête. Le rapport a été publié le 8 avril 2020.

Table des matières

Collision entre du matériel roulant et un objet et blessure à un employé

VIA Rail Canada Inc.
Train no 62/52
Point milliaire 240,44, subdivision de Kingston
Brighton (Ontario)

Voir le rapport final

L'événement

Le , à 10 h 07, heure normale de l’Est, le train de voyageurs 62/52 de VIA Rail Canada Inc. circulait vers l’est à environ 95 mi/h sur la voie nord de la subdivision de Kingston avec 302 voyageurs à son bord, lorsqu’un freinage d’urgence provenant de la conduite générale s’est produit au point milliaire 240,8 près de Brighton (Ontario). Une inspection a permis de constater que le train était passé par-dessus du matériel d’entretien de la voie déposé entre les rails. Des selles de rail et du ballast ont été projetés, ont endommagé le train et ont heurté un véhicule rail-route du service Ingénierie de la Compagnie des chemins de fer nationaux du Canada (CN) à proximité. L’équipe et les voyageurs du train n’ont pas subi de blessures, mais un employé à bord du véhicule rail-route a été grièvement blessé. Le réservoir de carburant de l’une des locomotives a été perforé et a rejeté quelque 1600 litres de carburant diesel.


Communications en matière de sécurité

Avis de sécurité

2019-03-25

Avis de sécurité ferroviaire – 03/19 : Contact entre des trains VIA et du matériel de voie déposé entre les rails en prévision de travaux d’entretien de la voie


Ressources pour les médias

Communiqué de presse

2020-04-08

Une enquête du BST met en évidence les dangers posés par le matériel d’entretien de la voie laissé entre les rails pendant que des trains de passagers circulent
Lire le communiqué de presse



Informations d'enquête

Carte de la région


Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Glen Pilon

Glen Pilon s’est joint au BST en 2008 à titre d'enquêteur/coordinateur technique à l'Administration centrale du BST à Gatineau, au Québec. Au cours de sa carrière au BST, il a agi à titre d'enquêteur désigné dans le cadre de 4 enquêtes ferroviaires et à titre d'expert en opérations ferroviaires dans le cadre de nombreuses autres. Avant de se joindre au BST, M. Pilon a travaillé au Chemin de fer Ottawa Valley Railway (OVR) de 1996 à 2008 comme mécanicien de locomotive et gestionnaire de sécurité. Il a aussi travaillé au Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique (CFCP) de 1987 à 1996 comme aiguilleur et chef de train.


Catégorie de l’enquête

Cette enquête est une enquête de catégorie 3. Dans le cadre de ces enquêtes, on analyse un petit nombre de problèmes de sécurité. Parfois, ces enquêtes donnent lieu à des recommandations. Les enquêtes de catégorie 3 se concluent généralement en 450 jours. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la Politique de classification des événements.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Date de modification: