Rail transportation safety investigation R17H0015

Update: The TSB has completed this investigation. The report was published on 23 February 2018.

Table of contents

Crossing collision

Canadian Pacific Railway
Freight train 142-12
Mile 121.36, Belleville Subdivision
Colborne, Ontario

View final report

The occurrence

On , at about 0732 Eastern Standard Time, Canadian Pacific Railway freight train 142-12, travelling eastward on the Belleville Subdivision, struck a school bus that was immobilized at the Town Line Road public crossing at Mile 121.36 of the Belleville Subdivision, near Colborne, Ontario. The crossing was equipped with flashing lights and a bell. Prior to the collision, the school bus driver and 2 occupants exited the bus and were standing a safe distance away. The bus and the signal mast on the north side were destroyed. The locomotive sustained minor damage. There were no injuries.

Media materials

News releases

2018-02-23

A combination of factors played a role in 2017 crossing collision between a school bus and a train near Colborne, Ontario
Read the news release

Deployment notice

2017-02-13

TSB deploys a team of investigators following a railway crossing accident near Colborne, Ontario

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) is deploying a team of investigators following a railway crossing accident near Colborne, Ontario. The TSB is gathering information and assessing the occurrence.


Investigation information

Map showing the location of the occurrence


Investigator-in-charge

Photo of Ken Miller

Ken Miller joined the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) in 2002 and has been a senior investigator with the Rail and Pipeline Investigations Branch since 2004. During that time he has participated in over 40 investigations while also performing the duties of standards and performance specialist.

Before joining the TSB, Mr. Miller worked for consulting companies in the resource sector providing geological expertise. In this capacity, he was responsible for the development, management and successful completion of exploration projects.

Mr. Miller's education credentials include a Bachelor of Science degree in Geological Sciences from Queen's University in Kingston, Ontario, and a Masters of Business Administration degree from the University of Toronto, Ontario.


  Download high-resolution photos from the TSB Flickr page.

Class of investigation

This is a class 3 investigation. These investigations analyze a small number of safety issues, and may result in recommendations. Class 3 investigations are generally completed within 450 days. For more information, see the Policy on Occurrence Classification.

TSB investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Date modified:

Rapport d’enquête sur la sécurité du transport ferroviaire R17H0015

Mise à jour : Le BST a terminé cette enquête. Le rapport a été publié le 23 février 2018.

Table des matières

Collision à un passage à niveau

Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique
Train de marchandises 142-12
Point milliaire 121,36, subdivision de Belleville
Colborne (Ontario)

Voir le rapport final

L'événement

Le , vers 7 h 32 (heure normale de l'Est), le train de marchandises 142-12 du Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique, circulant vers l'est, a heurté un autobus scolaire immobilisé au passage à niveau public du chemin Town Line au point milliaire 121,36 de la subdivision de Belleville, près de Colborne (Ontario). Ce passage à niveau était muni de feux clignotants et d'une sonnerie. Le conducteur et les 2 passagers avaient quitté l'autobus scolaire et se trouvaient à une distance sécuritaire au moment de la collision. L'autobus et le mât de signalisation du côté nord ont été détruits. La locomotive a subi des dommages mineurs. Il n'y a pas eu de blessés.


Ressources pour les médias

Communiqué de presse

2018-02-23

Plusieurs facteurs en cause dans la collision entre un autobus scolaire et un train à un passage à niveau près de Colborne (Ontario) en 2017
Lire le communiqué de presse

Avis de déploiement

2017-02-13

Le BST envoie une équipe d’enquêteurs suite à un accident à un passage à niveau près de Colborne (Ontario)

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) envoie une équipe d'enquêteurs suite à un accident à un passage à niveau près de Colborne (Ontario). Le BST recueillera des informations et évaluera l'événement.


Informations d'enquête

Carte de la région


Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Ken Miller

Ken Miller s'est joint au Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) en 2002 et, en 2004, il a été nommé au poste d'enquêteur principal pour la Direction des enquêtes (rail et pipeline). Durant cette période, il a pris part à plus de 40 enquêtes en accomplissant également les fonctions de spécialiste de la performance et des normes.

Avant de se joindre au BST, M. Miller a travaillé pour des sociétés d'experts-conseils dans le secteur des ressources, offrant une expertise géologique. Dans le cadre de ses fonctions, il était en charge de l'élaboration, de la gestion et de la réalisation de projets d'exploration.

M. Miller est notamment titulaire d'un baccalauréat ès sciences (sciences de la Terre) de l'Université Queen's de Kingston, en Ontario, et d'une maîtrise en administration des affaires de l'Université de Toronto, en Ontario.


  Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Catégorie de l’enquête

Cette enquête est une enquête de catégorie 3. Dans le cadre de ces enquêtes, on analyse un petit nombre de problèmes de sécurité. Parfois, ces enquêtes donnent lieu à des recommandations. Les enquêtes de catégorie 3 se concluent généralement en 450 jours. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la Politique de classification des événements.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Date de modification: