Rail transportation safety investigation R17C0074

Update: The TSB has completed this investigation. The report was published on 28 March 2018.

Table of contents

Main-track derailment

Canadian Pacific Railway
Freight train 603-230
Mile 26.4, Maple Creek Subdivision
Antelope, Saskatchewan

View final report

The occurrence

On 3 October 2017, a Canadian Pacific Railway train heading west experienced an undesired emergency brake application at Mile 26 of the Maple Creek subdivision near Antelope, Saskatchewan. During the occurrence 37 cars derailed and piled up along the right of way with about 1000 ft. of track damage. There were no injuries, and no dangerous goods were involved.

Media materials

News release

2018-03-28

Investigation report: Main-track derailment near Antelope, Saskatchewan, October 2017
Read the news release

Deployment notice

2017-10-04

TSB deploys a team of investigators to a train derailment near Swift Current, Saskatchewan

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) is deploying a team of investigators to the site of a train derailment near Swift Current, Saskatchewan. The TSB will gather information and assess the occurrence.


Investigation information

Map showing the location of the occurrence


Investigator-in-charge

Photo of James Carmichael

James Carmichael has been with the Transportation Board of Canada (TSB) in the Railway/Pipeline Investigations Branch since 2008. During his time at the TSB he has been a key investigator in a number of investigations in Western Canada.

Before joining the TSB, Mr. Carmichael held various mechanical positions with four separate railroads. At British Columbia Railway (BCR) from 1980 to 2004, Mr. Carmichael gained considerable experience in the mechanical field; he worked as a carman and progressed into a management role as general supervisor in the Car Department. Over the next 4 years Mr. Carmichael worked for CN Rail and CP Rail as a mechanical supervisor. He was also regional manager for Mechanical with OmniTRAX's Carlton Trail, Hudson Bay, and Okanagan Valley Railroads. He holds certifications as a hazardous materials technician and tank car specialist and was a member of BCR's Emergency Response Team. Mr. Carmichael lives in Calgary, Alberta.


Photos


  Download high-resolution photos from the TSB Flickr page.

Class of investigation

This is a class 3 investigation. These investigations analyze a small number of safety issues, and may result in recommendations. Class 3 investigations are generally completed within 450 days. For more information, see the Policy on Occurrence Classification.

TSB investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Date modified:

Rapport d’enquête sur la sécurité du transport ferroviaire R17C0074

Table des matières

Déraillement en voie principale

Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique
Train de marchandises 603-230
Point milliaire 26,4, subdivision de Maple Creek
Antelope (Saskatchewan)

Voir le rapport final

L'événement

Le , un train du Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique se dirigeait vers l'ouest lorsqu'est survenu un freinage d'urgence intempestif au point milliaire 26 de la subdivision de Maple Creek, près d'Antelope (Saskatchewan). Lors de l'événement 37 wagons ont déraillé et se sont empilés le long de l'emprise. La voie a été endommagée sur environ 1000 pieds. Il n'y a eu aucun blessé, et aucune marchandise dangereuse n'a été mise en cause.


Ressources pour les médias

Communiqué de presse

2018-03-28

Rapport d'enquête : Déraillement sur la voie principale près de Antelope (Saskatchewan), en octobre 2017
Lire le communiqué de presse

Avis de déploiement

2017-10-04

Le BST envoie une équipe d’enquêteurs sur les lieux d’un déraillement de train survenu près de Swift Current (Saskatchewan)

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) envoie une équipe d'enquêteurs sur les lieux d'un déraillement de train près de Swift Current (Saskatchewan). Le BST recueillera des informations et évaluera l'événement.


Informations d'enquête

Carte de la région


Enquêteur désigné

Photo de James Carmichael

James Carmichael travaille au sein de la Direction des enquêtes − Rail et pipeline du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) depuis 2008. Il a été au cours de ces années un enquêteur chevronné dans un bon nombre d'enquêtes dans l'Ouest canadien.

Avant de travailler au BST, M. Carmichael a occupé des postes au sein des services de la mécanique de quatre différentes compagnies de chemin de fer. M. Carmichael a travaillé pour le British Columbia Railway (BCR) de 1980 à 2004, où il a acquis une expérience considérable dans le secteur de la mécanique. Il a notamment occupé le poste de wagonnier et a monté les échelons jusqu'à l'obtention d'un poste de gestion et a été nommé au titre de superviseur général de l'atelier de matériel remorqué. Au cours des 4 années suivantes, M. Carmichael a travaillé pour le Canadien National et pour le Canadien Pacifique à titre de superviseur des services de la mécanique. Il a également œuvré au sein des compagnies de chemin de fer OmniTRAX Carlton Trail, Hudson Bay et Okanagan Valley en tant que directeur régional. De plus, il détient les certifications de technicien des matières dangereuses et de spécialiste des wagons-citernes et a été membre de l'équipe d'intervention d'urgence du BCR. M. Carmichael vit à Calgary (Alberta).


Photos


  Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Catégorie de l’enquête

Cette enquête est une enquête de catégorie 3. Dans le cadre de ces enquêtes, on analyse un petit nombre de problèmes de sécurité. Parfois, ces enquêtes donnent lieu à des recommandations. Les enquêtes de catégorie 3 se concluent généralement en 450 jours. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la Politique de classification des événements.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Date de modification: