Aviation Investigation Report A18W0113

About the investigation

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) conducted a limited-scope, fact-gathering investigation into this occurrence to advance transportation safety through greater awareness of potential safety issues. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF [ 278 KB]

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Collison with terrain
Kasper Kootenay Wings MS Special (basic ultralight), C-ITMF
Grande Prairie, Alberta

This report is also available in English.

History of the flight

At 1400Footnote 1 on 31 July 2018, the amphibious float-equipped Kasper Kootenay Wings MS Special basic ultralight aircraftFootnote 2 (registration C-ITMF, serial number 2001-1) departed a privately owned grass airfield located 7 nautical miles (nm) east of Grande Prairie, Alberta, bound for Saskatoon/John G. Diefenbaker International Airport (CYXE), Saskatchewan, with a planned fuel stop at St. Paul Airport (CEW3), Alberta. The pilot, alone on board, had purchased the aircraft and completed the transfer of ownership earlier that day. No flight plan had been filed with NAV CANADA.

When the aircraft was approximately 1 nm from the airfield, on the runway heading, it was seen at an altitude of 300 to 500 feet above ground level (AGL). The engine rpm was heard slowly increasing and decreasing but was not running rough. Moments later, the left wing dropped, and the aircraft entered a steep nose-down attitude. During the descent, the engine rpm increased rapidly, and the rpm remained high until the aircraft struck the ground (Figure 1).

Figure 1. Accident site, looking west
Accident site, looking west

The pilot was fatally injured and the aircraft was destroyed in an intense post-impact fire. The aircraft was not equipped with an emergency locator transmitter nor was one required by regulation; however, a portable SPOT Satellite GPS [global positioning system] Messenger was on board.

Background

On 30 July 2018, the occurrence pilot (the pilot) took a commercial flight from CYXE to Grande Prairie Airport (CYQU), Alberta, to complete the purchase of the occurrence aircraft. Upon arrival, the pilot met with the person selling the aircraft (the owner) and together they travelled to a privately owned grass airfield, 7 nm east of Grande Prairie.

At approximately 1745, the owner took the pilot for a local familiarization flight in the aircraft. The owner was the pilot-in-command and was seated in the front seat of the aircraft. The pilot was seated in the rear seat of the aircraft. The aircraft was equipped with dual control sticks, rudder pedals, and throttle control. The flight and engine instruments were located in the forward cockpit only. During the flight, the pilot had the opportunity to control the aircraft from the rear seat. Roughly 45 minutes later, the aircraft landed without issues at the private airfield. The landing was conducted by the owner of the aircraft.

On the morning of 31 July 2018, the owner and the pilot removed the conventional tail wheel landing gear and installed amphibious floats. Following the aircraft configuration change, the owner and the pilot conducted another local familiarization flight, departing at 1000. The flight consisted of several circuits and water landings at Clairmont Lake, Alberta. The aircraft returned to the airfield at 1100.

During the next 3 hours, the aircraft ownership was transferred and the aircraft was prepared for the return flight to CYXE. The aircraft'sthree tanks (two 9-U.S. gallon main fuel tanks—one in each wing—and one 8-U.S. gallon header fuel tank, located in the fuselage aft of the cockpit) were filled to capacity. An additional 5-U.S. gallon can of fuel was secured in the rear seat area of the cockpit. This extra fuel was intended to be used to refuel the aircraft during the planned fuel stop at CEW3.

During preparations for the return flight, the rear seat of the aircraft was removed and a wooden storage box, which had been used many times by the previous owner, was installed (Figure 2). The box was secured to the aircraft floor structure at 4 attachment points matching those of the removed seat. All of the aircraft's historical records were placed in a backpack and secured in the box, along with the pilot's personal travel items.

Figure 2. Wooden storage box (Source: Previous owner of the aircraft)
Wooden storage box

The investigation was unable to determine how much flight planning and how many pre-flight checks of the aircraft had been done prior to departure.

Transfer of aircraft ownership

The requirements for the transfer of ownership of aircraft outlined in the Canadian Aviation Regulations are limited to aircraft registration documentation. No additional training or maintenance is required before a basic ultralight aircraft is sold or after it is purchased. Flight preparations in a new basic ultralight aircraft are the sole responsibility of the pilot who will be conducting the flight.

The Transport Canada Ultra-light Aeroplane Transition Strategy states [emphasis in original]:

Prospective purchasers of Basic Ultra-light Aeroplane kits should be aware that kit manufacturers and part suppliers are bound by no legal requirements under the Aeronautics Act. It is strongly recommended that owners and prospective owners of Basic Ultra-light Aeroplanes avail themselves of the information and services provided by the recreational aviation industry, schools and the ultra-light aviation community.Footnote 3

Because the Kasper Kootenay Wings MS Special aircraft was built from plans, it is unknown how general system descriptions, aircraft limitations, normal procedures, emergency procedures, and safety information were disseminated or made available to the pilot.

The investigation was unable to determine to what extent the occurrence pilot had studied, trained, or prepared to fly the aircraft, and how much knowledge and understanding he had of the various aircraft systems, including engine and avionics.

Weather information

The CYQU hourly weather observation taken at 1400 reported light winds (at 8 knots); visibility 25 statute miles with scattered clouds at 9000 feet AGL; broken clouds at 22 000 feet AGL; and temperature 23 °C. Density altitude was 3500 feet above sea level. Weather was not considered a factor in this accident.

Pilot information

The pilot held a valid ultralight pilot permit, which had been issued on 17 April 2018, and a Category 4 medical certificate, which was valid until February 2022.

According to the pilot's logbook, the pilot began his ultralight pilot permit training on 20 July 2016 and had accumulated 58.2 hours of flight time when the ultralight pilot permitFootnote 4 was issued. This flight time included 16.5 hours of dual instruction and 41.7 hours solo. The pilot had logged 3.3 hours since the permit was issued. All flight time was conducted on a Husky Norseman II basic ultralight aircraft, which the pilot owned. The Husky Norseman II was equipped with a 65 hp, 2-cylinder, 2-stroke Rotax 582 engine, which is less advanced than the Rotax 912ULS engine installed on the occurrence aircraft; the occurrence aircraft was also fitted with the Simple Digital System (SDS) electronic fuel injection system.

Prior to the occurrence flight, the pilot flew with the previous owner in C-ITMF on several familiarization and demonstration flights, totalling approximately 2 hours. During this time, the occurrence pilot was able to fly the aircraft from the rear seat, but he was not able to see or manipulate the aircraft instruments and engine instruments. During this time, the occurrence pilot was not flying as pilot-in-command. The only time the occurrence pilot flew solo or as pilot-in-command on the occurrence aircraft was during the occurrence flight.

Aircraft information

The Kasper Kootenay Wings MS Special is a high-wing, 2-seat aircraft of steel tubing and fabric (Figure 3). The occurrence aircraft was built from plans and raw materials in 2001. All of the aircraft's records were destroyed in the post-impact fire.

Figure 3. Kasper Kootenay Wings MS Special (Source: Previous owner of the aircraft)
Kasper Kootenay Wings MS Special

According to the Transport Canada application for registration of this aircraft, the maximum take-off weight was 1200 pounds, the empty weight was 721 pounds, and the stall speed was 35 mph.

The aircraft was equipped with a Bombardier Recreational Products (BRP) Rotax 912ULS engine (serial number 5651664), which is a 4-cylinder, 4-stroke liquid/air-cooled engine that produces 100 hp at a maximum rpm of 5800.

The aircraft had no known deficiencies before the occurrence flight. Continuity of the engine controls was verified. An examination of the engine at the TSB facility in Edmonton, Alberta, was completed with the engine manufacturer present. There were no indications that the engine was not capable of producing power. The investigation determined that there was flight-control continuity before the accident.

Electronic fuel injection system

When the aircraft was constructed in 2001, it was equipped with a 75 hp Suzuki automotive engine that was converted for aircraft use. In 2002, an EM-4-FFootnote 5 model electronic fuel injection (EFI) system, manufactured by SDS, was installed on the Suzuki engine.

The SDS EFI is an engine management system that offers reduced fuel flow, no carburetor icing, and electronic fuel system control and adjustment. According to the manufacturer,

[t]he F system is an integrated fuel injection and ignition system. Engine spark timing is fully programmable for both RPM and load (manifold pressure or throttle position). Programming is done with the SDS hand-held programmer. Triggering is accomplished with magnets attached to the crankshaft pulley and a Hall effect sensor fitted to the timing cover.Footnote 6

In 2013, the Suzuki engine was replaced with a Rotax 912 ULS engine and the EFI system was transferred to the new engine. The electronic control unit and dual electric fuel pumps remained from the original engine. Modifications on the Rotax engine included a new magnet disc and Hall effect sensor mounted on the rear of the engine, as well as billet injector mounts welded to the intake manifold to accept the fuel injector units.

Mixture control

The SDS EFI system has a mixture control knob, which is located on the aircraft's instrument panel (Figure 4).

Figure 4. The occurrence aircraft's instrument panel showing the Simple Digital System programmer (yellow square outline) and mixture control knob (yellow circle outline) on the right of the panel (Source: Previous owner of the aircraft)
The occurrence aircraft's instrument panel

Mixture control allows the fuel injection system to be pre-programmed and also to be manually adjusted within a range of 50% more or less than the pre-programmed setting, giving the pilot independent control in the event of certain sensor failures. There can, however, be a loss of engine power at the leanest and richest settings of the adjustment range. Some pilots prefer to manually make the fuel mixture leaner using the knob once cruise power is set. The investigation was unable to determine whether the mixture control was manipulated during the flight, and, due to the intense post-impact fire, the final mixture setting could not be determined.

Safety message

Basic ultralight aircraft are operated with little regulation and regulatory oversight; therefore, pilots are responsible for ensuring that they are knowledgeable about aircraft systems, particularly when operating an unfamiliar aircraft.

This concludes the TSB's limited-scope investigation into this occurrence. The Board authorized the release of this investigation report on. It was officially released on.

Date modified:

Rapport d’enquête sur la sécurité du transport aérien A18W0113

À propos de l'enquête

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le but d'améliorer la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

 Voir le document en PDF [235 KB]

Collision avec le relief
Kasper Kootenay Wings MS Special (avion ultra-léger de base), C-ITMF
Grande Prairie (Alberta)

This report is also available in English.

Déroulement du vol

À 14 hNote de bas de page 1 le 31 juillet 2018, l'aéronef ultra-léger de base amphibie et muni de flotteurs Kasper Kootenay Wings MS SpecialNote de bas de page 2 (immatriculation C-ITMF, numéro de série 2001-1) a décollé d'un terrain d'aviation gazonné privé situé à 7 milles marins (nm) à l'est de Grande Prairie (Alberta), à destination de l'aéroport international Saskatoon/John G. Diefenbaker (CYXE) (Saskatchewan). Une escale de ravitaillement était prévue à l'aéroport de St. Paul (CEW3) (Alberta). Le pilote, seul à bord, avait acheté l'aéronef et effectué le transfert de propriété plus tôt le même jour. Aucun plan de vol n'avait été déposé auprès de NAV CANADA.

Lorsque l'aéronef se trouvait à environ 1 nm du terrain d'aviation, aligné sur le cap de piste, on l'a observé à une altitude de 300 à 500 pieds au-dessus du niveau du sol (AGL). On a entendu la vitesse de rotation du moteur augmenter puis diminuer lentement, sans fonctionnement irrégulier toutefois. Quelques instants plus tard, l'aile gauche a baissé, et l'aéronef s'est trouvé en piqué prononcé. Durant la descente, la vitesse de rotation du moteur a augmenté rapidement; elle est demeurée élevée jusqu'à ce que l'aéronef percute le relief (figure 1).

Figure 1. Lieu de l'accident, en regardant vers l'ouest
Lieu de l'accident, en regardant vers l'ouest

Le pilote a été mortellement blessé, et l'aéronef a été détruit par un violent incendie après impact. L'aéronef n'était pas muni d'une radiobalise de repérage d'urgence, et la réglementation en vigueur ne l'exigeait pas; toutefois, un dispositif de messagerie GPS [système mondial de positionnement] par satellite SPOT portatif se trouvait à bord.

Contexte

Le 30 juillet 2018, le pilote en cause a pris un vol commercial à partir de CYXE à destination de l'aéroport de Grande Prairie (CYQU) (Alberta) pour compléter l'achat de l'aéronef en cause. À son arrivée, le pilote a rencontré le vendeur de l'aéronef (le propriétaire) et ils se sont rendus à un terrain d'aviation gazonné privé situé à 7 nm à l'est de Grande Prairie.

Vers 17 h 45, le propriétaire et le pilote ont effectué un vol de familiarisation dans les environs à bord de l'aéronef. Le propriétaire était le commandant de bord et occupait le siège avant de l'aéronef. Le pilote occupait le siège arrière. L'aéronef était muni de manches de commande, de palonniers et de manettes des gaz en double. Seul le poste de pilotage avant comprenait les instruments moteur et de vol. Durant le vol, le pilote a pu commander l'aéronef depuis le siège arrière. Environ 45 minutes plus tard, l'aéronef a atterri au terrain d'aviation privé sans incident. C'est le propriétaire de l'aéronef qui a effectué l'atterrissage.

Le matin du 31 juillet 2018, le propriétaire et le pilote ont retiré le train d'atterrissage à roulette de queue conventionnel et ont installé des flotteurs amphibies. Après le changement de configuration de l'aéronef, le propriétaire et le pilote ont effectué un autre vol de familiarisation dans les environs; ils ont décollé à 10 h. Ce vol consistait en plusieurs circuits et amerrissages sur le lac Clairmont (Alberta). L'aéronef est rentré au terrain d'aviation à 11 h.

Au cours des 3 heures suivantes, on a procédé au transfert de propriété de l'aéronef, et on a préparé celui-ci pour le vol de retour à CYXE. On a refait le plein de carburant des 3 réservoirs, soit 2 principaux réservoirs de carburant de 9 gallons américains (1 dans chaque aile) et 1 réservoir collecteur de 8 gallons américains, situé dans le fuselage derrière le poste de pilotage. Un bidon additionnel de 5 gallons américains de carburant a été arrimé dans le siège arrière du poste de pilotage. Il était prévu que ce carburant additionnel serait utilisé durant l'escale de ravitaillement prévue à CEW3.

Durant les préparatifs pour le vol de retour, on a retiré le siège arrière de l'aéronef pour le remplacer par une boîte de rangement en bois, que l'ancien propriétaire avait utilisé à plusieurs reprises (figure 2). Cette boîte était fixée à la structure du plancher de l'aéronef à 4 points de fixation qui correspondaient à ceux du siège retiré. Tous les dossiers historiques de l'aéronef se trouvaient dans un sac à dos arrimé dans la boîte, avec les articles de voyage personnels du pilote.

Figure 2. Boîte de rangement en bois (Source : ancien propriétaire de l'aéronef)
Boîte de rangement en bois

L'enquête n'a permis de déterminer l'ampleur de la planification du vol ni le nombre de vérifications prévol de l'aéronef effectuées avant le départ.

Transfert de propriété de l'aéronef

Les exigences relatives au transfert de propriété d'aéronefs que décrit le Règlement de l'aviation canadien visent uniquement la documentation d'immatriculation des aéronefs. Aucune formation ni maintenance supplémentaire n'est requise avant la vente d'un aéronef ultra-léger de base ou après son achat. Les préparatifs de vol à bord d'un nouvel aéronef ultra-léger de base incombent entièrement au pilote qui effectuera le vol.

La Stratégie de transition relative aux avions ultra-légers de Transports Canada stipule que [caractères gras dans le texte original] :

Les acheteurs éventuels d'avions ultra-légers de base prêts à monter doivent être conscients que les constructeurs d'avions prêts à monter et les fournisseurs de pièces ne sont liés par aucune exigence légale en vertu de la Loi sur l'aéronautique. Il est fortement recommandé aux propriétaires et propriétaires éventuels d'avions ultra-légers de base de se prévaloir des renseignements et services fournis par l'industrie de l'aviation de loisir, les écoles de pilotage et les milieux de l'aviation des ultra-légers.Note de bas de page 3

Comme le Kasper Kootenay Wings MS Special a été construit à partir de plans, on ne sait pas comment les descriptions générales des systèmes, les limites de l'aéronef, les procédures normales, les procédures d'urgence et l'information de sécurité ont été remises ou communiquées au pilote.

L'enquête n'a pas permis de déterminer dans quelle mesure le pilote en cause avait étudié ou s'était entraîné ou préparé pour piloter l'aéronef, ni sa connaissance ou sa compréhension des divers systèmes de bord, dont le moteur et le système avionique.

Renseignements météorologiques

L'observation météorologique horaire de 14 h à CYQU faisait état des conditions suivantes : vents légers (à 8 nœuds); visibilité de 25 milles terrestres avec nuages épars à 9000 pieds AGL; nuages fragmentés à 22 000 pieds AGL; température de 23 °C; altitude-densité de 3500 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer (ASL). Les conditions météorologiques n'ont pas été retenues comme facteur dans cet accident.

Renseignements sur le pilote

Le pilote détenait une licence de pilote d'avion ultra-léger valide, qui avait été délivrée le 17 avril 2018, et un certificat médical de catégorie 4 qui était valide jusqu'en février 2022.

D'après son carnet de vol, le pilote avait entrepris sa formation au pilotage d'avions ultra-légers le 20 juillet 2016 et avait accumulé 58,2 heures de vol lorsque son permis de pilote d'ultra-légerNote de bas de page 4 lui a été délivré. Ce temps de vol comprenait 16,5 heures d'instruction en commande double et 41,7 heures de vol en solo. Depuis la délivrance de ce permis, le pilote avait accumulé 3,3 heures de vol. Toutes les heures de vol avaient été effectuées sur un aéronef ultra-léger de base Husky Norseman II, dont le pilote était propriétaire. Cet aéronef était propulsé par un moteur bicylindre à 2 temps Rotax 582 de 65 HP, qui est moins évolué que le moteur Rotax 912ULS dont était muni l'aéronef dans l'événement à l'étude. Ce dernier était aussi doté du système d'injection électronique de carburant Simple Digital System (SDS).

Avant le vol dans l'événement à l'étude, le pilote avait effectué plusieurs vols de familiarisation et de démonstration à bord du C-ITMF en compagnie de l'ancien propriétaire; ces vols avaient duré environ 2 heures au total. Durant ce temps, le pilote en cause a pu piloter l'aéronef depuis le siège arrière; toutefois, il ne pouvait ni voir ni manipuler les instruments moteur ou de bord. Ainsi, le pilote en cause n'assumait pas les fonctions de commandant de bord. Le vol dans l'événement à l'étude a été la seule fois où le pilote en cause a piloté l'aéronef à l'étude en solo ou comme commandant de bord.

Renseignements sur l'aéronef

Le Kasper Kootenay Wings MS Special est un aéronef à voilure haute et à 2 places fabriqué en tubes d'acier et en toile (figure 3). L'aéronef à l'étude a été construit à partir de plans et de matières brutes en 2001. Tous les dossiers de l'aéronef ont été détruits dans l'incendie après impact.

Figure 3. Kasper Kootenay Wings MS Special (Source : ancien propriétaire de l'aéronef)
Kasper Kootenay Wings MS Special

D'après la demande d'immatriculation d'aéronef faite à Transports Canada, l'aéronef avait une masse maximale au décollage de 1200 livres, une masse à vide de 721 livres, et une vitesse de décrochage de 35 mi/h.

L'aéronef était doté d'un moteur Rotax 912ULS (numéro de série 5651664) fabriqué par Bombardier Recreational Products (BRP). Il s'agit d'un moteur à 4 cylindres à 4 temps à refroidissement liquide/par air qui développe une puissance de 100 HP à une vitesse de rotation maximale de 5800 tr/min.

L'aéronef ne présentait aucune anomalie connue avant le vol en cause. On a vérifié la continuité des commandes du moteur. Un examen du moteur a été effectué aux installations du BST à Edmonton (Alberta) en présence du motoriste. Rien ne donnait à croire que le moteur n'était pas en mesure de produire de la puissance. L'enquête a permis de confirmer la continuité des commandes de vol avant l'accident.

Système d'injection électronique de carburant

Lors de sa construction en 2001, l'aéronef était muni d'un moteur automobile Suzuki de 75 HP qui avait été converti en vue d'être utilisé sur un aéronef. En 2002, on a installé sur le moteur Suzuki le modèle EM-4-FNote de bas de page 5 de système d'injection électronique de carburant fabriqué par SDS.

Le système d'injection électronique SDS est un système de gestion de moteur qui réduit l'alimentation en carburant, prévient le givrage du carburateur, et contrôle et règle le système électronique d'alimentation carburant. D'après son fabricant [traduction] :

Le système F est un système intégré d'injection du carburant et d'allumage. La synchronisation de l'allumage est entièrement programmable pour la vitesse de rotation et la charge du moteur (pression d'admission ou position de la manette des gaz). La programmation se fait au moyen du programmeur manuel SDS. Le déclenchement se fait au moyen d'aimants fixés à la poulie de vilebrequin et d'un capteur à effet Hall installé sur le carter de distributionNote de bas de page 6.

En 2013, le moteur Suzuki a été remplacé par un moteur Rotax 912ULS, et le système d'injection électronique de carburant a été transféré au nouveau moteur. On a conservé l'unité de commande électronique ainsi que les doubles pompes à carburant électriques du moteur d'origine. Les modifications apportées au moteur Rotax comprenaient un disque magnétique et un capteur à effet Hall neufs installés sur l'arrière du moteur, ainsi que des supports d'injecteur monoblocs usinés soudés au collecteur d'admission pour recevoir les dispositifs d'injection de carburant.

Contrôle du mélange

Le système d'injection électronique de carburant SDS est muni d'un bouton de mélange air/carburant situé sur le tableau de bord de l'aéronef (figure 4).

Figure 4. Tableau de bord de l'aéronef à l'étude montrant le programmeur Simple Digital System (carré jaune) et le bouton de commande de mélange air/carburant (cercle jaune) à droite sur le tableau de bord (Source : ancien propriétaire de l'aéronef)
Tableau de bord de l'aéronef à l'étude

Ce bouton permet de programmer le système d'injection électronique de carburant et offre au pilote une commande indépendante dans une marge de réglage de 50 % en plus ou en moins par rapport au réglage préprogrammé en cas de défaillance de certains capteurs. Toutefois, une perte de puissance moteur peut survenir au réglage de mélange le plus pauvre comme au réglage de mélange le plus riche de la marge de réglage. Certains pilotes préfèrent appauvrir manuellement le mélange au moyen du bouton une fois que la puissance pour la vitesse de croisière est réglée. L'enquête n'a pas permis de déterminer si le pilote a manipulé la commande de mélange durant le vol, et le réglage définitif du mélange n'a pu être confirmé à cause du violent incendie après impact.

Message de sécurité

L'exploitation des aéronefs ultra-légers de base est assujettie à peu de règlements et de supervision réglementaire; par conséquent, il incombe aux pilotes de s'assurer d'être bien informés sur les systèmes de ces aéronefs, particulièrement lorsqu'ils pilotent un aéronef qu'ils connaissent peu.

Le présent rapport conclut l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication de ce rapport le 16 janvier 2019. Il a été officiellement publié le 24 janvier 2019.

Date de modification :