Rail Safety Advisory Letter 617-07/18

Securement of loads on flat cars equipped with an A-frame structure

Place du Centre
200 Promenade du Portage, 4th Floor
Gatineau QC  K1A 1K8

09 October 2018

Safety advisory letter 617-07/18
Related occurrence: R18D0069

Letter addressed to Transport Canada

Subject: Rail Safety Advisory Letter – 617-07/18: Securement of loads on flat cars equipped with an A-frame structure

On 16 July 2018, at approximately 1845 Eastern Daylight Time, Canadian Pacific Railway (CP) conventional freight train 142-14 experienced a train-initiated emergency brake application in the vicinity of Mile 36.6 on the south track of CP's Winchester Subdivision, near Saint-Polycarpe, Quebec. The train, proceeding eastward at 37.5 mph, consisted of 2 locomotives, 76 loaded cars, and 19 empty cars. It was 9405 feet in length and weighed about 11 260 tons. Upon inspection, it was determined that 23 cars had derailed. There were no injuries and no release of dangerous goods (TSB Occurrence No. R18D0069).

During site examination, it was noted that a 20-foot-long stock rail, which had been bundled with some crossties and secured using AAR33 steel banding on car CP 421885,Footnote 1 had come loose and fallen from the trailing end of the car just prior to the occurrence (Figure 1).

Figure 1. Car CP 421885 (view of trailing end). Note: The yellow arrow indicates the location where the ties and stock rail had been strapped with steel banding to the deck. The white arrows indicate the mount locations where stock rails should be secured using elastic fasteners.
Car CP 421885, view of trailing end

In April 2018, the Railway Association of Canada (RAC) published its open top loading rules for A-frame-type flat cars (Annex A).Footnote 2 Similarly, in June 2018, the Association of American Railroads (AAR) published its open top loading rules (Annex B).Footnote 3 In both the RAC rules and the AAR rules, the following guidance (in part) is provided for securing track materials onto a flat car with an A-frame structure:

  • crossties must be secured using chains or ¾-inch cable, and
  • stock rails must be secured onto mounts on either side of the car using elastic fasteners.

In this occurrence, the ties and stock rail had been loaded onto car CP 421885 at CP's Weston Shops in Winnipeg, Manitoba. Between January 2018 and July 2018, 28 other similar cars (i.e., flat cars equipped with an A-frame structure) were loaded with track materials and shipped from CP's Weston Shops. In May 2018, CP identified a previous shifted top load event involving track materials that had been secured onto car CP 421895 at Alyth Yard in Calgary, Alberta.

Given the potential consequences when loads shift during train operations, Transport Canada may wish to review the adequacy of CP's open top loading practices, particularly when transporting track materials on flat cars equipped with an A-frame structure.

Original signed by

Kirby Jang
Director
Investigation Operations, Rail/Pipeline

Cc.

  • Canadian Pacific Railway
  • Railway Association of Canada
  • Transportation Technology Center, Inc.

Annex A – RAC 12010 – Track Panels of Mixed Lengths on Flat Cars Equipped with Permanent A-Frame Structure

RAC 12010 - 1/2
RAC 12010 - 2/2

Annex B – AAR Open Top Loading Rules

AAR Open Top Loading Rules - 1/2
AAR Open Top Loading Rules - 2/2

Background information

Occurrence No.

R18D0069

Contacts

Don Mustard, Regional Senior Investigator, Richmond Hill Regional Office, Ontario

Manuel Kotchounian, Engineering Specialist/Senior Investigator, Pipeline, Head Office, Gatineau, Quebec

Date modified:

Avis de sécurité ferroviaire – 07/18

Arrimage des chargements sur les wagons plats munis de supports centraux en A

Place du Centre
200, promenade du Portage
4e étage
Gatineau (Québec)
K1A 1K8

9 octobre 2018

624-20/17
R18D0069

Lettre adressée à Transports Canada

Objet : Avis de sécurité ferroviaire – 07/18 :
Arrimage des chargements sur les wagons plats munis de supports centraux en A

Le 16 juillet 2018, vers 18 h 45, heure avancée de l'Est, le train de marchandises ordinaire 142-14 du Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique (CP) a déclenché un freinage d'urgence aux environs du point milliaire 36,6 sur la voie sud de la subdivision Winchester du CP, près de Saint-Polycarpe (Québec). Le train, qui roulait vers l'est à 37,5 mi/h, était composé de deux locomotives, 76 wagons chargés et 19 wagons vides. Il mesurait 9405 pieds de long et pesait environ 11 260 tonnes courtes. Une inspection a révélé que 23 wagons avaient déraillé. Il n'y a eu ni blessures ni rejet de marchandises dangereuses (numéro d'événement du BST : R18D0069).

Au cours de l'examen des lieux, on a noté qu'un contre-aiguille de 20 pieds de long, qui avait été groupé avec des traverses intermédiaires et arrimé au moyen de cerclages métalliques AAR‑33 sur le wagon CP 421885Note de bas de page 1, s'était détaché et était tombé de l'extrémité arrière du wagon juste avant l'événement (figure 1).

Figure 1. Wagon CP 421885 (vue de l'extrémité arrière).Remarque : La flèche jaune montre l'endroit où les traverses et le contre-aiguille avaient été attachés à la plateforme au moyen de cerclage métallique. Les flèches blanches montrent l'emplacement des supports auxquels les contre-aiguilles devraient être attachés au moyen d'attaches élastiques.

En avril 2018, l'Association des chemins de fer du Canada (ACFC) a publié ses règles sur le chargement de wagons découverts pour les wagons plats à supports centraux en A (annexe A)Note de bas de page 2. De même, en juin 2018, l'Association of American Railroads (AAR) a publié ses règles concernant le chargement des wagons découverts (annexe B)Note de bas de page 3. Les règles de l'ACFC et de l'AAR donnent toutes deux les directives suivantes (entre autres) pour l'arrimage de matériel de voie sur un wagon plat muni d'un support central en A :

  • Les traverses intermédiaires doivent être arrimées au moyen de chaînes ou d'un câble de ¾ pouce.
  • Les contre-aiguilles doivent être arrimés sur des supports de part et d'autre du wagon au moyen d'attaches élastiques.

Dans l'événement à l'étude, les traverses et le contre-aiguille avaient été chargés sur le wagon CP 421885 aux ateliers Weston du CP, à Winnipeg (Manitoba). Entre janvier et juillet 2018, 28 autres wagons similaires (c.-à-d. des wagons plats équipés de supports centraux en A) ont été chargés de matériel de voie avant d'être expédiés des ateliers Weston du CP. En mai 2018, le CP a relevé un événement antérieur au cours duquel le chargement d'un wagon découvert s'était déplacé; il s'agissait de matériel de voie qui avait été arrimé au wagon CP 421895 au triage Alyth, à Calgary (Alberta).

Étant donné les conséquences possibles du déplacement d'un chargement au cours de l'exploitation d'un train, il pourrait être approprié que Transports Canada vérifie l'adéquation des pratiques de chargement des wagons découverts du CP, en particulier dans le cas du transport de matériel de voie sur des wagons plats munis de supports centraux en A.

Je vous prie d'accepter, Madame, l'expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Original signé par

Kirby Jang
Directeur intérimaire
Enquêtes - Rail/pipeline

Cc:

Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique
Association des chemins de fer du Canada
Transportation Technology Center, Inc.


Événement no :

R17W0200

Personnes-ressources :

Don Mustard
Enquêteur principal régional (Rail)
BST, Richmond Hill (Ontario)

Manuel Kotchounian
Gestionnaire, Pipeline et Opérations régionales de l’Est (Rail)
BST, Gatineau (Québec)


Annexes

Annexe A – ACFC 12010 – Sections de voies préfabriquées de longueurs variées sur des wagons plats spécialement équipés avec supports centraux permanents en “A”

Annexe B – AAR Open Top Loading Rules [en anglais seulement]

Date de modification :