Marine Transportation Safety Investigation Report M18C0030

View document in PDF [454 KB]

Liquefied natural gas fuel equipment failure
Roll-on roll-off passenger ferry F.-A.-Gauthier
Matane, Quebec

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability. This report is not created for use in the context of legal, disciplinary or other proceedings. See Ownership and use of content.

History of the occurrence

On 08 April 2018, the Canada-flagged roll-on roll-off passenger ferry F.-A.-Gauthier (IMO 9669861, Figure 1) reported the failure of a remotely operated valve in the liquefied natural gas (LNG) fuel storage and supply system in the vessel's power plant. The valve failure was identified while the vessel was moored in Matane, Quebec, during a routine maintenance inspection of the equipment fitted in the vessel's port side LNG storage tank connection space.Footnote 1 During this inspection, the crew also detected a small gas leak around the stem of that same valve. At the time of the occurrence, the port-side storage tank contained about 200 m³ of LNG, about 75% of its total capacity.

Figure 1. The F.-A.-Gauthier
The F.-A.-Gauthier

Although a formal risk assessment was not documented in the vessel's safety management system, the crew updated shore management daily on the status of the failure and the inherent seaworthiness of the vessel. It was decided that the F.-A.-Gauthier would remain in operation in this condition, in order to use up the stored LNG through the auxiliary steam boilers and dual-fuel electrical generator sets. A technician appointed by the system's manufacturer carried out emergency repairs on 13 April, at which time the failed valve was temporarily secured.

Failure of valve V08

Valve V08 is a standard component of this particular LNG storage and supply system. The valve serves 2 functions:

  • It allows the engine room watchkeepers to remotely control the emergency release of the storage tank's content into the atmosphere via a mast riser, should the safety valve fail to open; and
  • It allows the crew to vent the storage tank when it is purged with nitrogen before maintenance is carried out.

Because of its critical role in the fuel supply and storage system, valve V08 is directly connected to the shell of the pressurized LNG storage tank via stainless steel piping and cannot be mechanically isolated. The tank must be emptied and purged with nitrogen before any maintenance can be done on the valve.

The part of the valve that failed is 1 of the 2 stainless steel studs that fasten the valve's pneumatic actuator over the valve bonnet (Figure 2).

Figure 2. Valve V08 on the port-side LNG fuel supply system
Valve V08 on the port-side LNG fuel supply system

The TSB conducted an examination and a failure analysis of the broken stud. These concluded that the valve assembly stud failed at the root of the thread due to the initiation of multiple fatigue cracks (Figure 3 and Figure 4). The relative size of the fatigue area, when compared to the final overstress area, suggests that the loads applied to the studs were relatively low, and were possibly due to the reported abnormal vibrations that were present on the valve assembly prior to the failure.

Figure 3. Failed stud showing both halves of the fracture surface
Failed stud showing both halves of the fracture surface
Figure 4. Side view of the threaded portion of the stud that remained in the nut
Side view of the threaded portion of the stud that remained in the nut

The investigation determined that vibrations within the LNG storage tank's connection space, which may have acted on the space since the vessel had been commissioned, likely caused the stud to fail and break apart and resulted in the small gas leak. More precisely, although a vibration damping arrangement was securing the body and bonnet of valve V08 against an adjacent platform, the pneumatic actuator was oscillating freely and transmitting these stresses to its fastening studs, gradually causing one of them to fail.

Safety action

Following this occurrence, the system manufacturer and the valve manufacturer initiated a joint study to prevent this particular failure from happening again. Specifically, the manufacturers are focusing on either redesigning the support stud with a different material, or redesigning the supporting arrangement of the pneumatic actuator, using 3 studs instead of 2.

This concludes the TSB's limited-scope investigation into this occurrence. The Board authorized the release of this investigation report on . It was officially released on .

Date de modification :

Rapport d'enquête maritime M18C0030

Défaillance d’un système à gaz naturel liquéfié
Transbordeur roulier à passagers F.-A.-Gauthier
Matane (Québec)



Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n’est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales. Le présent rapport n’est pas créé pour être utilisé dans le contexte d’une procédure judiciaire, disciplinaire ou autre. Voir Propriété et utilisation du contenu.

Déroulement de l'événement

Le 8 avril 2018, le transbordeur roulier à passagers F.-A.-Gauthier (OMI 9669861; figure 1) battant pavillon canadien a signalé la défaillance d'une soupape télécommandée du système de stockage et d'alimentation en combustible au gaz naturel liquéfié (GNL) du système de propulsion du navire. Cette défaillance a été décelée alors que le navire était amarré à Matane (Québec), au cours d'une inspection de maintenance périodique des pièces installées dans l'espace des connexions réservoir de stockage de GNL à bâbordNote de bas de page 1. Au cours de cette inspection, l'équipage a aussi détecté une petite fuite de gaz autour de la tige de la même soupape. Au moment de l'événement, le réservoir de stockage à bâbord contenait environ 200 m3 de GNL (environ 75 % de sa capacité maximale).

Figure 1. Le F.-A.-Gauthier
Le F.-A.-Gauthier

Une évaluation officielle du risque n'a pas été consignée dans le système de gestion de la sécurité du navire. Toutefois, l'équipage informait tous les jours la direction à terre de l'état de la défaillance et de l'état de la navigabilité inhérent du navire. On a décidé que le F.-A.-Gauthier allait demeurer en service dans cet état, afin d'épuiser le GNL stocké par les chaudières à vapeur auxiliaires et les groupes électrogènes bicombustibles. Le 13 avril, un technicien accrédité par le fabricant du système a procédé à des réparations d'urgence afin de fixer la soupape défectueuse temporairement.

Défaillance de la soupape V08

La soupape V08 est un composant type de ce système de stockage et d'alimentation en combustible au GNL. Elle a 2 fonctions :

  • elle permet aux officiers de quart de la salle des machines de commander à distance la mise à l'atmosphère d'urgence du contenu du réservoir de stockage par l'entremise d'une colonne montante en cas de non-ouverture de la soupape de sûreté;
  • elle permet à l'équipage de ventiler le réservoir de stockage lorsqu'il est purgé à l'azote avant des travaux de maintenance.

La soupape V08 joue un rôle essentiel dans le système de stockage et d'alimentation en combustible. Elle est raccordée directement à la paroi du réservoir de stockage de GNL sous pression par un tuyau en acier inoxydable et ne peut pas être isolée de façon mécanique. Il faut donc vider le réservoir et le purger à l'azote avant d'effectuer des travaux de maintenance sur cette soupape.

La pièce défaillante de la soupape était 1 des 2 goujons en acier inoxydable qui retiennent l'actionneur pneumatique sur le chapeau de la soupape (figure 2).

Figure 2. Soupape V08 sur le système d'alimentation en combustible au GNL à bâbord
Soupape V08 sur le système d'alimentation en combustible au GNL à bâbord

Le BST a soumis le goujon brisé à un examen et à une analyse de défaillance. Ceux-ci ont démontré que le goujon de la soupape a cédé à la base du filetage à cause de la formation de nombreuses fissures de fatigue (figure 3 et figure 4). La taille relative de la zone de fatigue, comparativement à celle de la zone soumise à la contrainte excessive ayant causé la rupture, suggère que les charges imposées aux goujons étaient relativement faibles et qu'elles étaient possiblement dues aux vibrations anormales signalées auxquelles la soupape était soumise avant la défaillance.

Figure 3. Goujon défaillant qui montre les deux moitiés de la surface rompue
Goujon défaillant qui montre les deux moitiés de la surface rompue
Figure 4. Vue latérale de la partie filetée du goujon qui est demeurée dans l'écrou
Vue latérale de la partie filetée du goujon qui est demeurée dans l'écrou

L'enquête a permis de déterminer que les vibrations dans l'espace des connexions réservoir de stockage de GNL, qui se propageaient peut-être dans l'espace depuis la mise en service du navire, ont probablement causé la défaillance et la rupture du goujon, ce qui a entraîné la petite fuite de gaz. Plus précisément, même si un dispositif amortisseur de vibrations retenait le corps et le chapeau de la soupape V08 sur une plateforme adjacente, l'actionneur pneumatique oscillait librement et transmettait des contraintes aux goujons de fixation, ce qui a finalement entraîné la rupture de l'un d'eux.

Mesures de sécurité

À la suite de l'événement à l'étude, les fabricants du système et de la soupape ont entrepris une étude conjointe afin d'éviter qu'une telle défaillance ne se reproduise. Plus précisément, ils étudient la possibilité de fabriquer des goujons de support d'un matériau différent ou d'utiliser 3 goujons plutôt que 2 pour supporter l'actionneur pneumatique.

Le présent rapport conclut l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication de ce rapport le . Il a été officiellement publié le .

Date de modification :