Aviation Transportation Safety Investigation Report A18P0091

About the investigation

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) conducted a limited-scope, fact-gathering investigation into this occurrence to advance transportation safety through greater awareness of potential safety issues. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF [231 KB]

Collision with trees after takeoff
Piper PA-28-140, C-GVZP
Sechelt Aerodrome, British Columbia

Le présent rapport est également disponible en français.

History of the flight

Just after 1400Footnote 1 on 05 July 2018, the Piper PA-28-140 aircraft (registration C-GVZP, serial number 28-25340) took off from Runway 29 at Sechelt Aerodrome (CAP3), British Columbia, with the pilot and 3 of his family members—1 adult and 2 children—on board for the first of 2 local sightseeing flights about 8 nautical miles (nm) to the northwest. At that time, the airport's windsocks indicated that the prevailing wind was from the west.

After a 20-minute flight, the aircraft returned and landed on Runway 29; the windsock at the east end of the runway indicated a light wind from the east, giving the aircraft a tailwind.

The pilot took a short break between flights due to the high temperature in the aircraft cabin. Then, 3 other members of his family—1 adult, 1 teenager, and 1 child—boarded the aircraft for a flight similar to the previous one. While the passengers were boarding the aircraft, the windsock at the east end of the runway indicated that the wind was from the west, as it had been for the previous takeoff. However, a few minutes later, while the aircraft was taxiing to Runway 29, the wind changed to a light wind from the east, and remained in that direction while the aircraft took off. The wind was also reported to have become gusty around this time.

At about 1444, the aircraft took off from Runway 29 with the flaps in the retracted (up) position. It remained on the runway for almost three quarters of the runway's length before lifting off. The aircraft climbed for several seconds, reaching a maximum height of about 100 feet above runway elevation and wobbledFootnote 2 several times during the flight. The aircraft maintained a nose-up attitude and slowly decelerated as it crossed the Chapman Creek ravine. It was airborne for less than 30 seconds before it collided with trees and crashed on the far side of the ravine, about 0.35 nm from the departure end of the runway (Figure 1).

Figure 1. Global positioning system track of the occurrence aircraft's flight path, as seen from the south (Source: Google Earth, with TSB annotations)
GPS track of the occurrence aircraft's flight path, as seen from the south

The aircraft was destroyed (Figure 2). The pilot was fatally injured. The 3 passengers received minor injuries and were able to exit the aircraft and walk to nearby houses. The emergency locator transmitter did not activate during the crash. There was no post-impact fire.

Figure 2. Accident site
Accident site

Aerodrome

CAP3 is a registered aerodrome operated by the District of Sechelt. Aerodromes are governed by Canadian Aviation Regulations Subpart 301 and are not required to meet the requirements of certified airports under Canadian Aviation Regulations Subpart 302. CAP3 has a single asphalt runway (Runway 11/29), which is 2400 feet long and has windsocks situated at both ends. Runway 29 slopes uphill at an average of about 1% (0.6°). The aerodrome elevation is 300 feet above sea level (ASL).

The edition of the Canada Flight Supplement (CFS)Footnote 3 that was current at the time of the accident contained a caution section for CAP3 that stated:

Strongly recommended that only pilots familiar with [local] terrain should use this [aerodrome] at [night]. [Runway] 11: trees to 100 [above ground level] on [approach] & within 300 [feet north] of Extended centreline. [Unlighted] terrain lies to [north] of [airport] & rises steeply in dep[arture] area [Runway] 29. Ditch 3 [feet] deep parallels [north] side of [runway approximately] 35 [feet from] [runway] edge.Footnote 4

The CFS does not note that Runway 29 is sloped slightly uphill, and there are no warning signs at the aerodrome. Because CAP3 is a registered aerodrome, rather than a certified airport, the CFS is not requiredFootnote 5Footnote 6 to contain runway slope information. However, runway slope and other information can be published in the CFS if the aerodrome operator provides the information.

Pilot

Records indicate that the pilot was certified and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations. The pilot held a private pilot licence – aeroplane with a valid Category 3 medical certificate. He had accumulated a total of 1219 hours flight time, of which about 63 were on the occurrence aircraft. There were no indications that fatigue was a factor in this occurrence.

Weather

The accident occurred during daylight hours, and visibility was unlimited. Environment and Climate Change Canada owns and operates a weather-recording station, Sechelt AUT (ID: VOU), located about 400 feet southwest of the threshold of Runway 29. The station is automated and records basic meteorological parameters on the hour.

Information for 1400, near the time of the first flight, indicated the following:

  • temperature: 22.5 °C
  • dew point: 14.5 °C
  • wind: 10 km/h from 280° true (T)
  • station pressure: 29.69 inHg
  • density altitude 1378 feet above sea level

Information for 1500, about 16 minutes after the accident, indicated the following:

  • temperature: 23.7 °C
  • dew point: 13.9 °C
  • wind: 10 km/h from 290°T
  • station pressure: 29.68 inHg
  • density altitude 1507 feet above sea level

Based on the weather data for 1500, the density altitude was calculated to have been about 1500 feet ASL. A higher density altitude results in decreased engine power, decreased (propeller) thrust, and decreased (wing) lift.

In the half hour before the accident flight departed, the airport's windsocks indicated that the wind had become variable in speed and direction, with the windsocks at times turning through 360°.

Local pilots report that turbulence and downdrafts are common over Chapman Creek, which is immediately off the departure end of Runway 29. This information is not noted in the CFS, nor is it required to be.

A pilot who had landed on Runway 11 at CAP3 an hour before the accident experienced turbulence and downdrafts over Chapman Creek that were so severe that he radioed to warn another aircraft that was inbound for landing.

Aircraft

The aircraft was a Piper PA28-140, commonly known as a Cherokee 140. It was manufactured by the Piper Aircraft Corporation in 1969 and was registered in the United States as N8096N. In September 2016, the aircraft was purchased by the occurrence pilot, imported to Canada, and re-registered as C-GVZP. At the time of the accident, the aircraft had accumulated about 3109 hours total time. Records indicate that the aircraft was certified, equipped, and maintained in accordance with existing regulations and approved procedures.

The aircraft was equipped at manufacture with a Lycoming O-320-E2A engine (serial number L-24534-27A) producing 150 hp. In January 2017, the engine was modified in accordance with supplemental type certificateFootnote 7 SE8987SW-D to produce 160 hp. The supplemental type certificate does not claim to provide any increase in aircraft performance. Following the accident, the engine was transported to an approved facility for testing and inspection. All damage and defects noted were attributable to the engine's and propeller's collision with trees, and the engine was run satisfactorily on a test stand.

TSB calculations indicate that the occurrence aircraft was at or near maximum gross weight at the time of the accident and that its centre of gravity was inside of the allowable envelope.

Performance

Section III of the Cherokee 140 B PA-28-140 Owner's Handbook indicates that, at gross weight (2150 pounds in the “normal” category) and at sea level, the stall speed with power off and flaps up is 64 mph.Footnote 8 Section III also indicates that best angle of climb is obtained at 74 mph.Footnote 9

According to the performance charts in Section IV of the Owner's Handbook, the minimum take-off distance (ground roll) for an aircraft at 2150 pounds gross weight and at 1500 feet ASL density altitude would be about 1000 feetFootnote 10 and the maximum rate of climb would be about 600 fpm.Footnote 11 The Owner's Handbook does not indicate what effect, if any, taking off on a runway with a 1% uphill slope would have.

Global positioning system data shows differences in aircraft performance on the first flight compared to the accident flight. Both flights became airborne at about 73 mph (ground speedFootnote 12), but on the accident flight, the ground run (1700 feet) to reach that speed was longer than on the previous flight (1300 feet). Both ground runs were longer than the minimum indicated in the Owner's Handbook (1000 feet) for the density altitude. On the earlier flight, the aircraft continued to accelerate while climbing after takeoff. However, on the accident flight, the highest speed the aircraft reached was at liftoff. After this point, the ground speed steadily decreased to 59 mph—even though the aircraft was descending for about the last 15 seconds of the flight—and the aircraft collided with trees.

Factors present in this accident

The TSB has investigated numerous occurrences in which aircraft performance was insufficient for the conditions.

In this accident, the aircraft's performance decreased, resulting in its inability to climb above the terrain. This decrease in performance was not the result of a single factor:

  • The aircraft took off with a tailwind, which increased the required take-off distance.
  • The take-off runway (Runway 29) slopes uphill at 1% (0.6°). Uphill takeoffs decrease take-off performance. Runway slope information is not included in the CFS entry for CAP3, nor is the effect of runway slope included in the PA-28 performance charts.
  • The aircraft was at or near maximum gross weight. Increased aircraft weight decreases take-off and climb performance.
  • The density altitude around the time of the accident was about 1500 feet ASL, primarily because of increasing air temperature. Higher density altitudes decrease aircraft performance.
  • The aircraft may have encountered turbulence and downdrafts over Chapman Creek. This may have further decreased the aircraft's climb performance. Turbulence and downdrafts over Chapman Creek are phenomena known to local pilots and had been reported by another pilot earlier in the day. The “Caution” section of the CFS entry for CAP3 does not mention turbulence and downdrafts over Chapman Creek, and there are no warning signs at the aerodrome.

Safety message

Pilots must remain vigilant to changes in the factors that can affect the performance of their aircraft.

This concludes the TSB's limited-scope investigation into this occurrence. The Board authorized the release of this investigation report on . It was officially released on .

Date de modification :

Rapport d’enquête sur la sécurité du transport aérien A18P0091

 Voir le document en PDF [235 KB]

Collision avec des arbres après le décollage
Piper PA-28-140, C-GVZP
Aérodrome de Sechelt (Colombie-Britannique)



Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n’est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales. Le présent rapport n’est pas créé pour être utilisé dans le contexte d’une procédure judiciaire, disciplinaire ou autre. Voir Propriété et utilisation du contenu.

Déroulement du vol

Peu après 14 hNote de bas de page 1, le 5 juillet 2018, l'aéronef Piper PA-28-140 (immatriculé C-GVZP, numéro de série 28-25340) a décollé de la piste 29 à l'aérodrome de Sechelt (CAP3) (Colombie-Britannique), avec le pilote et 3 membres de sa famille –1 adulte et 2 enfants – à bord pour le premier de 2 vols touristiques locaux à environ 8 milles marins (nm) au nord-ouest. À ce moment, les manches à air de l'aéroport indiquaient un vent dominant de l'ouest.

Après un vol de 20 minutes, l'aéronef est retourné et s'est posé sur la piste 29; la manche à air à l'extrémité est de la piste indiquait un léger vent d'est, c'est-à-dire un vent arrière pour l'aéronef.

Le pilote a pris une courte pause avant le vol suivant en raison de la température élevée dans la cabine. Ensuite, 3 autres membres de sa famille – 1 adulte, 1 adolescent et 1 enfant – sont montés à bord de l'aéronef pour un vol semblable au précédent. Tandis que les passagers montaient à bord, la manche à air à l'extrémité est de la piste indiquait un vent d'ouest, comme pour le décollage précédent. Toutefois, quelques minutes plus tard, alors que l'aéronef roulait vers la piste 29, le vent a viré en léger vent d'est, orientation qu'il a conservée pendant que l'aéronef décollait. L'apparition de rafales a été signalée à peu près à ce moment.

Vers 14 h 44, l'aéronef a décollé de la piste 29 avec les volets rentrés (relevés). Il a parcouru environ les trois quarts de la longueur de la piste avant de décoller. L'aéronef a monté pendant plusieurs secondes, atteignant une altitude maximale d'environ 100 pieds au-dessus de l'élévation de la piste et a oscillé latéralementNote de bas de page 2 à quelques reprises durant le vol. L'aéronef a maintenu une assiette en cabré et décéléré lentement en franchissant le ravin du ruisseau Chapman. Il a volé moins de 30 secondes avant de percuter des arbres et de s'écraser sur le versant éloigné du ravin, à environ 0,35 nm de l'extrémité départ de la piste (figure 1).

Figure 1. Trajectoire de vol de l'aéronef en cause dans l'événement à l'étude, établie par système mondial de positionnement pour navigation satellite, vue du sud (Source : Google Earth, avec annotations du BST)
Trajectoire de vol de l'aéronef en cause dans l'événement à l'étude, établie par système mondial de positionnement pour navigation satellite, vue du sud

L'aéronef a été détruit (figure 2). Le pilote a été mortellement blessé. Les 3 passagers ont subi des blessures mineures; ils ont pu évacuer l'aéronef et marcher jusqu'à des résidences à proximité. La radiobalise de repérage d'urgence ne s'est pas déclenchée au moment de l'écrasement. Il n'y a pas eu d'incendie après l'impact.

Figure 2. Lieu de l'accident
Lieu de l'accident

Aérodrome

CAP3 est un aérodrome enregistré exploité par le District de Sechelt. Les aérodromes sont assujettis à la sous-partie 301 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien et ne sont pas tenus de satisfaire aux exigences des aéroports agréés décrites à la sous-partie 302 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien. CAP3 comprend une seule piste asphaltée (piste 11/29), qui mesure 2400 pieds de long et est équipée de manches à air aux 2 extrémités. La piste 29 présente une pente ascendante de 1 % (0,6°) en moyenne. L'élévation de l'aérodrome est de 300 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer (ASL).

L'édition du Supplément de vol – Canada (CFS)Note de bas de page 3 qui était en vigueur au moment de l'accident comprenait une mise en garde à l'égard de CAP3 selon laquelle [traduction] :

Il est fortement recommandé que seuls les pilotes qui connaissent bien le terrain [local] utilisent [cet aérodrome] durant [la nuit]. [Piste] 11 : Arbres à 100 [pieds au-dessus du niveau du sol] en [approche] et à moins de 300 [pieds au nord] dans le prolongement de l'axe. Terrain [non éclairé] au [nord] de [l'aéroport] et en pente ascendante abrupte dans l'aire de départ de la [piste] 29. Fossé de 3 [pieds] de profondeur parallèle au côté [nord] de [la piste à environ] 35 [pieds] du bord [de la piste]Note de bas de page 4.

Le CFS ne précise pas que la piste 29 présente une faible pente ascendante, et il n'y a aucun panneau d'avertissement à l'aérodrome. Étant donné que CAP3 est un aérodrome enregistré, et non un aéroport agréé, le CFS n'est pas tenuNote de bas de page 5,Note de bas de page 6 de contenir de l'information sur la pente de sa piste. Toutefois, cette information, ainsi que d'autres, peut être publiée dans le CFS si l'exploitant de l'aérodrome la fournit.

Pilote

Les dossiers indiquent que le pilote était certifié et qualifié pour le vol conformément à la réglementation en vigueur. Le pilote détenait une licence de pilote privé – avion et était titulaire d'un certificat médical valide de catégorie 3. Il avait accumulé 1219 heures de vol, dont environ 63 avec l'aéronef en cause dans l'événement à l'étude. Rien n'indique que la fatigue a été un facteur dans l'événement à l'étude.

Conditions météorologiques

L'accident est survenu durant les heures de clarté, et la visibilité était illimitée. Environnement et Changement climatique Canada détient et exploite une station d'observation météorologique, Sechelt AUT (ID : VOU), située à environ 400 pieds au sud-ouest du seuil de la piste 29. Cette station est automatisée et enregistre les paramètres météorologiques de base à l'heure juste.

L'information enregistrée à 14 h, près de l'heure du premier vol, est la suivante :

  • température : 22,5 °C
  • point de rosée : 14,5 °C
  • vent : 10 km/h de 280° vrai (V)
  • pression à la station : 29,69 inHg
  • densité-altitude : 1378 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer

L'information enregistrée à 15 h, soit environ 16 minutes après l'accident, est la suivante :

  • température : 23,7 °C
  • point de rosée : 13,9 °C.
  • vent : 10 km/h de 290° V
  • pression à la station : 29,68 inHg
  • densité-altitude : 1507 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer

Selon les données météorologiques de 15 h, la densité-altitude calculée était d'environ 1500 pieds ASL. Une densité-altitude plus élevée provoque une réduction de la puissance du moteur et, par conséquent, de la poussée (de l'hélice) et de la portance (de l'aile).

Au cours de la demi-heure précédant le début du vol à l'étude, les manches à air de l'aérodrome indiquaient que la direction et la vitesse du vent étaient devenues variables; les manches à air faisaient parfois même un tour complet.

Selon les pilotes locaux, les turbulences et les courants descendants sont fréquents au-dessus du ruisseau Chapman, qui se trouve juste après l'extrémité départ de la piste 29. Ce renseignement ne figure pas dans le CFS, et la loi ne l'exige pas.

Un pilote qui a atterri sur la piste 11 de CAP3 1 heure avant l'accident avait rencontré de la turbulence et des courants descendants si prononcés au-dessus du ruisseau Chapman qu'il avait communiqué par radio avec un autre aéronef qui se préparait à atterrir pour le prévenir.

Aéronef

L'aéronef en cause était un avion Piper PA28-140, connu sous le nom de Cherokee 140. Il avait été construit par Piper Aircraft Corporation en 1969 et immatriculé aux États-Unis sous le numéro N8096N. En septembre 2016, le pilote en cause dans l'événement à l'étude l'avait acheté et importé au Canada, puis l'avait réimmatriculé C-GVZP. Au moment de l'accident, l'aéronef avait accumulé environ 3109 heures de service. Les dossiers indiquent que l'aéronef était certifié, équipé et entretenu conformément aux règlements en vigueur et aux procédures approuvées.

L'aéronef avait été équipé d'un moteur Lycoming O-320-E2A (numéro de série L-24534-27A) développant une puissance de 150 hp au moment de sa construction. En janvier 2017, le moteur avait subi des modifications, conformément au certificat de type supplémentaireNote de bas de page 7 SE8987SW-D, visant à hausser sa puissance à 160 hp. Ce certificat de type supplémentaire ne prétend pas améliorer les performances de l'aéronef. Après l'accident, le moteur a été transporté dans des installations approuvées aux fins d'inspection et d'essai. Tous les dommages et défauts relevés étaient attribuables à la collision du moteur et de l'hélice avec les arbres. Un essai de fonctionnement du moteur au banc a donné des résultats satisfaisants.

Selon les calculs du BST, la masse de l'aéronef était à peu près égale à la masse brute maximale au moment de l'accident et son centre de gravité se situait à l'intérieur des limites permises.

Performance

Selon la section III du manuel de l'aéronef, Cherokee 140 B PA-28-140 Owner's Handbook, à une masse brute de 2150 livres (pour la catégorie normale) et au niveau de la mer, la vitesse de décrochage avec moteur coupé et volets rentrés est de 64 mi/hNote de bas de page 8. La section III précise également que le meilleur angle de montée est obtenu à 74 mi/hNote de bas de page 9.

Selon les graphiques de performance dans la section IV du manuel, la distance minimale de décollage (roulage au sol) pour un aéronef dont la masse brute est de 2150 livres à une densité-altitude de 1500 pieds ASL serait d'environ 1000 piedsNote de bas de page 10 et la vitesse ascensionnelle maximale serait d'environ 600 pi/minNote de bas de page 11. Le manuel ne précise pas quel pourrait être l'effet d'une pente ascendante de 1 % de la piste au décollage.

Les données du système mondial de positionnement pour navigation satellite montrent des différences entre la performance de l'aéronef lors du premier vol et lors du vol à l'étude. Dans les deux cas, l'aéronef a décollé à une vitesse (solNote de bas de page 12) approximative de 73 mi/h, mais lors du vol à l'étude, le roulage au sol nécessaire pour atteindre cette vitesse (1700 pieds) a été plus long que lors du vol précédent (1300 pieds). Dans les deux cas, il a fallu rouler plus longtemps que le minimum indiqué dans le manuel (1000 pieds) pour cette densité-altitude. Lors du premier vol, l'aéronef a continué d'accélérer en montée après le décollage. Par contre, lors du vol à l'étude, la vitesse maximale a été atteinte au moment du décollage. Après cela, la vitesse sol a diminué régulièrement jusqu'à 59 mi/h, et ce, même si l'aéronef était en descente pendant environ les 15 dernières secondes de vol, puis l'aéronef a percuté les arbres.

Facteurs présents dans cet accident

Le BST a enquêté sur de nombreux événements mettant en cause des aéronefs dont la performance était insuffisante pour les conditions.

Dans l'accident à l'étude, la performance de l'aéronef a décru, ce qui l'a empêché de prendre de l'altitude au-dessus du relief. Cette baisse de performance n'est pas due à un seul facteur.

  • L'aéronef a décollé par vent arrière, ce qui augmentait la distance requise pour décoller.
  • La piste d'où l'aéronef a décollé (piste 29) présente une pente ascendante de 1 % (0,6°). Une pente ascendante réduit la performance au décollage. La pente ne figure pas parmi les renseignements du CFS à propos de CAP3, et l'effet de la pente de la piste n'est pas pris en compte dans les graphiques de performance du PA-28.
  • La masse de l'aéronef était à peu près égale à la masse brute maximale. Une augmentation de la masse de l'aéronef réduit les performances au décollage et en montée.
  • La densité-altitude au moment approximatif de l'accident était d'environ 1500 pieds ASL, principalement à cause de la hausse de la température ambiante. Les densités-altitudes plus élevées sont associées à une baisse de la performance de l'aéronef.
  • L'aéronef pourrait avoir rencontré des turbulences et des courants descendants au-dessus du ruisseau Chapman. Cela aurait encore réduit ses performances en montée. Les turbulences et les courants descendants au-dessus du ruisseau Chapman sont un phénomène connu des pilotes locaux; un autre pilote en avait même signalé plus tôt le même jour. La section des mises en garde du CFS pour CAP3 ne mentionne pas les turbulences ou les courants descendants au-dessus du ruisseau Chapman, et il n'y a pas de panneaux d'avertissement à l'aérodrome.

Message de sécurité

Les pilotes doivent être attentifs aux variations des facteurs pouvant jouer sur la performance de leur aéronef.

Le présent rapport conclut l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication de ce rapport le 28 décembre 2018. Il a été officiellement publié le 09 janvier 2019.

Date de modification :