Aviation Transportation Safety Investigation Report A18O0096

About the investigation

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) conducted a limited-scope, fact-gathering investigation into this occurrence to advance transportation safety through greater awareness of potential safety issues. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF [429 KB]

Impact with terrain
Bellanca 8KCAB, C-GDLP
Toronto/Buttonville Municipal Airport, Ontario

Le présent rapport est également disponible en français.

History of the flight

On 12 July 2018, the privately registered Bellanca 8KCAB aircraft (registration C-GDLP, serial number 622 80) was departing Toronto/Buttonville Municipal Airport (CYKZ), Ontario, with a student pilot on board for a solo cross-country training flight, first to Lindsay Airport (CNF4), Ontario, then to Stouffville Airport (CBB2), Ontario. The student pilot had been briefed and authorized for the flight by his instructor. He was seated in the front of 2 tandem seats.

The weather was suitable for the flight, with light winds, good visibility, and few clouds.

Air traffic control cleared the aircraft for takeoff from Runway 15 at 1957:24.Footnote 1 As the aircraft became airborne, it climbed on the runway heading.

At 1958:41, while on the initial climb, the pilot transmitted a Mayday call. Irregular engine noises could be heard, and the aircraft was seen turning west in a steep right bank and descending rapidly. The aircraft struck the ground in a right bank and steep nose-down attitude and was destroyed by impact forces and a post-impact fire. The pilot was fatally injured.

Aircraft information

The Bellanca 8KCAB aircraft, commonly known as the Decathlon, is an aerobatic, 2-seat tandem, strut-braced, high-wing aircraft. The fuselage consists of a tubular, welded steel frame covered with fabric material. The wings are manufactured with aluminum ribs and wooden spars and are covered in fabric.

The occurrence aircraft was manufactured in 1980 and had accumulated 1898 hours of airtime. It had been owned by the occurrence pilot since 2010 and was based at CBB2, which is approximately 9 nautical miles northeast of CYKZ. It was being maintained in accordance with Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs) Standard 625, Appendix B and Appendix C, a maintenance schedule for small, privately operated aircraft. The last annual inspection had been completed on 06 June 2018.

The Bellanca Decathlon Pilot's Operating ManualFootnote 2 lists the stall speed in straight and level flight as 53 mph, while the stall speed at a 60° bank angle is listed as 75 mph.Footnote 3 The manual describes the stall characteristics as follows:

The Decathlon stall characteristics are conventional. The stall warning horn will precede the stall by 5 - 10 MPH depending on the amount of power used. There is very little aerodynamic buffeting preceding the stall.

Aileron control in a power on stall is marginal. Large aileron deflections will aggravate a near stalled condition and the use is not recommended to maintain lateral control. The rudder is very effective for maintaining lateral control in a stalled condition with the ailerons placed in the neutral position.Footnote 4

According to the Pilot's Operating Manual, the emergency procedures for an engine failure after takeoff are as follows:

If sufficient runway remains:

  1. Throttle — CLOSED.
  2. Land using brakes as required.

If airborne and insufficient runway remains for landing, select the most favorable landing area ahead. Attempt an engine restart if altitude permits using ENGINE AIR RESTART procedures.

If no restart is possible, land in preselected area using FORCED LANDING procedures.

WARNING

Maintain flying speed at all times and do not attempt to turn back towards the runway unless sufficient altitude has been achieved.Footnote 5

The Pilot's Operating Manual lists the following emergency procedures for a partial power loss or rough running engine:

  1. Follow the engine restart procedures.
  2. Land as soon as practical using “Precautionary Landing Approach” procedures.Footnote 6

Wreckage information

The aircraft was destroyed by the impact forces and the subsequent fire; the wreckage was examined to the extent possible. The aircraft's interior, wooden airframe components, fabric covering, and fuel tanks, as well as several other components, were completely consumed by the fire; however, most of the steel tubing frame of the aircraft was still intact despite damage from impact forces.

The metal framing associated with the flight controls and trim tabs were all accounted for, and the cabling was contiguous and attached. However, the fire destroyed the pulleys and other associated hardware, so the freedom of movement and exact routing could not be evaluated.

The cockpit instruments were recovered from the wreckage and, although they had also sustained significant fire damage, they were examined at the TSB Engineering Laboratory in Ottawa, Ontario. Several of the instrument faces had impact markings from the associated indicators, which gave an indication of what information was likely being displayed at the time of impact (Table 1).

Table 1. Instrument readings at impact
Instrument Indication at impact Normal or maximum operating value
Airspeed indicator 86 mph N/A
Tachometer 2680 rpm 2700 rpm (maximum)
Manifold pressure 21 inHg N/A
Oil pressure 58–60 psi 60–100 psi (normal)
Fuel pressure 36 psi 12–45 psi (normal)
Oil temperature 145 °F 100–245 °F (normal)

Propeller and engine examination

The damage to the propeller and the instrument markings indicated that the engine was developing power at the time of impact. The rpm was indicating 2680, while the manifold pressure was at 21 inHg, representing approximately 65% of the available horsepower. The fuel pressure and oil temperature were within the normal range, and the oil pressure was at, or very close to, the lower limit of the normal range.

The engine (Avco Lycoming AEIO-360-H1A) was significantly damaged by both the impact and the fire. It was disassembled and examined at the TSB's regional facility in Richmond Hill, Ontario. There were no signs of catastrophic engine failure. All of the internal components were complete and intact, and showed no signs of abnormal wear.

Several components from the fuel injection system were also examined to the extent possible. The examination found some debris and contamination. The contamination was examined at the TSB Engineering Laboratory and was determined to be consistent with an engine oil product; however, it could not be determined whether this contamination was present prior to impact or whether it was a result of the impact. The amount of contamination identified did not appear to be sufficient to significantly affect fuel flow or power production.

No contamination was found in the fuel source located at CBB2.

Pilot information

The pilot obtained a student pilot permit on 22 July 2011, which expired on 01 August 2016. On the day of the occurrence, just before the accident flight, an instructor with delegated authority from Transport Canada issued a new student pilot permit to the pilot.

According to subsection 401.19(1) of the CARs,

The holder of a student pilot permit may act as pilot-in-command of an aircraft of the category for which the permit is endorsed if

  1. the flight is conducted for the purpose of the holder's flight training;
  2. the flight is conducted in Canada;
  3. the flight is conducted under day VFR [visual flight rules];
  4. the flight is conducted under the direction and supervision of a person qualified to provide training toward the permit, licence or rating for which the pilot-in-command experience is required; and
  5. no passenger is carried on board.Footnote 7

Training

The pilot's training record and aircraft's journey log indicated the pilot had received a total of 17.6 hours of dual flight instruction and had flown about 111 hours solo, of which only 3.3 hours were under the supervision of a flight instructor. Records also indicated that, prior to this flight, the pilot had received recent training from his flight instructor, including forced approaches.

An entry written in the pilot's training record by the instructor who had issued the student pilot permit to the pilot just before the occurrence flight indicated that most of the solo flights that had taken place after 22 September 2011 had not been supervised flights. In addition, the investigation found that the pilot had carried passengers on several occasions.

Emergencies during takeoff

Managing an emergency during takeoff is challenging because of the significant workload. When an emergency occurs during takeoff, the pilot does not have time to look up the appropriate procedure before taking corrective action.

CYKZ is located in a built-up area, and is surrounded by residential and commercial buildings (Figure 1). When an aircraft is departing Runway 15, the pilot has very few, if any, suitable locations to carry out a forced landing successfully in the event of an emergency.

Figure 1. Runway 15 departure area at CYKZ and occurrence aircraft's flight path (Source: Google Earth, with TSB annotations)
Runway 15 departure area at CYKZ and occurrence aircraft's flight path (Source: Google Earth, with TSB annotations)

When taking off over an area that is not suitable for a forced landing, pilots benefit from having a plan for dealing with an emergency. The plan should take into account several factors, including terrain, altitude, the aircraft's glide ratio, and wind strength. It should also include the minimum altitude at which a 180° turn would be attempted in order to return to the take-off point after an engine failure.

If a mechanical problem occurs during takeoff that necessitates an immediate landing, pilots are faced with either attempting to carry out a forced landing in an unsuitable location—risking damage to the aircraft and injury to themselves—or attempting a 180° turn back toward the departure point. Historically, many fatal accidents have occurred when the pilot attempted to turn back in this type of situation, and the aircraft stalled or the pilot lost control of the aircraft in a high bank angle at low altitude with limited or no power while attempting to re-align the aircraft with the runway.

Safety messages

In this accident, it could not be determined what type of emergency prompted the pilot to make the Mayday call and attempt to return to the airport. There were no substantial deficiencies noted with either the airframe or the engine components, although damage caused by impact forces and fire limited the TSB's ability to complete a comprehensive examination.

The investigation was unable to determine whether, during the turn-back manoeuvre, the airspeed decreased below a safe flying speed, resulting in an aerodynamic stall, or whether the pilot was distracted by the emergency, resulting in a loss of control.

Pilots are reminded to comply with the requirements of their permit or licence, as set out in the CARs.

Pilots who have not completed the required training to obtain a licence may not have developed the necessary skills or decision-making abilities to safely deal with an emergency during a critical phase of flight, such as takeoff.

This concludes the TSB's limited-scope investigation into this occurrence. The Board authorized the release of this investigation report on . It was officially released on .

Date de modification :

Rapport d’enquête sur la sécurité du transport aérien A18O0096

 Voir le document en PDF

Impact avec le relief
Bellanca 8KCAB (C-GDLP)
Aéroport municipal de Toronto/Buttonville (Ontario)



Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n’est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales. Le présent rapport n’est pas créé pour être utilisé dans le contexte d’une procédure judiciaire, disciplinaire ou autre. Voir Propriété et utilisation du contenu.

Déroulement du vol

Le 12 juillet 2018, un Bellanca 8KCAB sous immatriculation privée (immatriculé C-GDLP, numéro de série 622 80) a quitté l'aéroport municipal de Toronto/Buttonville (CYKZ) (Ontario) avec un élève-pilote à bord pour effectuer un vol d'entraînement à la navigation, à destination de l'aéroport de Lindsay (CNF4) (Ontario) d'abord, et de l'aéroport de Stouffville (CBB2) (Ontario) ensuite. L'instructeur de l'élève-pilote avait fait à celui-ci un exposé et l'avait autorisé à effectuer le vol. Il occupait le siège avant du biplace en tandem.

Les conditions météorologiques étaient propices au vol – vents légers, bonne visibilité et quelques nuages.

Le contrôle de la circulation aérienne a autorisé l'aéronef à décoller de la piste 15 à 19 h 57 min 24 sNote de bas de page 1. Lorsque l'aéronef a pris son envol, il a amorcé une montée en suivant le cap de la piste.

À 19 h 58 min 41 s, toujours durant la montée initiale, le pilote a transmis un appel de détresse. Des bruits de moteur étranges pouvait être entendus, et l'aéronef a été observé virer vers l'ouest, fortement incliné à droite et en descente rapide. L'aéronef a percuté le relief en piqué prononcé et incliné à droite. Il a été détruit par les forces d'impact et par l'incendie après impact. Le pilote a été mortellement blessé.

Renseignements sur l'aéronef

Le Bellanca 8KCAB, communément appelé le Decathlon, est un aéronef d'acrobaties aériennes biplace en tandem et à voilure haute haubanée. Le fuselage consiste en une cellule tubulaire en acier soudé couverte de tissu. Les ailes sont fabriquées avec des nervures en aluminium et des longerons en bois et sont également couvertes de tissu.

L'aéronef à l'étude avait été construit en 1980 et avait accumulé 1898 heures de vol. Le pilote à l'étude était propriétaire de l'aéronef depuis 2010. Le port d'attache de l'aéronef était CBB2, situé à quelque 9 milles marins au nord-est de CYKZ. L'aéronef était maintenu conformément aux appendices B et C de la norme 625 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC), soit un calendrier de maintenance pour petits aéronefs privés. La dernière inspection annuelle avait eu lieu le 6 juin 2018.

D'après le manuel de pilotageNote de bas de page 2 du Bellanca Decathlon, la vitesse de décrochage en vol rectiligne en palier est de 53 mi/h, et la vitesse de décrochage à un angle d'inclinaison de 60° est de 75 mi/hNote de bas de page 3. Ce manuel décrit les caractéristiques de décrochage ainsi [traduction] :

Les caractéristiques de décrochage du Decathlon sont classiques. Le klaxon de l'avertisseur de décrochage précède de 5 à 10 mi/h le décrochage, selon le réglage de puissance du moteur. Il y a très peu de vibrations aérodynamiques avant le décrochage.

En cas de décrochage avec moteur, la commande par les ailerons est marginale. Un fort braquage des ailerons aggravera tout état de quasi-décrochage. Par conséquent, cette manœuvre n'est pas recommandée pour maintenir le contrôle latéral. La gouverne de direction est très efficace pour maintenir le contrôle latéral dans un état de décrochage avec les ailerons en position neutreNote de bas de page 4.

D'après le manuel de pilotage, la procédure d'urgence en cas de panne moteur après le décollage est [traduction] :

S'il reste suffisamment de piste :

  1. Manette des gaz – FERMÉE.
  2. Atterrir en utilisant les freins, au besoin

Si l'aéronef a pris son envol et qu'il ne reste pas assez de piste pour atterrir, choisir l'emplacement d'atterrissage le plus favorable devant. Essayer de redémarrer le moteur si l'altitude le permet en suivant la procédure « ENGINE AIR RESTART » [redémarrage du moteur en vol].

S'il est impossible de redémarrer, atterrir dans la zone choisie en suivant la procédure « FORCED LANDING » [atterrissage forcé].

AVERTISSEMENT

Maintenir la vitesse de vol en tout temps et ne pas essayer de faire demi-tour vers la piste, à moins d'avoir atteint une altitude suffisanteNote de bas de page 5.

Le manuel de pilotage liste les procédures d'urgence suivantes en cas de perte partielle de puissance ou de fonctionnement irrégulier du moteur [traduction] :

  1. Suivre la procédure de redémarrage du moteur.
  2. Atterrir le plus tôt possible en suivant les procédures d'approche de précautionNote de bas de page 6.

Renseignements sur l'épave

L'aéronef a été détruit par les forces d'impact et l'incendie qui s'est déclaré après impact; l'épave a été examinée dans la mesure du possible. L'incendie a entièrement consumé l'intérieur de l'aéronef, les composants en bois de la cellule, le recouvrement en tissu, les réservoirs de carburant, ainsi que plusieurs autres composants. Toutefois, le cadre d'acier tubulaire était en majorité intact, malgré les dommages causés par les forces d'impact.

La structure métallique ainsi que les commandes de vol et les volets compensateurs de régime qui y sont rattachés étaient tous présents, et le câblage était accolé et attaché. Cependant, l'incendie a détruit les poulies et le reste du matériel connexe, ce qui a empêché d'évaluer leur liberté de déplacement et leur acheminement exact.

Les instruments du poste de pilotage ont été retrouvés dans l'épave; quoique lourdement endommagés par l'incendie, ils ont été examinés au Laboratoire technique du BST à Ottawa (Ontario). Plusieurs cadrans d'instruments présentaient des marques d'impact causées par leurs indicateurs, ce qui donne une idée des valeurs qu'ils affichaient au moment de l'impact (tableau 1).

Tableau 1. Affichage des instruments au moment de l'impact
Instrument Affichage au moment de l'impact Valeur d'exploitation normale ou maximale

Anémomètre

86 mi/h

S.O.

Compte-tours

2680 tr/min

2700 tr/min (maximum)

Pression d'admission

21 inHg

S.O.

Pression d'huile

58 – 60 lb/po2

60 – 100 lb/po2 (normale)

Pression de carburant

36 lb/po2

12 – 45 lb/po2 (normale)

Température d'huile

145 °F

100 – 245 °F (normale)

Examen de l'hélice et du moteur

Les dommages causés à l'hélice et les marques d'impact sur les instruments indiquaient que le moteur générait de la puissance au moment de l'impact. Le compte-tours indiquait 2680 tr/min, tandis que la pression d'admission était de 21 inHg, ce qui représente environ 65 % de la puissance disponible. La pression de carburant et la température d'huile étaient dans leur plage normale, et la pression d'huile était à la limite inférieure de la plage normale, ou tout près de celle-ci.

Le moteur (Avco Lycoming AEIO-360-H1A) a été lourdement endommagé par les forces d'impact et par l'incendie. On l'a démonté et examiné aux installations régionales du BST à Richmond Hill (Ontario). Il n'y avait aucune indication de défaillance catastrophique du moteur. Tous les composants internes étaient entiers et intacts et ne portaient aucun signe d'usure anormale.

Plusieurs composants du système d'injection de carburant ont aussi été examinés dans la mesure du possible. Cet examen a relevé des débris et de la contamination. On a examiné la contamination au Laboratoire technique du BST et on a déterminé qu'elle correspondait à un produit d'huile moteur. Toutefois, il n'était pas possible de déterminer si cette contamination était présente avant l'impact ou causée par l'impact. L'ampleur de la contamination constatée ne semblait pas être suffisante pour nuire considérablement au débit de carburant ou à la génération de puissance.

Aucune contamination n'a été trouvée dans la source de carburant à CBB2.

Renseignements sur le pilote

Le pilote avait obtenu son permis d'élève-pilote le 22 juillet 2011. Ce permis avait expiré le 1er août 2016. Le jour de l'événement, juste avant le vol à l'étude, un instructeur dûment autorisé par Transports Canada a délivré un nouveau permis d'élève-pilote au pilote en cause.

Selon le paragraphe 401.19(1) du RAC :

Le titulaire d'un permis d'élève-pilote peut agir en qualité de commandant de bord de tout aéronef de la catégorie pour laquelle son permis est annoté si les conditions suivantes sont réunies :

  1. le vol est effectué pour l'entraînement en vol du titulaire;
  2. il est effectué au Canada;
  3. il est effectué en vol VFR [règles de vol à vue] de jour;
  4. il est effectué sous la direction et la surveillance d'une personne qualifiée pour dispenser la formation en vue du permis, de la licence ou de la qualification pour lesquels l'expérience de commandant de bord est exigée;
  5. aucun passager ne se trouve à bordNote de bas de page 7.

Formation

Le dossier de formation du pilote et le carnet de bord d'aéronef indiquaient que le pilote avait suivi au total 17,6 heures d'instruction de vol en double commande et avait effectué près de 111 heures de vol en solo, dont seulement 3,3 heures sous la supervision d'un instructeur de vol. Les dossiers ont également révélé qu'avant le vol à l'étude, le pilote avait suivi récemment une formation avec son instructeur de vol qui couvrait les approches forcées.

D'après une note inscrite dans le dossier de formation du pilote par l'instructeur qui lui avait délivré le permis d'élève-pilote juste avant le vol à l'étude, la plupart des vols en solo qui avaient été effectués après le 22 septembre 2011 n'avaient pas été supervisés. En outre, l'enquête a permis de déterminer que le pilote avait transporté des passagers à plusieurs reprises.

Situations d'urgence durant le décollage

La gestion d'une situation d'urgence durant le décollage est difficile, étant donné l'importante charge de travail. Lorsqu'une situation d'urgence se produit, le pilote n'a pas le temps de consulter la procédure indiquée avant de prendre des mesures correctives.

L'aéroport CYKZ se trouve dans une zone bâtie et il est entouré d'immeubles résidentiels et commerciaux (figure 1). Lorsqu'un aéronef décolle de la piste 15, il y a très peu d'endroits convenables où le pilote peut réussir un atterrissage forcé en cas d'urgence.

Figure 1. Aire de départ de la piste 15 à CYKZ et trajectoire de vol de l'aéronef à l'étude (Source : Google Earth, avec annotations du BST)
Aire de départ de la piste 15 à CYKZ et trajectoire de vol de l'aéronef  à l'étude (Source : Google Earth, avec annotations du BST)

Lorsqu'un décollage a lieu au-dessus d'une zone qui ne se prête pas à un atterrissage forcé, un plan de gestion des situations d'urgence s'avère utile pour les pilotes. Ce plan devrait prendre en considération plusieurs facteurs, dont le relief, l'altitude, le taux de vol plané de l'aéronef et la force des vents. Il doit également inclure l'altitude minimale à laquelle le pilote peut tenter un demi-tour afin de revenir au point de départ à la suite d'une panne moteur.

Si un problème mécanique exigeant un atterrissage immédiat se produit au décollage, les pilotes doivent alors tenter un atterrissage forcé dans un endroit convenable – au risque d'endommager l'aéronef et de subir des blessures – ou tenter de faire demi-tour pour retourner vers le point de départ. Historiquement, beaucoup d'accidents mortels se sont produits lorsqu'un pilote a tenté de faire demi-tour dans ce type de situation; l'aéronef a décroché ou le pilote en a perdu la maîtrise à un angle d'inclinaison prononcé et à faible altitude, avec une puissance limitée ou sans moteur, en tentant de réaligner l'aéronef sur la piste.

Messages de sécurité

Dans l'événement à l'étude, il n'était pas possible de déterminer le type de situation d'urgence qui a incité le pilote à transmettre un appel de détresse et à tenter de revenir à l'aéroport. On n'a relevé aucune anomalie importante de la cellule ou des composants du moteur, quoique les dommages causés par les forces d'impact et l'incendie aient limité la capacité du BST à procéder à un examen exhaustif.

L'enquête n'a pas permis de déterminer si le décrochage aérodynamique durant la manœuvre de demi-tour résultait d'une diminution de la vitesse anémométrique sous la vitesse suffisante pour le vol ou si le pilote a été distrait par la situation d'urgence et a perdu la maîtrise de l'aéronef.

On rappelle aux pilotes de se conformer aux exigences de leur permis ou licence, comme le stipule le RAC.

Les pilotes qui n'ont pas achevé la formation requise pour obtenir une licence pourraient ne pas avoir acquis les compétences ou la capacité de prise de décisions nécessaires pour gérer une situation d'urgence durant une phase de vol critique comme le décollage

Date de modification :