Language selection

News release

Associated links (A19O0178)

Fatal 2019 accident highlights risk of night flying with inadequate visual references to the surface

Richmond Hill, Ontario, 4 March 2021 — The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigation (A19O0178) into the fatal November 2019 accident involving a Piper PA-32-260 in Kingston, Ontario, highlights some of the risks of flying at night under visual flight rules (VFR), particularly when weather conditions are poor and over areas with little lighting.

On 27 November 2019, a privately registered U.S. Piper PA-32-260 aircraft was conducting a flight from Toronto/Buttonville Municipal Airport, Ontario, to Québec/Neuville Airport, Quebec, with a pilot and six passengers on board. While the aircraft departed during daylight hours, the majority of the flight was to take place during the hours of darkness. As the weather deteriorated throughout the flight and the aircraft neared the Kingston Airport, Ontario, the pilot contacted the Kingston flight service station and stated his intention to land there. Shortly after, the aircraft struck terrain approximately 3.5 nautical miles north of Kingston Airport. All seven occupants were fatally injured and the aircraft was destroyed.

The investigation found that the pilot departed Toronto/Buttonville Municipal Airport when the weather conditions for the intended flight were below the limits required for a night VFR flight. Given the pilot’s limited flying experience, it is likely that he did not recognize the hazards associated with a night VFR flight into poor weather conditions. While approaching the Kingston Airport, the pilot likely lost visual reference to the surface, became spatially disoriented, and lost control of the aircraft.

The flight was planned over some areas that had very little cultural lighting, leading to the pilot having little or no visual reference to the surface during portions of the flight. Cultural lighting is concentrated lighting around areas such as towns and cities. While the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs) require pilots to maintain visual reference to the surface for night VFR flights, they do not clearly define “visual reference to the surface.”

Since 2013, the TSB has investigated five other fatal accidents involving private aircraft on night VFR flights, each time highlighting the lack of clarity in the regulations regarding visual references. In 2016, the Board issued a recommendation (A16-08) for Transport Canada to clearly define the visual references required to reduce the risks associated with night VFR flights. If the CARs do not clearly define what is meant by “visual reference to the surface,” night flights may be conducted with inadequate visual references, which increases the risks associated with night VFR flight, including controlled-flight-into-terrain and loss-of-control accidents.

See the investigation page for more information.


The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

For more information, contact:
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Media Relations
Telephone: 819-994-8053
Email: media@tsb.gc.ca

Language selection

Communiqué

Liens connexes (A19O0178)

Un accident mortel survenu en 2019 met en évidence le risque de voler de nuit avec des repères visuels à la surface inadéquats

Richmond Hill (Ontario), le 4 mars 2021 — L’enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) (A19O0178) sur un accident mortel survenu en novembre 2019 et mettant en cause un avion Piper PA-32-260 à Kingston (Ontario) met en évidence certains des risques associés au vol de nuit effectué selon les règles de vol à vue (VFR), particulièrement lorsque les conditions météorologiques sont mauvaises et lorsque les zones survolées sont peu éclairées.

Le 27 novembre 2019, un avion Piper PA-32-260 sous immatriculation privée effectuait un vol entre l’aéroport municipal Toronto-Buttonville (Ontario) et l’aéroport de Québec-Neuville (Québec), avec un pilote et six passagers à bord. Bien que l’avion ait décollé pendant le jour, la majeure partie du vol devait se dérouler dans l’obscurité. À mesure que les conditions météorologiques se détérioraient et que l’avion approchait de l’aéroport de Kingston (Ontario), le pilote a communiqué avec la station d’information de vol de Kingston et a déclaré son intention d’atterrir à cet endroit. Peu de temps après, l’avion a heurté le relief à environ 3,5 milles marins au nord de l’aéroport de Kingston. Les sept occupants ont été mortellement blessés et l’avion a été détruit.

L’enquête a révélé que le pilote a quitté l’aéroport municipal de Toronto-Buttonville lorsque les conditions météorologiques du vol prévu étaient inférieures aux limites requises pour un vol VFR de nuit. Compte tenu de l’expérience de vol limitée du pilote, il est probable qu’il n’ait pas reconnu les dangers associés à un vol VFR de nuit dans des conditions météorologiques défavorables. À l’approche de l’aéroport de Kingston, le pilote a probablement perdu ses repères visuels à la surface, a subi une désorientation spatiale et a perdu la maîtrise de l’avion.

Le vol devait survoler certaines régions où l’éclairage artificiel était limité, ce qui laissait au pilote peu ou pas de repères visuels à la surface pendant une partie du vol. L’éclairage artificiel constitue l’éclairage concentré autour de certaines zones, comme les villes et les villages. Bien que le Règlement de l’aviation canadien (RAC) exige que les pilotes utilisent constamment des repères visuels à la surface au cours de vols VFR de nuit, il ne définit pas clairement le terme « repères visuels à la surface ».

Depuis 2013, le BST a enquêté sur cinq autres accidents mortels mettant en cause un aéronef privé effectuant un vol VFR de nuit, soulignant chaque fois le manque de clarté dans la réglementation en ce qui a trait aux repères visuels. En 2016, le Bureau a émis une recommandation (A16-08) à l’intention de Transports Canada pour que le ministère définisse clairement les repères visuels requis pour réduire les risques liés aux vols VFR de nuit. Si le RAC ne définit pas clairement ce que sont les « repères visuels à la surface », des vols de nuit pourraient être effectués avec des repères visuels inadéquats, ce qui augmente les risques associés aux vols VFR de nuit, notamment les impacts sans perte de contrôle et les accidents avec perte de maîtrise.

Voir la page de l’enquête pour plus d’information.


Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
Relations avec les médias
Téléphone: 819–994–8053
Courriel: medias@bst.gc.ca