Language selection

News release

TSB preliminary statistics show decrease in number of air and rail occurrences in 2020

Gatineau, Quebec, 25 February 2021 — Following an initial review of its 2020 data, the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) is today providing a summary of preliminary transportation occurrence statistics. The 2020 data indicate an overall reduction in the number of accidents / incidents for the Air and Rail sectors, which were likely influenced by the impact of COVID-19 on the transportation industry and other disruptions in service. 

Figure 1. 2020 transportation accidents reported to the TSB (preliminary data)
2020 transportation accidents reported to the TSB (preliminary data)
Data table
  2020 2019 Five-year average
Air accidents 169 227 230
Marine accidents 262 267 278
Pipeline accidents 0 0 1
Rail accidents 959 1257 1091

Air transportation

TSB air transportation occurrence data for 2020 show the effects of a decrease in aircraft movements during the COVID-19 pandemic, particularly in commercial aviation. According to Statistics Canada  data,Footnote 1 there were approximately 43% fewer commercial, and 19% fewer private / government, movements in 2020 (January – November) compared to the same period in 2019. The number of aviation accidents (169) reported to the TSB in 2020 was about 36% lower than the five-year average of 230. There were 12 fatal accidents that caused 16 fatalities in 2020, compared with 33 fatal accidents and 70 fatalities in 2019. Also, accidents involving commercial operators decreased from 83 in 2019, to 53 in 2020 (a reduction of approximately 36%), while those involving private operators (CAR 604, recreational, and other private operations) decreased from 143 to 114 (a reduction of approximately 20%).

There were 419 aviation incidents reported to the TSB in 2020. This number represents a decrease from the previous year (915) and from the five-year average (867).

Marine transportation

In 2020, 262 marine accidents were reported to the TSB, similar to 2019’s total of 267 and about 6% below the five-year average of 278. The number of fishing vessels involved in accidents (shipping accidents and accidents aboard ships) in 2020 (87) was higher than the previous year (78), but lower than the five-year average (93), with seven of the nine fatal marine accidents and 16 of the 18 marine fatalities involving the commercial fishing industry. Commercial fishing safety has been on the TSB Watchlist since its inception in 2010.

Some 925 marine incidents were reported to the TSB in 2020. This number represents a 2% decrease from 2019 (948) but a 9% increase from the five-year average of 848. Most (82%) reportable incidents were categorized as “total failure of machinery or technical system.”

Pipeline transportation

There were no pipeline accidents in 2020; all occurrences during the year were incidents. A total of 80 pipeline occurrences were reported to the TSB in 2020; this is above the total of 52 in 2019 but below the five-year average of 99. The number of pipeline occurrences involving a release of product was lower in 2020 than in previous years (18 in 2020 compared with 23 in 2019 and five-year average of 48). Twelve of the 18 occurrences in the “product released” category in 2020 involved a release of hydrocarbon gas.

Thirty-three percent (26) of pipeline incidents in 2020 involved geotechnical/hydrotechnical/ environmental activity, compared with 25% in 2019 and the five-year average of 16%.

Railway transportation

Overall, 959 railway accidents were reported to the TSB in 2020 – a 12% decrease from the five-year average of 1091 – and 59 rail-related fatalities reported in 2020, 13 fewer than the previous year and slightly below the five-year average of 63.

Thirty-nine of the 2020 fatalities involved trespassers (66% of all rail fatalities), compared with 38 (53%) in 2019 and the five-year average of 40 (63%). Crossing accident fatalities decreased from 28 to 18 in 2020, similar to the five-year average of 20. The TSB is researching seasonal patterns in crossing accidents to better understand some of the factors that may be contributing to these occurrences.

Among all railway accidents reported to the TSB in 2020, 81 involved dangerous goods (DG), a decrease from 2019’s total of 171 and below the five-year average of 128. Three accidents in 2020 resulted in a DG release.

There were 26 accidents involving an uncontrolled movement and 19 incidents categorized as “uncontrolled movement of rolling stock” in 2020, compared with 62 and 16 respectively in 2019 and the five-year averages of 46 and 14 respectively.

Additionally, 227 railway incidents were reported to the TSB in 2020 – representing a 7% decrease from 2019 (243) and a 21% decrease from the five-year average (287).  However, two thirds (151) of all railway incidents in 2020 were categorized as “movement exceeds limits of authority” incidents, 15 more than in 2019 and 17 more than the five‑year average of 134.

For more information, please refer to the detailed statistical tables in the December 2020 transportation occurrence statistics for air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation. Note that data for the 2020 period can be found under Year to date (December).

The TSB will release its complete and final statistical reports for 2020 in the spring; these will include accident rates and a more thorough analysis of the updated data (which may vary slightly from this preliminary data).


The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

For more information, contact:
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Media Relations
Telephone: 819-994-8053
Email: media@tsb.gc.ca

Communiqué

Les statistiques préliminaires du BST montrent une diminution du nombre d’événements aériens et ferroviaires en 2020

Gatineau, Québec, le 25 février 2021 – À la suite d’un examen initial de ses données de 2020, le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) présente aujourd’hui un résumé des statistiques préliminaires sur les accidents de transport. Les données de 2020 indiquent une réduction globale du nombre d’accidents et d’incidents pour les secteurs aérien et ferroviaire, qui ont probablement été influencés par l’impact de la COVID-19 sur l’industrie des transports et d’autres perturbations de service.

Figure 1. Accidents de transport signalés au BST en 2020 (données préliminaires)
Accidents de transport signalés au BST en 2020 (données préliminaires)
Tableau de données
  2020 2019 Moyenne sur 5 ans
Accidents aéronautiques 169 227 230
Accidents maritimes 262 267 278
Accidents pipeliniers 0 0 1
Accidents ferroviaires 959 1257 1091

Transport aérien

Les données sur les accidents de transport aérien du BST pour 2020 montrent les effets d’une diminution des mouvements d’aéronefs pendant la pandémie de COVID-19, particulièrement dans l’aviation commerciale. Selon les données de Statistique CanadaNote de bas de page 1 , les mouvements commerciaux ont diminué d’environ 43 % et les mouvements privés ou gouvernementaux ont diminué d’environ 19 % en 2020 (de janvier à novembre) par rapport à la même période en 2019. Le nombre d’accidents aéronautiques (169) signalés au BST en 2020 était d’environ 36 % inférieur à la moyenne quinquennale de 230. Il y a eu 12 accidents mortels qui ont causé 16 pertes de vie en 2020, contre 33 accidents mortels et 70 pertes de vie en 2019. De plus, les accidents touchant des exploitants commerciaux ont diminué, passant de 83 en 2019 à 53 en 2020 (une réduction d’environ 36 %), alors que ceux touchant des exploitants privés (article 604 du Règlement de l’aviation canadien, activités récréatives et autres activités privées) ont diminué, passant de 143 à 114 (une réduction d’environ 20 %).

En 2020, 419 incidents aéronautiques ont été signalés au BST. Ce chiffre représente une baisse par rapport à l’année précédente (915) et à la moyenne quinquennale (867).

Transport maritime

En 2020, 262 accidents maritimes ont été signalés au BST, ce qui se rapproche du total de 267 en 2019 et représente une baisse d’environ 6 % par rapport à la moyenne quinquennale de 278. En 2020 (87), le nombre de bateaux de pêche impliqués dans des accidents (accidents de navigation et accidents à bord de navires) était plus élevé que l’année précédente (78), mais inférieur à la moyenne quinquennale (93), sept des neuf accidents maritimes étant mortels et 16 des 18 accidents maritimes touchant l’industrie de la pêche commerciale. La sécurité de la pêche commerciale figure sur la liste de surveillance du BST depuis sa création en 2010.

Quelque 925 incidents maritimes ont été signalés au BST en 2020. Ce nombre représente une baisse de 2 % par rapport à 2019 (948), mais une augmentation de 9 % par rapport à la moyenne quinquennale de 848. Les pannes totales de machines ou de systèmes techniques représentent la majorité (82 %) des incidents à déclaration obligatoire.

Transport pipelinier

Il n’y a eu aucun accident pipelinier en 2020 : tous les événements de l’année étaient des incidents. En 2020, 80 événements pipeliniers ont été signalés au BST, ce qui est supérieur au total de 52 événements en 2019, mais inférieur à la moyenne quinquennale de 99 événements. En 2020, le nombre d’événements de pipeline comprenant un rejet de produit a été inférieur à celui des années précédentes (18 en 2020, comparativement à 23 en 2019 et à une moyenne quinquennale de 48). Des 18 événements de la catégorie « produit rejeté » en 2020, 12 comprenaient un rejet de gaz d’hydrocarbures.

Trente-trois pour cent (26) des incidents pipeliniers en 2020 étaient liés à des activités géotechniques, hydrotechniques et environnementales, comparativement à 25 % en 2019 et à une moyenne quinquennale de 16 %.

Transport ferroviaire

Dans l’ensemble, 959 accidents ferroviaires ont été signalés au BST en 2020 — une diminution de 12 % par rapport à la moyenne quinquennale de 1091 —et 59 pertes de vie dues à des accidents ferroviaires ont été signalées en 2020, soit 13 de moins que l’année précédente et légèrement en dessous de la moyenne quinquennale de 63.

Trente-neuf des pertes de vie de 2020 étaient liées à des intrusions (66 % de toutes les pertes de vie dans le secteur ferroviaire), contre 38 (53 %) en 2019 et une moyenne quinquennale de 40  (63 %). Le nombre de pertes de vie survenues à des passages à niveau est passé de 28 à 18 en 2020, ce qui est comparable à la moyenne quinquennale de 20. Le BST effectue des recherches sur les tendances saisonnières des accidents à des passages à niveau afin de mieux comprendre certains des facteurs qui peuvent contribuer à ces événements.

Parmi tous les accidents ferroviaires signalés au BST en 2020, 81 concernaient des marchandises dangereuses (MD), une diminution par rapport au total de 171 en 2019 et en dessous de la moyenne quinquennale de 128. Trois accidents en 2020 ont donné lieu à un rejet de MD.

Il y a eu 26 accidents de mouvement non contrôlé et 19 incidents de  mouvement non contrôlé de matériel roulant en 2020, par rapport à 62 et 16 respectivement en 2019 et aux moyennes quinquennales de 46 et 14, respectivement.

De plus, 227 incidents ferroviaires ont été signalés au BST en 2020, ce qui représente une diminution de 7 % par rapport à 2019 (243) et une diminution de 21 % par rapport à la moyenne quinquennale (287). Toutefois, les deux tiers (151) de tous les incidents ferroviaires en 2020 ont été classés sous la catégorie « le mouvement dépasse les limites d’autorisation », soit 15 de plus qu’en 2019 et 17 de plus que la moyenne quinquennale de 134.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter les tableaux statistiques détaillés dans les statistiques de décembre 2020 sur les accidents de transport pour le transport aérien, maritime, pipelinier et ferroviaire. Veuillez noter que les données pour la période de 2020 se trouvent sous Cumulatif (décembre).

Le BST publiera au printemps ses rapports statistiques complets et finaux pour 2020; ces données comprendront les taux d’accidents et une analyse plus approfondie des données à jour (qui peuvent différer légèrement de ces données préliminaires).


Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
Relations avec les médias
Téléphone: 819–994–8053
Courriel: medias@bst.gc.ca

Date de modification :