Rail transportation safety investigation R16C0065

Update: The TSB has completed this investigation. The report was published on 17 January 2018.

Table of contents

Collision

Canadian Pacific Railway
Freight trains 303-646 and 113-31
Mile 171.7, Brooks Subdivision
Calgary, Alberta

View final report

The occurrence

On , Canadian Pacific Railway (CP) train 303 collided with CP train 113 at Mile 172, on the Brooks Subdivision in Calgary, Alberta. Train 113 was stopped with the head-end of the train at Alyth Yard and the tail-end south of the 50th Avenue overpass. As train 303 came around a curve, the crew observed the tail-end of train 113. The crew on train 303 initiated an emergency brake application. But, unable to stop, train 303 collided with the tail-end of train 113. Both locomotives and the first 2 cars on train 303 derailed, along with the tail-end car of train 113, a 3-platform container car. There were no injuries and there was no release of dangerous goods.

Media materials

News releases

2018-01-17

TSB releases investigation report into September 2016 collision and derailment involving two trains in Calgary, Alberta
Read the news release

Deployment notice

2016-09-03

TSB deploys a team of investigators to a rail accident in Calgary Alberta

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) deploys a team of investigators to a Canadian Pacific Railway accident that occurred in the Alyth rail yard in Calgary, Alberta. The TSB will gather information and assess the occurrence.


Investigation information

Map showing the location of the occurrence


Investigator-in-charge

Photo of Don Crawford

Mr. Don Crawford has many years of national and international railway experience. In his early career, he was a locomotive engineer with Canadian National (CN) Railway on its British Columbia North Corridor and Vancouver based territories and with BC Rail on the former BC Rail property. In addition, Mr. Crawford has experience in training and supervisory roles and was a staff member at CN’s Gimli, Manitoba training facility. Internationally, Mr. Crawford worked in Kosovo after the 1998/99 war as part of the United Nations Peace Keeping effort helping to restore rail service to the country. Most recently, Mr. Crawford worked in Saudi Arabia as a locomotive instructor.


Photos


  Download high-resolution photos from the TSB Flickr page.

Class of investigation

This is a class 3 investigation. These investigations analyze a small number of safety issues, and may result in recommendations. Class 3 investigations are generally completed within 450 days. For more information, see the Policy on Occurrence Classification.

TSB investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Date modified:

Rapport d’enquête sur la sécurité du transport ferroviaire R16C0065

Mise à jour : Le BST a terminé cette enquête. Le rapport a été publié le 17 janvier 2018.

Table des matières

Collision et déraillement de trains sur voie non principale

Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique
Trains de marchandise 303-646 et 113-31
Point milliaire 171,7, subdivision de Brooks
Calgary (Alberta)

Voir le rapport final

L'événement

Le 3 septembre 2016, vers 9 h 25, heure avancée des Rocheuses, le train 303-646 du Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique, qui circulait vers l'ouest à environ 22 mi/h au point milliaire 171,7 de la subdivision de Brooks, est entré en collision avec la queue du train 113-31, qui était immobilisé sur la voie PT01, près du triage Alyth, à Calgary (Alberta). Deux locomotives à la tête du train 303-646 ont déraillé, tout comme 2 wagons-trémies couverts derrière les locomotives. Le dernier wagon du train 113-31, un wagon porte-conteneurs à 3 plateformes, a également déraillé. Il n'y a pas eu de blessés. Aucune marchandise dangereuse n'a été déversée.


Ressources pour les médias

Communiqué de presse

2018-01-17

Le BST publie son rapport d'enquête sur la collision et le déraillement de deux trains à Calgary (Alberta) en septembre 2016
Lire le communiqué de presse

Avis de déploiement

2016-09-03

Le BST envoie une équipe d’enquêteurs sur les lieux d’un accident ferroviaire à Calgary (Alberta)

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) envoie une équipe d’enquêteurs sur les lieux d’un accident ferroviaire du Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique survenu à la gare de triage Alyth à Calgary (Alberta). Le BST va recueillir des informations et évaluer l'événement.


Informations d'enquête

Carte de la région


Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Don Crawford

M. Don Crawford a de nombreuses années d'expérience dans le domaine ferroviaire à l’échelle nationale et internationale. Au début de sa carrière, il était un conducteur de locomotive chez Canadien National (CN) en Colombie-Britannique sur ses territoires du corridor nord et de Vancouver et aussi chez BC Rail sur l'ancienne propriété de BC Rail. En outre, M. Crawford a de l'expérience comme instructeur et superviseur et était membre du personnel du centre de formation du CN à Gimli, au Manitoba. Sur le plan international, M. Crawford a travaillé au Kosovo après la guerre de 1998-1999 dans le cadre de la mission de maintien de la paix des Nations Unies pour aider à rétablir le service ferroviaire dans le pays. Plus récemment M. Crawford a travaillé en Arabie Saoudite en tant qu'instructeur de locomotive.


Photos


  Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Catégorie de l’enquête

Cette enquête est une enquête de catégorie 3. Dans le cadre de ces enquêtes, on analyse un petit nombre de problèmes de sécurité. Parfois, ces enquêtes donnent lieu à des recommandations. Les enquêtes de catégorie 3 se concluent généralement en 450 jours. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la Politique de classification des événements.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Date de modification: