Air transportation safety investigation A15C0130

Update: The TSB has completed this investigation. The report was published on 17 January 2017.

Table of contents

Collision with terrain

Apex Helicopters Inc.
Robinson R44, C-GZFX
Foleyet, Ontario, 17 nm S

View final report

The occurrence

On 08 September 2015, at approximately 2015 Eastern Daylight Time, an Apex Helicopters Inc. Robinson R44 (registration C GZFX, serial number 0595) departed from a camp on Horwood Lake, Ontario, for the Foleyet Timber Camp, 17 nautical miles south of Foleyet, Ontario, with 1 pilot and 1 passenger on board. Approximately 3.1 nautical miles northwest of the Foleyet Timber Camp, the helicopter struck trees on elevated terrain. The occupants sustained fatal injuries. The helicopter was destroyed by impact forces. There was no post-impact fire. The helicopter was equipped with an emergency locator transmitter, but no signal was transmitted or detected by search and rescue agencies. The aircraft was not reported missing until the following day at approximately 1500, at which point search and rescue operations were initiated. The wreckage was discovered by a company aircraft on 11 September.

Media materials

Deployment notice

2015-09-11

TSB deploying a team of investigators to a helicopter accident near Foleyet, Ontario

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) is deploying a team of investigators to Foleyet, Ontario, where an Apex Helicopters R44 helicopter was involved in an accident south of Foleyet. The TSB will gather information and assess the occurrence.


Investigation information

Map showing the location of the occurrence

Investigator-in-charge

Photo of Ross Peden

Ross Peden has 35 years of civil aviation experience. He joined the TSB in September 2001 as a Flight Operations investigator in the TSB central region office in Winnipeg Manitoba. Prior to joining the TSB, he worked as an airline pilot for different Canadian and foreign carriers, which included a 4 year stint in Sudan Africa and 3 years in Paris France. During that time, he flew different aircraft types, starting on small bush aircraft and eventually finishing commercial career on large jet aircraft. In 1996 he joined Transport Canada, as an Instrument procedures specialist, followed by a period with what was then called system safety.

Since joining the TSB, Mr. Peden has participated in several TSB investigations, including the 2005 Air France accident at Pearson Airport in Toronto.


  Download high-resolution photos from the TSB Flickr page.

Class of investigation

This is a class 3 investigation. These investigations analyze a small number of safety issues, and may result in recommendations. Class 3 investigations are generally completed within 450 days. For more information, see the Policy on Occurrence Classification.

TSB investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Date modified:

Enquête sur la sécurité du transport aérien A15C0130

Mise à jour : Le BST a terminé cette enquête. Le rapport a été publié le 22 octobre 2018.

Table des matiéres

Collision avec le relief

Apex Helicopters Inc.
Robinson R44, C-GZFX
17 milles marins (nm) au sud de Foleyet (Ontario)

Voir le rapport final

L'événement

Le , vers 20 h 15, heure avancée de l’Est, un hélicoptère Robinson R44 (immatriculé C GZFX, numéro de série 0595) exploité par Apex Helicopters Inc. a décollé d’un camp au lac Horwood (Ontario), à destination du camp forestier Foleyet, situé à 17 milles marins au sud de Foleyet (Ontario) avec 1 pilote et 1 passager à bord. À environ 3,1 milles marins au nord-ouest du camp forestier Foleyet, l’hélicoptère a heurté des arbres sur un relief élevé. Les occupants ont subi des blessures mortelles. L’hélicoptère a été détruit sous la force de l’impact. Aucun incendie ne s’est déclaré après l’impact. L’hélicoptère était muni d’une radiobalise de repérage d’urgence, mais aucun signal n’a été transmis ni détecté par les services de recherche et sauvetage. Ce n’est que vers 15 h le lendemain que l’aéronef a été porté manquant. On a alors lancé les opérations de recherche et sauvetage. C’est un aéronef de la compagnie qui a repéré l’épave, le 11 septembre.

Ressources pour les médias

Avis de déploiement

2015-09-11

Le BST dépêche une équipe d’enquêteurs sur les lieux d’un accident d’hélicoptère survenu près de Foleyet (Ontario)

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) dépêchera une équipe d’enquêteurs sur les lieux d’un accident survenu au sud de Foleyet (Ontario), mettant en cause un hélicoptère Robinson R44 d’Apex Helicopters. Le BST va recueillir des informations et évaluer l'événement.


Informations d'enquête

Carte de la région


Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Ross Peden

Ross Peden possède 35 ans d'expérience en aviation civile. Il s'est joint au BST en septembre 2001 à titre d'enquêteur des opérations aériennes au bureau de la région du centre du BST à Winnipeg, au Manitoba. Avant de faire partie du BST, il a travaillé comme pilote de ligne pour différents transporteurs canadiens et étrangers, y compris quatre années au Soudan, en Afrique et trois ans à Paris, en France. Pendant cette période, il a été aux commandes de différents types d'aéronefs, en commençant par de petits avions de brousse et en terminant sa carrière commerciale avec de grands avions à réaction. En 1996, il s'est joint à Transports Canada à titre de spécialiste du vol aux instruments, suivi d'une période avec ce que l'on appelait à l'époque la Sécurité du système.

Depuis ses débuts avec le BST, M. Peden a pris part à plusieurs enquêtes, y compris l'accident d'Air France à l'aéroport Pearson de Toronto en 2005.


Photos


  Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Catégorie de l’enquête

Cette enquête est une enquête de catégorie 3. Dans le cadre de ces enquêtes, on analyse un petit nombre de problèmes de sécurité. Parfois, ces enquêtes donnent lieu à des recommandations. Les enquêtes de catégorie 3 se concluent généralement en 450 jours. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la Politique de classification des événements.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Date de modification: