Risk of collisions on runways

There is an ongoing risk of aircraft colliding with vehicles or other aircraft on the ground at Canadian airports.

Added to the Watchlist on 16 August 2010

Background

Airport operations require aircraft and vehicles to move between ramps, taxiways and runways. Sometimes this movement creates conflicts between aircraft, or between aircraft and vehicles. This can also happen when aircraft or vehicles mistakenly occupy an active take-off or landing area.

In a nine-year period from 2001 to 2009, there were 4140 of these conflicts, known as runway incursions, nationwide.1 Given the millions of take-offs and landings each year, incursions are rare, but their consequences can be catastrophic.

Since the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) first placed this issue on its Watchlist, the number of these occurrences has not decreased: in 2010 there were 351, followed by another 446 in 2011. The Board continues to investigate these occurrences because the risk persists.

There are ongoing efforts by both the industry and the regulator to share data and other information, and to improve local airport procedures; however, more leadership is required from Transport Canada. In particular, few new technological defences have been seriously considered or implemented in Canada.

The TSB has made findings and reported publicly on the risk of collisions on runways.2 The Board remains concerned that incursions and the risk of collisions will continue until better defences are put in place.

Solution

Improved procedures and the adoption of enhanced collision warning systems are required at Canada's airports.


See this fact sheet in PDF
See all the Watchlist fact sheets in PDF

Next Watchlist issue


  1. Source: Transport Canada Civil Aviation Daily Occurrence Reporting System.
  2. TSB investigation reports A99W0036, A00P0206, A00Q0114, A00W0062, A01O0299, A07O0305, A08H0002, A09W0026, A09W0037, A10W0040 and A11Q0170*; safety information letters A03C0099 and A04P0397; and Safety Advisory Letter A09W0026 D1 A1.

*This investigation is ongoing and the report has not yet been released.

Risque de collision sur les pistes

Un risque de collision persiste entre les aéronefs et d'autres véhicules ou d'autres aéronefs au sol dans les aéroports canadiens.

Inscrit à la liste de surveillance le 16 août 2010

Contexte

Aux aéroports, les aéronefs et divers véhicules doivent se déplacer entre les aires de trafic, les voies de circulation et les pistes. Ces déplacements créent parfois de la confusion entre aéronefs, ou entre aéronefs et véhicules. Cette situation peut également survenir lorsque des aéronefs ou des véhicules se trouvent par erreur sur une aire de décollage ou d’atterrissage en service.

Au cours de la période de neuf ans allant de 2001 à 2009, 4 140 de ces incidents, que l’on appelle incursions sur piste, sont survenus au pays1. Compte tenu des millions de décollages et d’atterrissages chaque année, les incursions sont rares; par contre, leurs conséquences peuvent être catastrophiques.

Depuis que le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a inscrit ce problème à sa Liste de surveillance, le nombre de ces événements n’a pas diminué; en 2010, 351 de ces événements se sont produits, puis, 446 en 2011. Le Bureau continue d’enquêter sur ces incidents car le risque persiste.

Le BST a constaté des efforts soutenus de communication de données et d’autres renseignements, et d’amélioration des procédures aéroportuaires locales par l’industrie aérienne et de l’organisme de réglementation; toutefois, Transports Canada doit jouer un plus grand rôle de chef de file dans le domaine. En particulier, peu de nouveaux mécanismes technologiques de protection ont été examinés rigoureusement ou mis en place au Canada.

Le BST a établi des conclusions et a fait publiquement rapport sur les risques de collision sur les pistes2. Le Bureau demeure préoccupé du fait que les incursions sur piste et les risques de collision resteront un problème jusqu’à ce que de meilleurs mécanismes de protection soient mis en place.

Solution

De meilleures procédures et l'adoption de systèmes d'avertissement de risque de collision améliorés sont nécessaires aux aéroports du Canada.


Voir cette fiche de renseignements en version PDF
Voir la Liste de surveillance complète en format PDF

Problème de sécurité suivant


  1. Source : Système de comptes rendus quotidiens des événements de l’aviation civile (CADORS) de Transports Canada.
  2. Rapports d’enquête A99W0036, A00P0206, A00Q0114, A00W0062, A01O0299, A07O0305, A08H0002, A09W0026, A09W0037, A10W0040 and A11Q0170*; lettres d’information sur la sécurité A03C0099, A04P0397; avis de sécurité A09W0026-D1-A1 du BST.

*Cette enquête est en cours et le rapport n'a pas encore été publié.