Recommendation A16-11

Assesssment of the response to Aviation Safety Recommendation A16-11

Pilot proficiency check standards

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Background

On 31 May 2013, at approximately 0011 Eastern Daylight Time, the Sikorsky S-76A helicopter (registration C-GIMY, serial number 760055), operated as Lifeflight 8, departed at night from Runway 06 at the Moosonee Airport, Ontario, on a visual flight rules flight to the Attawapiskat Airport, Ontario, with 2 pilots and 2 paramedics on board. As the helicopter climbed through 300 feet above the ground toward its planned cruising altitude of 1000 feet above sea level, the pilot flying commenced a left-hand turn toward the Attawapiskat Airport, approximately 119 nautical miles to the northwest of the Moosonee Airport. Twenty-three seconds later, the helicopter impacted trees and then struck the ground in an area of dense bush and swampy terrain. The aircraft was destroyed by impact forces and the ensuing post-crash fire. The helicopter's satellite tracking system reported a takeoff message and then went inactive. The search-and-rescue satellite system did not detect a signal from the emergency locator transmitter (ELT). At approximately 0543, a search-and-rescue aircraft located the crash site approximately 1 nautical mile northeast of Runway 06, and deployed search-and-rescue technicians. However, there were no survivors.

The Board concluded its investigation and released report A13H0001 on 15 June 2016.

TSB Recommendation A16-11 (June 2016)

In this occurrence, the captain's pilot proficiency check (PPC) was conducted, based on the approved check pilot's (ACP) belief that, rather than assuming pilot-in-command (PIC) duties immediately, he would be employed as a first officer until he gained some recent operational experience in the air ambulance role. Although the ACP selected "first officer" on the captain's PPC form, the company assigned the occurrence captain to carry out PIC duties in a very demanding role and from a very challenging remote location. In this instance, the only recourse for the ACP would have been to assess the occurrence captain's PPC as a fail. There is currently no way for an ACP to restrict a pilot to second-in-command (SIC) duties based on the ACP's assessment that the pilot is not ready to act in a PIC capacity, potentially as captain of a multi-engine, multi-crew aircraft responsible for the safe completion of demanding night or instrument flight rules (IFR) flights, or both.

The current PPC standards, and associated PPC schedules, for Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs) Subparts 702, 703, 704, and 705 operators make little distinction between the respective PPCs conducted on captains versus first officers. The aeroplane PPC schedules for Subparts 702, 703, 704, and 705 identify that it may not be possible to conduct some taxi checks from the SIC position. Those for Subparts 704 and 705 also identify differing engine-out landing requirements for the PIC versus for the SIC. For helicopter pilots, the PPC schedules for Subparts 702, 703, and 704 note only that pilots occupying the SIC position may not be able to complete all of the taxi checks identified in the PPC schedule. With the exception of these small variances, both aeroplane and helicopter pilots are required to meet the same performance standards, as per their respective subpart, regardless of whether they will be assigned to captain or first officer duties following the PPC. There is no requirement for captains to demonstrate a higher degree of proficiency, commensurate with their increased responsibilities.

In addition, the PPC standards do not take into account the unique challenges associated with the potential for acting as captain of a multi-engine, multi-crew aircraft in demanding IFR or night flight conditions, or both. Therefore, despite the considerable difference in responsibilities between a captain and first officer, both pilots are tested to the same standard, which allows up to 4 major deviations from the qualification standards. A major deviation may be assessed when "aircraft handling is performed with limited proficiency" or when "technical skills and knowledge reveal limited technical proficiency and/or depth of knowledge". Once a pilot passes a PPC on a particular aircraft type, that PPC is transportable if the pilot moves to a different company that operates that same aircraft type.

Currently, the risk associated with employing a pilot as a captain is managed through internal company policies and insurance or contractor requirements. However, in many cases, companies rely on the regulations to determine the minimum requirements for employment in a PIC position. As seen in this occurrence, Ornge RW was aware that the captain had encountered problems during the PPC and that "first officer" had been selected on the PPC form. However, since there is only one PPC standard for Subpart 703 helicopter pilots, and based on the company's assessment of his experience, Ornge RW elected to employ the occurrence captain as a PIC without any additional training or supervision. As a result, on the night of the occurrence, the captain was not adequately prepared to carry out his duties.

In other jurisdictions, this issue has been recognized. For example, in the United States, Title 14 of the Code of Federal Regulations, Section 61.58, specifies that a pilot must complete a PIC proficiency check in order "to serve as pilot in command of an aircraft that is type certificated for more than one required pilot flight crewmember or is turbojet-powered". A pilot who will be acting as SIC (i.e., first officer) is not required to complete the same PIC proficiency check. Instead, there are less stringent requirements outlined in the Federal Aviation Regulations (FARs) that must be met for a pilot to be permitted to act as SIC aboard an aircraft type certificated for more than one required pilot flight crew member. There is no such distinction in Canada for crew members who will be filling a SIC position.

The current PPC standards do not ensure that captains possess an adequate level of proficiency to safely carry out the operational duties of a PIC. As a result, there is a risk that Subparts 702, 703, 704, and 705 pilots will continue to be assigned to PIC duties without having first demonstrated an adequate degree of proficiency in a captain capacity.

Therefore, the Board recommended that

The Department of Transport establish pilot proficiency check standards that distinguish between, and assess the competencies required to perform, the differing operational duties and responsibilities of pilot-in-command versus second-in-command.
TSB Recommendation A16-11

Transport Canada's response to Recommendation A16-11 (September 2016)

Transport Canada agrees with the recommendation. In fact, independent of the tragic accident, TC conducted a thorough review of the Approved Check Pilot (ACP) Manual this past year and is planning to publish a revision before spring 2017.

The 10th edition of the ACP Manual will have a consolidated and strengthened set of guidance on non-technical skills to be assessed. Under the 4-Point Marking Scale Leadership and Managerial Skills will be added as one of four non-technical (CRM) skills. The sub elements of this skill assessment are as follows:

  1. Use of authority and assertiveness;
  2. Providing and maintaining standards;
  3. Planning and coordination; and
  4. Workload management.

A draft copy of the manual will be provided to the TSB in the fall 2016.

Transport Canada Update (December 2016)

Independent of the TSB investigation and recommendation A16-11 stemming from the Ornge Accident Report, a thorough review of the Approved Check Pilot (ACP) Manual over the last two years identified a general weakness in guidance regarding the difference between a pilot-in-command PPC and a second-in-command PPC. Several enhancements to the 10th edition were proposed as a result. Upon reviewing TSB recommendation A16-11, an additional change was incorporated that quantifies the distinction between a pilot-in-command and second-in-command PPC.

The following are excerpts from the 10th edition of the ACP Manual which is due to be published in 1st quarter of 2017.

Section 6.39 (3) - Downgrading a PPC

Under no circumstance will an unsuccessful PPC attempt, where the candidate has been assigned the role of pilot-in-command, be considered a successful second-in-command PPC attempt.

Section 6.6 (8)(a) - PPC Simulator / Candidate Seat Assignment

The candidate will occupy the pilot seat associated with the candidate's respective duty position.

Section 6.27 (4)(b)(i) – Flight Check Briefing – PPC / Crew Duty Position and Seat Assignment

Although there is no differentiation in performance expectations, the candidate's crew duty position (i.e., pilot-in-command, second-in-command) must be established.

Section 6.38 (1)(a) & (2)(a) - Unsuccessful Flight Check Attempt / Second-In-Command versus Pilot-In-Command

A flight check will be assessed as unsuccessful under one of following conditions:

Second-In-Command

  1. one flight check item assessed a mark of one (1); or
  2. five flight check items assessed a mark of two (2).

Pilot-In-Command

  1. one flight check item assessed a mark of one (1); or
  2. three flight check items assessed a mark of two (2).

Board assessment of of Transport Canada's response to Recommendation A16-11 (December 2016)

TC's response indicates that it will be publishing a revision to the Approved Check Pilot (ACP) Manual before spring 2017. That revision will include additional guidance on the evaluation of non-technical skills. In addition, the Manual is also being revised to distinguish between a PIC PPC and an SIC PPC. In particular, the revisions will establish a requirement to be evaluated based on a respective duty position, and the pass/fail threshold will be higher for a PIC than it is for an SIC.

The TSB is encouraged by these proposed amendments that, when fully implemented, will significantly reduce the safety deficiency associated with this recommendation.

Therefore, the response to the recommendation is assessed as Satisfactory Intent.

Next TSB action

The TSB will monitor the progress of TC's actions to mitigate the risks associated with the safety deficiency identified in Recommendation A16-11.

This deficiency file is Active.

Recommandation A16-11

Évaluation de la réponse à la recommandation en matière de sécurité aérienne A16-11

Normes des contrôles de compétence pilote

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Contexte

Le 31 mai 2013, vers 0 h 11, heure avancée de l'Est, l'hélicoptère Sikorsky S-76A (immatriculé C-GIMY, numéro de série 760055), effectuant le vol Lifeflight 8 selon les règles de vol à vue, a décollé de nuit de la piste 06 à l'aéroport de Moosonee (Ontario) à destination de l'aéroport d'Attawapiskat (Ontario), avec 2 pilotes et 2 ambulanciers paramédicaux à bord. Alors que l'hélicoptère franchissait les 300 pieds au-dessus du sol pour atteindre son altitude de croisière prévue de 1000 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer, le pilote aux commandes a amorcé un virage à gauche en direction de l'aéroport d'Attawapiskat, situé à environ 119 milles marins au nord-ouest de l'aéroport de Moosonee. Vingt-trois secondes plus tard, l'hélicoptère a heurté des arbres puis a percuté le relief d'une zone broussailleuse et marécageuse. L'aéronef a été détruit par la force de l'impact et l'incendie qui a suivi. Le système de suivi par satellite de l'hélicoptère a transmis un message de décollage puis est devenu inactif. Le système de recherche et sauvetage par satellite n'a détecté aucun signal de la radiobalise de repérage d'urgence (ELT). Vers 5 h 43, un aéronef de recherche et sauvetage a découvert l'endroit où l'hélicoptère s'était écrasé, à environ 1 mille marin au nord-est de la piste 06, et a déployé des techniciens en recherche et sauvetage. Toutefois, il n'y a eu aucun survivant.

Le Bureau a conclu son enquête et a publié le Rapport d'enquête A13H0001 le 15 juin 2016.

Recommandation A16-11 du BST (juin 2016)

Dans le cas du capitaine en cause dans l'accident, le contrôle de compétence pilote (CCP) s'est déroulé en fonction de l'attente qu'avait le pilote vérificateur agréé (PVA), c'est-à-dire que le capitaine servirait en tant que premier officier avant d'assumer immédiatement les fonctions de commandant de bord (CdB), et ce, jusqu'à ce qu'il acquière plus d'expérience pratique à bord d'une ambulance aérienne. Même si le PVA avait coché la case « P/O » (premier officier) sur le formulaire CCP du capitaine, la compagnie a néanmoins affecté ce dernier au rôle très exigeant de CdB, au départ d'un emplacement éloigné également très exigeant. En l'occurrence, pour éviter cette situation, l'unique recours du PVA aurait été de faire échouer au capitaine son CCP. À l'heure actuelle, un PVA ne dispose d'aucun moyen pour limiter un pilote aux tâches de commandant en second (SIC) si, selon son évaluation, le pilote n'est pas prêt à servir de CdB, et possiblement de capitaine d'aéronef multimoteur et à équipage multipilote responsable de l'exécution en toute sécurité de vols de nuit ou selon les règles de vol aux instruments (IFR) exigeants.

Les normes CCP actuelles, et les annexes CCP qui s'y rapportent, pour les exploitants assujettis aux sous-parties 702, 703, 704 et 705 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC), font peu de distinction entre les CCP respectifs pour capitaines ou premiers officiers. Les annexes CCP pour avions relatives aux sous-parties 702, 703, 704 et 705 du RAC indiquent qu'il pourrait être impossible d'effectuer certaines vérifications de circulation au sol depuis le siège du SIC. Celles afférentes aux sous-parties 704 et 705 font également état d'exigences différentes pour le CdB et le SIC relativement aux atterrissages avec moteur en panne. Pour les pilotes d'hélicoptère, les annexes CCP relatives aux sous-parties 702, 703 et 704 précisent uniquement que les pilotes qui occupent la place de SIC pourraient être incapables d'effectuer toutes les vérifications de circulation au sol indiquées à l'annexe du CCP. Hormis ces petites variations, les pilotes d'avion et d'hélicoptère doivent satisfaire aux mêmes normes de performance, conformément à leur sous-partie respective, peu importe s'ils doivent servir de capitaine ou de premier officier après leur CCP. Il n'y a aucune exigence selon laquelle un capitaine doit faire preuve d'un niveau de compétence plus élevé correspondant à des responsabilités plus grandes.

En outre, les normes CCP ne tiennent pas compte des défis uniques liés au service potentiel de capitaine d'un aéronef multimoteur et à équipage multipilote dans d'exigeantes conditions de vol de nuit ou en mode IFR, ou les deux. Par conséquent, malgré des différences considérables au chapitre des responsabilités entre un capitaine et un premier officier, les 2 pilotes sont évalués selon la même norme, qui permet jusqu'à 4 écarts majeurs par rapport aux normes de qualification. Il peut y avoir écart majeur lorsque « le pilotage de l'aéronef indique une aptitude limitée » ou lorsque « les aptitudes et des connaissances techniques [indiquent] des niveaux limités de compétence technique et/ou de profondeur des connaissances ». Lorsqu'un pilote réussit le CCP pour un type d'aéronef particulier, ce CCP est transférable si le pilote passe à une autre compagnie qui exploite le même type d'aéronef.

À l'heure actuelle, les risques liés à l'affectation d'un pilote comme capitaine sont gérés par l'entremise des politiques internes d'une entreprise et des exigences de compagnies d'assurances ou d'entrepreneur. Pourtant, de nombreuses entreprises se fient à la réglementation pour établir les exigences minimales d'affectation d'un pilote aux fonctions de CdB. Comme le montre l'événement en question, Ornge RW savait que le capitaine avait eu des difficultés durant son CCP, et que le PVA avait noirci la case « P/O » (premier officier) sur son formulaire CCP. Or, comme il n'y a qu'une seule norme CCP pour les pilotes d'hélicoptère régis par la sous-partie 703, et comme suite à l'évaluation qu'elle a faite de son expérience, Ornge RW a choisi d'employer le capitaine en cause au poste de CdB sans aucune formation ni supervision additionnelles. En conséquence, la nuit de l'événement, le capitaine n'était pas adéquatement préparé à effectuer ses tâches.

D'autres pays ont reconnu ce problème. Par exemple, le paragraphe 61.58, titre 14 du Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) des États-Unis stipule qu'un pilote doit réussir un CCP pour CdB pour [traduction] « servir de CdB d'un aéronef à turboréacteurs ou dont la certification de type exige plus d'un membre d'équipage de conduite pilote ». Un pilote qui doit servir de SIC (c.-à-d., premier officier) n'est pas tenu de réussir le même CCP de CdB. Plutôt, les FARs prévoient des exigences moins strictes auxquelles doit satisfaire un pilote pour qu'il puisse servir de SIC à bord d'un aéronef dont la certification de type exige plus d'un pilote parmi les membres d'équipage de conduite. Il n'existe aucune distinction de la sorte au Canada pour les membres d'équipage qui vont occuper le siège de SIC.

Les normes CCP actuelles ne garantissent pas que les capitaines aient un niveau suffisant de compétence pour effectuer en toute sécurité les tâches opérationnelles d'un CdB. Par conséquent, il y a un risque que les pilotes régis par les sous-parties 702, 703, 704 et 705 continueront d'être affectés à des tâches de CdB sans qu'ils aient d'abord fait preuve d'un niveau suffisant de compétence à titre de capitaine.

C'est pourquoi le Bureau a recommandé que

le ministère des Transports établisse des normes de contrôle de compétence pilote qui font la distinction entre les différentes tâches et responsabilités opérationnelles d'un commandant de bord et d'un commandant en second, et qui évaluent les compétences nécessaires pour les effectuer.
Recommandation A16-11 du BST

Réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation A16-11 (septembre 2016)

Transports Canada souscrit à cette recommandation. De fait, indépendamment de cet accident tragique, TC a procédé à un examen approfondi du Manuel du pilote vérificateur agréé (PVA) au cours des 12 derniers mois et a l'intention de publier une révision avant le printemps 2017.

La 10e édition du Manuel du PVA comportera un ensemble regroupé et renforcé de directives sur les compétences non techniques à évaluer. Selon l'Échelle de notation à quatre points, on ajoutera les compétences en matière de direction et de gestion comme l'une des quatre compétences non techniques (CRM). Voici les sous-éléments de cette évaluation des compétences :

  1. li>utilisation d'autorité et d'assertivité;
  2. fourniture et maintien des normes;
  3. planification et coordination;
  4. gestion de la charge de travail.

Une copie préliminaire du Manuel sera fournie au BST au cours de l'automne 2016.

Mise à jour de Transports Canada (décembre 2016)

[traduction]

Indépendamment de l'enquête du BST et de la recommandation A16-11 découlant du rapport d'enquête sur l'accident d'Ornge, un examen approfondi du Manuel du pilote vérificateur agréé (PVA) mené au cours des deux dernières années a cerné une faiblesse générale des directives quant à la différence entre un CCP de commandant de bord et un CCP de commandant en second. Par conséquent, plusieurs améliorations ont été proposées pour la 10e édition. Après examen de la recommandation A16-11 du BST, une modification supplémentaire a été incorporée pour quantifier la distinction entre un CCP de commandant de bord et un CCP de commandant en second.

Voici des extraits de la 10e édition du Manuel du PVA qui devrait être publiée au cours du premier trimestre de 2017.

Paragraphe 6.39 (3) – Déclassement d'un CCP

En aucun cas une tentative de CCP échouée, au cours de laquelle le candidat était affecté au rôle de commandant de bord, ne pourra être considérée comme une tentative de CCP de commandant en second réussie.

Alinéa 6.6 (8)(a) – CCP sur simulateur / Affection du candidat à un siège

Le candidat occupera le siège pilote associé à la position attitrée à son poste.

Sous-alinéa 6.27 (4)(b)(i) – Exposé de vérification en vol – CCP / Poste attitré du membre d'équipage et affectation à un siège

Bien qu'il n'y ait aucune différence entre les attentes de rendement, le poste attitré du candidat (c.-à-d., commandant de bord ou commandant en second) doit être établi.

Alinéas 6.38 (1)(a) et (2)(a) – Tentative échouée de vérification en vol / Commandant en second par opposition à commandant de bord

Une vérification en vol sera évaluée comme étant un échec dans l'une des conditions suivantes :

Commandant en second

  1. un élément de la vérification en vol ayant reçu une note de un (1); ou
  2. cinq éléments de la vérification en vol ayant reçu une note de deux (2).

Commandant de bord

  1. un élément de la vérification en vol ayant reçu une note de un (1); ou
  2. trois éléments de la vérification en vol ayant reçu une note de deux (2).

Évaluation par le Bureau de la réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation A16-11 (décembre 2016)

Dans sa réponse, TC a laissé savoir qu'il publiera une version révisée du Manuel du pilote vérificateur agréé (PVA) avant le printemps 2017. La nouvelle édition comportera des directives supplémentaires sur les compétences non techniques à évaluer. En outre, le Manuel révisé introduira une différence entre un CCP de commandant de bord et un CCP de commandant en second. Plus particulièrement, les modifications établiront une exigence pour faire en sorte que l'évaluation soit fondée sur le poste attitré du candidat, et que le seuil de réussite soit plus élevé pour un CdB que pour un SIC.

Le BST voit d'un bon œil ces propositions de modifications qui, une fois complètement mises en œuvre, réduiront considérablement la lacune de sécurité à l'origine de la recommandation.

Par conséquent, le Bureau estime que la réponse à la recommandation A16-11 dénote une intention satisfaisante.

Suivi exercé par le BST

Le BST surveillera les mesures prises par TC en vue d'atténuer les risques liés à la lacune de sécurité cernée dans la recommandation A16-11.

Le présent dossier est classé actif.