Rail transportation safety investigation R13T0192

Update: The TSB has completed this investigation. The report was published on 02 December 2015.

Table of contents

Crossing collision

VIA Rail Canada Inc. passenger train No. 51
OC Transpo double-decker bus No. 8017
Mile 3.30, Smiths Falls Subdivision
Ottawa, Ontario

View final report

The occurrence

On 18 September 2013, at about 0832 Eastern Daylight Time, westward VIA Rail Canada Inc. (VIA) passenger train No. 51 departed from the VIA Ottawa Station on time and proceeded en route to Toronto. At 0847:27, OC Transpo double-decker bus No. 8017 departed from the Fallowfield Station on the OC Transpo bus Transitway. At 0848:06, while proceeding at about 43 mph, the train entered the OC Transpo Transitway crossing, located at Mile 3.30 of VIA’s Smiths Falls Subdivision. At the time, the crossing lights, bells and gates were activated. The northbound bus was travelling at about 5 mph with the brakes applied when it struck the train. As a result of the collision, the front of the bus was torn off. The train, comprising 1 locomotive and 4 passenger cars, derailed but remained upright. Among the bus occupants, there were 6 fatalities and 9 serious injuries, and about 25 minor injuries were reported. No VIA crew members or VIA passengers were injured.

The investigation

Event recorders

On the day of the accident, investigators obtained downloads from the crossing signal bungalow and the locomotive event recorder (LER) to evaluate the operation of the crossing protection and the train. The bus tires and brakes were visually examined and documented in place. The bus did not have a single event recorder to store vehicle performance and operation data (i.e. black box). However, there were a number of electronic units which contained non-volatile-memory (NVM). These included the anti-lock braking system/anti-slip regulation (ABS/ASR) control module, the central controller, the transmission control module (TCM), the heating-ventilation and air conditioning (HVAC) system memory, the automatic fare recording Presto units, the Intelligent Vehicle Network (IVN) system, Global Positioning System (GPS) data from the City of Ottawa and the Engine Control Module (ECM). The bus battery was disconnected and the engine compartment was sealed to preserve any recorded data. The bus was then transported to a secure location for further examination.

Re-enactment

On 28 September 2013, the TSB conducted an accident re-enactment on the Transitway. The re-enactment was photo and video documented from the bus driver’s station. It was conducted at approximately the same time as the accident and under similar environmental conditions. A few days later, additional testing was conducted at the crossing to record the time it took for various bus types to travel over the crossing after stopping at the north approach.

Sequence of events

A detailed sequence of events was compiled from various sources including the train, the crossing signals, the bus and video cameras at the OC Transpo Fallowfield Station. Some event times for activities that occurred onboard the bus were approximated based on multiple witness accounts of what transpired.

All available data from the electronic units recovered from the bus and containing NVM was downloaded and examined at the TSB Engineering Laboratory. Only the Engine Control Module (ECM) contained any information relevant to the operation of the bus just prior to the accident. However, the information lacked sufficient detail to conduct a meaningful analysis and further work was required to calculate speed at the time of the collision, braking force and the related stopping distances.

Bus braking system

A detailed teardown and examination of the bus braking system was completed. A braking analysis was performed to determine event timing, speed at the time of impact, braking distance and amount of brake force applied to a loaded bus during the accident scenario. The analysis incorporated measurements and observations made on-site and detailed engineering calculations based on ECM data, brake system reaction time, and brake performance charts from both the bus certification tests and manufacturer tests.

Traffic studies and speed testing

Traffic studies were conducted on Woodroffe Avenue, the Transitway and Fallowfield Road. The TSB conducted speed testing in the vicinity of the crossing for vehicles using the Transitway.

Ergonomic study

TSB Human Performance staff conducted an ergonomic study of the driver’s station for each of the bus designs operated by OC Transpo.

Information sharing

As part of data collection and information sharing, the following activities have been ongoing:

  • In accordance with an existing Memorandum of Understanding, the TSB and the Coroner have been sharing information in support of each other’s ongoing investigations.
  • Numerous interviews have been conducted with survivors, witnesses, OC Transpo staff and City of Ottawa personnel. The TSB continues to conduct interviews as necessary.
  • TSB specialists have remained in contact with the next of kin of the victims and have provided them with updates on progress.

What we know

The following is a summary of facts as determined by the investigation so far.

Information known shortly after the accident:

  • The bell was activated, but no train horn was sounded due to an existing municipal ban.
  • The crew applied the emergency brakes 2 seconds prior to the accident.
  • The train was travelling at 47 mph when it was struck by the bus.
  • At the time of the accident, the crossing Active Warning Device (AWD) protection operated as intended with no malfunctions.The gates had been horizontal for 26 seconds prior to the accident.
  • TSB has not identified any issues with the operation of the train, the operation of the crossing signals or the condition of the track.

Since then:

Bus Operator

  • The Coroner’s investigation determined that there was no medical illness involved in the driver’s death and toxicology testing showed no evidence of drugs or alcohol.

Maintenance

  • A series of mandatory certification tests had been conducted to verify compliance with the Canada Motor Vehicle Safety Standards (CMVSS). The bus met or exceeded all CMVSS criteria for operation in Canada.
  • Upon delivery of the bus, a Ministry of Transportation of Ontario inspection was performed with no exceptions noted.
  • The bus was maintained in accordance with the operator’s approved maintenance program.

Braking

  • There were no reported brake defects on the occurrence bus.
  • There were no mechanical discrepancies identified that would preclude normal operation of the bus air brake system.
  • The initial application of the bus brakes occurred when the bus was travelling at a speed of 67.6 km/h (42 mph), which exceeded the posted speed limit of 60 km/h (37.3 mph).
  • Full braking force was not initially applied.
  • The bus was located 116.8 ft (35.6 m) south of the point of collision when braking was initiated.
  • The bus was travelling between 6.4 - 7.7 km/h (4 and 4.8 mph) when the collision occurred.
  • TSB calculations indicated that, had the bus been travelling at the posted speed limit (60 km/h) and all other factors remained the same, the stopping distance for the bus would have been 29.5 m (96.8 ft) which would be 6.1 m (20 ft) before the point of collision.

Ergonomic Study

  • Within the driver workstation, a small video monitor (6” (15 cm) wide by 3 ¾” (10 cm) high) is located on the left side of a forward panel above the driver seat which creates a significant upwards viewing angle for the driver.
  • OC Transpo drivers are instructed not to stare at the video monitor while driving.
  • At station stops, OC Transpo drivers are required to view the monitor before departing to ensure that upper deck passengers are seated. If passengers are seen standing on the upper deck, drivers are required to announce that standing is not permitted on the upper deck.
  • To find available seating after boarding a double decker bus, some passengers may be moving or standing on the upper deck after the bus is in motion. Under these conditions, to monitor the upper deck, a driver will need to periodically glance at the screen while the bus is in motion. This situation can lead to a driver being visually distracted from the driving task.

Next steps

As the investigation continues, the TSB will:

  • undertake further assessment of crossing and roadway alignment including a review of previous grade separation studies;
  • review the studies relating to buses stopping at railway crossings;
  • continue to analyze what may have influenced driver behaviour and information processing;
  • gather and analyze information related to OC Transpo transit operations and bus driver training; and
  • conduct a crashworthiness assessment of the bus.

Safety communications

Safety Recommendations

2015-12-02

TSB Recommendation R15-01: The Board recommends that the Department of Transport, in consultation with the provinces, develop comprehensive guidelines for the installation and use of in-vehicle video monitor displays to reduce the risk of driver distraction.

2015-12-02

TSB Recommendation R15-02: The Board recommends that the Department of Transport develop and implement crashworthiness standards for commercial passenger buses to reduce the risk of injury.

2015-12-02

TSB Recommendation R15-03: The Board recommends that the Department of Transport require commercial passenger buses to be equipped with dedicated, crashworthy event data recorders.

2015-12-02

TSB Recommendation R15-04: The Board recommends that the Department of Transport provide specific guidance as to when grade separation should be considered.

2015-12-02

TSB Recommendation R15-05: The Board recommends that the City of Ottawa reconsider the need for grade separation at the Woodroffe Avenue, Transitway and Fallowfield Road level crossings.

Safety Advisory Letters

2014-09-24

Rail Safety Advisory Letter 12/14: Braking analysis and bus speed approaching crossings

2014-09-24

Rail Safety Advisory Letter 10/14: Video monitoring system on OC Transpo double decker buses

2014-02-25

Rail Safety Advisory Letter 02/14: Reported malfunction of transitway automatic crossing protection

2014-02-25

Rail Safety Advisory Letter 01/14: OC Transpo buses traversing crossings with activated AWD protection

Media materials

News releases

2016-04-19

TSB assesses responses to recommendations arising from the 2013 OC Transpo-VIA RAIL accident investigation
Read the news release

2015-12-02

TSB issues five recommendations following investigation into September 2013 collision between an OC Transpo bus and a VIA Rail train
Read the news release

2014-09-24

Progress update on investigation into fatal 2013 OC Transpo – VIA Rail collision on Ottawa’s Transitway
Read the news release

2014-02-25

TSB issues safety advisory letters to the City of Ottawa as part of fatal September 2013 bus–train collision investigation
Read the news release

2013-09-20

Update on investigation into OC Transpo - VIA Rail collision in Ottawa
Read the news release

2013-09-18

TSB launches investigation into bus-train collision in Ottawa, Ontario
Read the news release

Backgrounders

Speeches

2015-12-02

News conference for OC Transpo-VIA Rail (R13T0192): Opening remarks
Kathy Fox, Chair, Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Rob Johnston, Investigator-in-Charge

Deployment notice

2013-09-18

Transportation Safety Board of Canada deploys team to the site of a collision between a VIA Rail train and an OC Transpo bus in Ottawa, Ontario

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) is deploying a team to the site of a collision between a VIA Rail train and an OC Transpo bus in Ottawa, Ontario. The TSB will gather information and assess the occurrence.

Video

2015-12-02

Sequence of events of the crossing collision between VIA Rail Canada Inc. passenger train and OC Transpo double-decker bus (R13T0192)
Watch the video


Investigation information

Map showing the location of the occurrence


Investigator-in-charge

Photo of Rob Johnston

Mr. Johnston has been with the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) since 2001. He was Senior Regional Investigator in Winnipeg until 2004, when he assumed the position of Senior Investigator, Standards and Training Officer at TSB Head Office in Gatineau, Quebec. He became Manager of Central Regional Operations in November 2009, and served as Acting Director of Investigations - Rail/Pipeline for 9 months in 2010– 2011. He now manages a staff of 6 rail/pipeline investigators in Winnipeg, Toronto, and Ottawa, and is responsible for all activities related to rail investigations in TSB's Central Region, which extends from Cornwall, Ontario, to near the Alberta–Saskatchewan border. During his time at the TSB, Mr. Johnston has been Investigator-in-Charge of 20 rail accident investigations, and has provided technical expertise on a number of other investigations. Before joining the TSB, Mr. Johnston worked for Canadian Pacific Railway in Winnipeg from 1984 until 2001, where, as a member of the Train Accident Prevention group, he acquired an extensive background in mechanical operations, failure analysis, and dangerous goods.


Photos


  Download high-resolution photos from the TSB Flickr page.

Class of investigation

This is a class 2 investigation. These investigations are particularly complex and involve several safety issues requiring in-depth analysis. Class 2 investigations, which frequently result in recommendations, are generally completed within 600 days. For more information, see the Policy on Occurrence Classification.

TSB investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Date modified:

Rapport d’enquête sur la sécurité du transport ferroviaire R13T0192

Le BST a terminé cette enquête. Le rapport a été publié le 2 décembre 2015.

Table des matières

Collision à un passage à niveau


Train de voyageurs no 51 de VIA Rail Canada Inc
Autobus à 2 étages no 8017 d’OC Transpo
Point milliaire 3,30, subdivision de Smiths Falls
Ottawa (Ontario)
le

Voir le rapport final

L'événement

À 8 h 32 HNE le 18 septembre 2013, le train de voyageurs nº 51 de VIA Rail quitte la gare d'Ottawa et se dirige vers l'ouest à destination de Toronto. À 8 h 47, l'autobus à étage nº 8017 (l'autobus) d'OC Transpo quitte la station de Fallowfield d'OC Transpo et emprunte la voie réservée aux autobus (voie réservée) d'OC Transpo. À 8 h 48, au moment où il roule à environ 47 mi/h, le train entre dans la zone du passage à niveau de la voie réservée, située au point milliaire 3,30 de la subdivision de Smiths Falls de VIA Rail (le passage à niveau). Il est alors heurté par l'autobus roulant vers le nord. Sous le choc, la partie avant de l'autobus se détache du véhicule. Le train, composé de 1 locomotive et de 4 voitures, déraille, mais demeure en position verticale. Aucun membre de l'équipe du train et aucun passager de VIA n'est blessé. Parmi les occupants de l'autobus, 6 sont tués, 8 grièvement blessés et environ 25 subissent des blessures mineures.

L'enquête

Enregistreurs d'événements

Le jour de l'accident, les enquêteurs ont obtenu les téléchargements de la guérite de signalisation du passage à niveau et du consignateur d'événements de la locomotive (CEL) pour évaluer le fonctionnement de la protection du passage à niveau et la conduite du train. Les pneus et les freins de l'autobus ont été soumis à un examen visuel sur place et les constatations ont été immédiatement consignées. L'autobus ne possédait aucun enregistreur d'événements (c.-à-d. une boîte noire) pour stocker des données sur la performance et la conduite du véhicule. Cependant, il y avait à bord un certain nombre d'unités électroniques contenant une mémoire non volatile (MNV). Ces unités ou modules sont les suivants : module de commande du système de freinage antiblocage et d'antipatinage (ABS/ASR), contrôleur central, module de commande de la boîte de vitesses (TCM), mémoire du système de chauffage-ventilation et de climatisation, unités Presto de perception automatique des titres de transport, système du réseau véhiculaire intelligent (IVN), données du système de localisation GPS provenant de la Ville d'Ottawa et module de commande du moteur (ECM). On a débranché la batterie de l'autobus et scellé le compartiment moteur pour préserver les données enregistrées. Ensuite, on a transporté l'autobus vers un endroit sécuritaire pour en poursuivre l'examen.

Reconstitution

Le 28 septembre 2013, le BST a procédé à une reconstitution de l'accident sur la voie réservée. La reconstitution a été captée sur des photos et des vidéos prises à partir du poste du conducteur de l'autobus. Elle s'est tenue à peu près à la même heure que l'accident et dans des conditions environnementales similaires. Quelques jours après, on a effectué d'autres essais au passage à niveau pour enregistrer le temps que divers types d'autobus ont mis à le franchir après s'être arrêtés à son approche nord.

Séquence des événements

Une séquence détaillée des événements a été obtenue de diverses sources, dont le train, les signaux du passage à niveau, l'autobus et les caméras vidéo à la station Fallowfield d'OC Transpo. Certaines heures d'événements qui se sont produits à bord de l'autobus sont des heures estimées, fondées sur divers comptes rendus des témoins de l'indicent.

Toutes les données disponibles provenant des unités électroniques récupérées de l'autobus et contenant une MNV ont été téléchargées et examinées au Laboratoire d'ingénierie du BST. Seul le module de commande du moteur (ECM) contenait des données pertinentes à la conduite de l'autobus juste avant l'accident. Toutefois, ces données n'étaient pas suffisamment détaillées pour permettre une analyse valable et il a fallu procéder à d'autres travaux pour calculer la vitesse au moment de la collision, l'effort de freinage et les distances d'arrêt associées.

Système de freinage de l'autobus

Nous avons démonté et examiné le système de freinage de l'autobus. On a effectué une analyse du freinage pour déterminer le minutage de l'événement, la vitesse lors de la collision, la distance de freinage et l'effort de freinage appliqué à un autobus chargé au cours du scénario d'accident. L'analyse incorporait des mesures et des observations prises ou faites sur le site ainsi que des calculs d'ingénierie détaillés basés sur les données de l'ECM, le temps de réaction du système de freinage et les graphiques de performance des freins des essais de certification de l'autobus et des essais du constructeur.

Études de circulation et tests de vitesse

Des études de circulation ont été menées sur l'avenue Woodroffe, la voie réservée et le chemin Fallowfield. Le BST a réalisé des tests de vitesse dans le voisinage du passage à niveau pour les véhicules utilisant la voie réservée.

Étude ergonomique

Le personnel de la performance humaine du BST a fait une étude ergonomique du poste du conducteur pour chacun des types d'autobus utilisés par OC Transpo.

Partage de l'information

Dans le cadre de la collecte des données et du partage de l'information, les activités qui suivent sont en cours :

  • En conformité avec un protocole d'entente existant, le BST et le coroner partagent de l'information pour soutenir leurs enquêtes respectives en cours.
  • Diverses entrevues ont été menées auprès de survivants, de témoins, du personnel d'OC Transpo et d'employés de la Ville d'Ottawa. Le BST mène encore des entrevues lorsqu'il y a lieu.
  • Les spécialistes du BST ont gardé le contact avec les proches des victimes et les ont tenus à jour sur les progrès de l'enquête.

Données factuelles

Voici un résumé des faits établis par l'enquête à ce jour :

Renseignements recueillis peu après l'accident :

  • La cloche avait été actionnée, mais non le klaxon du train en raison d'une interdiction imposée par la municipalité.
  • L'équipe a serré les freins d'urgence 2 secondes avant l'accident.
  • le train roulait à 47 mi/h au moment où il a été percuté par l'autobus;
  • Au moment de l'accident, la protection par les dispositifs de signalisation automatique (DSA) au passage à niveau fonctionnait comme prévu, sans problèmes. Les barrières étaient abaissées depuis 26 secondes avant l'accident.
  • Le BST n'a relevé aucun problème avec la conduite du train, le fonctionnement des signaux du passage à niveau et l'état de la voie.

Depuis lors :

Conducteur d'autobus

  • L'enquête du coroner a déterminé qu'aucun problème médical n'était en cause dans le décès du conducteur et les tests de toxicologie n'ont décelé aucune trace de drogues ou d'alcool.

Maintenance

  • On avait procédé à une série d'essais de certification obligatoires pour vérifier la conformité avec les Normes de sécurité des véhicules automobiles du Canada (NSVAC). Le véhicule respectait ou dépassait tous les critères NSVAC pour son utilisation au Canada.
  • Une fois l'autobus livré, le ministère des Transports de l'Ontario a procédé à son inspection; aucune anomalie n'a été notée.
  • L'autobus était entretenu en conformité avec le programme de maintenance approuvé de l'exploitant.

Système de freinage

  • Aucun défaut de frein n'a été signalé sur l'autobus de l'événement.
  • On n'a relevé aucune anomalie mécanique qui aurait empêché le bon fonctionnement du système de freins à air de l'autobus. 
  • Le premier serrage des freins de l'autobus a eu lieu quand ce dernier roulait à 67,6 km/h (42 mi/h), excédant la vitesse limite affichée de 60 km/h (37,3 mi/h).
  • Au début, les freins n'ont pas été serrés à fond.
  • Au début du freinage, l'autobus se trouvait à 116,8 pieds (35,6 m) du point de la collision.
  • La vitesse de l'autobus se situait entre 6,4 et 7,7 km/h (4 et 4,8 mi/h) au moment de la collision.
  • Selon les calculs du BST, si l'autobus avait roulé à la vitesse limite affichée (60 km/h), tous les autres facteurs demeurant par ailleurs identiques, la distance d'arrêt pour l'autobus aurait été de 29,5 m (96,8 pieds), soit 6,1 m (20 pieds) avant le point de collision.

Étude ergonomique

  • À l'intérieur du poste de travail du conducteur, un petit écran de 6 pouces (15 cm) de large sur 3 3/4 pouces (10 cm) de haut est situé sur le côté gauche d'un panneau avant au-dessus du siège du conducteur, ce qui crée pour celui-ci un angle de visionnement important vers le haut.
  • Les conducteurs d'OC Transpo ont la consigne de ne pas regarder l'écran pendant qu'ils conduisent.
  • Aux arrêts en station, les conducteurs d'OC Transpo sont tenus de regarder l'écran avant le départ pour s'assurer que les passagers à l'étage sont assis. S'ils remarquent que des passagers sont debout à l'étage, les conducteurs doivent annoncer que cela est interdit.
  • Pour trouver un siège vacant après être montés à bord d'un autobus à étage, les passagers doivent parfois se déplacer ou rester debout à l'étage après le départ de l'autobus. Dans ces conditions, pour surveiller l'étage supérieur, un conducteur aura besoin de regarder périodiquement l'écran pendant que son véhicule est en mouvement. Cette situation peut amener un conducteur à détourner son attention de la conduite.

Prochaines étapes

Alors que l'enquête se poursuit, le BST :

  • entreprendra une évaluation supplémentaire du tracé des passages à niveau et de la chaussée, y compris un examen des études précédentes sur les passages dénivelés;
  • examinera les études sur l'arrêt des autobus aux passages à niveau;
  • continuera d'analyser ce qui peut avoir influencé le comportement du conducteur et le traitement de l'information;
  • recueillera et analysera l'information sur les activités de transport en commun d'OC Transpo et la formation de ses conducteurs d'autobus;
  • procédera à une évaluation de la résistance aux chocs de l'autobus.

Ressources pour les médias

Communiqués

2014-09-24

Compte rendu des progrès de l’enquête sur l’accident fatal de 2013 Collision OC Transpo – VIA Rail sur le Transitway à Ottawa
Lire le communiqué

2014-02-25

Le BST envoie des avis de sécurité à la Ville d'Ottawa dans le cadre de son enquête sur la collision mortelle entre un autobus et un train survenue en septembre 2013
Lire le communiqué

2013-09-20

Mise à jour sur l'enquête relative à la collision OC Transpo - VIA Rail à Ottawa
Lire le communiqué

2013-09-18

Le BST ouvre une enquête sur une collision mettant en cause un autobus et un train à Ottawa (Ontario)
Lire le communiqué

Avis aux médias

2013-09-20

Point de presse : Le BST fournira des renseignements concernant l'enquête sur la collision survenue le 18 septembre 2013 entre un train de VIA Rail et un autobus d'OC Transpo à Ottawa (Ontario)
Lire l'avis aux médias

2013-09-18

Point de presse : Le BST fournira des renseignements concernant l'enquête sur la collision entre un train de VIA Rail et un autobus d'OC Transpo à Ottawa (Ontario)
Lire l'avis aux médias

Avis de déploiement

2013-09-18

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada dépêche une équipe d'enquêteurs sur les lieux d'une collision entre un train de VIA Rail et un autobus d'OC Transpo à Ottawa (Ontario)
Gatineau (Québec), le 18 septembre 2013 — Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) dépêche une équipe d’enquêteurs sur les lieux d’une collision entre un train de VIA Rail et un autobus d’OC Transpo à Ottawa (Ontario). Le BST recueillera des informations et évaluera l’événement.

Avis de sécurté ferroviaire

2014-09-24

Analyse du freinage et vitesse des autobus à l’approche des passages à niveau (617-12/14)
Lire l'avis de sécurté ferroviaire

2014-09-24

Système de vidéosurveillance sur les autobus à étage d’OC Transpo (617-10/14)
Lire l'avis de sécurté ferroviaire

2014-02-25

Signalement d'une défectuosité des dispositifs de signalisation automatique (DSA) du passage à niveau de la voie réservée (617-02/14)
Lire l'avis de sécurté ferroviaire

2014-02-25

Autobus d'OC Transpo franchissant un passage à niveau pendant que les dispositifs de signalisation automatiques (DSA) sont activés (617-01/14)
Lire l'avis de sécurté ferroviaire


Informations d'enquête

Carte de la région


Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Rob Johnston, enquêteur désigné

Depuis 2001, M. Johnston travaille au Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST). Il a occupé le poste d'enquêteur principal régional à Winnipeg jusqu'en 2004, année où il est devenu enquêteur principal, agent des normes et de la formation à l'Administration centrale du BST à Gatineau (Québec). Il est devenu le gestionnaire des Opérations de la région du Centre en novembre 2009 et il a agi en tant que directeur intérimaire de la Direction des enquêtes (Rail/Pipeline) pendant 9 mois en 2010-2011. Il gère actuellement six membres du personnel, soit des enquêteurs des secteurs ferroviaire et des pipelines à Winnipeg, Toronto et Ottawa et il est responsable de toutes les activités des enquêtes ferroviaires de la région du Centre qui s'étend de Cornwall, en Ontario à tout près de la frontière entre l'Alberta et le Saskatchewan. Au cours de sa carrière au BST, il a agi à titre d'enquêteur désigné de 20 enquêtes sur des accidents ferroviaires et en tant que membre d'une équipe fournissant des conseils techniques sur de nombreuses autres enquêtes. Avant de se joindre au BST, M. Johnston a travaillé au sein du groupe Prévention des accidents ferroviaires du Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique de 1984 à 2001. Durant ces années, il a acquis une expérience considérable en ce qui a trait à l'exploitation mécanique, à l'analyse des défaillances et aux marchandises dangereuses.


Photos


  Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Catégorie de l’enquête

Ceci est une enquête de catégorie 3. Ces enquêtes sont des études d’un petit nombre de problèmes de sécurité et sont parfois accompagnées de recommandations. Les enquêtes de catégorie 3 se concluent généralement en 450 jours. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la Politique de classification des événements.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Date modified: