Marine transportation safety investigation M18C0105

This investigation has been completed. The report was released on 19 December 2018.

Table of contents

Steering gear failure and grounding

Product/chemical tanker Chem Norma
Morrisburg, Ontario

View final report

Grounding

The occurrence

On 29 May 2018, the product/chemical tanker Chem Norma sustained a steering gear failure and subsequently ran aground off Morrisburg, Ontario. The vessel was assisted by the tugs Ocean K. Rusby, Ocean Pierre Julien and Ocean Tundra, and was refloated on 03 June 2018. The vessel sustained damage to its hull, rudder, and propeller. No injuries or pollution were reported.


Media materials

News release

2018-12-19

Investigation report: May 2018 grounding near Morrisburg, Ontario
Read the news release

Deployment notice

2017-06-08

TSB deploys a team to Port Weller, Ontario, following the grounding of the product/chemical tanker Chem Norma

Quebec, 8 June 2018 — The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) is deploying a team of investigators to Port Weller, Ontario, following the 29 May 2018 grounding of the product/chemical tanker Chem Norma near Morrisburg, Ontario. The TSB will gather information and assess the occurrence.


Investigation information

Map showing the location of the occurrence


Investigator-in-charge

Photo of François Dumont

François Dumont has been an investigator with the Transportation Safety Board of Canada since 2013. Before joining the TSB, Mr. Dumont sailed for twelve years in the merchant navy aboard bulk carriers, tankers, tugs, general cargo ships and icebreakers. He also was a Marine Safety Inspector with Transport Canada for three years. Mr. Dumont holds a diploma from the Institut Maritime du Québec in Marine Mechanical Engineering Techniques, a First Class Marine Engineer’s Certificate for motor vessels, and a Fourth Class Marine Engineer’s Certificate for steam vessels.


Photos


  Download high-resolution photos from the TSB Flickr page.

Class of investigation

This is a class 4 investigation. These are limited-scope investigations that may contain limited analysis, but do not include findings or recommendations. Class 4 investigations are generally completed within 200 days. For more information, see the Policy on Occurrence Classification.

TSB investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Date modified:

Enquêtes et rapports d’enquête sur la sécurité du transport maritime M18C0105

Le BST a terminé cette enquête. Le rapport a été publié le 19 Decebre 2018.

Table des matières

Défaillance d’un système à gaz naturel liquéfié

Panne de l’appareil à gouverner et échouement
Pétrolier-chimiquier Chem Norma
Morrisburg (Ontario)

Voir le rapport final

L'événement

Le 29 mai 2018, le pétrolier-chimiquier Chem Norma a subi une panne de l'appareil à gouverner et s'est ensuite échoué au large de Morrisburg (Ontario). Les remorqueurs Ocean K. Rusby, Ocean Pierre Julien et Ocean Tundra lui ont porté secours, et le Chem Norma a été renfloué le 3 juin 2018. Le navire a subi des dommages à la coque, au gouvernail et à l’hélice. Aucune blessure ou pollution n'a été signalée.


Ressources pour les médias

Communiqués

2018-12-19

Rapport d’enquête : échouement survenu près de Morrisburg (Ontario) en mai 2018
Lire le communiqué de presse

Avis de déploiement

2018-06-08

Le BST envoie une équipe à Port Weller (Ontario) suite à l'échouement du navire-citerne Chem Norma
Québec (Québec), le 8 juin 2018 — Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) envoie une équipe d'enquêteurs à Port Weller (Ontario) suite à l'échouement du navire-citerne Chem Norma près de Morrisburg (Ontario) survenu le 29 mai dernier. Le BST recueillera des informations et évaluera l'événement.


Informations d'enquête

Carte de la région


Enquêteur désigné

Photo de François Dumont

François Dumont travaille au Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) depuis 2013. Avant de se joindre au BST, M. Dumont a navigué pendant douze ans dans la marine marchande à bord de vraquiers, pétroliers, remorqueurs, navires de cargaison générale et brise-glaces. Il a également été inspecteur de la Sécurité maritime, Transports Canada, pendant trois ans. Il est titulaire d’un diplôme en techniques de génie mécanique de marine de l’Institut maritime du Québec et possède un brevet d’officier mécanicien de première classe, navires à moteur et de quatrième classe, navires à vapeur.


Photos


  Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Catégorie de l’enquête

Ceci est une enquête de catégorie 4. Ces enquêtes d’une portée limitée peuvent contenir une courte analyse, mais ne contiennent pas de faits établis ni de recommandations. Les enquêtes de catégorie 4 se concluent généralement en 200 jours. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la Politique de classification des événements.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Date de modification :