Marine investigation M16A0327

Table of contents

Sinking of fishing vessel Pop’s Pride

The occurrence

On 06 September 2016, the fishing vessel Pop’s Pride, with four people on board, was reported overdue after it did not return to St. John’s, Newfoundland and Labrador, from the fishing grounds off Cape Spear, Newfoundland and Labrador. Several vessels participated in a search where two people were recovered deceased. The submerged vessel was recovered the following day. Two people were not recovered and are presumed drowned.

Map of the area

Investigator-in-charge

Photo of Shannon Pittman

Shannon Pittman has been employed as an investigator with the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) since 2014. Prior to joining TSB, Mr. Pittman spent 20 years with the Canadian Coast Guard operating on Canada’s Atlantic coast and throughout the Arctic on search and rescue, icebreaking, buoy tending, and science research vessels. Mr. Pittman holds a Master Mariner certificate as well as a Bachelor of Technology–Nautical Science from the Canadian Coast Guard College/University College of Cape Breton in Sydney, Nova Scotia.

Transportation Safety Board investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation:

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.


Report

2017-11-27

Marine Investigation Report M16A0327
Sinking and subsequent loss of life
Small open fishing vessel Pop's Pride
Cape Spear, Newfoundland and Labrador
06 September 2016


Media materials

News release
 
2017-11-27

Operating in poor weather conditions led to the 2016 fatal sinking of fishing vessel Pop's Pride off the coast of Newfoundland and Labrador
Read the news release

Deployment notices
 
2016-09-07

TSB deploys a team to St. John’s, Newfoundland and Labrador, following the sinking of a fishing boat
Read the deployment notice

Enquête maritime M16A0327

Table des matières

Naufrage du bateau de pêche Pop’s Pride

L'événement

Le 6 septembre 2016, on a signalé le retard du bateau de pêche Pop’s Pride avec quatre personnes à bord, après avoir constaté qu’il n’était pas retourné à St. John’s (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador) à partir des lieux de pêche au large de Cape Spear (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador). Plusieurs navires ont participé à une recherche, pendant laquelle les corps de deux personnes décédées ont été récupérés. Le bateau immergé a été récupéré le lendemain. Deux personnes n’ont pas été retrouvées, et on présume qu’elles se sont noyées.

Carte de la région

Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Shannon Pittman

Shannon Pittman est enquêteur du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) depuis 2014. Avant de se joindre BST, M. Pittman a passé 20 ans au service de la Garde côtière canadienne, travaillant sur la côte atlantique du Canada et dans l’Arctique à bord de navires de recherche et sauvetage, de déglaçage, de mouillage de bouées et de recherche scientifique. M. Pittman est titulaire d’un brevet de capitaine, ainsi que d’un baccalauréat en technologie – Sciences nautiques du Collège de la Garde côtière canadienne / Collège universitaire du Cap-Breton à Sydney (Nouvelle-Écosse).

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.


Rapport

2017-11-27

Rapport d'enquête maritime M16A0327
Naufrage et perte de vie subséquente
Bateau de pêche Pop's Pride
Cap Spear (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador)
6 septembre 2016


Médias

Communiqué de presse
 
2017-11-27

Une sortie en mer dans des conditions météorologiques défavorables a mené au naufrage fatal du bateau de pêche Pop's Pride au large de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, en 2016
Lire le communiqué de presse

Avis de déploiement
 
2016-09-07

Le BST envoie une équipe à Saint Jean (Terre-Neuve et Labrador) suite au naufrage d’un bateau de pêchee
Lire l'avis de déploiement