Aviation Investigation A16W0126

Collision with terrain

The occurrence

On 5 September 2016, a Ridge Rotors Inc. Bell 206B helicopter was conducting a wildlife survey flight that had originated in Whitecourt, Alberta. During the flight, the helicopter experienced a power loss, contacted trees, and struck the ground. The pilot sustained serious injuries; one passenger had minor injuries; and one passenger was fatally injured. The helicopter was substantially damaged.

Map of the area

Investigator-in-Charge

Photo of Mike Adam

Mike Adam joined the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) in early 2014 and brings with him extensive experience in aviation line maintenance and quality assurance for transport category air carriers. Mr. Adam also has experience with various single and twin engine aircraft, both piston and turbine powered, as well as amateur-built aircraft.

Photos

Select image to see it in full size.

Link to the TSB Flickr page

See more high resolution pictures on the TSB Flickr page.


Transportation Safety Board investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation:

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.


Media

Deployment notices
 
2016-09-05

TSB deploys a team of investigators to the site of an aircraft accident in Powell River, British Columbia
Read the deployment notice

Enquête aéronautique A16W0126

Collision avec relief

L'événement

Le 5 septembre 2016, un hélicoptère Ridge Rotors Inc. Bell 206B exploitait un vol d'enquête de la faune en provenance de Whitecourt (Alberta). Pendant le vol, l'hélicoptère a subi une perte de puissance, est entré en contact avec les arbres et a heurté le sol. Le pilote a subi des blessures graves, un passager a subi des blessures mineures, et un passager a subi des blessures mortelles. L'hélicoptère a été lourdement endommagé.

Carte de la région

Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Mike Adam

Mike Adam s’est joint au Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) au début de 2014 et possède une vaste expérience en maintenance aéronautique en piste et dans le domaine de l'assurance de la qualité pour les transporteurs aériens qui exploitent des avions de transport. M. Adam a aussi de l'expérience avec différents avions monomoteurs et bimoteurs, soit avec moteurs à pistons ou à turbine, ainsi que des avions de construction amateur.

Photos

Icone du site Flickr

Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.


Médias

Avis de déploiement
 
2016-09-05

Le BST envoie une équipe d’enquêteurs sur le site d’un accident d’avion à Powell River (Colombie-Britannique)
Lire l'avis de déploiement