Aviation Investigation A16Q0119

Table of contents

Collision with terrain

The occurrence

On 25 September 2016, at approximately 1300 ET, a private amphibious Cessna U206F, took off from Lake Kuashkuapishiu, located 143 nautical miles north-northwest of Baie-Comeau, Quebec (CYBC) with 1 pilot and 2 passengers on board. Shortly after takeoff, the aircraft stalled while executing a left turn. The aircraft crashed at the north end of the lake in a lightly wooded area and caught fire. The pilot was seriously injured and the 2 passengers sustained fatal injuries.

Map of the area

Investigator-in-Charge

Mr. Jimmy Cancino has over 25 years of civil aviation experience. He joined the TSB in 2013 and is now a Regional Senior Investigator based out of Dorval, Quebec.

Before joining the TSB, Mr. Cancino worked during 11 years for Transport Canada both as a civil aviation safety inspector and as an enforcement investigator after a career in the private sector as an aircraft maintenance engineer and inspector for various approved maintenance organizations, aircraft manufacturers and airlines. Mr. Cancino holds an aircraft maintenance engineer license from Transport Canada.

Photos

Select image to see it in full size.

Download high resolution copies of these pictures from the TSB Flickr page.

Transportation Safety Board investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation:

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.


Report

2017-11-15

Aviation Investigation Report A16Q0119
Cessna U206F, C-FWBQ
Kuashkuapishiu Lake, Quebec
143 nm N of Baie-Comeau, Quebec
25 September 2016


Media materials

News release
 
2017-11-15

Engine failure at low altitude led to 2016 fatal floatplane accident near Manicouagan Reservoir, Quebec
Read the news release

Deployment notices
 
2016-09-27

TSB deploys a team of investigators to the site of an aircraft accident near Manic 5, Quebec
Read the deployment notice

Enquête aéronautique A16Q0119

Table des matières

Collision avec le relief

L'événement

Le 25 septembre 2016 à environ 13 h HE, un Cessna U206F amphibie en exploitation privée a décollé du lac Kuashkuapishiu, situé à 143 milles marins au nord-nord-ouest de Baie-Comeau (Québec) (CYBC), avec 1 pilote et 2 passagers à  bord. Peu de temps après le décollage, l'aéronef a décroché alors qu'il effectuait un virage à gauche. L'appareil s'est écrasé à l'extrémité nord du lac dans une zone légèrement boisée et a pris feu. Le pilote a été grièvement blessé, et les 2 passagers ont subi des blessures mortelles.

Carte de la région

Enquêteur désigné

M. Jimmy Cancino cumule plus de 25 années d’expérience en aviation civile. Il s’est joint au BST en 2013 et occupe maintenant le poste d’enquêteur principal régional à Dorval (Québec).

Avant de se joindre au BST, M. Cancino a travaillé pendant 11 ans pour Transports Canada à titre d’inspecteur de la sécurité de l’aviation civile et d’enquêteur à l’application de la loi après avoir fait carrière à titre de technicien et d’inspecteur pour différents organismes de maintenance agréés ,de constructeurs aéronautiques et de lignes aériennes. M. Cancino est titulaire d’une licence de Technicien d’Entretien Aéronautique de Transports Canada.

Photos

Icone du site Flickr

Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.


Rapport

2017-11-15

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A16Q0119
Perte de maîtrise et collision avec le relief
Cessna U206F, C-FWBQ
Lac Kuashkuapishiu (Québec)
143 nm N de Baie Comeau (Québec)
25 septembre 2016


Médias

Communiqué de presse
 
2017-11-15

Une défaillance de moteur à faible altitude a causé un accident d'hydravion mortel près du réservoir Manicouagan (Québec) en 2016
Lire le communiqué de presse

Avis de déploiement
 
2016-09-27

Le BST envoie une équipe d'enquêteurs sur le site d'un accident d'avion près de Manic 5 (Québec)
Lire l'avis de déploiement