Aviation Investigation A15P0081

In-flight breakup

The occurrence

On 13 April 2015, the Carson Air Swearingen SA-226-TC Metro II (serial number TC-325), operating as Carson Air flight 66, was carrying freight from Vancouver International Airport (CYVR) to Prince George Airport (CYXS), British Columbia, with a crew of two pilots on board. Shortly after departure, approximately 15 nautical miles north of the airport, when it was at about 2400 metres above sea level, the aircraft lost altitude rapidly and disappeared off radar. A communication search was started immediately. Air and ground search started soon after.

North Shore Rescue ground search crews found aircraft wreckage in steep and heavily wooded terrain southeast of Crown Mountain before nightfall. More wreckage, including the cockpit, and the crew were found the next day. The two pilots had received fatal injuries. There was a small fire in the area of the right engine nacelle. The emergency locator transmitter had activated, but did not transmit (no signal was received).

Map of the area

Crown Mountain, British Columbia

Investigator-in-Charge

Photo of Jason Kobi

Jason Kobi, Regional Senior Investigator, Operations (Air), has 24 years of experience in civil aviation. He recently joined the TSB after a period of 5 years as a civil aviation inspector with Transport Canada. Before that, Mr. Kobi spent 12 years as a pilot, flying a number of types of aircraft including Bombardier CRJ, Dash 8 and British Aerospace BAe-146 aircraft. In addition to working as a line pilot, he was a line-training captain for the Dash 8 and was a ground-training instructor for the Bombardier CRJ.

Prior to his airline experience, Mr. Kobi flew extensively in British Columbia (BC) as a courier pilot on various types of aircraft. He also owned and operated a small charter company and flight school in BC where he held the position of chief pilot and chief flight instructor. Mr. Kobi holds an airline transport pilot licence with approximately 9,900 hours' flight time.

Photos

View photos

Select image to see it in full size.

Download high resolution copies of these pictures from the TSB Flickr page.

TSB investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation
  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates marine, pipeline, railway and aviation transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Report

Final report
2017-11-02

Aviation Investigation Report A15P0081
In-flight breakup
Carson Air Ltd.
Swearingen SA226-TC Metro II, C-GSKC
North Vancouver, British Columbia
13 April 2015

Safety communications

Recommendations
2017-11-02

TSB Recommendation A17-02: The Transportation Safety Board of Canada recommends the Department of Transport, in collaboration with the Canadian aviation industry and employee representatives, develop and implement requirements for a comprehensive substance abuse program, including drug and alcohol testing, to reduce the risk of impairment of persons while engaged in safety‑sensitive functions. These requirements should consider and balance the need to incorporate human rights principles in the Canadian Human Rights Act with the responsibility to protect public safety.

All aviation recommendations

Media materials

News releases
2017-11-02

TSB recommends substance abuse program following fatal 2015 in-flight breakup north of Vancouver, British Columbia
Read the news release

Backgrounders
Speeches
2017-11-02

News conference for the release of Aviation Investigation Report A15P0081 (Carson Air)
Opening remarks

Kathy Fox, TSB Chair
Jason Kobi, TSB Investigator-in-Charge
Read the opening remarks

Media advisories
2017-10-31

TSB will hold a news conference to release its investigation report into the April 2015 in-flight breakup of a Carson Air cargo aircraft near Vancouver, British Columbia
Read the media advisory

2015-04-14

TSB Media Update - Investigation Next Steps: Crash of a Carson Air aircraft
Read the media advisory

Deployment notice
2015-04-14

TSB deploys team to aircraft accident in British Columbia's North Shore Mountains near Vancouver
Read the deployment notice

Enquête aéronautique A15P0081

Désintégration en vol

L'événement

Le 13 avril 2015, l'appareil Swearingen SA-226-TC Metro II (numéro de série TC-325) assurant le vol 66 de Carson Air transportait des marchandises de l'aéroport international de Vancouver (CYVR) [Colombie-Britannique] à l'aéroport Prince-George (CYXS) [Colombie-Britannique] avec à son bord un équipage de deux pilotes. Peu de temps après le départ, à environ 15 milles marins au nord de l'aéroport, et alors qu'il se trouvait à environ 7900 au-dessus du niveau de la mer, l'appareil a perdu rapidement de l'altitude et est disparu du radar. Une recherche par moyens de communication a immédiatement été lancée et des recherches aériennes et au sol ont commencé peu après.

Des équipes de recherche au sol de North Shore Rescue ont trouvé l'épave de l'aéronef sur le flanc escarpé d'une colline très boisée au sud-est de Crown Mountain avant la tombée de la nuit. D'autres débris, y compris le poste de pilotage, ainsi que l'équipage ont été retrouvés le lendemain. Les deux pilotes ont subi des blessures mortelles. Un petit incendie s'était déclaré près de la nacelle du moteur droit. La radiobalise de repérage d'urgence fonctionnait, mais n'a pas transmis de signaux (aucun signal n'a été reçu).

Carte de la région

Crown Mountain (Colombie-Britannique)

Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Jason Kobi

Jason Kobi, enquêteur principal régional, Opérations (Air), possède 24 années d'expérience en aviation civile. Il s'est joint récemment au BST après avoir travaillé cinq ans en qualité d'inspecteur de l'aviation civile à Transports Canada. Auparavant, M. Kobi a été pilote pendant douze ans. Au cours de cette période, il a pris les commandes de divers types d'avions, dont des CRJ et Dash 8 de Bombardier et des BAe-146 de British Aerospace. En plus d'avoir été pilote de ligne, il a été commandant de bord pour la formation en ligne du Dash 8 et instructeur pour la formation au sol du CRJ de Bombardier.

Avant cela, M. Kobi a acquis une expérience appréciable de vol à bord de divers types d'avions dans le cadre de son poste de pilote au sein d'un service de messagerie en Colombie-Britannique. Il a aussi été propriétaire et exploitant d'un affréteur et d'une école de pilotage en Colombie-Britannique, où il occupait les fonctions de pilote en chef et d'instructeur de vol en chef. M. Kobi détient une licence de pilote de ligne et cumule environ 9 900 heures de temps de vol.

Photos

Voir les photos
 

Sélectionnez l'image pour l'agrandir

Icone du site Flickr

Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Le processus d'enquête du BST

Les enquêtes du BST se déroulent en trois étapes
  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape du production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau considère toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements maritimes, de pipeline, ferroviaires et aéronautiques. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Rapport

Rapport final
2017-11-02

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A15P0081
Désintégration en vol
Carson Air Ltd.
Swearingen SA226-TC Metro II, C-GSKC
North Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)
13 avril 2015

Communications en matière de sécurité

Recommandations
2017-11-02

Recommandation A17-02 du BST : le ministère des Transports, en collaboration avec l'industrie et les représentants des employés du secteur canadien de l'aviation, élabore et mette en place des exigences relativement à un programme global de lutte contre l'abus de drogues et d'alcool, y compris le dépistage de drogue et d'alcool, pour réduire le risque que des personnes aient les facultés affaiblies en assumant des fonctions critiques pour la sécurité. Ces exigences doivent prendre en compte et concilier la nécessité de respecter les principes des droits de la personne de la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne et la responsabilité de protéger la sécurité du public.

Toutes les recommandations aériennes

Ressources pour les médias

Communiqués
2017-11-02

Le BST recommande l'adoption d'un programme de lutte contre l'abus d'alcool et autres substances à la suite de la désintégration en vol mortelle d'un avion au nord de Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique, en 2015
Lire le communiqué

Documents d'information
Discours
2017-11-02

Conférence de presse sur le rapport d'enquête aéronautique A15P0081 (Carson Air) : Mot d'ouverture
Kathy Fox, Présidente du BST
et
Jason Kobi, Enquêteur désigné du BST
Lire le mot d'ouverture

Avis aux médias
2017-10-31

Le BST tiendra une conférence de presse pour rendre public son rapport d'enquête sur la désintégration en vol d'un avion de cargaison exploité par Carson Air survenu en avril 2015 près de Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)
Lire l'avis aux médias

2015-04-14

Mise à jour du BST à l'attention des médias : Accident d'un avion exploité par Carson Air
Lire l'avis aux médias

Avis de déploiement
2015-04-14

Le BST envoie une équipe sur les lieux d'un accident aéronautique survenu dans les montagnes de la Rive nord près de Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)
Lire l'avis aux médias