Core control audit of the Transportation Safety Board of Canada January 2013

Office of the Comptroller General

Why this is important

Canadians expect the federal government to be well managed and to be accountable for the prudent stewardship of public funds; the safeguarding of public assets; and the effective, efficient, and economical use of public resources. They also expect reliable and transparent reporting on how the government spends public funds to achieve results for Canadians.

The Financial Administration Act designates deputy heads as accounting officers for their department or agency. As accounting officers, deputy heads are accountable for ensuring that resources are organized to deliver departmental objectives in compliance with government policy and procedures; ensuring that there are effective systems of internal control; signing departmental accounts; and performing other specific duties assigned by law or regulation to the administration of their department or agency.

Core Control Audits are important as they provide deputy heads with assurance on the effectiveness of core controls over financial management in their respective organizations. By doing so, Core Control Audits inform deputy heads of their organization’s level of compliance with key requirements contained in selected financial legislation, policies, and directives.

About the Transportation Safety Board of Canada

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) is an independent agency created in 1990 by the Canadian Transportation Accident Investigation and Safety Board Act. It operates at arm's length from other government departments and agencies to ensure that there are no real or perceived conflicts of interest. The TSB's objective is to advance transportation safety. This mandate is fulfilled by conducting independent investigations into selected transportation occurrences. The purpose of these investigations is to identify the causes and contributing factors and the safety deficiencies evidenced by an occurrence. The TSB then makes recommendations to improve safety and to reduce or eliminate risks to people, property, and the environment.

The TSB’s jurisdiction includes all aviation, marine, rail and pipeline transportation occurrences in or over Canada, that fall under federal jurisdiction. The TSB may also represent Canadian interests in foreign investigations of transportation accidents involving Canadian registered, licensed, or manufactured aircraft, ships, or railway rolling stock. In addition, the TSB carries out some of Canada's obligations related to transportation safety at the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) and the International Maritime Organization (IMO).

In fiscal year 2010-11, the TSB had planned spending of approximately $30 million and planned human resources of 235 full-time equivalents (FTEs).

Core control audit objective and scope

The objective of this audit was to determine whether core controls over financial management within TSB result in compliance with key requirements contained in the selected financial legislation, policies, and directives.Footnote 1

The scope of this audit included financial transactions, records, and processes conducted by the TSB. Transactions were selected from fiscal year 2010-11. The audit examined a sample of transactions for each of the selected policies and directives. Appendix A provides a complete list of policies and directives included in the scope of the audit and the overall compliance in the areas tested.

The Directive on Leave and Special Working Arrangements was excluded from the scope of this audit, as this area was previously examined by the Office of the Auditor General of Canada for the same period.

Conformance with professional standards

This audit was conducted in accordance with the Internal Auditing Standards for the Government of Canada. A practice inspection has not been conducted.

Anthea English, CA
Assistant Comptroller General
Internal Audit Sector, Office of the Comptroller General

Audit findings and conclusion

Core controls over financial management for the TSB transactions tested resulted in complianceFootnote 2 with the key requirements contained in five of 11 policies and directives, and in partial compliance with the key requirements in two of 11 policies, directives, and corresponding legislation tested. The TSB was not in compliance with four polices and directives tested.

Delegation instruments of the TSB were appropriate, current, and approved in accordance with the Directive on Delegation of Financial Authorities for Disbursements, and the selected employees received appropriate training in accordance with the requirements pertaining to financial management, contracting, and human resources. The performance pay transactions examined were properly administered and approved by individuals with the appropriate delegated authority. For all transactions examined, acquisition cards were used for authorized government business-related purchases. For some cardholder accounts reviewed, there was no cardholder agreement on file and in some instances, the credit limit was raised with no evidence of justification or authorization.

Accountable advances reviewed were set up for the appropriate reasons and were used for the purpose for which they were issued in all purchases reviewed. While an individual other than the custodian performed account verification when the fund needed to be replenished, there was no evidence of periodic verification of the fund, such as a physical count, and there was no evidence of formal monthly reconciliation performed.

Government business travel expenses examined were generally managed to achieve fair, reasonable, and modern travel practices; and all selected travel expenses for designated senior-level Government of Canada employees were proactively disclosed. Instances were found where a justification for the post-authorization of travel was not documented on file.

In the area of contracting, documentation was on file to support justification for non-competitive contracting and the appropriate contracting vehicle was chosen and used within its terms and conditions, for the selected transactions. However, bid evaluation criteria were at times not included in the Request for Proposal documents used to select contractors. There were also instances where evaluation reports were not signed by all the evaluators. Finally, the justifications for contract amendments were not always on file and some contract amendments were issued after the contract expiry date.

In the area of hospitality, events were planned and conducted in an economical and appropriate way to facilitate government business consistently with the events’ circumstances. Selected hospitality expenses for designated senior-level employees were properly recorded and proactively disclosed. However, some hospitality expenses examined were certified by an individual without the appropriate delegated authority and some approvals were provided after an event had taken place. There were also instances where account verification was performed by an individual who had attended the hospitality event, and no counter-signature was found on file.

For selected casual employees transactions, the security assessments and reliability level were not defined or determined as conditions of employment. In the area of pay administration, there was no approval on file for the overtime transactions reviewed and no evidence of payment and settlement verification performed for selected pay transactions. Furthermore, departure procedures were at times not followed.

In the area of expenditure and commitment control, for several transactions selected, there was no evidence of approval by an individual with the appropriate delegated authority. Finally, there was no evidence of account verification for the pay transactions reviewed.


The Chair of the TSB should:

  1. Ensure that a signed acknowledgement of acquisition card responsibilities, including acquisition card restrictions and modifications to credit limits, are retained on file.
  2. Ensure that accountable advances are reconciled monthly and that evidence of reconciliation is retained on file.
  3. Develop business processes and retain documentation on file to ensure that:
    • Bid selection method and evaluation criteria are clearly outlined in the bid solicitation document for competitive contracts before the Request for Proposal is issued;
    • The evaluation of proposals and contractor selection are conducted in accordance with the pre-established criteria as stated in the Request for Proposal, to demonstrate that the evaluation was conducted in an open, fair, and transparent manner;
    • The bid evaluation is documented on file, along with an evaluation report;
    • Contract evaluations are signed by a minimum of two clearly identified evaluators; and
    • Contract amendments are justified and signed before the original contracts expire.
  4. Ensure that a justification for the post-authorization of travel is documented on file.
  5. Ensure that account verification of hospitality events is performed by an individual with the appropriate delegated authority who did not attend the event.
  6. Ensure that the security assessments and reliability level are defined and determined as conditions of employment for casual employees.
  7. Ensure that proper departure procedures are followed and are documented.
  8. Ensure that proper documentation is retained on file to demonstrate that payment and settlement is accomplished before the payment is released, and verifies the correctness of the payment requested.
  9. Ensure that expenditure initiation is performed by an individual with delegated authority to do so before expenses are incurred and that documentation is retained on file, particularly in the area of payroll administration.

Management response

The TSB has reviewed the findings and the recommendations of the audit. Management generally agrees with the audit findings and has developed an action plan to address the recommendations. It is expected that the management action plan will be fully implemented by March 2013.

The results of the audit and the Management Action Plan have been discussed with the Chair of the TSB and the Small Departments Audit Committee. The Office of the Comptroller General will follow up on the Management Action Plan until all findings are resolved.

Appendix A: Policies and directives tested

Policies and directives tested
Policies and directives tested Compliance
Directive on Delegation of Financial Authorities for Disbursements Met
Directive on Acquisition Cards Met with Exception
Directive on Accountable Advances Met with Exception
Contracting Policy Partially Met
National Joint Council Travel Directive and the Directive on Travel Cards and Travellers Cheques Met with Exception
Hospitality Policy and the Directive on the Management of Expenditures on Travel, Hospitality and Conferences Partially Met
Casual employees Not Met
Performance pay administrationFootnote 3 Met
Directive on Financial Management of Pay Administration Not Met
Directive on Expenditure Initiation and Commitment ControlFootnote 4 Not Met
Directive on Account VerificationFootnote 5 Not Met

Compliance thresholds for the transactions tested

Met: Greater than or equal to 99 % compliance.
Met with Exception: Greater than or equal to 90 % and less than 99 % compliance.
Partially Met: Greater than or equal to 80 % and less than 90 % compliance.
Not Met: Less than 80 % compliance.


Footnote 1

For the specific audit criteria, please refer to

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

See Appendix A for the TSB’s overall compliance in the areas tested.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

Includes the Policy on the Management of Executives, the Directive on Terms and Conditions of Employment for Certain Excluded/Unrepresented Employees, and the Directive on Executive Compensation.

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

Includes the Financial Administration Act, section 32.

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Footnote 5

Includes the Financial Administration Act, sections 33 and 34.

Return to footnote 5 referrer

Vérification des contrôles de base du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada, Janvier 2013

Bureau du contrôleur général

Pourquoi est-ce important?

La population canadienne s’attend à ce que le gouvernement fédéral soit géré efficacement et qu’il rende des comptes à l’égard de la gestion prudente des deniers publics, la protection des biens publics, ainsi que l’utilisation efficace, efficiente et économique des ressources publiques. Elle s’attend également à ce que des rapports fiables et transparents soient préparés en vue d’illustrer de quelle façon le gouvernement utilise les deniers publics afin d’obtenir des résultats pour les Canadiens et les Canadiennes.

Aux termes de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, les administrateurs généraux agissent à titre d’administrateurs des comptes de leur ministère et organisme respectif. En leur qualité d’administrateur des comptes, les administrateurs généraux ont comme responsabilités de veiller à ce que les ressources de l’organisation soient organisées de manière à atteindre les objectifs de l’organisation, et ce, conformément aux politiques et procédures du gouvernement, de vérifier que des systèmes efficaces de contrôle interne sont en place, de signer les comptes ministériels et de s’acquitter d’autres responsabilités particulières énoncées dans des lois et des règlements aux fins de l’administration de leur ministère ou de leur organisme.

La vérification des contrôles de base est importante puisqu’elle permet aux administrateurs généraux d’avoir l’assurance que les contrôles de base de la gestion financière sont efficaces au sein de leurs organisations. La réalisation d’un tel exercice permet aux administrateurs généraux de prendre connaissance du niveau de conformité de leur organisation par rapport aux principales exigences contenues dans les lois, les politiques et les directives financières.

Au sujet du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) est un organisme indépendant créé en 1990 aux termes de la Loi sur le Bureau canadien d’enquête sur les accidents de transport et de la sécurité des transports. Il mène ses activités sans lien de dépendance avec les autres ministères et organismes gouvernementaux pour veiller à ce qu’aucun conflit d’intérêts réel ou perçu n’existe. Le mandat du BST consiste à promouvoir la sécurité du transport. Pour ce faire, il mène des enquêtes indépendantes sur des événements de transport choisis. Ces enquêtes visent à déterminer les causes et les facteurs ayant contribué à l’événement, ainsi que les lacunes au plan de la sécurité qui en ressortent. Le BST formule ensuite des recommandations en vue d’accroître la sécurité et de réduire ou d’éliminer les risques pour les personnes, les biens et l’environnement.

Le champ de compétence du BST englobe tous les événements du transport aérien, maritime, ferroviaire et du transport par pipeline qui surviennent au Canada ou au-dessus du Canada, et qui relèvent du gouvernement fédéral. Le BST peut aussi représenter les intérêts du Canada dans le cadre d’enquêtes à l’étranger sur des accidents mettant en cause des aéronefs, des navires ou des véhicules pour voies ferrées enregistrés, immatriculés ou fabriqués au Canada. En outre, le BST s’acquitte de certaines des obligations du Canada se rapportant à la sécurité du transport auprès de l’Organisation de l’aviation civile internationale (OACI) et de l’Organisation maritime internationale (OMI).

Pour l’exercice 2010-2011, le BST avait prévu des dépenses d’environ 30 millions de dollars et des ressources humaines correspondant à 235 équivalents temps plein (ETP).

Objectif et portée de la vérification des contrôles de base

La présente vérification visait à déterminer si les contrôles de base exercés sur la gestion financière au BST assuraient la conformité aux exigences principales contenues dans les lois, politiques et directives en matière financière choisiesFootnote 1.

La vérification portait sur des opérations financières, des dossiers et des processus du BST. Les opérations ont été sélectionnées à partir de l’exercice financier 2010-2011. La vérification consistait en l’examen d’un échantillon d’opérations correspondant à chacune des politiques et directives sélectionnées. L’annexe A contient une liste complète des politiques et directives incluses dans la portée de la vérification, et indique la conformité globale au regard des aspects vérifiés.

La Directive sur les congés et les modalités de travail spéciales a été exclue de la portée de la présente vérification étant donné que le Bureau du vérificateur général a déjà examiné ce point pour la même période.

Conformité aux normes professionnelles

La présente vérification a été réalisée conformément aux Normes de vérification interne du gouvernement du Canada. Une inspection des pratiques n’a pas été menée.

Anthea English, CA
Contrôleur général adjoint
Secteur de la vérification interne
Bureau du contrôleur général

Constatations et conclusions de la vérification

Les contrôles de base de la gestion financière appliqués aux opérations prises en compte au BST a permis de constater la conformitéFootnote 2 aux principales exigences de 5 des 11 politiques et directives, et respectent en partie les exigences de 2 des 11 politiques, directives et lois connexes examinées. En outre, le BST ne respectait pas les exigences de 4 politiques et directives évaluées.

Les instruments de délégation du BST sont adéquats, à jour et approuvés conformément à la Directive sur la délégation des pouvoirs financiers pour les dépenses. Par ailleurs, les employés visés par la vérification avaient suivi la formation requise, en conformité avec les exigences régissant la gestion financière, la passation de marchés et les ressources humaines. Les opérations relatives à la rémunération au rendement examinées étaient dûment administrées et approuvées par des personnes auxquelles les pouvoirs requis à cet égard avaient été délégués. Dans le cas de toutes les opérations examinées, les cartes d’achat ont été utilisées dans le cadre d’activités gouvernementales autorisées. En ce qui concerne quelques­uns des comptes de titulaires de cartes examinés, aucune convention de titulaire n’avait été versée au dossier et, parfois, la limite de crédit avait été augmentée sans que des pièces justificatives ou des autorisations n’aient été versées au dossier.

Les avances comptables examinées ont été établies pour des raisons appropriées et ont servi aux fins pour lesquelles elles ont été émises. Bien qu’une personne autre que le dépositaire ait procédé à une vérification des comptes au moment où les fonds de la petite caisse devaient être renouvelés, il n’y avait aucune preuve d’une vérification périodique des fonds, comme un dénombrement physique, ni de preuves de l’exécution d’un rapprochement mensuel en bonne et due forme.

Les frais de déplacement en service commandé examinés étaient généralement administrés de manière à appliquer des pratiques équitables, raisonnables et modernes. De plus, tous les frais de déplacement des hauts fonctionnaires fédéraux désignés avaient fait l’objet d’une divulgation proactive. Dans certains cas, la justification de l’autorisation a posteriori du voyage ne figurait pas au dossier.

En ce qui concerne la passation de marchés, des documents avaient été versés au dossier à l’appui du recours à des marchés non concurrentiels et le mode satisfaisant de passation de marchés avait été choisi et utilisé, conformément aux modalités établies, pour les opérations examinées. Toutefois, les critères d’évaluation des soumissions n’étaient pas toujours inclus dans les documents de la demande de propositions ayant servi à sélectionner les entrepreneurs. De plus, dans certains cas, les rapports d’évaluation n’étaient pas signés par tous les évaluateurs. Enfin, la justification des modifications apportées aux marchés n’avait pas toujours été versée au dossier, et certaines de ces modifications avaient été effectuées après la date d’échéance du marché.

Au chapitre de l’accueil, les activités d’accueil ont été planifiées et réalisées de façon économique et appropriée afin de faciliter les activités du gouvernement, et ce, tout en tenant compte des circonstances entourant chaque activité. Les frais d’accueil des hauts fonctionnaires désignés ont été adéquatement consignés et ont fait l’objet d’une divulgation proactive. Toutefois, certains des frais d’accueil examinés ont été certifiés par une personne à qui les pouvoirs requis n’avaient pas été délégués, et certaines approbations ont été données après la tenue de l’événement. De plus, dans certains cas, la vérification des comptes avait été effectuée par une personne ayant participé à l’activité, et aucune contre-signature ne figurait au dossier.

Dans le cas des opérations choisies se rattachant aux employés occasionnels, les évaluations de sécurité et le niveau de fiabilité n’ont pas été définies ni déterminées à titre de conditions d’emploi. En matière d’administration de la paye, on a constaté qu’aucune approbation n’avait été versée au dossier pour les opérations relatives au temps supplémentaire examinées et on n’a trouvé aucune preuve de la vérification du paiement et du règlement effectuée à l’égard des opérations de paye examinées. Aussi, les procédures de départ n’ont pas toujours été suivies.

En ce qui concerne les dépenses et le contrôle des engagements, dans le cas de plusieurs des opérations examinées, aucun élément probant ne montrait qu’elles avaient été approuvées par une personne dûment autorisée. Enfin, on n’a trouvé aucune preuve de vérification des comptes pour les opérations de paye examinées.

Recommandations

La présidente du BST devrait :

  1. Veiller à ce que les détenteurs de carte reconnaissent par écrit leurs responsabilités à l’égard de la détention d’une carte d’achats et à ce que les modifications aux limites des cartes d’achats soient conservées dans les dossiers
  2. Veiller à ce que les avances comptables soient rapprochées chaque mois et à ce que les preuves du rapprochement soient conservées au dossier.
  3. Mettre au point des processus opérationnels et conserver la documentation au dossier afin que :
    • que la méthode de sélection et les critères d’évaluation des soumissions soient clairement énoncés dans le document de l’appel d’offres pour les marchés concurrentiels, avant la diffusion de la DP;
    • l’évaluation des propositions et la sélection de l’entrepreneur soient effectuées conformément aux critères préétablis qui sont énoncés dans la DP afin de montrer que l’évaluation a été menée selon une approche ouverte, équitable et transparente;
    • l’évaluation de la soumission soit justifiée par des documents versés au dossier et accompagnée du rapport d’évaluation;
    • l’évaluation du marché soit signée par au moins deux évaluateurs explicitement identifiés;
    • les modifications du marché soient justifiées et signées avant l’échéance du marché d’origine.
  4. S’assurer que la justification de l’autorisation a posteriori de voyager figure au dossier.
  5. Veiller à ce que les opérations relatives à toute activité d’accueil soient vérifiées par un délégataire n’ayant pas participé à l’activité visée.
  6. Faire en sorte que les évaluations de la sécurité et que le niveau de fiabilité soient définis comme conditions d’emploi des employés occasionnels.
  7. S’assurer que les formalités de départ applicables sont suivies et documentées.
  8. S’assurer que la documentation appropriée est versée au dossier afin de montrer que le paiement et le règlement ont été effectués avant le versement du paiement, et que le montant demandé est correct.
  9. Veiller à ce que l’engagement des dépenses soit effectué par une personne dûment autorisée, et ce, avant que les dépenses ne soient effectuées, et à ce que la documentation soit versée au dossier, surtout au chapitre de l’administration de la paye.

Réponse de la direction

Le BST a revu les constatations et les recommandations de la vérification. La direction accepte, de façon générale, les constatations de la vérification et elle a mis au point un plan d’action en vue de donner suite aux recommandations. Il est prévu que le plan d’action de la direction sera entièrement mis en œuvre d’ici mars 2013.

Les résultats de la vérification et le plan d’action de la direction ont fait l’objet de discussions avec le président du BST et le Comité de vérification des petits ministères. Le Bureau du contrôleur général assurera un suivi concernant la mise en œuvre du plan d’action de la direction.

Annexe A : Politiques et directives prises en compte aux fins de la vérification

Politiques et directives prises en compte
Politiques et directives prises en compte Conformité
Directive sur la délégation des pouvoirs financiers pour les dépenses Respecté
Directive sur les cartes d’achat Respecté en grande partie
Directive sur les avances comptables Respecté en grande partie
Politique sur les marchés Respecté en partie
Directive sur les voyages du Conseil national mixte et Directive sur les cartes de voyage et les chèques de voyage Respecté en grande partie
Politique sur l’accueil et Directive sur la gestion des dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences Respectée en partie
Employés occasionnels Non respectée
Administration de la rémunération au rendementFootnote 3 Respectée
Directive sur la gestion financière de l’administration de la paye Non respectée
Directive sur l’engagement des dépenses et le contrôle des engagementsFootnote 4 Non respectée
Directive sur la vérification des comptesFootnote 5 Non respectée

Seuils de conformité des opérations prises en compte aux fins de la vérification

Respecté: Conformité dans une proportion d'au moins 99 %.
Respectée en grande partie: Conformité dans une proportion d'au moins 90 % mais de moins de 99 %.
Respectée en partie: Conformité dans une proportion d'au moins 80 % mais de moins de 90 %.
Non respectée: Conformité dans une proportion inférieure à 80 %.


Footnotes

Footnote 1

Les critères d’évaluation précis sont publiés à l’adresse http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/report/orp/2011/ccac-cvcb-fra.asp.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

L’annexe A contient les résultats de conformité globale du BST dans les secteurs pris en compte aux fins de la vérification.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 3

Comprend la Politique de gestion des cadres supérieurs, la Directive sur les conditions d’emploi de certains employés exclus ou non représentés et la Directive sur la rémunération des cadres supérieurs.

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

Comprend la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, article 32.

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Footnote 5

Comprend la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, articles 33 et 34.

Return to footnote 5 referrer