On-board video and voice recorders

There is no requirement for on-board video and voice recorders on locomotives.

Added to the Watchlist on 14 June 2012

Background

Objective data is invaluable to investigators in helping them understand the sequence of events leading up to an accident and for identifying operational issues and human factors, including crew performance. Video and voice recordings would allow the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigators to confirm the nature of crew communications and the dynamics of crew actions and interactions. Moreover, such information would allow accident investigators to eliminate extraneous factors that did not play a role in the accident. Technology abounds in the area of recorded information and, indeed, the aviation industry has had voice recordings for at least three decades, and some sectors of the marine industry are considering adding video recordings to supplement their voice recordings.

A number of rail accident investigations in North America have led to findings, recommendations and other safety communications where human factors were identified as an underlying condition or an unsafe act. Many of these investigations would have benefitted from a recording of crew communications immediately prior to the accident. In Canada, early indications from investigations such as the VIA Rail derailment in Burlington, Ontario, (R12T0038), and findings in Saint-Charles-de-Bellechasse, Quebec, (R10Q0011) determined that recordings of crew interactions would have been useful. In the United States, accident investigations conducted by the National Transportation Safety Board, such as Silver Spring, Maryland, Anding, Mississippi, and Chatsworth, California, called for the installation of voice, video and forward-facing video recorders on locomotives.

Some Canadian railway companies have already installed forward-facing video recorders on their locomotives, but progress toward broader use of voice and video recorders in locomotive cabs has not been made.

Solution

The rail industry should ensure that communications in locomotive cabs are recorded.


See this fact sheet in PDF
See all the Watchlist fact sheets in PDF

Next Watchlist issue

Enregistreurs vidéo ou de la parole à bord

Aucune disposition n'exige la présence d'enregistreurs vidéo ou de la parole à bord des locomotives.

Inscrit à la liste de surveillance le 14 juin 2012

Contexte

Les données objectives sont extrêmement utiles pour les enquêteurs afin de comprendre la séquence des événements menant à un accident et de cerner les problèmes opérationnels ainsi que les facteurs humains, y compris le rendement de l’équipe. Les enregistreurs vidéo ou de la parole permettraient aux enquêteurs du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) de confirmer la nature des communications de l’équipe ainsi que la dynamique de ses actions et interactions. De plus, grâce à cette information, les enquêteurs d’accidents pourraient éliminer les facteurs extérieurs qui n’ont joué aucun rôle dans l’accident. La technologie est omniprésente dans le domaine de l’information enregistrée; d’ailleurs, l’industrie aéronautique utilise des enregistrements de la parole depuis au moins trois décennies et certains secteurs de l’industrie maritime envisagent de compléter leurs enregistrements de la parole par des enregistrements vidéo.

Un certain nombre d’enquêtes sur des accidents ferroviaires en Amérique du Nord ont mené à des conclusions, à des recommandations et à d’autres communications de sécurité où on a établi que des « facteurs humains » constituaient une condition sous-jacente ou pouvait mener à poser des gestes dangereux. Bon nombre de ces enquêtes auraient profité d’un enregistrement des communications d’équipe immédiatement avant l’accident. Au Canada, les premières indications fournies par des enquêtes comme celle du déraillement d’un train de VIA Rail à Burlington, en Ontario (R12T0038), et les conclusions faites à la suite d’un précédent déraillement d’un train de VIA Rail à Saint-Charles-de-Bellechasse, au Québec (R10Q0011), ont permis de conclure que des enregistrements des interactions de l’équipe auraient été utiles. Aux États-Unis, les enquêtes d’accidents menées par le National Transportation Safety Board, comme celles sur Silver Spring (Maryland), Anding (Mississippi) et Chatsworth (Californie) recommandaient l’installation, dans les locomotives, d’enregistreurs de la parole, d’enregistreurs vidéo et d’enregistreurs vidéo orientés vers l’avant.

Certaines compagnies ferroviaires canadiennes ont déjà installé des enregistreurs vidéo orientés vers l’avant sur leurs locomotives, mais les progrès quant à l’utilisation plus répandue d’enregistreurs de la parole ou d’enregistreurs vidéo dans les cabines de locomotives tardent à se faire sentir.

Solution

L'industrie ferroviaire devrait veiller à ce que les communications dans les cabines de locomotive soient enregistrées.


Voir cette fiche de renseignements en version PDF
Voir la Liste de surveillance complète en format PDF

Problème de sécurité suivant