Landing accidents and runway overruns

Landing accidents and runway overruns continue to occur at Canadian airports.

Added to the Watchlist on 16 August 2010

Background

Millions of landings occur each year on Canadian runways. Rain, snow, ice or slush can contaminate these runways and affect the landing distance. Pilots are required to calculate landing distance before each landing. To do this, they need to have an accurate report of runway surface conditions. If this information is not available, landing distance calculations could be incorrect, putting aircraft at risk of running off the end or the side of the runway.

If this happens, it is important that an aircraft have an adequate safety area beyond the runway's end. At some airports, however, this is not the case, and the terrain beyond the end of the runway could contribute to aircraft damage and injuries to passengers and crew. This area, therefore, must be sufficiently clear of obstacles and properly graded.

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) has investigated a number of landing accidents and incidents that highlight the need for runway surface condition reporting and safety areas.1 Moreover, since the TSB first placed this issue on its Watchlist, the number of accidents of this type every year has not significantly decreased: in 2010, there were 12 such accidents, and in 2011, there were 9.2 Meanwhile, in Canada, there is no requirement to meet international standards and recommended practices for safety areas.

Solution

In bad weather, pilots need to receive timely information about runway surface conditions. Furthermore, airports need to lengthen the safety areas at the end of runways or install other engineered systems and structures to safely stop planes that overrun.


See this fact sheet in PDF
See all the Watchlist fact sheets in PDF

Next Watchlist issue


  1. TSB Recommendation A07-06 (Investigation Report A05H0002); aviation safety advisories A020014 and A020016 (Investigation Report A02A0038); and safety information letters A060029 (Investigation Report A06P0036) and A07A0029 (Investigation Report A07A0029).
  2. Recent TSB investigations include A10A0032, A10H0004*, A12O0005*, A12W0004* and A11A0035*.

*This investigation is ongoing and the report has not yet been released.

Accidents à l'atterrissage et sorties de piste

Des accidents à l'atterrissage et des sorties de piste continuent de se produire aux aéroports canadiens.

Inscrit à la liste de surveillance le 16 août 2010

Contexte

Des millions d’atterrissages sont effectués chaque année sur les pistes du Canada. La pluie, la neige, la glace ou la neige fondante peuvent contaminer ces pistes et avoir une incidence sur la distance d’atterrissage. Les pilotes doivent calculer la distance d’atterrissage avant chaque atterrissage. Pour ce faire, ils doivent disposer de renseignements précis sur l’état de la surface des pistes. Toutefois, si ces renseignements ne sont pas disponibles, les calculs de la distance d’atterrissage peuvent être erronés et les aéronefs peuvent faire des sorties de piste.

Si un aéronef fait une sortie de piste, il est important qu’il dispose d’une aire de sécurité convenable au-delà de l’extrémité de piste. Par contre, ce n’est pas le cas à certains aéroports, et le terrain au-delà de l’extrémité de piste pourrait entraîner des dommages aux aéronefs ainsi que des blessures aux passagers et aux membres d’équipage. Cette aire de sécurité doit donc être suffisamment libre de tout obstacle et correctement nivelée.

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a fait enquête sur un certain nombre d’accidents et d’incidents à l’atterrissage qui démontrent clairement la nécessité des renseignements sur l’état de la surface des pistes et des aires de sécurité1. De plus, depuis que le BST a inscrit ce problème à sa Liste de surveillance, le nombre annuel d’accidents de ce type n’a pas beaucoup diminué. En 2010, 12 accidents de ce type se sont produits. En 2011, on en a relevé 92. Entre‑temps, il n’y a toujours aucune exigence au Canada en matière de conformité aux normes internationales et aux pratiques recommandées relativement aux aires de sécurité d’extrémité de piste.

Solution

Lorsque les conditions météorologiques sont défavorables, les pilotes doivent recevoir des renseignements à jour et en temps opportun sur l'état de la surface des pistes. De plus, les aéroports doivent prolonger les aires de sécurité d'extrémité de piste ou mettre en place d'autres systèmes et structures permettant d'immobiliser en toute sécurité un avion qui effectue une sortie de piste.


Voir cette fiche de renseignements en version PDF
Voir la Liste de surveillance complète en format PDF

Problème de sécurité suivant


  1. Recommendation A07-06 (rapport d’enquête A05H0002); avis de sécurité aérienne A020014 et A020016 (rapport d’enquête A02A0038); lettres d’information sur la sécurité A060029 (rapport d’enquête A06P0036) et A07A0029 (rapport d’enquête A07A0029).
  2. Exemples d’enquêtes récentes du BST : A10A0032, A10H0004*, A12O0005*, A12W0004* and A11A0035*.

*Cette enquête est en cours et le rapport n'a pas encore été publié.