Air transportation occurrence data

Dataset from January 1995

With a view to advancing transportation safety, the TSB is publishing data from its Aviation Safety Information System (ASIS) on reportable accidents and incidents (which together are called occurrences) for use by industry and the public. The TSB gathers the data in the course of its investigations and uses it to analyze safety deficiencies and identify risks in the Canadian transportation system.

Accidents and incidents are reported in accordance with the TSB Regulations that were in effect at the time.

The dataset is composed of 5 tables in CSV format.

Content of the dataset

Some data collected by the TSB and recorded in ASIS will be excluded from the public database to protect third-party, personal and privileged information, in accordance with the Canadian Transportation Accident Investigation and Safety Board Act, the Privacy Act and the Access to Information Act.

The data in text fields is provided in English and French, while free-text fields contain data in the language in which it was entered. Some of the data is from sources not subject to the Official Languages Act and are therefore available only in the language in which it was provided.

Release schedule

The ASIS dataset is released on or soon after the 15th of each month, and contains data from January 1995 to the last day of the month preceding its release.

Disclaimer

The dataset is for information purposes only. The user of the data assumes all responsibilities for its use and for verifying its completeness and accuracy for both critical and non-critical uses and applications.

The data in ASIS has been collected by the TSB from third-party sources believed to be reliable. As many occurrences are not formally investigated by the TSB (see the Occurrence Classification Policy), information pertaining to some occurrences may not have been validated. Consequently, this data is provided on an as-is basis, and the TSB does not warrant its quality, accuracy, reliability, or completeness.

In no event will the TSB be liable for any direct, special, indirect, consequential or other damages, however caused, arising out of or in connection with the use of any data contained in this dataset. If you find any errors, please report them to communications@bst-tsb.gc.ca.

The dataset

The dataset is published in 5 tables in CSV format.

A blank cell in these tables indicates that this field is not applicable or is not populated.

  • Occurrence table

    This table contains data on the occurrence summary, including the date, time and location of the occurrence, the occurrence type and category, the occurrence classification, the aircraft involved, the number of injuries/or fatalities, the weather conditions, and data relating to the landing and takeoff aerodrome or operating surface.
    [CSV file 86 MB]

  • Aircraft table

    This table contains data on the occurrence aircraft, including its type, make, model, registration, and country of registration, aircraft’s engine(s), propellers, and rotors, data relating to any explosion, fire, fumes and/or smoke, operator information including type of operator, type of flight plan, flight number, departure and destination, and air traffic service involvement.
    [CSV file 56 MB]

  • Injuries table

    This table contains data on the number and severity of injuries resulting from the occurrence.
    [CSV file 5 MB]

  • Events and phases table

    This table contains data pertaining to the phases of the occurrence flight and the events during the flight.
    [CSV file 52 MB]

  • Survivability table

    This table contains data relating to the evacuation of the occurrence aircraft, the effectiveness of survival devices, and the systems for locating the occurrence aircraft.
    [CSV file 8 MB]

Date modified:

Ensembles de données sur les événements de transport aérien depuis janvier 1995

Pour promouvoir la sécurité des transports, le BST publie les données de son système d'information sur la sécurité aérienne (SISA) sur les accidents et les incidents à signalement obligatoire (appelés collectivement « événements ») dont peuvent se servir le secteur de l'aviation et le public. Le BST recueille ces données dans le cadre de ses enquêtes et s'en sert pour analyser les lacunes de sécurité et déterminer les risques qui existent dans le système de transport canadien.

Les accidents et les incidents sont déclarés conformément au Règlement sur le Bureau de la sécurité des transports en vigueur au moment de l'événement.

L’ensemble de données est composé de 5 tableaux en format CSV.

Contenu de l’ensemble de données

Certaines données recueillies par le BST et consignées dans le SISA seront exclues des bases de données publiques pour protéger les renseignements personnels, privilégiés et sur des tiers, conformément à la Loi sur le Bureau canadien d'enquête sur les accidents de transport et de la sécurité des transports, à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.

Les données dans les champs de texte sont fournies en anglais et en français, alors que les champs de texte libre contiennent des données dans la langue dans laquelle elles ont été saisies. Certains renseignements proviennent de sources qui ne sont pas assujetties à la Loi sur les langues officielles et sont donc disponibles uniquement dans la langue dans laquelle ils ont été fournis.

Calendrier de publication

Les ensembles de données SISA sont publiés le 15e jour de chaque mois ou peu de temps après; ils contiennent des données recueillies depuis janvier 1995 jusqu'au dernier jour du mois qui précède la publication.

Avertissement

L'ensemble de données est fourni à titre d'information seulement. Quiconque utilise ces données assume l'entière responsabilité de leur utilisation et de la vérification de leurs intégralité et exactitude, pour les utilisations et les applications tant critiques que non critiques.

Les données du SISA ont été recueillies par le BST d'un tiers jugé fiable. Certains événements ne faisant pas l'objet d'enquêtes officielles par le BST (voir la Politique de classification des événements), les renseignements qui s'y rapportent n'ont pas nécessairement été vérifiés. Par conséquent, ces données sont fournies « telles quelles », et le BST ne peut en garantir la qualité, l'exactitude, la fiabilité ou l'intégralité.

Le BST ne peut en aucun cas être tenu responsable des dommages directs, indirects, particuliers, consécutifs ou autres, quelles qu'en soient leur cause, liés ou faisant suite à l'utilisation de quelque donnée provenant de cet ensemble de données. Veuillez signaler toute erreur ou omission à l'adresse suivante : communications@bst-tsb.gc.ca.

Ensemble de données

L'ensemble de données est publié dans 5 tableaux en format CSV.

Une cellule vide dans ces tableaux indique que le champ correspondant est sans objet ou non rempli.

  • Tableau sur l’événement

    Ce tableau contient des données sur le résumé de l’événement, y compris la date, l’heure et le lieu de l’événement; le type et la catégorie d’événement; la classification de l’événement; l’aéronef en cause; le nombre de blessures ou de morts; les conditions météorologiques; les données sur l’aérodrome ou la surface opérationnelle de décollage et d’atterrissage.
    [fichier en format CSV 86 Mo]

  • Tableau sur l’aéronef

    Ce tableau contient des données sur l’aéronef, y compris le type, le fabricant, le modèle, l’immatriculation et le pays d’immatriculation; les moteurs, les hélices et les rotors; les données sur l’explosion, l’incendie, les émanations et la fumée, s’il y a lieu; les renseignements sur l’exploitant, y compris le type d’exploitant, le type de plan de vol, le numéro de vol, le départ et l’arrivée, ainsi que la participation du service de la circulation aérienne dans l’événement.
    [fichier en format CSV 56 Mo]

  • Tableau sur les blessures

    Ce tableau contient des données sur le nombre de blessures et leur gravité à la suite de l’événement.
    [fichier en format CSV 5 Mo]

  • Tableau sur la séquence des événements et les phases de vol

    Ce tableau contient des données sur les phases du vol en cause dans l’événement ainsi que la séquence des événements durant le vol.
    [fichier en format CSV 52 Mo]

  • Tableau sur la survivabilité

    Ce tableau contient des données sur l’évacuation de l’aéronef en cause dans l’événement, l’efficacité des dispositifs de survie et les systèmes de localisation de l’aéronef en cause dans l’événement.
    [fichier en format CSV 8 Mo]

Date de modification :