Rail Safety Advisory Letter 617-05/18

Visual verification method to ensure secure coupling of rail cars

Place du Centre
200 Promenade du Portage, 4th Floor
Gatineau QC  K1A 1K8

14 November 2018

Safety advisory letter 617-05/18
Related occurrence: R17V0096

Letter addressed to:
Transport Canada
Technical Safety BC
Canadian Pacific Railway
Railway Association of Canada
Western Canadian Short Line Railway Association

Subject: Rail Safety Advisory Letter – 617-05/18: Visual verification method to ensure secure coupling of rail cars

On 20 April 2017, during switching operations, 11 loaded rail cars of logs rolled uncontrolled out of the Western Forest Products (WFP) reload centre, near Woss, B.C. The 11 rail cars rolled northward out onto the main trackFootnote 1 for about 4820 feet and collided with some engineering work equipment on the track (i.e., a work crane and a crew transport vehicle with employees on board). The uncontrolled movement continued down the grade, pushing the 2 engineering work equipment vehicles. About 1730 feet further, on a left-hand curve, the 7 tail-end rail cars derailed and separated from the 4 head-end rail cars. The 4 head-end rail cars and the 2 engineering work equipment vehicles then continued on the track for about 880 feet, where the rail cars and work equipment derailed in a right-hand curve. During the derailment, the logs spilled from the rail cars, striking and burying the work equipment vehicles. Three engineering employees sustained fatal injuries and two employees received serious injuries (TSB Occurrence No. R17V0096).

As part of its investigation into this occurrence, the TSB examined the manner in which verification of a successful coupling was determined after the joint was made between rail cars. At the Woss Reload Centre, consistent with industry practice, the standard pull test was used. No additional visual verification of the coupler lock-lift assembly was being used by employees at the Woss Reload Centre.

As part of a previous TSB investigation (R15T0173Footnote 2), it was determined that CN instructs its operating crew members to visually inspect the coupling after making a joint between rail cars and to ensure that the bottom-operated lock-lift assembly pivot points are properly aligned. Specifically, when the coupler locking block drops into place to secure the knuckle, the pivot points are horizontally aligned (Figure 1). If the coupler locking block is not in the fully dropped position, the pivot points would not be horizontal (Figure 2).

Figure 1. Horizontally aligned pivot points of the lock-lift assembly (Source: Canadian National)
Horizontally aligned pivot points of the lock-lift assembly (Source: Canadian National)
Figure 2. Pivot points of the lock-lift assembly are not horizontal (Source: Canadian National)
Pivot points of the lock-lift assembly are not horizontal (Source: Canadian National)

The use of this visual method (i.e., horizontal alignment of the pivot points on the bottom lock-lift assembly) as a visual indicator of a successful coupling may not be widely known or widely circulated in training material throughout the railway industry. Rather, general observation of the bottom lock-lift assembly to verify that the knuckle “pin” has dropped (i.e., the lock block has fully dropped and the coupling was successful) has been a long-standing practice throughout the railway industry.

Given the risks associated with an uncontrolled movement of rolling stock initiated by an inadvertent release of a coupling, additional defences such as the use of visual verification to ensure that the pivot points on the bottom lock-lift assembly are horizontally aligned should be implemented.

Original signed by

Kirby Jang
Director
Investigation Operations, Rail/Pipeline

Cc.

  • BC Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure
  • Canadian National Railway

Background information

Occurrence No.

R17V0096

Contacts

Dan Holbrook, Manager, Head Office and Western Regional Operations - Rail, Head Office, Gatineau, Quebec

Peter Hickli, Regional Senior Investigator, Richmond Regional Office, British Columbia

Date modified:

Avis de sécurité ferroviaire – 05/18

Vérification visuelle de l’attelage réussi des wagons

Place du Centre
200, promenade du Portage
4e étage
Gatineau (Québec)
K1A 1K8

14 novembre 2018

617-05/18
R17V0096

Lettre adressée à
Transports Canada
Technical Safety BC
Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique
Association des chemins de fer du Canada
Western Canadian Short Line Railway Association

Objet : Avis de sécurité ferroviaire – 617-05/18 Vérification visuelle de l’attelage réussi des wagons

Le 20 avril 2017, pendant des manœuvres, une rame de 11 wagons chargés de grumes a roulé à la dérive hors du centre de rechargement exploité par Western Forest Products Inc. (WFP) près de Woss (Colombie-Britannique). Les 11 wagons ont roulé vers le nord sur la voie principale Note de bas de page 1 sur une distance d'environ 4820 pieds avant d'entrer en collision avec du matériel d'ingénierie sur la voie (une grue et un véhicule de transport d'équipes avec des employés à bord). Le mouvement non contrôlé a descendu la pente en poussant les deux véhicules de travaux d'ingénierie. Environ 1730 pieds plus loin, dans une courbe vers la gauche, les sept wagons de queue ont déraillé et se sont séparés des quatre wagons de tête. Les quatre wagons de tête et les deux véhicules de travaux d'ingénierie ont poursuivi leur course sur une distance d'environ 880 pieds avant de dérailler dans une courbe vers la droite. Durant le déraillement, les wagons ont déversé leurs grumes, qui ont percuté et enseveli les véhicules de travaux d'ingénierie. Trois employés des services d'ingénierie ont été mortellement blessés, et deux employés ont été grièvement blessés (événement no R17V0096 du BST).

Dans le cadre de son enquête sur cet événement, le BST a étudié la méthode utilisée pour confirmer que l'attelage des wagons est réussi. Au centre de rechargement de Woss, on a procédé à un essai de traction, conformément à la pratique courante dans l'industrie. Les employés du centre de rechargement de Woss n'ont effectué aucune vérification visuelle supplémentaire du lève-verrou d'attelage.

Dans le cadre d'une enquête précédente du BST (R15T0173 Note de bas de page 2 ), on avait établi que le Canadien National (CN) demandait aux membres de ses équipes d'exploitation d'inspecter visuellement l'attelage pour s'assurer que les articulations du lève-verrou d'attelage à manœuvre par le bas étaient correctement alignées. Plus précisément, lorsque le verrou s'est bien logé pour tenir la mâchoire d'attelage, les articulations sont alignées à l'horizontale ( figure 1 ). Si le verrou n'est pas complètement abaissé, les articulations ne sont pas à l'horizontale ( figure 2 ).

Figure 1. Articulations du lève-verrou d’attelage alignées à l’horizontale (Source : Canadien National)
Articulations du lève-verrou d’attelage alignées à l’horizontale (Source : Canadien National)
Figure 2. Articulations du lève-verrou d’attelage non alignées à l’horizontale (Source : Canadien National)
Articulations du lève-verrou d’attelage non alignées à l’horizontale (Source : Canadien National)

Cette vérification visuelle (c.-à-d. de l'alignement horizontal des articulations du lève-verrou d'attelage à manœuvre par le bas) en tant qu'indicateur d'un attelage réussi n'est peut-être pas assez largement connue ou diffusée dans les documents de formation de l'industrie ferroviaire. L'observation générale du lève-verrou à manœuvre par le bas pour vérifier que le pivot de mâchoire est abaissé (c.-à-d. que le verrou est complètement abaissé et que l'attelage est réussi) est une pratique de longue date dans l'industrie ferroviaire.

Étant donné les risques associés aux mouvements non contrôlés de matériel roulant causé par l'ouverture intempestive d'une mâchoire d'attelage, il faut recourir à des moyens de défense supplémentaires, comme une vérification visuelle, pour s'assurer que les articulations du lève-verrou d'attelage à manœuvre par le bas sont alignées à l'horizontale.

Je vous prie d'accepter, Madame, Monsieur, l'expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Original signé par

Kirby Jang
Directeur
Enquêtes - Rail/pipeline

Cc:

Ministère des Transports et de l’Infrastructure de la Colombie-Britannique
Chemin de fer Canadien National

Renseignements de base

No d'événement du BST :

R17V0096

Personnes-ressources :

Dan Holbrook
Gestionnaire, Opérations d’enquêtes de l’administration centrale et de la région de l’Ouest
BST, Gatineau (Québec)

Peter Hickli
Enquêteur principal régional
BST, Richmond (Colombie-Britannique)

Date de modification :