Marine Safety Information Letter No. 01/18

Safety issues associated with mooring operations in the maritime industry

Place du Centre
200 Promenade du Portage, 4th Floor
Gatineau QC  K1A 1K8

2018

Marine Safety Information Letter No. 01/18
Related occurrence: M17C0060

Letter addressed to Transport Canada

Subject: Marine Safety Information Letter No. 01/18 – Safety issues associated with mooring operations in the maritime industry

On 22 May 2017, the Singapore-flagged bulk carrier Nord Quebec (International Maritime Organization [IMO] No 9612296) was berthing at section 16 of the Port of Trois-Rivières, Quebec, under the conduct of a pilot and with the assistance of 2 harbour tugs. During the manoeuvre, the 2 mooring ropes being used as forward spring lines became caught under one of the dock fenders. Both mooring ropes consisted of 8-strand mixed polymer (polyolefin and high tenacity polyester) ropes, 48 mm in diameter. When the spring lines were freed 9 minutes after having been caught under the fender, they sprung upwards in a slingshot motion. The first spring line swung up well above the Nord Quebec's side handrail resulting in the second officer being hit in the chin and sustaining fatal injuries. There was no damage to the vessel and no pollution was reported. The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigation into this occurrence is ongoing (TSB Occurrence M17C0060).

Several occurrences, involving complications with mooring and similar to that of the Nord Quebec, have been reported both in Canada and abroad. Statistics contained in the TSB database show that between 2007 and 2017, 24 occurrences (including this occurrence) involving mooring operations in Canada on board both domestic and foreign-flagged vessels were reported. In these occurrences, 24 people sustained serious injuries and 2 people were fatally injured. A total of 9 occurrences were caused by mooring lines parting and whipping (also known as "snap-back"), 5 occurrences were due to the slingshot and catapult effects of taut mooring lines, and 10 occurrences involved injuries sustained by crew members either falling, tripping or being crushed during mooring operations.

Mooring accidents were also investigated by other IMO Member States during the 2001-2017 period. Chile, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong (IMO associate member), Netherlands, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (U.K.) and Sweden reported on 25 marine casualties and 14 very serious marine casualties. These casualties were caused either by mooring lines snap-back or entrapment, crew members tripping, falling, striking or getting struck while conducting mooring operations, overall resulting in 27 people sustaining serious injuries and 13 people sustaining fatal injuries.

The Marine Accident Investigators' International Forum (MAIIF), in its 26th annual meeting held in November 2017 and regrouping 31 of its 51 member national marine safety investigating authorities, including the TSB, discussed mooring safety. More precisely, the attendees scrutinized the findings of the U.K.'s Marine Accident Investigation Branch (MAIB) report that followed a casualty on board the liquefied natural gas tanker Zarga during mooring operations in Milford Haven, U.K. on March 2nd, 2015Footnote 1. This report contained several recommendations to major stakeholders such as the Oil Companies International Marine Forum (OCIMF). Subsequently, it triggered an extensive revision of the OCIMF's Mooring Equipment Guidelines (MEG 3). Alternatively, MAIFF has encouraged all its members to provide input to their respective States based on findings from mooring-related marine casualities that were investigated under their respective jurisdictions.

The aforementioned is provided so that you may take whatever measures are considered appropriate in the circumstances. More precisely, as Canada's State Representative at IMO, Transport Canada - Marine Safety and Security may wish to bring this information to IMO's Sub-committee on Ship Design and Construction (SDC), currently tasked with proposing changes to the SOLAS Convention (Chapter II-1, Part A-1, Regulation 3-8, Towing and mooring equipment), revising the guidelines MSC.1/Circ.1175 (Guidance on shipboard towing and mooring equipment), and drafting new guidelines for safe mooring operations for all ships. The TSB would appreciate being advised of any such action. Moreover, an investigator may follow up with you at a later date.

Upon completion of investigation M17C0060, the Board will release its investigation report into this occurrence.

Original signed by

Marc-André Poisson
Director
Investigations – Marine

Cc.

  • Maritime and Corporate Administrator, Republic of the Marshall Islands
  • Marine Accident Investigation Branch, United Kingdom

Background information

Occurrence no.

M17C0060

Contacts

Mr. François Dumont, Regional Senior Investigator, Engineering, Central Region

Mrs. Line Laroche, Regional Manager, Central Region

Date modified:

Lettre d'information sur la sécurité maritime 01/18

Questions de sécurité sur les opérations d’amarrage dans le secteur maritime

Place du Centre
200, promenade du Portage
4e étage
Gatineau (Québec)
K1A 1K8

2018

M17C0060

Lettre adressée à Transports Canada

OBJET : Lettre d'information sur la sécurité maritime 01/18
Questions de sécurité sur les opérations d’amarrage dans le secteur maritime

Le 22 mai 2017, le vraquier Nord Quebec battant pavillon singapourien (numéro OMI [Organisation maritime internationale] 9612296) était en train d'accoster au quai 16 du port de Trois-Rivières (Québec) sous la conduite d'un pilote avec l'aide de deux remorqueurs portuaires. Au cours de la manœuvre, les deux amarres utilisées comme gardes montantes de l'avant se sont accrochées sous une des défenses du quai. Les deux amarres étaient des câbles en mélange de polymères (polyoléfine et polyester haute ténacité) à 8 torons de 48 mm de diamètre. Lorsque les gardes montantes ont été dégagées de la défense neuf minutes après s'y être accrochées, elles ont été projetées vers le haut dans un mouvement de fronde. La première garde montante a monté bien au-dessus de la rambarde du Nord Quebec et heurté le menton du second officier, le blessant mortellement. Le navire n'a subi aucun dommage et aucune pollution n'a été signalée. Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) enquête sur cet événement (événement M17C0060 du BST).

Plusieurs événements mettant en cause des complications lors de l'amarrage, comme celui du Nord Quebec, ont été signalés au Canada et à l'étranger. Selon des statistiques tirées de la base de données du BST, entre 2007 et 2017, 24 événements (en comptant celui-ci) mettant en cause des opérations d'amarrage au Canada sur des navires battant pavillon canadien ou étranger ont été signalés. Par suite de ces événements, 24 personnes ont subi des blessures graves et deux personnes ont subi des blessures mortelles. Dans neuf de ces événements, des amarres qui se sont rompues ont rebondi comme un fouet (phénomène appelé « coup de fouet »); dans cinq cas, des amarres sous tension ont réagi comme des frondes ou des catapultes; dans 10 cas, des membres d'équipage ont été blessés après avoir chuté, trébuché ou été écrasés au cours d'opérations d'amarrage.

D'autres États membres de l'OMI ont enquêté sur des accidents d'amarrage au cours de la période de 2001 à 2017. Le Chili, l'Allemagne, la Grèce, Hong Kong (membre associé de l'OMI), les Pays-Bas, le Royaume-Uni de Grande-Bretagne et d'Irlande du Nord (R.-U.) et la Suède ont produit des rapports d'enquête sur 25 accidents de mer et 14 accidents de mer très graves. Lors de ces accidents mettant en cause des coups de fouet, des amarres retenues, et des membres d'équipage qui ont trébuché, ont chuté, sont entrés en collision ou ont été frappés pendant des opérations d'amarrage, 27 personnes ont été grièvement blessées et il y a eu 13 décès.

En novembre 2017, lors de la 26e assemblée annuelle du Forum international des enquêteurs sur les accidents maritimes (MAIIF), qui regroupait 31 des 51 autorités nationales d'enquête sur les accidents membres, dont le BST, la question de la sécurité des opérations d'amarrage a été abordée. Plus précisément, les participants ont analysé les conclusions d'un rapport d'enquête de la Marine Accident Investigation Branch (MAIB) du Royaume-Uni sur un accident survenu à bord du transporteur de gaz naturel liquéfié Zarga au cours des opérations d'amarrage à Milford Haven (R.-U.) le 2 mars 2015Note de bas de page 1. Ce rapport comprenait plusieurs recommandations à l'intention des principaux intervenants, comme le Oil Companies International Marine Forum (OCIMF). L'OCIMF a révisé ses directives à propos de l'équipement d'amarrage (Mooring Equipment Guidelines, MEG3) par la suite. Le MAIIF a également encouragé tous ses membres à conseiller leurs États respectifs en fonction des conclusions d'enquêtes sur des accidents maritimes liés à l'amarrage qui relèvent de leurs compétences respectives.

Les renseignements qui précèdent visent à vous permettre de prendre les mesures qui s'imposent dans les circonstances. Plus précisément, en tant que représentant du Canada à l'OMI, Sécurité et sûreté maritimes de Transports Canada pourrait transmettre ces informations au Sous-comité de la conception et de la construction du navire (SDC) de l'OMI, qui est chargé de proposer des changements au chapitre II-1, partie A-1, règle 3-8 (Équipement de remorquage et d'amarrage) de la Convention SOLAS, de réviser les directives de la circulaire MSC.1/Circ.1175 relatives au matériel de remorquage et d'amarrage de bord et de rédiger de nouvelles directives relatives à la sécurité des opérations d'amarrage applicables à tous les navires. Le BST aimerait être tenu informé de toute mesure mise en œuvre à cet égard. Par ailleurs, un enquêteur pourrait faire un suivi auprès de vous ultérieurement.

Le Bureau publiera un rapport sur cet événement au terme de son enquête M17C0060.

Je vous prie d'accepter, Madame, l'expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Original signé par

Marc-André Poisson
Director
Investigations – Marine

Cc.

  • Administrateur maritime et d'affaires de la République des Îles Marshall
  • Marine Accident Investigation Branch du Royaume-Uni

Renseignements de base

Numéro d'événement du BST : M17C0060

M17C0060

Personnes-ressources du BST :

M. François Dumont
Enquêteur principal régional, Ingénierie
Région du Centre, Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada

Mme Line Laroche
Gestionnaire régionale
Région du Centre, Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada

Date de modification: