Aviation Safety Advisory A18O0106-D1-A1

Quad City Challenger II Advanced Ultralight – Bracket Failure

Place du Centre
200 Promenade du Portage, 4th Floor
Gatineau QC  K1A 1K8

15 November 2018

Aviation Safety Advisory A18O0106-D1-A1
Related occurrence: A18O0106

Letter addressed to Civil Aviation, Transport Canada

Subject: Aviation safety advisory A18O0106-D1-A1 – Quad City Challenger II Advanced Ultralight – Bracket Failure

The purpose of this advisory is to alert your organization to the possible risks associated with the failure of attachment brackets securing wing lift struts on Quad City Challenger II Advanced Ultralight aircraft.

At approximately 0950 Eastern Daylight Time on 30 July 2018, the right wing of a privately owned Quad City Challenger II Advanced Ultralight aircraft (registration C-IGKT, serial number CH2-1199-1919) separated from the aircraft when it was at an altitude of approximately 1000 feet above Talon Lake, Ontario, 14.3 nautical miles east of North Bay Airport (CYYB), Ontario. The aircraft entered an uncontrolled descent and collided with terrain in a wooded area. A post-impact fire ensued. The pilot was fatally injured and the aircraft was destroyed.

As part of the investigation into this accident (A18O0106), which is ongoing, the TSB retrieved and examined both right wing lift struts (front and rear) and the respective attachment brackets. It was determined that the bracket securing the right front lift strut to the fuselage failed while in flight as a result of fatigue. Following this failure, the lift strut detached from the fuselage and the right wing separated from the aircraft.

Details from the examination of the failed right front lift strut bracket:

  • The bracket had 402.2 hours since installation (including the accident flight).
  • A fatigue crack was found across the bottom end of the bracket, through the bolt hole and parallel to the bracket sides (Figure 1).
  • The initiation point of the crack was determined to be on the edge of the bolt hole.
  • The fatigue region (Figure 2) accounts for more than 60% of the cross-section area of the bracket. It shows striations along the fracture surface, which are an indication of the fatigue cycles.
  • The scanning electron microscope observation of the fracture surface found a significant number of secondary and parallel cracks underneath the surface of the bracket (Figure 3). These cracks resemble material delamination, a material defect introduced likely due to, or consistent with, the fabrication process used.
  • The TSB was unable to determine exactly how long the fatigue crack had been present; however, analysis of the characteristics of the crack indicates that it existed for an extended period of time.
Figure 1. Fractured right front lift strut bracket
Fractured right front lift strut bracket
Figure 2. Fatigue region (inside the red dotted lines) and fatigue striations
Fatigue region (inside the red dotted lines) and fatigue striations
Figure 3. Secondary and parallel cracks underneath the surface of the bracket
Secondary and parallel cracks underneath the surface of the bracket

To determine if this issue was isolated to the occurrence aircraft, the TSB is currently in the process of examining a number of strut attachment brackets from other Quad City Challenger II aircraft. So far, 22 brackets have been examined, and within that group, 8 brackets were found to have cracks. The time-in-service of those 8 brackets ranged from 4.1 hours to 830 hoursFootnote 1. The cracks identified vary in size and origin; some resulted from fatigue, whereas others were caused by material delamination.

The strut attachment brackets used on the Quad City Challenger II have been in service for 35 years and are installed on more than 4400 aircraft worldwide, including 608 in Canada. There has been one previous known failure of a front lift strut bracket, which occurred in the U.S., where overtightening or over-torqueing was identified as a possible cause; however, there was no evidence that overtightening or over-torqueing was a causal factor in this occurrence.

Advanced ultralights in Canada are required to be maintained according to the manufacturer's recommendations. Maintenance documents for the Quad City Challenger II indicate that the brackets and their associated bolts and nuts are to be inspected for tightness, cracks, play and safeties at the 50-hour inspection; however, the documents do not detail any recommended torque values to be used or types of inspections to be performed to identify possible cracking. These maintenance documents also require the brackets to be replaced completely at 500 hours time-in-service.

The occurrence aircraft's journey log indicated that a 25-hour inspection had been completed on 06 May 2018; however, the manufacturer does not require or have a specific checklist for a 25-hour inspection. It could not be determined if this inspection was conducted using 50-hour inspection checklist, or if the brackets had been inspected.

In this accident, a fatigue crack on the right front lift strut bracket went undetected within the 50-hour inspection cycle and failed before the 500-hour stipulated life span. Examination of other brackets obtained from other aircraft, with various time-in-service, suggest this issue may not be isolated to the occurrence bracket. Cracks that develop on airframe components need to be identified before the component fails completely; this is especially true when the component's failure can result in an irrecoverable loss of control in flight.

The TSB encourages your organization to take the necessary steps to reduce the likelihood that the bracket failure identified in this occurrence reoccurs.

The TSB would appreciate being advised of any action that is taken in this regard.

Original signed by

Natacha Van Themsche
Director of Investigations – Air

Cc.

  • Quad City Ultralight Aircraft Corporation
  • National Ultralight Inc.
  • Canadian Owners and Pilots Association
  • The Recreational Aircraft Association Canada
  • Ultralight Pilots Association of Canada
  • Experimental Aircraft Association
  • National Transportation Safety Board
  • Accident Investigation and Prevention, Federal Aviation Administration

Background information

Occurrence No.

A18O0106

Safety Communication No.

A18O0106-D1-A1

Contact

Jean-Pierre Regnier, Senior Investigator, Operations (S&P), Head Office, Gatineau, Quebec

Date modified:

Avis de sécurité aérienne A18O0106-D1-A1

Aéronef ultraléger de type évolué Quad City Challenger II – Défaillance des supports de fixation

Place du Centre
200, promenade du Portage
Gatineau QC  K1A 1K8

15 novembre 2018

Avis de sécurité : A18O0106-D1-A1
Événement connexe : A18O0106

Lettre adressée à Transports Canada

Objet : Avis de sécurité aérienne A18O0106-D1-A1 – Aéronef ultraléger de type évolué Quad City Challenger II – Défaillance des supports de fixation

L'objet du présent avis est d'informer votre organisme des risques pouvant résulter de la défaillance des supports de fixation des haubans d'aile de l'aéronef ultraléger de type évolué Quad City Challenger II.

Vers 9 h 50, heure avancée de l'Est, le 30 juillet 2018, l'aile droite d'un aéronef ultraléger de type évolué Quad City Challenger II privé (immatriculé C-IGKT, numéro de série CH2-1199-1919) s'est détachée de l'avion tandis que celui-ci volait à une altitude de quelque 1000 pieds au-dessus du lac Talon (Ontario), à 14,3 milles marins à l'est de l'aéroport de North Bay (CYYB) (Ontario). L'aéronef a amorcé une descente incontrôlée avant de percuter le relief dans un secteur boisé. Un incendie s'est déclaré après l'impact. Le pilote a été mortellement blessé, et l'aéronef a été détruit.

Dans le cadre de son enquête en cours sur cet accident (A18O0106), le BST a récupéré et a examiné les deux haubans de l'aile droite (avant et arrière) ainsi que leurs supports de fixation respectifs. On a déterminé que le support qui fixait le hauban avant de l'aile droite au fuselage a cédé en vol par l'action de la fatigue. Par suite de cette défaillance, le hauban s'est détaché du fuselage, et l'aile droite s'est séparée de l'aéronef.

Détails de l'examen du support de fixation du hauban avant droit :

  • Ce support avait accumulé 402,2 heures depuis son installation (comprenant le vol à l'étude).
  • L'examen a révélé une fissure de fatigue traversant de part en part la base du support et le trou de boulon, parallèlement aux côtés du support (figure 1).
  • On a déterminé que le point d'origine de la fissure était sur le bord du trou de boulon.
  • La zone de fatigue (figure 2) représente plus de 60 % de la surface de coupe transversale du support. Elle présente, le long de la surface de rupture, des stries qui témoignent des cycles de fatigue.
  • L'observation de la surface de rupture au microscope électronique à balayage a révélé un certain nombre de fissures secondaires et parallèles sous la surface du support (figure 3). Ces fissures ressemblent à de la délamination de matériau, qui est probablement attribuable au procédé de fabrication employé ou, du moins, il y concorde.
  • Le BST n'a pu déterminer pendant combien de temps cette fissure de fatigue était présente; toutefois, l'analyse de ses caractéristiques indique qu'elle existait depuis longtemps.
Figure 1. Support de fixation rompu du hauban de l'aile avant de droite
Support de fixation rompu du hauban de l'aile avant de droite
Figure 2. Zone de fatigue (encerclée par une ligne pointillée rouge) et stries de fatigue
Zone de fatigue (encerclée par une ligne pointillée rouge) et stries de fatigue
Figure 3. Fissures secondaires et parallèles sous la surface du support
Fissures secondaires et parallèles sous la surface du support

Pour déterminer s'il s'agit d'un problème particulier à l'aéronef à l'étude, le BST examine à l'heure actuelle plusieurs supports de fixation des haubans d'autres aéronefs Quad City Challenger II. À ce jour, 22 supports ont été examinés, et 8 d'entre eux présentaient des fissures. Le temps en service de ces 8 supports varie de 4,1 heures à 830 heuresNote de bas de page 1. Les fissures relevées sont de taille et d'origine différentes; certaines sont dues à la fatigue, d'autres à la délamination du matériau.

Les supports de fixation des haubans d'aile dont sont munis les aéronefs ultralégers Quad City Challenger II sont utilisés depuis 35 ans et sont installés sur plus de 4400 aéronefs partout dans le monde, dont 608 au Canada. Il y a eu un cas de défaillance connue d'un support de fixation de hauban d'aile, aux États-Unis, dont la cause possible serait un serrage exagéré; cependant, rien ne laissait croire qu'un serrage exagéré était un facteur causal dans l'événement à l'étude.

Au Canada, les aéronefs ultralégers de type évolué doivent être maintenus conformément aux recommandations de l'avionneur. Selon les documents de maintenance du Quad City Challenger II, l'inspection de 50 heures des supports et de leurs boulons et écrous doit comprendre une vérification du serrage, de la présence de fissures, du jeu et des dispositifs de sécurité; or, ces documents ne recommandent pas de couple de serrage ni de types d'inspections à réaliser pour relever des fissures possibles. Ces documents exigent en outre le remplacement complet des supports après 500 heures de temps de service.

D'après le carnet de route de l'aéronef à l'étude, une inspection de 25 heures avait été faite le 6 mai 2018; toutefois, l'avionneur n'exige pas d'inspection de 25 heures et n'offre aucune liste de vérification propre à une telle inspection. On n'a pu déterminer si cette inspection a été faite avec une liste de vérification d'inspection de 50 heures, ou même si les supports ont été inspectés.

Dans l'accident à l'étude, une fissure de fatigue dans le support de fixation du hauban de l'aile avant droit est passée inaperçue au cours du cycle d'inspection de 50 heures, et a cédé avant sa durée de vie stipulée de 500 heures. L'examen d'autres supports provenant d'autres aéronefs, avec divers temps en service, laisse croire que ce problème n'est probablement pas un cas isolé, propre au support à l'étude. Il est essentiel de relever les fissures qui se développent dans les composants d'une cellule avant qu'elles ne causent une défaillance complète; cela est particulièrement important lorsque la défaillance d'un composant peut entraîner une perte de maîtrise en vol qui ne laisse aucune chance de reprise.

Le BST encourage votre organisme à prendre les mesures nécessaires pour réduire la probabilité qu'une défaillance du support comme relevée dans l'événement à l'étude se reproduise.

Le BST souhaite être tenu informé de toute mesure prise à cet égard.

Original signé par

Natacha Van Themsche
Directrice, Enquêtes – Air

c.c.

  • Quad City Ultralight Aircraft Corporation
  • National Ultralight Inc.
  • Association canadienne des propriétaires et pilotes d’aéronefs
  • Réseau aéronefs amateur Canada
  • Ultralight Pilots Association of Canada
  • Experimental Aircraft Association
  • National Transportation Safety Board
  • Federal Aviation Administration

Renseignements de base

No d'événement

A18O0106

No de communication de sécurité

A18O0106-D1-A1

Personnes-ressources

Jean-Pierre Regnier, Enquêteur principal, Opérations (N et P), siège social, Gatineau, Québec

Date de modification :