Recommendation R04-03

Assessment of the response from Transport Canada to rail safety recommendation R04-03

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Training for emergency responders to rail accidents involving dangerous goods

Background

At 1612 central daylight time on 02 May 2002, Canadian National (CN) train E20251-30, proceeding eastward to Toronto, Ontario, from Edmonton, Alberta, derailed 2 locomotives and 21 freight cars after colliding with a loaded southbound tractor-trailer. The collision occurred at a public crossing near Firdale, Manitoba, at Mile 88.83 of CN's Rivers Subdivision. The derailed equipment included five tank cars carrying dangerous goods. During the derailment, four of the tank cars sustained multiple punctures and released their products. The products ignited and a large fire engulfed the derailed cars. A fibre-optic cable was severed and the Trans-Canada Highway was closed briefly. A total of 156 people were evacuated from the vicinity of the derailment for two days. There were no significant injuries to either the train crew or truck driver.

Railway personnel are not always the first on the scene of a train derailment involving dangerous goods (DGs). Consequently, local emergency responders, including medical, police and fire service personnel, many of them volunteers, play a significant role in these responses across Canada, particularly in rural communities. These emergency responders are expected to initiate the critical steps of assessment and perimeter containment based on their knowledge and expertise. In this role, familiarity with rail equipment and the risks associated with the bulk transportation of DGs is crucial.

Board Recommendation R04-03

In previous TSB accident investigation reports (R99T0256 and R01M0061), the Board raised the concern that emergency response personnel may not be provided with the training to be fully aware of and prepared for the risks associated with DGs being transported by rail through their communities. Emergency first responders continue to place themselves at risk through inappropriate decisions with regard to the rail transportation of DGs. The Board is concerned that the lack of consistent training requirements to maintain emergency responder competencies, specific to rail DG accidents, increases the risk for adverse consequences to occur during a response.

The Board recommended that:

The Department of Transport, in consultation with other federal, provincial, and municipal agencies, implement consistent training requirements that ensure emergency first responders remain competent to respond to rail accidents involving dangerous goods.

Response to R04-03

In its reply, Transport Canada (TC) shared the TSB concern for the safety of emergency responders when they are responding to train derailments involving DGs. However, as the TSB recognized in its final report, and as stated in comments made to a previous TSB report (R01M0061 - Drummond, New Brunswick), the responsibility for training provincial and municipal emergency responders (fire and police personnel) falls under provincial/municipal jurisdiction.

TC has contacted the various levels of government and highlighted this recommendation to them. TC has also recently distributed a BLEVE (Boiling Liquid Expanding Vapour Explosions) video to all Canadian fire departments and is preparing a new brochure for distribution to emergency responders.

Board Assessment of Response to R04-03

TC has taken action to contact other levels of government that have responsibility for training first responders, with what appears to be positive results. Additionally, the BLEVE video distribution should have a positive effect on first responders. Finally, TC's new brochure will also add to the awareness by the police, firefighters and other first responders on how to approach the scene of an accident involving DGs. It is worth noting that TC does not get involved in training, as this is purely a provincial responsibility, and is not monitoring emergency responder training. However, TC, through the Canadian Transport Emergency Centre (CANUTEC), does participate annually in hundreds of DG release simulations. It also mails its quarterly Transportation of Dangerous Goods newsletter to the 4012 fire departments in Canada.

TC has agreed with the concern of the recommendation and has notified the provinces. TC is also preparing another brochure for first responders. TC's response is positive, and TC has progressed the safety issue to the responsible change agents.

TC's response to recommendation R04-03 is assessed as Fully Satisfactory.

Next TSB Action

This file is assigned Closed status.

Recommandation R04-03

Évaluation de la réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation sur la sécurité ferroviaire R04-03

Formation des intervenants d'urgence aux accidents ferroviaires mettant en cause des marchandises dangereuses

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Introduction

Le 2 mai 2002, à 16 h 12, heure avancée du Centre, 2 locomotives et 21 wagons de marchandises du train E20251-30 du Canadien National (CN) qui roulait vers l'est en direction de Toronto (Ontario) en provenance d'Edmonton (Alberta) ont déraillé après être entrés en collision avec un camion à semi-remorque chargé qui roulait en direction sud. La collision s'est produite à un passage à niveau public près de Firdale> (Manitoba), au point milliaire 88,83 de la subdivision Rivers du CN. Il y avait cinq wagons-citernes transportant des marchandises dangereuses parmi les wagons qui ont déraillé. Pendant le déraillement, quatre des wagons-citernes ont été percés à plusieurs endroits et ont laissé échapper leur contenu. Les produits se sont enflammés et un gigantesque incendie a ravagé les wagons déraillés. Un câble à fibre optique a été sectionné et la route trans-canadienne a été brièvement fermée. En tout, 156 résidants des environs ont dû être évacués pendant deux jours. Ni les membres de l'équipe de train ni le conducteur du camion n'ont été grièvement blessés.

Ce ne sont pas toujours les employés des compagnies ferroviaires qui arrivent les premiers sur les lieux d'un déraillement mettant en cause des marchandises dangereuses. Par conséquent, les intervenants d'urgence locaux, à savoir le personnel des services médicaux, de police et de lutte contre l'incendie, dont bon nombre sont des bénévoles, jouent un rôle important lors de telles interventions au Canada, particulièrement dans les collectivités rurales. Les intervenants d'urgence doivent prendre l'initiative d'évaluer la situation et d'établir un périmètre de sécurité, qui sont des étapes critiques de l'intervention, en se fiant à leurs connaissances et à leur expertise. À ce titre, il est crucial de bien connaître le matériel ferroviaire et les risques associés au transport en vrac de marchandises dangereuses.

Recommandation R04-03

Dans d'autres rapports d'enquête sur des accidents (R99T0256 et R01M0061), le Bureau s'est dit préoccupé par le fait que le personnel d'intervention d'urgence peut ne pas avoir la formation nécessaire pour bien connaître les risques associés aux marchandises dangereuses qui transigent par chemin de fer dans leur collectivité et s'y préparer adéquatement. Les premiers intervenants d'urgence continuent à s'exposer au danger en prenant de mauvaises décisions relativement au transport par chemin de fer de marchandises dangereuses. Le Bureau est préoccupé par le fait que le manque d'uniformité dans les critères de formation visant à maintenir le niveau de compétence des intervenants d'urgence, plus particulièrement en cas d'accident ferroviaire mettant en cause des marchandises dangereuses, augmente le risque que des conséquences néfastes ne se produisent au cours d'une intervention.

Le Bureau a recommandé que :

Le ministère des Transports, en collaboration avec d'autres organismes fédéraux, provinciaux et municipaux, mette en oeuvre des critères de formation uniformes qui pourront garantir que les premiers intervenants d'urgence continuent d'avoir les compétences nécessaires pour intervenir en cas d'accidents ferroviaires mettant en cause des marchandises dangereuses.

Recommandation R04-03 du BST

Réponse de Transports Canada

Dans sa réponse, Transports Canada a dit qu'il partageait la préoccupation du BST relativement à la sécurité des intervenants d'urgence en cas de déraillement mettant en cause des marchandises dangereuses. Toutefois, comme le BST le reconnaît dans son rapport final, et tel qu'indiqué dans certains commentaires faisant suite à un précédent rapport du BST (R01M0061 - Drummond, au Nouveau-Brunswick), la responsabilité de la formation des intervenants d'urgence provinciaux et municipaux (personnel de lutte contre l'incendie et de police) est de juridiction provinciale ou municipale.

Transports Canada a communiqué avec les divers niveaux de gouvernement et leur a souligné la recommandation. Il a aussi distribué récemment une bande vidéo sur les explosions dues à l'expansion des vapeurs d'un liquide en ébullition (BLEVE) à tous les services des incendies du Canada et prépare un nouveau dépliant à l'intention des intervenants d'urgence.

Évaluation du Bureau

Transports Canada a pris des mesures pour communiquer avec les autres niveaux de gouvernement qui sont responsables de la formation des premiers intervenants. Ces mesures semblent avoir donné de bons résultats. En outre, la distribution de la bande vidéo sur les BLEVE devrait avoir un effet positif pour les premiers intervenants. Finalement, le nouveau dépliant de Transports Canada permettra de sensibiliser davantage les services de police, de lutte contre l'incendie et les autres premiers intervenants sur la façon de s'approcher des lieux d'un accident mettant en cause des marchandises dangereuses. Il est important de souligner que Transports Canada ne participe pas à la formation, puisqu'il s'agit d'une responsabilité provinciale, et ne surveille pas la formation des intervenants d'urgence. Par contre, Transports Canada, par l'entremise du Centre canadien d'urgence transport (CANUTEC), participe chaque année à des centaines de simulations de déversement de marchandises dangereuses. Il envoie également son bulletin de nouvelles trimestriel sur le transport de marchandises dangereuses aux 4012 services des incendies du Canada.

Transports Canada est d'accord avec la préoccupation de la recommandation et a avisé les provinces. Il est aussi en train de préparer un autre dépliant à l'intention des premiers intervenants. La réponse de Transports Canada est positive et Transports Canada a fait part de la question liée à la sécurité aux agents de changement responsables.

Le Bureau estime qu'une attention entièrement satisfaisante a été accordée à la lacune par Transports Canada par suite de la recommandation R04-03.

Suivi exercé par le BST

Le présent dossier est classé fermé.