Recommendation R04-02

Reassessment of the responses from Transport Canada to Rail Safety Recommendation R04-02 – R02W0063

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Educational and training material for drivers

Background

At 1612 central daylight time on 02 May 2002, Canadian National (CN) train E20251B30, proceeding eastward to Toronto, Ontario, from Edmonton, Alberta, derailed two locomotives and 21 freight cars after colliding with a loaded southbound tractor-trailer<. The collision occurred at a public crossing near Firdale, Manitoba, at Mile 88.83 of CN's Rivers Subdivision. The derailed equipment included five tank cars carrying dangerous goods. During the derailment, four of the tank cars sustained multiple punctures and released their products. The products ignited and a large fire engulfed the derailed cars. A fibre-optic cable was severed and the Trans-Canada Highway was closed briefly. A total of 156 people were evacuated from the vicinity of the derailment for two days. There were no significant injuries to either the train crew or truck driver.

Increased awareness of rail crossing safety for professional drivers is a crucial step in minimizing the number of these crossing accidents involving heavy trucks. The TSB is of the opinion that an effort to increase truck driver awareness of the hazards involved at railway crossings could come from Direction 2006. This program, sponsored by Transport Canada (TC) and the Railway Association of Canada, is described as "... a partnership between all levels of government, railway companies, public safety organizations, police, unions and community groups whose objective is to reduce grade crossing collisions and trespassing incidents by 50 per cent by the year 2006." As such, Direction 2006 is in an excellent position to involve the regulator, the provinces, and the trucking industry in an educational initiative to reduce accidents between trucks and trains.

Board Recommendation R04-02 (08 October 2004)

While Operation Lifesaver, a crossing awareness initiative by the railways and the regulator, has literature pertaining to the issue, it is not clear that the information is getting widespread distribution to professional drivers. Therefore, the Board recommended that:

The Department of Transport, in consultation with the provinces and the trucking industry, review and update, as necessary, educational and training material for drivers with respect to the risks associated with a heavy vehicle negotiating a public passive railway crossing.

R04-02

Response to R04-02 (11 January 2005)

A response from the Minister advised that Transport Canada (TC) agreed with the Board that, through awareness and education, risks associated with heavy vehicles negotiating public passive railway crossings may be mitigated.

Further to the TSB's recommendation, TC officials attended a meeting of the Canadian Council of Motor Transport Administrators Standing Committee on Drivers and Vehicles on 04 November, 2004 and raised the need to review and update, as necessary, education and training material for truck drivers with respect to the risks associated with heavy vehicles negotiating public passive railway crossings. The Committee agreed to consider this recommendation.

As part of Direction 2006, over 50 different promotional tools have been developed in close association with provincial safety councils and the trucking industry. These materials include professional driver-focused material for truckers, school bus drivers and emergency responders, and also materials targeting those using farm crossings.

Direction 2006 is making good progress. To this point, since 1996, grade crossing collisions and trespassing incidents have been reduced by 70 per cent and 98 per cent of the target respectively, in spite of dramatic increases in road use and urban development around railway lines.

Board Assessment of Response to R04-02 (May 2005)

Direction 2006 (TC) and Operation Lifesaver (Railway Association of Canada) have produced and distributed safety material including three videos, instructors guides and safety quizzes concerning Highway-Railway Crossing Awareness Training for Truck Drivers, School Bus Drivers and Emergency Responders.

Transport Canada has raised the need for improved driver training with the Canadian Council of Motor Transport Administrators (CCMTA) Standing Committee on Drivers and Vehicles, but the issue is only under consideration. While Direction 2006 is a sound initiative, accidents involving heavy trucks do not appear to be diminishing significantly. For instance, in 2004, the TBS database indicates 17 accidents involving vehicles described as either heavy trucks, dump trucks, tractor-trailers, semi-trailers or logging trucks, compared with 21 in 1996. To date, (18 April 2005), there have been eight such occurrences. As far as the overall Direction 2006 statistics supplied by TC are concerned, they do not match TSB records.

TC agrees with the recommendation and has sponsored actions that should result in improvements. While TC's response is positive, the reduction of heavy vehicle accidents has not advanced sufficiently to reduce the risks to transportation safety. Therefore, the response to R04-02 is assessed as being Satisfactory Intent.

Board Reassessment of Response to R04-02 (December 2005)

No further information has been received, so the Board maintains the assessment of response to this recommendation as Satisfactory Intent.

Additional Response to R04-02 (July 2006)

In TC's update in July 2006, TC advises that it has no update at this time.

Board Reassessment of Response to R04-02 (September 2006)

No further information has been received, so the Board maintains the assessment of response to this recommendation as Satisfactory Intent.

Additional Response to R04-02 (February 2008)

TC provided an additional response as follows. With the assistance of Operation Lifesaver, Transport Canada will continue to address truck safety at grade crossings with the trucking industry. TC also intends to communicate with all provincial ministries of transportation with respect to safety at grade crossings for trucks. These discussions will focus on trucks that carry high, heavy or wide loads (dimensional). Enforcement activities have already been taken in this regard by Railway Safety inspectors.

Under the umbrella of Direction 2006, the program took a number of steps to address the TSB recommendation and also to address the increasing level of non-compliance to warning devices by truck drivers.

To start, Direction 2006 developed an educational and information kit focused on professional truck drivers. The kit consisted of a video and CD providing information on potential dangers at grade crossings when truck drivers do not obey warning signs. Also included in the kit was an instructor's manual that provided necessary information for truck driver training schools on rail safety information. A test to be handed out to truck driver students has also been included in the kit. The kit also provided information for licensed drivers who are required either by provincial law or trucking companies to take refresher training.

An information brochure was developed for mass distribution at truck stops and gas stations along Canada's highways. The brochure was also sent to trucking companies, law enforcement agencies and various trucking associations for distribution to their members.

All of the above material was developed in partnership with provincial governments, railway authorities, law enforcement, the Canadian trucking industry and TC.

To ensure adequate distribution, Direction 2006 issued two contracts for delivery of the educational material. The first was to a consultant with experience in the trucking industry to introduce the material to trucking companies and coordinate educational efforts across Canada. A monthly conference call to discuss common safety concerns was established with the following participants:

  • the trucking industry,
  • provincial authorities,
  • the rail industry,
  • Transport Canada,
  • Operation Lifesaver,
  • provincial safety councils and leagues,
  • the Canada Safety Council, and
  • the Co-Op which represented private truck drivers.

Information sessions were held at many trucking companies across Canada to highlight truck/train safety matters. There were also efforts in Quebec, Alberta and Manitoba through various associations. Direction 2006 issued a contract for the distribution of truck/train safety-related information along Highway 401 in Ontario. Similar information was also distributed in Quebec, Alberta and Manitoba. Direction 2006 also developed a public service announcement for both radio and TV broadcast.

Under Direction 2006, in partnership with the Ministère des transports du Québec, l'École polytechnique de Montréal and the Transport Canada Development Centre, a study was done on truck stopping distances and start up times to establish whether truck drivers had adequate time to come to a complete stop when a train approaches both passively protected and automatically protected crossings.

Many of these initiatives were incomplete when the Direction 2006 program ended. Subsequent to the expiration of Direction 2006, TC's Railway Safety Directorate formed the "Community Outreach and Partnership Program." The newly created program plans to submit a proposal to re-introduce funding to continue blitzes along major travelled highways in Canada and to work with provincial authorities to continue the distribution of educational material aimed at improving safe truck operation at crossings.

Board Reassessment of Response to R04-02 (March 2008)

Educational and training material has been reviewed, updated, and distributed to a wide audience in the trucking industry. However, TSB statistics indicate no reduction in crossing accidents involving tractor-trailers. The last seven years' accident rate shows that there continue to be just over 28 tractor trailer crossing accidents per year. This lack of change in accidents indicates that, despite all the efforts of TC, Operation Lifesaver and the Direction 2006 program, the target market is not being reached. Additionally, not all provincial literature for truck drivers include adequate information on the potential dangers faced by heavy trucks passing over railway crossing.

In consideration of the significant safety action taken, but the lack of reduction in the accident rate, the Board reassesses the response to this recommendation as Satisfactory in Part.

Additional Information on Safety Action (June 2010)

A review of TSB statistics reveals that crossing accidents involving tractor-trailers has declined by 32.3 per cent during 2009 compared to the five-year average during 2004 to 2008. During the same period, crossing accidents in general declined by 21.3 per cent. The total train-miles declined 14.6 per cent during this time period.

Board Reassessment of Response to R04-02 (16 September 2010)

Regardless of the accident rate, educational and training materials for drivers with respect to the risks associated with a heavy vehicle negotiating a public, passive railway crossings have been updated. The Board reassesses the response to this recommendation as Fully Satisfactory.

Next TSB Action

This file is assigned Closed status.

Recommandation R04-02

Réévaluation des réponses de Transports Canada à la recommandation en matière de sécurité ferroviaire R04-02 - R02W0063

Matériel didactique destiné aux conducteurs

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Introduction

Le 2 mai 2002 à 16 h 12, heure avancée du Centre, 2 locomotives et 21 wagons de marchandises du train E20251-30 du Canadien National (CN) qui roulait vers l'est en direction de Toronto (Ontario) en provenance d'Edmonton (Alberta) ont déraillé après être entrés en collision avec un camion à semi-remorque chargé qui roulait en direction sud. La collision s'est produite à un passage à niveau public près de Firdale (Manitoba), au point milliaire 88,83 de la subdivision Rivers du CN. Il y avait cinq wagons-citernes transportant des marchandises dangereuses parmi les wagons qui ont déraillé. Pendant le déraillement, quatre des wagons-citernes ont été percés à plusieurs endroits et ont laissé échapper leur contenu. Ces produits se sont enflammés et un gigantesque incendie a ravagé les wagons déraillés. Un câble à fibre optique a été sectionné et la route trans-canadienne a été brièvement fermée. En tout, 156 résidants des environs ont dû être évacués pendant deux jours. Ni les membres de l'équipe de train ni le conducteur du camion n'ont été grièvement blessés.

Un accroissement de la sensibilisation des conducteurs professionnels à la sécurité des passages à niveau est une étape cruciale dans la diminution du nombre d'accidents aux passages à niveau mettant en cause des camions lourds. Le BST est d'avis qu'un effort visant à accroître la sensibilisation des conducteurs de camions aux dangers liés aux passages à niveau pourrait être déployé dans le cadre du programme Direction 2006. Cette initiative, parrainée par Transports Canada et l'Association des chemins de fer du Canada, est « ... le fruit d'un partenariat entre tous les niveaux d'administration publique, les compagnies de chemins de fer, les organismes œuvrant  dans le domaine de la sécurité, les corps de police, les syndicats et les groupes sociaux. Elle a pour but de diminuer de 50 pour cent d'ici l'an 2006 le nombre de collisions aux passages à niveau et d'intrusions sur les emprises ». À cet égard, Direction 2006 est en excellente position pour demander à l'organisme de réglementation, aux provinces et à l'industrie du camionnage de participer à une initiative éducative visant à réduire le nombre d'accidents mettant en cause les camions et les trains.

Recommandation R04-02 (8 octobre 2004)

Le programme Opération Gareautrain, une initiative de sensibilisation aux dangers des passages à niveau parrainée par les compagnies ferroviaires et l'organisme de réglementation, a publié quant à lui divers documents sur la question, mais il n'est pas certain que les renseignements qu'ils contiennent bénéficient d'une très large diffusion auprès des conducteurs professionnels. Par conséquent, le Bureau a recommandé que :

Le ministère des Transports, en collaboration avec les provinces et l'industrie du camionnage, révise et mette à jour, le cas échéant, le matériel d'enseignement et de formation destiné aux conducteurs relativement aux risques associés au franchissement d'un passage à niveau public sans dispositifs de signalisation automatiques par un véhicule lourd.

Recommandation R04-02 du BST

Réponse de Transports Canada (11 janvier 2005)

Le ministre a répondu que Transports Canada est d'accord avec le Bureau à l'effet que c'est par la sensibilisation et l'éducation qu'il est possible de réduire les risques liés au franchissement par les camions lourds des passages à niveau sans dispositifs de signalisation automatiques.

À la suite de la recommandation du BST, les fonctionnaires de Transports Canada ont assisté le 4 novembre 2004 à une réunion du Comité permanent des administrateurs de conducteurs et véhicules du Conseil canadien des administrateurs en transport motorisé (CCATM), et ont fait valoir le besoin de revoir et de modifier, s'il y a lieu, le matériel didactique destiné aux conducteurs relativement aux risques associés aux camions lourds franchissant des passages à niveau sans dispositifs de signalisation automatiques. Le comité a accepté d'étudier cette recommandation.

Dans le cadre de Direction 2006, plus de 50 outils promotionnels différents ont été mis au point, en étroite collaboration avec les conseils de sécurité provinciaux et l'industrie du transport routier. Ces outils comprennent des documents destinés aux conducteurs professionnels comme les camionneurs, les conducteurs d'autobus scolaires et les intervenants d'urgence, ainsi que des documents destinés à ceux qui franchissent des passages à niveau de ferme.

Direction 2006 progresse bien. Jusqu'ici, depuis 1996, le nombre de collisions aux passages à niveau et d'intrusions sur les emprises a baissé de 70 % et de 98 % respectivement par rapport à l'objectif, en dépit de fortes augmentations de l'utilisation du réseau routier et du développement urbain aux alentours des lignes de chemin de fer.

Évaluation du Bureau (mai 2005)

Direction 2006 (Transports Canada) et Opération Gareautrain (Association des chemins de fer du Canada) ont préparé et distribué du matériel relatif à la sécurité dont trois bandes vidéos, des guides destinés aux instructeurs et des jeux questionnaires sur la sécurité, dans un but de sensibilisation aux risques inhérents aux passages à niveau pour les conducteurs de camions, les conducteurs d'autobus scolaires et les intervenants d'urgence.

Transports Canada a souligné l'importance d'une meilleure formation des conducteurs auprès du Comité permanent des administrateurs de conducteurs et véhicules du CCATM, sans toutefois d'autre résultat qu'une prise en considération de la question. Direction 2006 est une excellente initiative, mais il ne semble pas y avoir de baisse significative du nombre d'accidents mettant en cause des camions lourds. Par exemple en 2004, la base de données du BST sur les événements ferroviaires indique que 17 accidents mettant en cause des camions lourds, des camions à benne, des camions à semi-remorque, des semi-remorques ou des grumiers sont survenus, comparativement à 21 en 1996. Jusqu'à maintenant (18 avril 2005), il y a eu 8 événements de ce genre en 2005. Les statistiques globales de Direction 2006 fournies par Transports Canada ne concordent pas avec les dossiers du BST.

Transports Canada est d'accord avec la recommandation et a parrainé des mesures qui devraient donner lieu à des améliorations. La réponse de Transports Canada est positive, mais la réduction du nombre d'accidents mettant en cause des véhicules lourds n'est pas assez grande pour réduire les risques liés à la sécurité des transports. En conséquence, on estime que la réponse de Transports Canada dénote une intention satisfaisante.

Réévaluation du Bureau (décembre 2005)

Aucune information supplémentaire n'ayant été reçue, on estime toujours que la réponse dénote une intention satisfaisante.

Autre réponse de Transports Canada (juillet 2006)

Transports Canada a indiqué en juillet 2006 ne pas avoir d'information supplémentaire à communiquer à ce moment.

Réévaluation du Bureau (septembre 2006)

Aucune information supplémentaire n'ayant été reçue, on estime toujours que la réponse dénote une intention satisfaisante.

Autre réponse de Transports Canada (février 2008)

Transports Canada a fourni une réponse supplémentaire comme suit. Avec l'aide du programme Opération Gareautrain, Transports Canada continuera de traiter de la sécurité des camions aux passages à niveau avec l'industrie du camionnage. Le ministère a également l'intention de communiquer avec tous les ministères des transports provinciaux au sujet de la sécurité des camions aux passages à niveaux. Ces discussions se concentreront sur les camions qui transportent des charges lourdes, larges et hautes (surdimensionnés). L'exécution de la loi a déjà été renforcée dans ce domaine par les inspecteurs de la Sécurité ferroviaire.

Dans le cadre du programme Direction 2006, le programme a déjà entamé un bon nombre d'étapes pour traiter de la recommandation du BST, ainsi que le haut niveau de cas de non-conformité aux dispositifs d'avertissement par les camionneurs.

Tout d'abord, le programme Direction 2006 a mis sur pied une trousse éducative et informative qui se focalise sur les camionneurs professionnels. La trousse est composée d'une bande vidéo ainsi que d'un CD qui donnent de l'information sur les dangers qui peuvent survenir aux passages à niveau lorsque les conducteurs n'obéissent pas aux signaux d'avertissement. Également dans la trousse, un manuel qui fournit l'information nécessaire sur la sécurité ferroviaire pour les écoles de formation pour camionneurs. Un examen pour les camionneurs étudiants se retrouve aussi dans la trousse. De l'information pour les détenteurs de permis de camionnage qui doivent prendre le programme de mise à jour y est également disponible.

Un dépliant d'information a été rédigé et distribué intensivement dans les stations d'essence et les relais routier le long des autoroutes du Canada. Le dépliant a également été envoyé aux compagnies de camionnage, aux organismes d'application de la loi, ainsi qu'à diverses associations de camionnage pour distribution à leurs membres.

Le matériel mentionné plus haut à été créé en collaboration avec les gouvernements provinciaux, les autorités ferroviaires, les organismes d'application de la loi, l'industrie du camionnage du Canada ainsi que Transports Canada.

Pour assurer une distribution satisfaisante, deux contrats de livraison du matériel didactique ont été émis par Direction 2006. Le premier contrat était avec un consultant ayant de l'expérience dans l'industrie du camionnage, pour qu'il présente le matériel aux compagnies de camionnage et pour coordonner les efforts didactiques dans tout le pays. Les participants suivants ont fait part de leurs préoccupations de sécurité lors d'une conférence téléphonique mensuelle :

  • l'industrie du camionnage,
  • les autorités provinciales,
  • l'industrie ferroviaire,
  • Transports Canada,
  • Opération Gareautrain,
  • les conseils et ligues de sécurité des provinces,
  • le Conseil canadien de la sécurité,
  • la coopérative qui représente les camionneurs privés.

Un grand nombre de compagnies de camionnage au pays ont tenu des séances d'information afin de souligner les questions de sécurité trains/camions. Des efforts ont également été déployés au Québec, en Alberta ainsi qu'au Manitoba par l'entremise de plusieurs associations. Un contrat de livraison a été émis par Direction 2006 pour la livraison de matériel informatif portant sur la sécurité des camions/trains le long de l'autoroute 401 en Ontario. De l'information similaire a également été distribuée au Québec, en Alberta et au Manitoba. De plus, un service de message d'intérêt public pour les chaînes de radio et de télévision a été développé par Direction 2006.

Dans le cadre de Direction 2006, en partenariat avec le ministère des Transports du Québec, l'École polytechnique de Montréal et le centre de développement de Transports Canada, une étude portant sur les distances d'arrêt des camions, ainsi que sur les temps de démarrage a été réalisée pour déterminer si les camionneurs disposaient d'assez de temps pour faire un arrêt complet lorsqu'un train approche un passage à niveau avec et sans dispositifs de signalisation automatique.

Un grand nombre de ces initiatives n'étaient pas terminées lorsque le programme Direction 2006 s'est terminé. Par suite de l'expiration de Direction 2006, la Direction générale de la sécurité ferroviaire de Transports Canada a formé « la Direction des organismes de bienfaisance communautaire ». Le nouveau programme prévoit soumettre la proposition de réintroduire des fonds pour poursuivre la vaste campagne le long des autoroutes les plus achalandées au Canada, et de travailler avec les autorités provinciales pour continuer la livraison du matériel didactique ayant pour but l'amélioration de la sécurité des camions aux passages à niveau.

Réévaluation du Bureau (mars 2008)

Le matériel de formation et didactique a été révisé, mis à jour et distribué à un grand public dans l'industrie du camionnage. Toutefois, les statistiques du BST ne dénotent aucune diminution des accidents de tracteurs à semi-remorque aux passages à niveau. Au cours des sept dernières années, les taux indiquent qu'il continue de se produire un peu plus de 28 accidents de tracteurs à semi-remorque aux passages à niveau. Ces données démontrent que, malgré tous les efforts de Transports Canada, d'Opération Gareautrain et du programme Direction 2006, le groupe visé n'a pas été rejoint. De plus, ce ne sont pas tous les documents provinciaux pour les camionneurs qui renferment l'information adéquate sur les dangers potentiels auxquels doivent faire face les camions lourds qui traversent les passages à niveau.

En tenant compte des mesures de sécurité prises, mais de l'absence de réduction du taux d'accidents, le Bureau estime maintenant qu'une attention en partie satisfaisante a été accordée à la lacune.

Information supplémentaire sur les mesures de sécurité (juin 2010)

Un examen des données du BST a démontré que les accidents de tracteurs à semi-remorque aux passages à niveau ont diminué de 32,3 % au cours de l'année 2009, comparativement à la moyenne quinquennal de 2004 à 2008. Au cours de cette même période, les accidents aux passages à niveaux en général ont diminué de 21,3 %. Le nombre total de trains-milles a également diminué de 14,6 % durant cette période.

Réévaluation du Bureau (16 septembre 2010)

Sans prendre en compte le taux d'accidents, le matériel de formation et d'information pour les camionneurs qui traite des risques associés au passage de véhicules lourds sur des passages à niveau publics, avec et sans dispositifs de signalisation automatique, a été mis à jour. Le Bureau estime maintenant qu'une attention entièrement satisfaisante a été accordée à la lacune.

Suivi exercé par le BST

Le présent dossier est classé fermé.