Recommendation R03-05

Reassessment of the response to rail safety recommendation R03-05

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Transport Canada's monitoring program

Background

On 14 May 2003, a Canadian National (CN) train derailed on a timber bridge at Mile 79 on the Fraser Subdivision near McBride, British Columbia The bridge, two locomotives, and five cars were destroyed by fire The two crew members in the lead locomotive were fatally injured The investigation uncovered deficiencies with the potential to degrade rail safety A number of bridge components were identified as defective and were not repaired by CN because of shortcomings in inspection and maintenance practices.

TC's inspectors determine compliance with guidelines, rules, and regulations by conducting cursory inspections to identify visible defects However, TC's visual inspections were not referenced to railway inspection records for bridges Moreover, there was no examination of railway inspection procedures and maintenance practices for timber bridges.

TC inspected infrastructure on the Fraser Subdivision in 2000 and 2002 and made cursory inspections of timber bridges However, the shortcomings documented by the railway, such as those contained in the 1999 detailed inspection, were not considered In addition, there was no comparison of working procedures and practices with railway inspection and maintenance requirements to ensure that the SPCs were being met.

Board Recommendation R03-05 (November 2003)

When there are no secondary defences to ensure the integrity of railway processes, unsafe conditions remain undetected and uncorrected The Board noted that, because all available information was not being utilized, there were deficiencies in TC's compliance review program.

The Board recommended that:

The Department of Transport incorporate in its compliance reviews a comparison of railway working procedures and practices with railway inspection and maintenance records.
R03-05

Response to R03-05 (16 March 2004)

A response from the Minister advised that TC was revising its traditional inspection and monitoring programs to integrate monitoring and inspection activities of railway infrastructure, equipment and operations with a "Safety Management System" (SMS) approach. This approach is encompassed in the Safety Management System Regulations for railway companies, which had come into effect in March 2001.

The SMS approach requires an examination by TC of each railway company’s standards and practices with respect to safety management of its infrastructure, as well as auditing of company inspection and maintenance records.

By incorporating compliance reviews with the comparison of working procedures and practices and by examining railway records, TC will have a better opportunity of discovering gaps in railway management of bridge condition assessment and repair. TC is aggressively developing an audit program that focuses on all railway structures. The track program will also continue to be carried out and any concerns will be flagged for TC follow-up audit activities.

Board Assessment of Response to R03-05 (April 2004)

The response from TC indicates that the SMS audit program is being aggressively developed and it will give TC a better opportunity of discovering gaps in the railway company’s standards and practices, with respect to safety management of its bridge structures. TC states that the SMS audit approach will provide a comparison of the company’s procedures with practices relating to bridge infrastructure.

It is very likely that the SMS audit approach will successfully incorporate this comparison in TC's compliance reviews, however, there are no specified time lines provided in which this audit will take place, therefore, the response to R03-05 is assessed as having Satisfactory Intent.

Board Reassessment of Response to R03-05 (December 2005)

No further information has been received from TC, so the Board maintains the assessment of response to this recommendation as Satisfactory Intent.

Additional Response to R03-05 (July 2006)

In TC's update in July 2006, TC advises that the structures component of the Rail Safety Program is completed and being administered using the Safety Management System (SMS) philosophy auditing.

Board Reassessment of Response to R03-05 (September 2006)

As TC's new auditing process incorporates in its compliance reviews a comparison of railway working procedures and practices with railway inspection and maintenance records, the reassesses the response to Recommendation R03-05 as Fully Satisfactory.

Next TSB Action

This file is assigned Closed status.

Recommandation R03-05

RÉÉVALUATION DE LA RÉPONSE À LA RECOMMANDATION EN MATIÈRE DE SÉCURITÉ FERROVIAIRE R03-05

Programme de surveillance de Transports Canada

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Introduction

Le 14 mai 2003, un train du Canadien National (CN) a déraillé sur un pont en bois au point milliaire 7,9 de la subdivision Fraser, près de McBride (Colombie-Britannique). Un incendie s'est déclaré et a causé la destruction du pont, des deux locomotives et de cinq wagons. Les deux membres de l'équipe qui se trouvaient dans la locomotive de tête ont été mortellement blessés. L'enquête a révélé des manquements susceptibles de compromettre la sécurité ferroviaire. Divers éléments du pont étaient défectueux et le CN ne les avait pas réparés en raison de lacunes dans ses pratiques d'inspection et d'entretien.

Les inspecteurs de Transports Canada déterminent si les lignes directrices, règles et règlements sont respectés en effectuant des inspections superficielles pour repérer les défauts visibles. Les dossiers des compagnies ferroviaires ne sont toutefois pas consultés lors des inspections visuelles des ponts effectuées par Transports Canada. Par surcroît, on ne fait pas l'examen des méthodes d'inspection et des pratiques d'entretien ferroviaires pour les ponts en bois.

Transports Canada a inspecté l'infrastructure de la subdivision Fraser en 2000 et 2002 et a fait des inspections superficielles des ponts en bois. Cependant, les lacunes notées dans les dossiers par les compagnies ferroviaires, comme celles qui sont contenues dans l'inspection détaillée de 1999, n'ont pas été prises en considération. De plus, aucune comparaison n'a été faite entre les pratiques et procédures de travail et les exigences des compagnies ferroviaires en matière d'inspection et d'entretien pour s'assurer que l'on respectait les circulaires sur les méthodes normalisées (CMN).

Recommandation R03-05 du Bureau (novembre 2003)

Lorsqu'il n'y a pas de défenses secondaires pour assurer l'intégrité du procédé ferroviaire, des conditions dangereuses restent non détectées et non corrigées. Le Bureau s'inquiète que, parce que tous les renseignements disponibles ne sont pas utilisés, il y a des manquements dans le programme d'examen de la conformité de Transports Canada.

Le Bureau recommande que :

Transports Canada incorpore à ses vérifications de la conformité une comparaison des pratiques et procédures de travail des chemins de fer avec les dossiers d'inspection et d'entretien des chemins de fer.

Recommandation R03-05 du BST

Réponse à R03-05 (16 mars 2004)

Le ministre a indiqué que Transports Canada était en train d'examiner ses programmes traditionnels d'inspection et de surveillance pour intégrer les activités de surveillance et d'inspection de l'infrastructure, de l'équipement et de l'exploitation du secteur ferroviaire dans un régime de « système de gestion de la sécurité » (SGS). Ce principe figure dans le Règlement sur le système de gestion de la sécurité ferroviaire pour les compagnies de chemins de fer qui est entré en vigueur en mars 2001.

Le régime des SGS exige que Transports Canada examine les normes et les pratiques de chaque compagnie ferroviaire en ce qui concerne la gestion de la sécurité de son infrastructure, et vérifie les dossiers d'inspection et d'entretien des compagnies ferroviaires.

En incorporant dans ses examens de la conformité une comparaison des pratiques et procédures de travail et en examinant les dossiers des compagnies ferroviaires, Transports Canada aura davantage la possibilité de découvrir des lacunes dans la gestion de l'évaluation de l'état des ponts et de leur réparation. Le ministère s'emploie à élaborer un programme de vérification visant toutes les structures ferroviaires. Le programme des voies se poursuivra, et toute préoccupation sera signalée à Transports Canada qui effectuera des vérifications de suivi.

Évaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à R03-05 (avril 2004)

La réponse de Transports Canada indique que le ministère s'emploie à mettre au point le programme de vérification des SGS, qui l'aidera à repérer les manquements dans les normes et pratiques des compagnies ferroviaires visant la gestion de la sécurité de ses ponts. Le ministère affirme que le régime de vérification des SGS permettra de comparer les modalités prévues par les compagnies ferroviaires et leurs pratiques en ce qui concerne les ponts.

Il est très probable que le régime de vérification des SGS assurera l'intégration de cette comparaison dans les examens de la vérification effectués par Transports Canada. Par contre, il n'y a pas de délai prescrit pour la réalisation de ces vérifications. Par conséquent, la réponse à la recommandation R03-05 est évaluée comme dénotant une intention satisfaisante.

Réévaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à R03-05 (décembre 2005)

Aucune information supplémentaire n'ayant été reçue de Transports Canada, le Bureau continue d'évaluer la réponse à cette recommandation comme dénotant une intention satisfaisante.

Réponse supplémentaire à R03-05 (juillet 2006)

Dans une mise à jour qu'il a communiquée en juillet 2006, Transports Canada indique que le volet structures du Programme de sécurité ferroviaire a été mis en place et est administré dans l'optique de la vérification des SGS.

Réévaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à R03-05 (septembre 2006)

Comme le nouveau processus de vérification de Transports Canada intègre à ses examens de la conformité une comparaison des modalités de travail et des pratiques des compagnies ferroviaires aux dossiers d'inspection et d'entretien, le Bureau réévalue la réponse à la recommandation R03-05 comme étant pleinement satisfaisante.

Suivi exercé par le BST

Ce dossier est un dossier fermé.