Recommendation R02-01

Reassessment of the Response to Rail Safety Recommendation R02-01 – R99T0256

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Background

At 1311 eastern daylight time on 23 September 1999, Canadian National freight train M304-41-21, destined for Toronto, Ontario, derailed 26 cars near the north siding switch at Mowat, near Britt, Ontario. The derailed equipment included 14 residue tank cars loaded with anhydrous ammonia. A loaded Liquefied Petroleum Gas (LPG) car and one anhydrous ammonia car were breached, each releasing product and igniting, resulting in several fires. At 1348, the loaded car of LPG exploded, projecting pieces of its tank and jacket in all directions. Approximately 127 000 pounds of LPG and 158 000 pounds of anhydrous ammonia were released. All the LPG and a large amount of the anhydrous ammonia were consumed by fire. The train crew was not injured; however, an Ontario Provincial Police officer, a local woodcutter, and two firemen suffered minor injuries as a result of contact with ammonia vapours.

The Board concluded its investigation and released report R99T0256 on 25 June 2002.

Board Recommendation R02-01 (25 June 2002)

The safety mark (i.e., green placard) presently required for bulk shipments of anhydrous ammonia can be misinterpreted, thus increasing the risk to the public. The green colour, which is used with products such as compressed air, is frequently interpreted to mean a product with lower risk, whereas the white colour, which was previously used for anhydrous ammonia, is associated with products that pose a higher risk. First responders such as fire-fighters and police in small communities, with little exposure to dangerous goods, may incorrectly make their first estimates of danger based in part on the colour and shape of a placard, instead of relying on the specific characteristics of the product. Therefore, the Board recommends that:

The Department of Transport review the classification and safety marks for anhydrous ammonia to ensure that it is in a class and division consistent with the risks it poses to the public.

R02-01

Response to R02-01 (25 September 2002)

With respect to safety marks, TC stated there are three sources of information which must be visible on the tank car:

  • The words "ANHYDROUS AMMONIA" must appear in letters at least 100 mm high on each side of the tank.
  • The words "Inhalation Hazard" or "Inhalation Hazard/Dangereux a inhaler" must appear in letters at least 100 mm high on each side of the tank.
  • A placard must be visible on both sides and also on both ends to indicate the class assigned to anhydrous ammonia.

TC personnel were not aware of any instances in which the placard was the sole source of information for a rail tank car containing anhydrous ammonia, and they considered the name "ANHYDROUS AMMONIA" appearing on the side of the tank car more useful in identifying the product. Nevertheless TC stated it will be writing to all fire departments in Canada to ensure that their emergency personnel are aware of new provisions in the August 2001 Transportation of Dangerous Goods (TDG) regulations (Clear Language regulations) and will reconfirm that anhydrous ammonia must be treated as toxic, and that, in special circumstances, anhydrous ammonia can burn.

With respect to the classification of anhydrous ammonia, TC agreed that the United Nations (UN) classification of Class 2.3 (8) is an appropriate one. Under the current regulations TC will accepted the UN classification for shipments within Canada. TC did attempt to have a special classification for anhydrous ammonia of Class 2.4 accepted at the UN, and within North America, but was unsuccessful. Subsequently, TC adopted a similar approach to that used in the United States. TC indicated that they will further consider the classification of anhydrous ammonia and will raise the matter at the next meeting of the Federal-Provincial Task Force and the Minister’s Advisory Council on the Transportation of Dangerous Goods.

Board Assessment of Response to 02-01 (27 January 2003).

TC believes that the words "Anhydrous Ammonia" and "Inhalation Hazard" written on the tank car provide sufficient information on the nature of the product. However, the current TDG regulations no longer contain a specific requirement to stencil the words "Anhydrous Ammonia" and "Inhalation Hazard". The requirement for stenciling "Anhydrous Ammonia" is contained in the US Code of Federal Regulations, while "Inhalation Hazard" is mentioned in the CGSB Standard CAN/CGB – 43.147.

The Board does not intend to suggest that a placard is the sole source of information. Our recommendation addressed the issue of a possible misinterpretation by first responders who have had little exposure to dangerous goods, such as firefighters and police in small communities, or the general public. They may incorrectly make their first determination of danger based in part on the colour and shape of a placard, instead of relying on the specific characteristics of the product.  

TC reviewed the classification and safety marks for anhydrous ammonia as recommended. TC acknowledges that the United Nations (UN) classification of Class 2.3(8) (toxic gas) is appropriate for anhydrous ammonia, despite being classified as 2.2 (8) (not-flammable, non-toxic gas). However, no specific action has been taken to reclassify this product. TC indicated that they will further consider the classification of anhydrous ammonia and they raised the matter at a meeting of the Federal-Provincial Task Force and also with the Minister’s Advisory Council on the Transportation of Dangerous Goods. In addition, meetings were planned with fire departments to reconfirm their knowledge of the toxic and flammable characteristics of anhydrous ammonia. However, the ambiguity created by having a product with toxic characteristics being associated with less harmful products still exists. The response to Recommendation R02-01 was assessed as being "Satisfactory in part".

The Board followed up with TC to determine what further action would be implemented.

This file was assigned an "active" status.

Response to R02-01 (11 June 2004)

TC indicated their intension to proceed with an amendment to the TDG Regulations which would reclassify anhydrous ammonia to class 2.3(8). Transport Canada has also consulted the USDOPT on the proposed change in classification and they do not foresee any immediate obstacles in cross border movements.

Board Reassessment of Response to R02-01 (22 December 2005)

Based on TC’s intent to amend the TDG Regulations, the response was reassessed as "Satisfactory Intent".

Next TSB Action

The Board followed up with TC to determine what action will be implemented.

This file was assigned an "active" status.

Response to R02-01 (28 July 2006)

TC forwarded an update which stated that TC is proceeding with an amendment to the TDG Regulations reclassifying anhydrous ammonia to class 2.3(8). The amendment is expected to be published in Part 1 of the Canada Gazette in Summer 2006.

This recommendation remains open for TC.

Board Reassessment of Response to R02-01 (25 October 2006)

With the publication of the amendment, in Part I of the Gazette on 30 September 2006, TC’s response can now be assessed as "Fully Satisfactory".

Response to R02-01 (20 February 2008)

Amendments to the TDG regulations have been finalized and made effective on 20 February 2008, which reclassifies Anhydrous Ammonia as Toxic gas Class 2.3, Subclass 8, Corrosive.

Next TSB Action

The amendments have been finalized and the Board considers that further action is unwarranted and the status of this assessment response is changed to "Inactive"

Recommandation R02-01

Réévaluation de la réponse à la recommandation en matière de sécurité ferroviaire R02-01 - R99T0256

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Introduction

Le 23 septembre 1999, à 13 h 11, heure avancée de l'Est, le train de marchandises no M304-41-21 du Canadien National roulait à destination de Toronto (Ontario) quand 26 wagons ont déraillé près de l'aiguillage de la voie d'évitement nord de Mowat, près de Britt (Ontario). Au nombre des wagons déraillés, il y avait 14 wagons-citernes contenant des résidus d'ammoniac anhydre. Un wagon-citerne chargé de gaz de pétrole liquéfié (GPL) et un wagon-citerne chargé d'ammoniac anhydre ont été perforés et les produits qu'ils renfermaient ont fui et ont pris feu, occasionnant plusieurs foyers d'incendie. À 13 h 48, le wagon chargé de GPL a explosé, projetant des morceaux de sa citerne et de l'enveloppe dans toutes les directions. Environ 127 000 livres de GPL et 158 000 livres d'ammoniac anhydre se sont échappées. La totalité du GPL et une grande quantité d'ammoniac anhydre ont brûlé. Les membres de l'équipe du train n'ont pas été blessés; toutefois, un agent de la Police provinciale de l'Ontario, un bûcheron de l'endroit et deux pompiers ont subi des blessures mineures après avoir été en contact avec des vapeurs d'ammoniac.

Le Bureau a conclu son enquête et a publié le rapport R99T0256 le 25 juin 2002.

Recommandation R02-01 du Bureau (le 25 juin 2002)

L'indication de danger (c'est-à-dire, la plaque-étiquette verte), qui est exigée actuellement pour le transport en vrac d'ammoniac anhydre, peut être mal interprétée, d'où un risque accru pour le public. Souvent, on considère que les plaques-étiquettes vertes, identifiant des produits comme l'air comprimé, identifient un produit qui présente peu de risques, alors que les plaques-étiquettes blanches, qui étaient utilisées précédemment pour identifier l'ammoniac anhydre, sont associées à des produits présentant un risque plus grand. Dans les petites localités, il se peut que des premiers intervenants, comme les pompiers et les policiers, qui ne connaissent guère les marchandises dangereuses, se fient erronément à la couleur ou à la forme d'une plaque-étiquette pour faire une première estimation du danger, alors qu'ils devraient se fonder plutôt sur les caractéristiques du produit. Par conséquent, le Bureau recommande que :

Le ministère des Transports (TC) révise la classification et l'indication de danger de l'ammoniac anhydre pour s'assurer que ce produit figure dans une classe et une division qui vont de pair avec les risques qu'il représente pour le public.

Recommandation R02-01 du BST

Réponse à R02-01 (le 25 septembre 2002)

En ce qui concerne les indications de danger, TC a fait savoir que trois sources de renseignements doivent être visibles sur le wagon-citerne :

  • les mots « AMMONIAC ANHYDRE » doivent figurer en lettres d'au moins 100 mm de hauteur de chaque côté de la citerne.
  • les mots « Inhalation Hazard » ou « Inhalation Hazard/Dangereux à inhaler » doivent figurer en lettres d'au moins 100 mm de hauteur de chaque côté de la citerne.
  • une plaque-étiquette indiquant la classe dont fait partie l'ammoniac anhydre doit être visible de chaque côté et à chaque extrémité du wagon-citerne.

Selon le personnel de TC, il n'existe aucun cas où la plaque-étiquette était la seule source de renseignements sur un wagon-citerne contenant de l'ammoniac anhydre. Le personnel de TC considérait que le nom du produit « AMMONIAC ANHYDRE », lorsqu'il figure sur le côté du wagon-citerne, constitue davantage un moyen d'identification du produit. TC a toutefois fait savoir qu'il ferait parvenir un avis à tous les services d'incendie du Canada pour s'assurer que leur personnel d'urgence prend connaissance des nouvelles dispositions du Règlement sur le transport des marchandises dangereuses (TMD) d'août 2001 (Règlement en langage clair), et pour reconfirmer que l'ammoniac anhydre doit être traité comme un produit toxique et qu'il peut s'enflammer dans certaines circonstances.

En ce qui concerne la classification de l'ammoniac anhydre, TC admet la classification de l'Organisation des Nations Unies (ONU), soit la classe 2.3(8). En vertu de la réglementation en vigueur, TC acceptera la classification de l'ONU pour les expéditions effectuées au Canada. TC a essayé de faire accepter par l'ONU et à l'échelle nord-américaine, une classification spéciale de l'ammoniac anhydre dans la classe 2.4, mais sans succès. Par la suite, TC a adopté une approche semblable à celle utilisée aux États-Unis. Il a indiqué qu'il étudiera davantage la question de la classification de l'ammoniac anhydre, et la soumettra à la prochaine réunion du Groupe de travail fédéral-provincial ainsi qu'au Comité consultatif du ministre sur le transport des matières dangereuses.

Évaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à R02-01 (le 27 janvier 2003)

Selon TC, l'inscription des mots « Ammoniac anhydre » et « Dangereux à inhaler » sur le wagon-citerne donne suffisamment d'information sur la nature du produit. Cependant, le Règlement sur le TMD actuellement en vigueur n'exige plus expressément cette inscription. Le Code of Federal Regulations des États-Unis exige l'inscription des mots « Ammoniac anhydre », et la norme CAN/ONGC 43.147 de l'Office des normes générales du Canada mentionne l'expression « Dangereux à inhaler ».

Le Bureau n'entend pas soutenir qu'une plaque-étiquette doive être la seule source d'information. Sa recommandation vise le risque de mauvaise interprétation par les intervenants de première ligne qui ne connaissent guère les marchandises dangereuses, comme des pompiers et des policiers de petites localités, ou par les membres du public. Ceux‑ci peuvent initialement évaluer le danger en partie d'après la couleur et la forme d'une plaque-étiquette et non d'après les caractéristiques propres au produit.

Conformément à la recommandation, TC a examiné la classification de l'ammoniac anhydre et les indications de danger visant ce produit. Il admet que la classe 2.3(8) (gaz toxique) de l'ONU convient pour l'ammoniac anhydre, même s'il est classé sous 2.2(8) (gaz ininflammable, non toxique). Cependant, aucune mesure précise n'a été prise en vue de modifier la classification de ce produit. TC a indiqué qu'il étudiera davantage la classification de l'ammoniac anhydre et a soulevé la question à une réunion du Groupe de travail fédéral-provincial ainsi qu'auprès du Comité consultatif du ministre sur le transport des matières dangereuses. De plus, des rencontres ont été prévues avec des services d'incendie pour reconfirmer qu'ils connaissent la toxicité et l'inflammabilité de l'ammoniac anhydre. Cependant, le fait qu'un produit ayant des caractéristiques toxiques ait été assimilé à des produits moins nuisibles a créé une ambiguïté qui persiste. La réponse à la recommandation R02-01 a été évaluée comme étant « en partie satisfaisante ».

Suivi exercé par le BST (le 27 janvier 2003)

Le Bureau a fait un suivi auprès de TC pour déterminer quelles mesures supplémentaires seront prises.
Ce dossier est un dossier « actif ».

Réponse à R02-01 (le 11 juin 2004)

TC a indiqué son intention de modifier le Règlement sur le TMD de façon à reclasser l'ammoniac anhydre dans la classe 2.3(8). TC a aussi consulté le département des Transports des États-Unis au sujet du changement de classification proposé, et il n'entrevoit aucun obstacle immédiat aux transports transfrontaliers.

Réévaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à R02-01 (le 22 décembre 2005)

Vu l'intention de TC de modifier le Règlement sur le TMD, la réponse a été réévaluée comme dénotant une « intention satisfaisante ».

Suivi exercé par le BST (le 22 décembre 2005)

Le Bureau a fait un suivi auprès de TC pour déterminer quelles mesures seront prises.
Ce dossier est un dossier « actif ».

Réponse à R02-01 (le 28 juillet 2006)

TC a transmis un complément d'information indiquant qu'il est en voie de modifier le Règlement sur le TMD de façon à reclasser l'ammoniac anhydre sous 2.3(8). La modification devrait être publiée dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada à l'été 2006.

TC considère que le dossier de cette recommandation reste en instance.

Réévaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à R02-01 (le 25 octobre 2006)

Puisque la modification a été publiée dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada, le 30 septembre 2006, on peut maintenant considérer que la réponse de TC est « entièrement satisfaisante ».

Réponse à R02-01 (le 20 février 2008)

On a mis la dernière main à la modification du Règlement sur le TMD, qui est entrée en vigueur le 20 février 2008, de sorte que l'ammoniac anhydre est reclassé sous 2.3, gaz toxique, sous-classe 8, corrosif.

Suivi exercé par le BST

Le processus de modification étant terminé, le Bureau considère qu'il n'y a pas lieu de faire d'autres démarches et que le dossier est maintenant « inactif ».