Recommendation R01-07

Reassessment of the response to rail safety recommendation R01-07

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Private and farm crossings on the Kignston Subdivision

Background

On 23 November 1999, at approximately 1845 eastern standard time (EST), Canadian National (CN) freight train M-321-21-22, travelling westward on the north main track, struck the trailer portion of an abandoned highway tractor-trailer at a farm crossing at Mile 292.59 of CN's Kingston Subdivision, near Bowmanville, Ontario. Both the tractor and the trailer were dragged westward for approximately 2000 feet. Approximately 800 feet west of the crossing, metal parts from the trailer portion became entangled under the wheels of the lead locomotive, resulting in the derailment of both locomotives and the following 10 rail cars. The tractor portion remained connected to the trailer and ignited. The local fire department extinguished the fire. Three of the derailed cars were residue liquefied petroleum gas (LPG) tank cars and five of the derailed cars were loaded with butadiene.

Just before the derailed freight train came to a stop, VIA Rail passenger train No. 68 (VIA 68), travelling eastward on the south main track, struck the tractor portion of the tractor-trailer which was hooked onto the lead freight locomotive, tore it away from the trailer portion, and dragged it eastward for approximately 700 feet. Parts of the tractor became lodged under the wheels of the VIA locomotive causing it and the following five passenger coaches to derail. Minor injuries were sustained by six VIA employees, including four on-train service (OTS) personnel, and five passengers.

The Board concluded its investigation and released report R99T0298 on 19 October 2001.

Board Recommendation R01-07 (19 October 2001)

While the Board recognizes that some effort has been made in the past to close or consolidate private and farm crossings, significant action has been taken only once. Because of the large number of private and farm crossings, many of which have very limited warning systems, users of these crossings, the travelling public as well as train crews are exposed to unnecessary risks. Therefore, the Board recommends that:

The Department of Transport, in cooperation with Canadian National, comprehensively examine all private and farm crossings on the Kingston Subdivision with a view to closing or consolidating crossings, and where identified as necessary, upgrade those remaining to lessen the safety risk.

R01-07

Response to R01-07 (24 January 2002)

TC stated that they agree with the principle of examining the safety of private and farm crossings on the Kingston Subdivision. Under the Railway Safety Act, it is the responsibility of the railway company to ensure that farm and private crossings are constructed and maintained in accordance with sound engineering principles.

Nonetheless, TC indicated that they will review this issue with Canadian National and obtain their commitment to review safety at farm and private crossings. TC indicated that their Rail Safety officers will also conduct random inspections of private and farm crossings on the Kingston Subdivision, identify any concerns with respect to their safety, and ensure that appropriate measures are taken.

Board Assessment of the Response to R01-07 (January 2002)

TC reviewed the issue with CN and conducted random inspections of private and farm crossings to identify safety concerns. This initiative resulted in the upgrading of some of these grade crossings. In addition, a funding program was put in place by TC as an incentive to upgrade these crossings. TSB accepts this response as Satisfactory Intent.

The Board followed up with TC to determine what further action will be implemented.

This file was assigned an Active status.

Response to R01-07 (28 July 2006)

TC responded that two public crossings were closed in 2005 through the assistance of TC's Grade Crossing Improvement Program – Closing of Crossings. TC also noted that current federal legislation does not facilitate the closing or put any restriction on opening private crossings. The owner's enjoyment of their land is protected.

Board Reassessment of Response to R01-07 (25 August 2006)

TC advises that CN has reviewed all farm and private crossings on the Kingston Subdivision. Numerous sight line and alignment improvements have been made, or are underway, with program completion expected in 2007. Additionally, nine crossings have been closed. Therefore, the Board reassesses the response as Fully Satisfactory.

Next TSB Action

The Board will monitor while the program is being implemented.

This file is assigned an Active status.

Recommandation R01-07

Passages à niveau privés et passages à niveau de ferme de la subdivision Kingston R01-07

PASSAGES À NIVEAU PRIVÉS ET PASSAGES À NIVEAU DE FERME DE LA SUBDIVISION KINGSTON

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Introduction

Le 23 novembre 1999 vers 18 h 45, heure normale de l'Est, le train de marchandises no M-321-21-22 du Canadien National (CN) qui roulait vers l'ouest sur la voie principale nord heurte la remorque d'un tracteur à semi-remorque abandonné à un passage à niveau de ferme situé au point milliaire 292,59 de la subdivision Kingston du CN, près de Bowmanville (Ontario). Le tracteur et la remorque sont entraînés vers l'ouest sur une distance d'environ 2 000 pieds. À environ 800 pieds à l'ouest du passage à niveau, des pièces métalliques de la remorque se coincent sous les roues de la locomotive de tête, ce qui entraîne le déraillement des deux locomotives et des 10 wagons qui les suivent. Le tracteur reste relié à la remorque et prend feu. Le service des incendies local parvient à éteindre l'incendie. Trois des wagons de marchandises qui ont déraillé contiennent un résidu de gaz de pétrole liquéfié (GPL) et cinq autres sont chargés de butadiène.

Tout juste avant que le train de marchandises s'immobilise après avoir déraillé, le train de voyageurs no 68 de VIA Rail Canada Inc. (VIA 68), roulant en direction est sur la voie principale sud, heurte le tracteur du tracteur à semi-remorque que la locomotive de tête du train de marchandises pousse devant elle, arrache le tracteur de sa remorque et le pousse vers l'est sur une distance d'environ 700 pieds. Des pièces du tracteur se coincent sous les roues de la locomotive de VIA et font dérailler la locomotive ainsi que les cinq voitures qui suivent. L'accident cause des blessures mineures à six employés de VIA, dont quatre employés des services de bord, et à cinq voyageurs.

Le Bureau a conclu son enquête et publié le rapport R99T0298 le 19 octobre 2001.

Recommandation R01-07 (le 19 octobre 2001)

Bien que le Bureau reconnaisse que des efforts ont été faits par le passé en vue de fermer ou de regrouper des passages à niveau privés et des passages à niveau de ferme, on n'a pris des mesures significatives qu'à une seule occasion. Étant donné le grand nombre de passages à niveau privés et de passages à niveau de ferme, dont la plupart ne disposent que de systèmes de signalisation fort limités, les usagers de ces passages à niveau, le public voyageur et les équipes des trains sont exposés inutilement à des risques. Par conséquent, le Bureau recommande que :

Le ministère des Transports, en collaboration avec le Canadien National, procède à un examen exhaustif de tous les passages à niveau privés et les passages à niveau de ferme de la subdivision Kingston dans le but de fermer ou de regrouper des passages à niveau et, le cas échéant, apporte des améliorations aux autres passages à niveau de façon à améliorer la sécurité.

Recommandation R01-07 du BST

Réponse de Transports Canada (le 24 janvier 2002)

Transports Canada a affirmé souscrire au principe d'examiner la sécurité des passages à niveau privés et des passages à niveau de ferme de la subdivision de Kingston. En vertu de la Loi sur la sécurité ferroviaire, il incombe aux compagnies de chemin de fer de veiller à ce que les passages à niveau privés et les passages à niveau de ferme soient construits et entretenus en fonction de principes d'ingénierie bien établis.

Toutefois, le ministère discutera de la question avec le Canadien National afin d'obtenir son engagement à procéder à un examen de la sécurité des passages à niveau privés et des passages à niveau de ferme. Les agents de la sécurité ferroviaire du ministère effectueront également des inspections au hasard des passages à niveau privés et des passages à niveau de ferme de la subdivision de Kingston. Ils repéreront aussi toute préoccupation touchant la sécurité de ces passages à niveau et s'assureront que les mesures appropriées sont prises.

Évaluation du Bureau (janvier 2002)

Transports Canada a examiné la question avec le CN et effectué des inspections au hasard des passages à niveau privés et des passages à niveau de ferme afin de repérer toute préoccupation touchant leur sécurité. En outre, Transports Canada a mis en place un programme de financement à titre d'incitatif à l'amélioration de ces passages à niveau. Le BST accepte cette réponse comme dénotant une intention satisfaisante.

Suivi exercé par le BST (janvier 2002)

Le Bureau a effectué un suivi auprès de Transports Canada pour déterminer quelles mesures supplémentaires seront mises en œuvre.

Ce dossier est un dossier actif.

Réponse de Transports Canada (le 28 juillet 2006)

Transports Canada a indiqué que deux passages à niveau publics ont été fermés en 2005 grâce à son Programme d'amélioration des passages à niveau - fermeture de passages à niveau. Le ministère a aussi fait remarquer que la loi fédérale actuelle ne facilite pas la fermeture des passages à niveau privé ni n'impose aucune limite à leur ouverture. Le droit des propriétaires à la jouissance de leur terrain est protégé.

Réévaluation du Bureau (le 25 août 2006)

Transports Canada a indiqué que le CN a examiné tous les passages à niveau privés et passages à niveau de ferme de la subdivision Kingston. De nombreuses améliorations ont été apportées ou sont en voie de l'être aux chapitres de la ligne de visibilité et du tracé. Le programme devrait être complété en 2007. En outre, neuf passages à niveau ont été fermés. Par conséquent, le Bureau estime qu'une attention entièrement satisfaisante a été accordée à la lacune.

Suivi exercé par le BST

Le Bureau s'assurera que le programme est mis en œuvre.

Ce dossier est un dossier actif.