Recommendation R01-01

Reassessment of the response to rail safety recommendation R01-01 – R99H0007

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Background

On 23 April 1999, at approximately 1200 eastern daylight time, VIA Rail Canada Inc. train No. 74, travelling eastward on the north main track of the Canadian National Chatham Subdivision, at Thamesville, Ontario, encountered a reversed switch, crossed over to the south main track and derailed at Mile 46.7. The derailed train collided with stationary rail cars on an adjacent yard track. The three cars that were struck were loaded with ammonium nitrate. All four passenger cars and the locomotive of the passenger train derailed as well as four of the stationary cars on the adjacent yard track. The two train crew members in the locomotive cab were fatally injured. Seventy-seven of the 186 passengers and crew on board were treated at hospital. Four people were admitted with serious injuries. Numerous others received first aid on site. Approximately 50 m of main track and 100 m of the adjacent yard track were destroyed. The locomotive was damaged beyond repair and the leading two passenger cars sustained substantial damage.

The Board has identified safety deficiencies relating to the level of defences associated with the Occupancy Control System method of train control, particularly in "dark territory, " where trains are not always provided with sufficient advance warning of reversed main track switches. The Board determined that, in OCS outside ABS, the existing safeguards were inadequate to prevent the unauthorized reversed main track switches from leading to the occurrence. Unauthorized reversed main track switches are most often the result of inadvertent errors by railway employees. Past safety actions relating to unauthorized reversed main track switches have focussed primarily on eliminating errors through improved procedural compliance. On 14 November 2000, TC imposed temporary speed restrictions through an Emergency Directive to all federally regulated railways in Canada. Irrespective of TC taking the first step; confirming an understanding of the effects of human errors on a safety critical system, the necessity to develop permanent mitigating strategies remained. Therefore, the Board recommended that:.

The Department of Transport require the development of additional permanent system defences that permit a means to help ensure safety when trains approach main track switches in Occupancy Control System outside Automatic Block Signal System territory.

R01-01

Transport Canada’s Response to TSB Recommendation R01-01 (July 2001)

A response from the Minister has been received and in his response, the Minister informs that TC issued an Emergency Directive which mandated a slower speed when approaching a facing point main track switch in non-signalled territory. TC has been researching new technologies available to provide an additional system defence through advanced indication of the position of hand operated track switches in non-signalled territory. TC retained the assistance of the Transportation Group of the University of New Brunswick to conduct a study to identify the existence and availability of such technologies. In November 2001, the study was released in which there were ten technologies identified, that appeared to have potential for application to the study objective. One technology of the five considered to have the highest probability of successful application is under test by Canadian National Railway. The study indicated that cost-effective and reliable systems could be installed to indicate the position of a hand-operated switch on non-signalled rail lines.

Board Assessment of Response to R01-01

Transport Canada (TC) supports the intent of this recommendation. TC’s Emergency Directive provides a temporary administrative safety barrier to avoid high speed divergence of train movement, by slowing the speed of the trains approaching a facing point switch. This will allow more reaction time to initiate stopping the train in the event of unexpectedly encountering a reversed main track switch. This may provide sufficient time to stop the train or significantly reduce the speed of an unplanned divergence from the main track. However, this action has not provided an advance indication of the position of the switch, to allow for a planned stop to avoid an emergency stopping situation. The final effectiveness of the Board's recommendation and the response cannot be ascertained until the chosen means of defence is finally developed by the railways. In consideration that TC has taken the aforementioned regulatory action, and provided the motivation towards appropriate action to guarantee a reliable indication of the position of main track switches in non-signalled territory, the response to Recommendation R01-01 is assessed as being "Partially Satisfactory".

Additional Response to Recommendation R01-01

Transport Canada issued a Directive ordering all of the federally regulated railways to revise Rule 104 of the Canadian Rail Operating Rules and to file the revised rule submission within 150 days. Industry responded by revising CROR Rule 104 with the addition of Rule 104(p) which prescribes;

Main Track Switches in OCS Territory
(p)    unless or until the switch is seen to be in normal position, movements approaching a main track hand operated switch in a facing point direction in OCS territory, must not exceed the following speeds from ¼ mile of the switch;

PASSENGER
50 MPH
FREIGHT
45 MPH
FREIGHT handling
 
Special Dangerous
 
Commodities
40 MPH

Board Reassessment of Response to R01-01

The added CROR Rule 104(p) prescribes a speed restriction at all MT switches in non-signalled territory. This constitutes an additional administrative system defence. In consideration that a permanent additional administrative defence has been implemented, the Board reassesses the response to Recommendation R01-01 to be "Fully Satisfactory".

Recommandation R01-01

Réévaluation de la réponse à la recommandation en matière de sécurité ferroviaire R01-01 - R99H0007

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Introduction

Le 23 avril 1999, vers 12 h, heure avancée de l'Est, le train no 74 de Via Rail Canada Inc., qui roulait en direction est sur la voie principale nord de la subdivision Chatham du Canadien National, à Thamesville (Ontario), est arrivé à la hauteur d'un aiguillage en position renversée, a traversé sur la voie principale sud et a déraillé au point milliaire 46,7. Après avoir déraillé, le train est entré en collision avec des wagons immobilisés sur une voie de garage adjacente. Les trois wagons heurtés par le train étaient chargés de nitrate d'ammonium. Les quatre voitures et la locomotive du train de voyageurs ont déraillé ainsi que quatre des wagons immobilisés sur la voie de garage adjacente. Les deux membres de l'équipe qui se trouvaient dans la cabine de commande de la locomotive ont été mortellement blessés. Soixante-dix-sept des 186 voyageurs et membres de l'équipe qui se trouvaient à bord ont reçu des traitements à l'hôpital. Quatre personnes ont été hospitalisées, souffrant de blessures graves. De nombreuses autres personnes ont reçu les premiers soins sur place. La voie principale a été endommagée sur une distance d'environ 50 m, et la voie de garage adjacente a été détruite sur une distance de 100 m. La locomotive a subi des dommages sans espoir de réparation et les deux premières voitures ont subi des dommages considérables.

Le Bureau a constaté des lacunes en ce qui a trait aux moyens de défense associés à la méthode de contrôle du mouvement des trains qu'on appelle régulation de l'occupation de la voie, surtout dans les « zones exemptes de signalisation », où les trains ne sont pas toujours avertis suffisamment d'avance des aiguillages de voie principale laissés en position renversée. Le Bureau a établi que, en ROV à l'extérieur d'un BA, les mesures de sécurité existantes étaient inappropriées pour empêcher que les aiguillages de voie principale laissés en position renversée sans autorisation ne soient la cause de l'accident. La plupart du temps, le fait que des aiguillages de voie principale soient laissés en position renversée sans autorisation découle d'erreurs involontaires des employés de chemins de fer. Les mesures prises par le passé relatives aux aiguillages de voie principale laissés en position renversée sans autorisation ont porté surtout sur l'élimination des erreurs grâce à une amélioration de la conformité aux règles. Le 14 novembre 2000, TC a imposé des limitations de vitesse temporaires par la publication d'une injonction ministérielle visant tous les chemins de fer canadiens relevant de la réglementation fédérale. Le fait que TC reconnaisse un certain degré d'erreur humaine est la première étape nécessaire d'un processus qui permettra de comprendre les effets de ces erreurs sur des systèmes essentiels du point de vue de la sécurité et de mettre au point des stratégies d'atténuation des risques liés à ces erreurs. Par conséquent, le Bureau recommande que :

Le ministère des Transports exige la mise au point de moyens de défense additionnels dans les territoires contrôlés par la régulation de l'occupation de la voie à l'extérieur d'un block automatique de façon qu'on dispose d'un moyen viable d'assurer la sécurité des trains qui approchent des aiguillages de voie principale.

Recommandation R01-01 du BST

Réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation du BST R01-01 (juillet 2001)

Le Ministre a fourni une réponse indiquant que TC a émis une injonction ministérielle qui exige une réduction de la vitesse à l'approche d'aiguillages de voie principale en direction de prise en pointe dans les zones exemptes de signalisation. TC effectue des recherches pour trouver de nouvelles technologies qui offrent des moyens de défense additionnels et qui permettraient d'indiquer à l'avance la position des aiguillages à manœuvre manuelle dans les zones exemptes de signalisation. TC a demandé l'aide du Groupe des transports de l'Université du Nouveau-Brunswick afin qu'il procède à une étude pour cibler des systèmes viables et disponibles. En novembre 2001, le groupe a publié les résultats de ses travaux qui indiquent que dix systèmes seraient pertinents et permettraient d'atteindre l'objectif de sécurité visé. Un des cinq systèmes jugés les plus intéressants au point de vue de la mise en oeuvre est l'objet d'un programme d'essai par le Canadien National. Les résultats de l'étude indiquent en outre que des systèmes fiables et avantageux au plan des coûts pourraient être installés pour indiquer la position des aiguillages à manœuvre manuelle dans les zones exemptes de signalisation.

Évaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à la recommandation R01-01

Transports Canada (TC) comprend bien la portée de cette recommandation et l'appuie. L'injonction ministérielle de TC qui exige une réduction de la vitesse des trains approchant d'un aiguillage en direction de prise en pointe afin d'empêcher que les trains soient détournés inopinément de leur route à haute vitesse constitue une mesure de sécurité d'ordre administratif temporaire. Les conducteurs auront ainsi plus de temps pour réagir et amorcer l'arrêt de leur train s'ils rencontrent inopinément un aiguillage de voie principale laissé en position renversée. Cette mesure peut garantir un délai suffisant pour arrêter un train ou réduire de façon significative les changements de route non planifiés, mais n'indique pas à l'avance la position de l'aiguillage, ce qui permettait un arrêt planifié plutôt qu'un freinage d'urgence. L'efficacité finale de la recommandation du Bureau et de la réponse de TC ne pourra pas être évaluée avant que les moyens de défense retenus soient mis en place par les chemins de fer. Considérant que TC a émis l'injonction susmentionnée et fourni des motifs pour la mise en place de mesures appropriées afin de garantir le signalement fiable de la position des aiguillages de voie principale dans les zones exemptes de signalisation, le Bureau juge que la réponse à la recommandation R01-01 est « en partie satisfaisante ».

Autre réponse à la recommandation R01-01

Transports Canada a émis une injonction ministérielle ordonnant à tous les chemins de fer relevant de la réglementation fédérale de modifier la règle 104 du Règlement d'exploitation ferroviaire du Canada (REF) et de présenter l'article dûment modifié dans les 150 jours. L'industrie a modifié la règle 104 du REF en ajoutant le paragraphe 104(p) suivant :

Aiguillages de voie principale en ROV

(p) À moins ou jusqu'à ce qu'on ait constaté que l'aiguillage est en position normale, les mouvements approchant en ROV d'un aiguillage de voie principale à manœuvre manuelle dans la direction de prise en pointe ne doivent pas, à moins d'être régis par l'indication des signaux, dépasser les vitesses suivantes à moins d'un quart de mille de l'aiguillage :

  • TRAINS VOYAGEURS – 50 mi/h
  • TRAINS MARCHANDISES – 45 mi/h
  • TRAINS MARCHANDISES transportant des marchandises dangereuses spéciales – 40 mi/h

Réévaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à la recommandation R01-01

La nouvelle règle 104(p) du REF prescrit une limitation de vitesse à tous les aiguillages de voie principale en zones exemptes de signalisation, ce qui constitue une autre mesure de sécurité d'ordre administratif. Une mesure de sécurité d'ordre administratif permanente additionnelle ayant ainsi été mise en oeuvre, le Bureau estime maintenant que la réponse à la recommandation R01‑01 est « entièrement satisfaisante ».