Recommendation R98-02

Reassessment of the responses from Transport Canada to Rail Safety Recommendation R98-02

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Securement of Highway Trailers

Background

On 13 August 1997, a highway trailer loaded on a platform, on a westbound Canadian Pacific Railway (CPR) freight train (the Iron Highway) became loose and shifted over the side of the platform beyond allowable railway clearance. While the train was proceeding under a public highway overpass for County Road No. 44, at Mile 102.9 of the Winchester Subdivision, the overhanging trailer struck the bridge support columns. The trailer was extensively damaged, and the highway overpass was closed for several days. No dangerous goods were involved and there were no injuries.

CPR leased this prototype inter-modal platform train from CSX Intermodal Incorporated and contracted the terminal operations and maintenance with Rail Term, a private contractor. The Iron Highway does not meet all the requirements of the Association of American Railroads (AAR) interchange rules, ie. air brake rules and safety appliances, and has required an exemption from some requirements of Transport Canada's regulations to operate in Canada.

The Board determined that the trailer became unsecured due to an improperly locked hitch that went unidentified during pre-departure inspections because employees did not possess the necessary information to recognize that a slightly protruding or damaged lock indicator pin could render a locking mechanism ineffective.

Contributing factors were the design of the LP-9 hitch locking mechanism, and management's and employees' inexperience in working with the Iron Highway technology.

Discussion

The locking mechanism of these automatic LP-9 hitch assemblies is designed to self-unlock through movement of the plunger, spring, and lock indicator pin mechanism. Unintentional operation of the self-unlocking mechanism can occur if the plunger is not fully engaged, the spring is broken, or the pin is bent, and any of these deficiencies may still remain undetected during the inspection processes. Although similar lock mechanisms are used on other types of hitches (AAR-approved LP-3), the vast majority are used in combination with a secondary locking mechanism. The industry's "Standard Operating Procedures for Intermodal Securement" (SOP) as defined by the AAR, effective 01 August 1998, and accepted by the railway industry, considers that a hitch missing a secondary locking mechanism is to be treated as a securement defect. Considering the high speed at which the Iron Highway operates and the potential weight of the equipment, proper securement of the highway trailers is critical to safe operation.

CPR has taken measures which have included training as well as enhancing procedures and inspections. Inspection of the visible portion of the lock indicator pin has been improved by enhancing the conspicuity of the pin, painting it bright yellow to contrast against a black background. The Board, acknowledging the safety actions and initiatives taken by the industry in response to this occurrence, believed that these measures would somewhat reduce but not eliminate the risks associated with this equipment, and consequently, on 19 January 1999, the Board recommended that:

The Department of Transport assess the trailer securement system and related safety inspections of the Iron Highway to ensure that the risks associated with the securement of highway trailers are appropriately addressed.

R98-02

Response to R98-02 (16 April 1999)

Transport Canada (TC) advised that it has accepted this TSB recommendation and that TC Rail Safety inspectors have monitored the safety actions and initiatives taken by the industry in response to this occurrence. TC also advised that employees of Rail Term have developed a proposed auxiliary hitch locking mechanism to ensure that the LP-9 hitch device is secured and locked properly. However, it is only a concept at this time, and any modification to the existing hitch design requires the approval of the owners (CSX) and Trinity Industries (the manufacturers of the LP-9 hitch assemblies).

Board Assessment of Response to R98-02 (18 May 1999)

Notwithstanding the initiatives undertaken, until such time as the proposed auxiliary hitch locking mechanism is installed (or some other safety measure not yet identified is taken) to ensure that a trailer will not become disengaged while en route, the risk associated with the use of the existing LP-9 automatic hitches remains. Therefore, the response to TSB Recommendation R98-02 is considered to be Satisfactory Intent.

Board Reassessment of Deficiency file status R98-02 (16 September 2010)

The entire Iron Highway train has been removed from service in Canada and returned to its owner in the United States. Any further action would be the responsibility of a third party outside the direct influence of this recommendation. This is an alternative course of action that has effectively addressed the safety deficiency. Therefore, the response to recommendation R98-02 is reassessed as Fully Satisfactory.

No further action required.

Recommandation R98-02

Réévaluation des réponses de Transports Canada à la recommandation en matière de sécurité ferroviaire R98-02 - R97H0008

Arrimage des remorques routières

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Introduction

Le 13 août 1997, une remorque routière transportée à bord d'un train de marchandises du Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique (CFCP) qui roulait en direction ouest s'est désarrimée et s'est mise en porte-à-faux sur la plate-forme qui la portait, excédant les limites acceptables. Pendant que le train roulait sous un passage supérieur aménagé pour la route de comté no 44, au point milliaire 102,9 de la subdivision Winchester, la remorque en porte-à-faux a heurté les colonnes d'appui du pont. La remorque a subi des dommages considérables, et il a fallu fermer le passage supérieur pendant plusieurs jours. Aucune marchandise dangereuse n'a été mise en cause dans l'accident, et personne n'a été blessé.

Le CFCP a loué cette plate-forme intermodale prototype de la CSX Intermodal Incorporated et a confié à une compagnie distincte, la Rail Term, le contrat d'exploitation et d'entretien de ses terminaux. Le Iron Highway ne répond pas à toutes les exigences des règles de l'Association of American Railroads (AAR) sur le transport intermodal, c'est-à-dire les règles sur les freins à air et les dispositifs de sécurité, et a dû être exempté de certaines exigences réglementaires de Transports Canada pour qu'il puisse être exploité au Canada.

Le Bureau a déterminé que la remorque s'est désarrimée à cause d'un chevalet d'arrimage mal verrouillé qui n'avait pas été détecté lors des inspections avant départ parce qu'en l'absence des renseignements nécessaires, les employés ne pouvaient savoir qu'une cheville indicatrice de verrouillage pouvait rendre le mécanisme de verrouillage inopérant si elle faisait saillie légèrement ou si elle était endommagée.

La conception-même du mécanisme de verrouillage du chevalet d'arrimage et le manque d'expérience de la gestion et des employés dans l'emploi de la nouvelle technologie ont contribué à l'accident.

Discussion

Le mécanisme de verrouillage de ces chevalets d'arrimage automatique LP-9 est conçu pour se déverrouiller de lui-même par le mouvement du plongeur, du ressort et de la cheville indicatrice de verrouillage. Le mécanisme de déverrouillage automatique peut être actionné accidentellement si le plongeur n'est pas entièrement engagé, si le ressort est brisé ou si la cheville est courbée, et il se peut que ces lacunes ne soient pas détectées durant les processus d'inspection. D'autres types de chevalets d'arrimage (par exemple, le chevalet LP-3 approuvé par l'AAR) sont munis de mécanismes de verrouillage semblables, mais la plupart de ces chevalets sont aussi dotés d'un mécanisme secondaire de verrouillage. Selon les procédures d'exploitation normalisées pour l'arrimage des remorques intermodales définies par l'AAR, acceptées par l'industrie ferroviaire et entrées en vigueur depuis le 1er août 1998, les chevalets qui ne sont pas dotés d'un mécanisme secondaire de verrouillage sont considérés comme défectueux. Étant donné les vitesses de déplacement élevées du Iron Highway et le poids possible du matériel, un bon arrimage des remorques routières est essentiel à la sécurité d'exploitation.

Le CFCP a pris des mesures relativement à la formation et à l'amélioration des procédures et des inspections. On a amélioré l'inspection de la partie visible de la cheville indicatrice en améliorant la visibilité de la cheville, en la peinturant en jaune clair pour qu'il y ait un contraste avec le fond noir. Le Bureau, reconnaissant les mesures de sécurité et les initiatives prises par l'industrie en réponse à cet événement, croit que ces mesures réduiraient quelque peu mais n'élimineraient pas les risques associés au matériel. Par conséquent, le 19 janvier 1999, le Bureau a recommandé que :

Le ministère des Transports évalue le système d'arrimage des remorques du Iron Highway et les inspections de sécurité connexes afin de s'assurer que les risques liés à l'arrimage des remorques routières soient bien évalués.

Recommandation R98-02 du BST

Réponse de Transports Canada (16 avril 1999)

Transports Canada (TC) a fait savoir qu'il a accepté cette recommandation du BST et que les inspecteurs de la Sécurité ferroviaire de TC ont surveillé les mesures de sécurité et les initiatives prises par l'industrie en réponse à cet événement. TC a aussi informé que les employés de Rail Term ont développé un mécanisme secondaire de verrouillage proposé de façon à ce que le dispositif LP-9 soit bien arrimé et verrouillé. Toutefois, ce n'est qu'un concept pour l'instant et toute modification à la conception existante exige l'approbation des propriétaires (CSX) et de Trinity Industries (le fabricant des chevalets d'arrimage LP-9).

Évaluation du Bureau (18 mai 1999)

Malgré les initiatives entreprises, jusqu'à ce que le mécanisme secondaire de verrouillage proposé soit installé (ou toute autre mesure de sécurité pas encore identifiée soit prise) afin de s'assurer qu'une remorque ne se détachera pas alors que le train roule, les risques associés à l'utilisation des chevalets d'arrimage LP-9 persistent. Par conséquent, la réponse à la recommandation R98-02 du BST dénote une intention satisfaisante.

Réévaluation du Bureau (16 septembre 2010)

Le train Iron Highway a été retiré du service au Canada et retourné à son propriétaire aux États-Unis. Toute autre mesure incomberait à une tierce partie à l'extérieur de l'influence directe de cette recommandation. Il s'agit d'un autre plan d'action qui a permis de régler la lacune de sécurité. Par conséquent, le Bureau estime qu'une attention entièrement satisfaisante a été accordée à la lacune.

Suivi exercé par le BST (16 septembre 2010)

Aucune autre mesure n'est nécessaire.