Recommendation R96-05

Reassessment of the response to rail safety recommendation R96-05

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Locomotive fuel tank crashworthiness

Background

On 20 November 1994, VIA Rail Canada Inc. passenger train struck a piece of rail intentionally placed on the CN track near Brighton, Ontario. A fire erupted and the trailing portion of the locomotive and two passenger cars became engulfed in flames. Forty six passengers were injured, most of them during the emergency egress from the train.

As a result of safety deficiencies identified during the investigation of this occurrence, the Board recommended that:

The Department of Transport assess the design of the current passenger locomotive fuel tanks and require, in the short term, that measures be taken to improve their crashworthiness, including limiting fuel spillage.
TSB Recommendation R96-05

Transport Canada's response to Recommendation R96-05 (October 1996)

Transport Canada is currently gathering information in regards to the extent of any problems concerning fuel tanks, their crashworthiness and fuel spillage. Since the LRC locomotive fuel tanks are an integral part of the frame, VIA Rail has no plans to modify the configuration of the seven locomotives remaining in service.

The Department has raised the issue of crash-resistant fuel tanks and fuel systems with the Railway Association of Canada (RAC). We propose that the RAC formulate a rule that would be similar to the Association of American Railroads' (AAR) “Performance Requirements for Diesel Locomotive Fuel Tanks” which would be incorporated in the proposed Railway Locomotive Inspection and Safety Rules that are currently being developed by the railways. The new rule would include new passenger locomotives as well as new freight locomotives.

Board assessment of the response to Recommendation R96-05 (January 1997)

The susceptibility of the locomotive fuel tanks to puncture and the associated limitations in their design to minimize fuel spillage/spraying is placing the travelling public at risk. The reply indicates that TC is currently gathering information on the extent of the fuel tank problems; however, there is no mention of any evaluation on the vulnerability of the tanks to accidental rupture in order to take appropriate measures in the short term. On the one hand it appears that TC is leaving the decision to the railway industry as to the necessity to improve the crashworthiness of the tanks; on the other hand, TC advises that VIA has no plans to “modify the configuration of fuel tanks on the seven locomotives in service”. Indeed, both TC and VIA seem to be limiting the scope of their assessment of fuel tank crashworthiness to only those locomotives of the type involved in the occurrence, rather than all passenger locomotives in service.

Given that there is no planned action to reduce the susceptibility of the fuel tanks to accidental damage/fuel spillage in the short term, and there is no evidence of any substantive assessment of the inherent design risks for any passenger locomotives.

Therefore, the Board assesses the response to Recommendation R96-05 to be Unsatisfactory.

Transport Canada's response to Recommendation R96-05 (January 2005)

The remaining seven locomotives of the occurrence type have been removed from service. TC indicated that VIA Rail has no plans to modify the configuration of fuel tanks on older locomotives. VIA Rail is obtaining newer 900 series VIA locomotives which have puncture resistant and compartmentalized fuel tanks, and are built to meet the new AAR standard.

Board reassessment of the response to Recommendation R96-05 (May 2005)

Given that the occurrence type locomotives are removed from service and that VIA is buying new locomotives with fuel tanks that meet the crashworthiness standard, the Board reassesses the response to Recommendation R96-05 as Satisfactory in Part.

In consideration that no further action is planned to be taken and continued reassessment will not likely yield further results, this deficiency file is assigned Dormant status.

Board reassessment of the response to Recommendation R96-05 (December 2013)

This recommendation is assigned an active status following 2 VIA Rail passenger train derailments (R12T0038, R13W0124) involving locomotives that had been recently remanufactured, but had their fuel tanks punctured during the accidents.

Transport Canada's response to Recommendation R96-05 (January 2014)

Transport Canada has solicited the Railway Association of Canada and its member railways to formulate rules that would apply Association of American Railroads (AAR) crashworthiness standards to new and remanufactured locomotives.

Board reassessment of the response to Recommendation R96-05 (April 2014)

Transport Canada Rail Safety has requested the Railway Association of Canada to formulate and submit rules that would apply AAR crashworthiness standards to new and remanufactured locomotives. The AAR crashworthiness standards include, by reference to AAR Standard S-5506 (Performance Requirements for Diesel Electric Locomotive Fuel Tanks), the updated Penetration Resistance and Spill Control requirements. The proposed actions, if implemented, would significantly reduce the risk. However, the actions are not sufficiently advanced at this time.

The Board reassesses the response to Recommendation R96-05 as Satisfactory Intent.

Transport Canada's response to Recommendation R96-05 (February 2015)

Transport Canada approved the Railway Locomotive Inspection and Safety Rules formulated and submitted by the Railway Association of Canada, which state in part:

19. FUEL TANKS

19.1 After January 1, 2015 fuel tanks, on new and remanufactured locomotives travelling at speeds exceeding 25 MPH (40 KPH) purchased subsequent to the approval of this rule, are to be of high impact resistant design which meet or exceed current Association of American Railroads Manual of Standards and Recommended Practices (S-5506).

19.2 Fuel tanks shall be provided with suitable liquid level gauges, so located that the fuel level in the tanks can be determined when the tanks are being filled. Gauges must be protected against accidental breakage where loss of fuel would be incurred.

Board reassessment of the response to Recommendation R96-05 (March 2015)

The new Railway Locomotive Inspection and Safety Rules, No. 19 Fuel Tanks, ensures that approved fuel tanks of high impact resistant design will be installed on new and remanufactured locomotives. By limiting damage to the fuel tank of the locomotive, this action has substantially reduced the risk of fuel loss in the event of an accident involving the fuel tank.

Therefore, the response to the recommendation is considered to be Fully Satisfactory.

Next TSB action

This deficiency file is Closed.

Recommandation R96-05

Réévaluation de la réponse à la recommendation en matière de sécurité ferroviaire R96-05

Résistance à l'impact des réservoirs de carburant des locomotives

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Contexte

Le 20 novembre 1994, un train de voyageurs de VIA Rail a heurté un tronçon de rail placé intentionnellement sur la voie près de Brighton (Ontario). Un incendie a éclaté et la partie arrière de la locomotive et les deux premières voitures derrière la locomotive ont été la proie des flammes. Quarante-six voyageurs ont été blessés, la plupart au cours de l'évacuation d'urgence.

Après l'étude des lacunes de sécurité ciblées au cours de l'enquête sur cet événement le BST a recommandé que :

Le ministère des Transports évalue la conception des réservoirs de carburant actuels des locomotives des trains de voyageurs et exige, à court terme, que des mesures soient prises pour améliorer leur résistance à l'impact afin de limiter, notamment, les déversements de carburant.
Recommandation R96-05 du BST

Réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation R96-05 (octobre 1996)

Transports Canada recueille actuellement des renseignements sur l'ampleur de tout problème concernant les réservoirs de carburant, leur résistance à l'impact et le déversement de carburant. Comme les réservoirs de carburant des locomotives des trains LRC sont un élément intégrant de la structure, VIA Rail ne prévoit pas modifier l'agencement des réservoirs des sept locomotives toujours en service.

Le ministère a soulevé la question des réservoirs de carburant et des systèmes d'alimentation en carburant résistants à l'impact auprès de l'Association des chemins de fer du Canada (ACFC). Nous proposons que l'ACFC établisse une règle semblable aux Performance Requirements for Diesel Locomotive Fuel Tanks de l'Association of American Railroads (AAR) pour qu'elle soit incorporée dans le projet de règlement sur l'inspection et la sécurité des locomotives, élaboré actuellement par les chemins de fer. La nouvelle règle s'appliquerait aux locomotives neuves des trains voyageurs et marchandises.

Évaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à la recommandation R96-05 (janvier 1997)

La sensibilité à la perforation des réservoirs de carburant des locomotives et leur faible capacité de limiter les déversements/projections de carburant constituent un danger pour les voyageurs. Dans sa réponse, TC indique qu'il recueille actuellement des renseignements sur l'ampleur des problèmes concernant les réservoirs de carburant, mais n'indique aucune intention d'évaluer le risque de ruptures accidentelles des réservoirs afin de prendre des mesures appropriées à court terme. D'une part, Transports Canada semble laisser l'industrie ferroviaire décider de la nécessité d'améliorer la résistance à l'impact des réservoirs de carburant et d'autre part, il indique que « VIA Rail ne prévoit pas modifier l'agencement des réservoirs des sept locomotives toujours en service. » En outre, plutôt que de se pencher sur toutes les locomotives de trains de voyageurs en service, TC et VIA semblent limiter la portée de leur évaluation de la résistance à l'impact des réservoirs de carburant au type de locomotives impliquées dans l'accident.

En l'absence d'un plan d'action pour réduire, à court terme, les risques de perforation des réservoirs de carburant, et par le fait même de déversement de carburant, nous n'avons aucune preuve de la réalisation d'une évaluation rigoureuse des risques inhérents à la conception de toutes les locomotives de trains de voyageurs.

Ainsi, le Bureau estime que la réponse à la recommandation R96-05 est insatisfaisante.

Réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation R96-05 (janvier 2005)

Les sept locomotives identiques à celles impliquées dans l'événement ont été retirées du service. TC avait indiqué que VIA Rail ne prévoyait pas modifier l'agencement des réservoirs de carburant sur les locomotives plus anciennes. VIA Rail a acheté des locomotives plus récentes de la série 900 qui sont pourvues de réservoirs de carburants compartimentés et résistants à la perforation et qui sont construites selon les nouvelles normes de l'AAR.

Réévaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à la recommandation R96-05 (mai 2005)

Puisque le type de locomotives en cause dans l'événement n'est plus en service et que VIA achète de nouvelles locomotives dont les réservoirs sont conformes à la norme sur la résistance à l'impact, le Bureau estime maintenant que la réponse à la recommandation R96-05 est en partie satisfaisante.

Comme aucune autre mesure n'est prévue et qu'il est peu probable qu'une réévaluation continue mène à d'autres résultats, le présent dossier est classé inactif.

Réévaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à la recommandation R96-05 (décembre 2013)

Cette recommandation est classée active à la suite de deux déraillements de trains de voyageurs de VIA Rail (R12T0038, R13W0124) mettant en cause des locomotives récemment remises à neuf, mais dont les réservoirs de carburant ont été perforés au cours des accidents.

Réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation R96-05 (janvier 2014)

Transports Canada a demandé à l'Association des chemins de fer du Canada et à ses chemins de fer membres de formuler des règlements afin que les normes de l'Association of American Railroads (AAR) sur la résistance à l'impact s'appliquent aux locomotives neuves et remises à neuf.

Réévaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à la recommandation R96-05 (avril 2014)

La Direction générale de la sécurité ferroviaire de Transports Canada a demandé à l'Association des chemins de fer du Canada de formuler et de présenter des règlements afin que les normes de l'Association of American Railroads sur la résistance à l'impact des locomotives s'appliquent aux locomotives neuves et remises à neuf. Les normes de l'AAR sur la résistance à l'impact comprennent par renvoi à la norme AAR S-5506 (Performance Requirements for Diesel Electric Locomotive Fuel Tanks), les exigences sur la résistance à la pénétration et le contrôle des déversements (Penetration Resistance and Spill Control) révisées. Si elles sont mises en œuvre, les mesures proposées réduiraient le risque de façon considérable, mais, pour l'heure, elles ne sont pas suffisamment avancées.

Le Bureau estime donc maintenant que la réponse à la recommandation R96-05 dénote une intention satisfaisante.

Réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation R96-05 (février 2015)

Transports Canada a approuvé le Règlement relatif à l'inspection et à la sécurité des locomotives de chemin de fer rédigé et soumis par l'Association des chemins de fer du Canada. En voici un extrait :

19. RÉSERVOIRS DE CARBURANT

19.1 Après le 1er janvier 2015, les réservoirs de carburant sur les locomotives nouvelles et reconstruites roulant à plus de 25 mi/h (40 km/h) achetées après la date d'approbation du présent règlement doivent être d'une conception leur assurant une résistance élevée aux chocs, égale ou supérieure à celle prévue par le Manual of Standards and Recommended Practices (S-5506) de l'Association of American Railroads.

19.2  Les réservoirs de carburant doivent être pourvus d'indicateurs de niveau appropriés situés de telle sorte qu'on puisse observer le niveau du carburant pendant qu'on fait le plein. Les indicateurs de niveau doivent être conçus pour que, en cas de bris accidentel, le carburant ne puisse pas s'en échapper.

Suivi exercé par le BST (mars 2015)

L'article 19 du nouveau Règlement permet de s'assurer que des réservoirs de carburant approuvés de construction hautement résistante aux chocs seront installés sur les locomotives nouvelles et reconstruites. En limitant les dommages au réservoir de carburant de la locomotive, cette mesure a réduit de beaucoup le risque de perte de carburant en cas d'accident impliquant le réservoir.

Par conséquent, la réponse à la recommandation est jugée entièrement satisfaisante.

Suivi exercé par le BST

Le présent dossier est fermé.