Rail Recommendation R92-22

Reassessment of the response to rail safety recommendation R92-22

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Rail head wear exceeding specified wear limits

Background

At approximately 0243 mountain daylight time on 24 October 1990, Canadian Pacific Limited (CP) train No. 990/23, travelling at a speed of 45 mph derailed four locomotives, the next 21 cars and the 23rd car at Mile 1043 of the Aldersyde Subdivision, near Nobleford, Alberta There were no injuries as a result of this occurrence.

Investigation revealed that the cause of the occurrence was a break in the high rail of a three-degree curve at a pre-existing defect The 40 year old rail had been in place for 10 years after it had been in service at another location.

The Board concluded its investigation and released report R90C0124 in January 1993.

Board Recommendation R92-22 (19 January 1993)

The Board found that the rail head had worn in excess of safe wear limit standards Therefore, the Board recommended that:

The Department of Transport review the adequacy of current railway practices with respect to timely corrective action when rail head wear exceeds specified wear limits.

R92-22

Response to R92-22 (21 April 1993)

Transport Canada advised that the Department, in co-operation with the railway industry, has initiated research with respect to the rail head wear limits Preliminary results indicate that current standards may require modification and the Railway Safety Directorate will take appropriate action when definitive results are available.

Board Assessment of Response to R92-22 (17 May 1993)

Discussion with TC staff revealed that this research had been initiated prior to the issuance of the recommendation However, there was no indication of the nature, scope, duration, or any hint of type of remedial action that may be required

Apparently, TC has not taken any new initiative to ensure improved detection of defects in old track subject to heavy traffic, as a result of this recommendation Therefore, the Board assessed the response as Unsatisfactory.

Additional Response to R92-22 (06 June 1994)

Transport Canada submitted an additional response to R92-22 and they advised that a study jointly funded by CP Rail, BC Rail and Transport Canada’s Transportation Development Centre has determined that theoretical safe limits of rail wear are significantly higher than limits which are currently applied by the railways The study concluded that the wear limits can be extended; however, the issue of residual stress, rail rotation and gauge widening must be taken into consideration Rail Inspection practices and profile grinding also need to be examined before any decision affecting rail change out is taken The Department indicated they were satisfied that the current procedures are suitable for predicting rail wear and determining timely replacement.

Board Reassessment of Response to R92-22 (September 1994)

After assessing the additional response from TC, the Board sent a letter of concern to the Minister of Transport, noting that the incidence of main track derailments due to track defects was not improving.

Additional Response to R92-22 (April 2001)

Transport Canada submitted an additional response in 2001 advising that the issue of "excessive rail wear" is being evaluated by the railway industry, FRA and TC's rail integrity research program This research is continuing with a view to establishing reasonable limits for main track rail head wear.

Additional Response to R92-22 (June 2004)

Transport Canada submitted an additional response in 2004 advising that industry standards for rail wear limits will be included in discussions with the newly established RAC Track Safety Rules working group It is also TC's intention, as part of its integrated program approach, to audit railway companies inspection and maintenance practices with respect to TSR requirements for rail wear limits.

Board Reassessment of Response to R92-22 (December 2005)

The Board has been made aware of more accurate laser technology being introduced into the measurement of rail head wear However, there are still problems between detection and timing of corrective action remaining Therefore the Board reassesses the response to this recommendation as Satisfactory in Part.

Additional Response to R92-22 (July 2006)

Transport Canada submitted an additional response in 2006 advising that a Track Safety Rules Symposium to develop a strategy to modernize the Track Safety Rules is being held in September 2006 It is anticipated that the existing rule regarding rail wear will be modified as a result of the symposium.

Board Reassessment of Response to R92-22 (August 2006)

Given the ongoing efforts of Transport Canada and the industry to establish safe rail head wear limits, and TC's efforts to regulate this matter, the Board therefore reassesses the response to recommendation R92-22 as Fully Satisfactory.

Because Transport Canada and the industry are actively addressing the safety deficiency associated with Recommendation R92-22, and are taking action which will substantially reduce or eliminate the deficiency, no further TSB action is necessary.

As the risks have been substantially reduced, this file is assigned an Inactive status.

Recommandation R92-22

RÉÉVALUATION DE LA RÉPONSE À LA RECOMMANDATION EN MATIÈRE DE SÉCURITÉ FERROVIAIRE R92-22

USURE DU CHAMPIGNON DU RAIL EXCÉDANT LES LIMITES PRESCRITES

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Introduction

Le 24 octobre 1990 vers 2 h 43, heure avancée des Rocheuses, alors que le train no 990/23 du Canadien Pacifique Limitée (CP) circulait à 45 mi/h, quatre locomotives, les 21 wagons suivants et le 23e wagon ont déraillé au point milliaire 10,43 de la subdivision Aldersyde, près de Nobleford (Alberta). L'événement n'a fait aucun blessé.

L'enquête a déterminé que l'événement a été causé par la rupture du rail de la file haute d'une courbe de trois degrés, à la hauteur d'un défaut préexistant. Les rails au point de déraillement avaient 40 ans. Ils avaient été mis en place au point de déraillement 10 ans plus tôt, mais ils avaient servi ailleurs antérieurement.

Le Bureau a conclu son enquête et publié le rapport R90C0124 en janvier 1993.

Recommandation R92-22 du Bureau (19 janvier 1993)

Le Bureau a constaté que l'usure du champignon du rail excédait les limites assurant la sécurité. Par conséquent, le Bureau a recommandé que :

Le ministère des Transports examine les pratiques actuelles des compagnies ferroviaires pour s'assurer qu'elles sont adéquates et que des mesures correctives sont prises en temps opportun lorsque l'usure du champignon excède le maximum précisé.

Recommandation R92-22 du BST

Réponse à R92-22 (21 avril 1993)

Transports Canada a

Transports Canada a indiqué qu'en coopération avec l'industrie ferroviaire, il avait entrepris des recherches sur les limites d'usure du champignon du rail. Selon les résultats préliminaires, il pourrait être nécessaire de modifier les normes actuelles. La Direction générale de la sécurité ferroviaire prendra les mesures qui s'imposent lorsque les résultats définitifs seront connus.

Évaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à R92-22 (17 mai 1993)

Des discussions avec le personnel de Transports Canada ont révélé que la recherche avait été entreprise avant la présentation de la recommandation. Cependant, il n'y a aucune indication sur la nature, la portée, la durée ou le genre de mesure corrective qui pourrait être requise.

Selon toute apparence, Transports Canada n'a pris à la suite de cette recommandation aucune nouvelle initiative pour assurer une meilleure détection des défectuosités de vieux rails soumis à un trafic intense. Par conséquent, le Bureau évalue la réponse comme étant insatisfaisante.

Réponse supplémentaire à R92-22 (6 juin 1994)

Transports Canada a présenté une réponse supplémentaire à R92-22, indiquant qu'une étude financée conjointement par CP Rail, BC Rail et le Centre de développement des transports de Transports Canada avait déterminé que les limites de sécurité théoriques de l'usure des rails sont sensiblement plus élevées que les limites actuellement appliquées par les compagnies ferroviaires. L'étude a conclu que les limites d'usure peuvent être maintenues; cependant, les questions de contraintes résiduelles, déplacement du rail et surécartement de la voie doivent être prises en considération. Les pratiques d'inspection des rails et de meulage du profil doivent aussi être examinées avant toute décision touchant le remplacement des rails. Le ministère a indiqué être convaincu que les méthodes actuelles sont adéquates pour prévoir l'usure des rails et déterminer le moment opportun de les remplacer.

Réévaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à R92-22 (septembre 1994)

Après avoir évalué la réponse supplémentaire de Transports Canada, le Bureau a adressé au ministre des Transports une lettre indiquant sa préoccupation, précisant que l'incidence des déraillements sur une voie principale attribuables à des défauts de la voie ne s'améliorait pas.

Réponse supplémentaire à R92-22 (avril 2001)

Transports Canada a présenté une réponse supplémentaire en 2001 indiquant que le problème d'usure excessive des rails était en voie d'être évalué par l'industrie ferroviaire, la Federal Railway Administration et les responsables du programme de Transports Canada de recherche sur l'intégrité des rails. Cette recherche se poursuit en vue d'établir des limites raisonnables pour l'usure du champignon du rail sur une voie principale.

Réponse supplémentaire à R92-22 (juin 2004)

Transports Canada a présenté une réponse supplémentaire en 2004 indiquant que les normes de l'industrie concernant les limites d'usure des rails seront abordées dans les discussions du nouveau groupe de travail de l'Association des chemins de fer du Canada responsable du Règlement sur la sécurité de la voie. Le ministère a aussi l'intention, dans le cadre de sa démarche d'intégration des programmes, de vérifier les pratiques d'inspection et d'entretien des compagnies ferroviaires au regard des exigences du Règlement sur la sécurité de la voie visant les limites d'usure des rails.

Réévaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à R92-22 (décembre 2005)

Le Bureau a appris qu'une technologie au laser plus précise était en voie d'être adoptée pour mesurer l'usure du champignon du rail. Cependant, il reste des problèmes à régler entre la détection et le moment où des mesures correctives sont prises. Par conséquent, le Bureau évalue la réponse à cette recommandation comme étant en partie satisfaisante.

Réponse supplémentaire à R92-22 (juillet 2006)

Transports Canada a présenté une réponse supplémentaire en 2006 indiquant qu'un symposium consacré à la modernisation des règles de sécurité des voies ferrées serait tenu en septembre 2006. Il est prévu que la règle existante sur l'usure des rails sera modifiée à la suite du symposium.

Réévaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à R92-22 (août 2006)

Compte tenu des efforts persistants que déploient Transports Canada et l'industrie pour fixer des limites de sécurité visant l'usure du champignon du rail ainsi que les efforts consacrés par Transports Canada à la réglementation de cette question, le Bureau réévalue la réponse à la recommandation R92-22 comme étant pleinement satisfaisante.

Suivi exercé par le BST (octobre 2006)

Comme Transports Canada et l'industrie travaillent activement en vue de régler la lacune de sécurité visée par la recommandation R92-22 et prennent des mesures qui réduiront sensiblement ou élimineront la lacune, aucune mesure supplémentaire n'est nécessaire de la part du BST.

Tous les risques ayant été sensiblement réduits, ce dossier est un dossier inactif.