Recommendation M05-06

Assessment of the Responses to Marine Safety Recommendation M05-06

Structural fire protection

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Background

On the morning of 12 May 2003, while en route from Horseshoe Bay, British Columbia, to Langdale, British Columbia, the Queen of Surrey, with 318 passengers and 137 vehicles on board, suffered a diesel oil fire on its No. 2 main engine. The engine room was evacuated and sealed, and carbon dioxide (CO2) gas was released into it. Although immediate failure of the CO2 distribution manifold allowed some of the gas to escape, enough reached the engine room to extinguish the fire. The vessel was then towed to the Langdale ferry terminal, where the passengers disembarked. There were no fatalities.

The Board issued the safety recommendation on 9 February 2006.

TSB Recommendation M05-06 (February 2006)

There are currently 118 Canadian-registered passenger vessels over 500 gross tonnage [Retrieved 30 August 2005 from the Transport Canada Vessel Registration Query System]. The Board is aware that BCFC has fitted the engine room deckheads (and bulkhead penetrations) of the Queen of Coquitlam, Queen of Cowichan and Queen of Oak Bay (sister ships to the Queen of Surrey) with A-60 structural fire protection, and intends to upgrade other similarly deficient vessels in its fleet when they undergo their mid-life refits. The Board, however, is concerned that, because of a lack of regulatory requirements for such protection, there may be other Canadian-flagged vessels with insufficient structural fire protection around high fire risk compartments. While upcoming changes proposed to the regulations will incorporate provisions for adequate structural fire protection, existing vessels may not be modified to suit, thus exposing the vessel, crew, passengers and the environment to undue risk. The Board, therefore, recommends that

the Department of Transport require Canadian passenger vessels over 500 gross tonnage to meet a standard of structural fire protection that ensures a level of safety equivalent to SOLAS-compliant vessels.
TSB Recommendation M05-06

Transport Canada's response to Recommendation M05-06 (May 2006)

The Minister of Transport, Infrastructure and Communities agrees with the intent of this recommendation. The proposed Fire Safety Regulations will require that new passenger vessels over 150 gross tons will meet and in some areas exceed Safety of Life at Sea (SOLAS) Convention standards for structural fire protection. The proposed regulations will also address modifications made to existing vessels. As a result, any major modification will have to comply with the most recent requirements for structural fire protection.

All Canadian-registered passenger vessels built after 1979 were required to comply with the Equivalent Standard for Fire Protection of Passenger Ships, TP 2237.

The report indicates, in the background to this recommendation, that there are currently 118 Canadian-registered passenger vessels over 500 gross tons. Transport Canada records have identified 53 vessels of the 118 that were built before 1979. Of these 53 vessels, 14 have had or will have their structural fire protection upgraded. Some of these 14 vessels are owned by the British Columbia Ferries Services Inc. and will have their structural fire protection upgraded. Transport Canada considers that of the remaining 39 passenger vessels, several have the appropriate fire protection and therefore there is a diminishing number that represent an acceptable manageable risk.

Nonetheless, Transport Canada will further review the status of these remaining vessels to confirm that the risk is low, and if necessary Transport Canada will amend the proposed Fire Safety Regulations accordingly.

TSB assessment of Transport Canada's response to Recommendation M05-06 (October 2006)

The TSB investigation discovered that TP2237 standards are optional and compliance with these standards or the existing Hull Construction Regulations was left to the vessel owner's discretion. An example of this are the five ‘C' Class ferries built by BC Ferries (of which the Queen of Surrey, built in 1981, is one) which did not comply with TP 2237 and therefore did not have adequate structural fire protection.

While upcoming changes proposed to the Fire Safety Regulations will incorporate provisions for new vessels and older non-compliant vessels undergoing major modifications, the remaining vessels may not be modified, thus exposing the vessel, crew, passengers and the environment to undue risk.

TC's planned action or the action taken will reduce, but not substantially reduce or eliminate the deficiency.

Therefore, the assessment is assigned Satisfactory in Part.

Transport Canada's response to Recommendation M05-06 (June 2008)

TC's update, dated June 2008, indicated that the proposed Fire Safety Regulations will require that new passenger vessels over 150 gross tons will meet and in some areas exceed Safety of Life at Sea (SOLAS) Convention standards for structural fire protection. The proposed regulations will also address major modifications made to existing vessels and any major modification will have to comply with the requirements for structural fire protection.

All Canadian-registered passenger vessels built after 1979 were required to comply with TP 2237, Equivalent Standard for Fire Protection of Passenger Ships. Transport Canada will review the status of these remaining vessels to confirm that the risk is low, and if necessary Transport Canada will amend the proposed Fire Safety Regulations accordingly. The proposed Fire Safety Regulations are expected to be pre-published in Part I of the Canada Gazette in the fall 2008.

TSB assessment of Transport Canada's response to Recommendation M05-06 (September 2008)

No substantial change to address the safety deficiency since the last assessment. Follow-up information indicated that the proposed Fire Safety Regulations are expected to be pre-published in Part I of the Canada Gazette in the Fall 2009.

Therefore, the assessment of the response remains at Satisfactory in Part.

Transport Canada's response to Recommendation M05-06 (November 2009)

TC's update, dated November 2009, indicated that the proposed Vessel Fire Safety Regulations will require that new passenger vessels over 150 gross tons meet, and in some areas exceed, the SOLAS Convention standards for structural fire protection. The proposed regulations will also address major modifications made to existing vessels which will have to comply with the requirements for structural fire protection. All Canadian-registered passenger vessels built after 1979 were required to comply with the Equivalent Standard for Fire Protection of Passenger Ships, TP 2237.

TC will review the status of these remaining vessels to confirm that the risk is low, and if necessary Transport Canada will amend the proposed Vessel Fire Safety Regulations accordingly. The proposed Vessel Fire Safety Regulations are anticipated to be pre-published in Part I of the Canada Gazette in the spring 2010.

TSB assessment of Transport Canada's response to Recommendation M05-06 (May 2010)

TC has yet to determine whether the proposed Vessel Fire Safety Regulations will be amended to address those remaining vessels built before 1979 and to which the current regulations do not apply. However, TC has indicated that the proposed Vessel Fire Safety Regulations will require that new passenger vessels over 150 gross tons meet, and in some areas exceed, the SOLAS Convention standards for structural fire protection. It is now anticipated that the proposed regulations will be pre-published in the Canada Gazette, Part I, in the summer of 2010.

Therefore, the assessment of the response remains at Satisfactory in Part.

Transport Canada's response to Recommendation M05-06 (December 2010)

TC's December 2010 update indicated that the proposed Vessel Fire Safety Regulations will require that new passenger vessels over 150 gross tons meet, and in some areas, exceed the SOLAS Convention standards for structural fire protection. The proposed regulations will also address major modifications made to existing vessels and they will have to comply with the requirements for structural fire protection. All Canadian-registered passenger vessels built after 1979 were required to comply with the Equivalent Standard for Fire Protection of Passenger Ships, TP 2237.

A review of TC records indicated that there are 36 ferry and passenger vessels built before 1979 that have an active status. Of these, 10 are passenger vessels and not subject to risk of fire on car decks. Of the remainder, a large number have been or will be upgraded to current requirements for structural fire protection through mid-life refit, or will be withdrawn from service.

Accordingly, TC considers the risk to be low, and that no amendment to the proposed Vessel Fire Safety Regulations is required. The proposed Vessel Fire Safety Regulations are anticipated to be pre-published in Part I of the Canada Gazette in the second quarter of 2011.

TSB assessment of Transport Canada's response to Recommendation M05-06 (May 2011)

TC has determined that the structural fire protection provisions of the proposed Vessel Fire Safety Regulations will not be amended to include certain non ro-ro passenger vessels built prior to 1979. Regardless of whether a passenger vessel is equipped with car decks or not, the risk of fire spreading through bulkheads and decks exists. The Board remains concerned that, because of a lack of regulatory requirements for such protection, there continues to be other Canadian-flagged passenger vessels with insufficient structural fire protection around high fire risk compartments.

Transport Canada has stated that it will not be taking action to include vessels built before 1979. Therefore, the assessment of Transport Canada's response remains Satisfactory in Part.

Transport Canada's response to Recommendation M05-06 (December 2011)

The proposed Vessel Fire Safety Regulations will require that new passenger vessels over 150 gross tons meet, and in some areas exceed, the Safety of Life at Sea Convention standards for structural fire protection.  The proposed regulations will also address major modifications made to existing vessels, which will have to comply with the requirements for structural fire protection.  All Canadian-registered passenger vessels built after 1979 were required to comply with the Equivalent Standard for Fire Protection of Passenger Ships, TP 2237.

The Hull Construction Regulations already require passenger vessels to have A 60 rated insulation between the engine room, accommodation spaces and other spaces such as control stations. Ro-ro ferries did not require fire protection on the deck head above the engine room in way of car decks, however, as these were interpreted as open spaces until the publication of the Equivalent Standard for Fire Protection of Passenger Ships, TP 2237.

A review of Transport Canada inspection records indicates that there are 91 passenger vessels of more than 500 gross tonnage that are in active service (or will be shortly) in Canada (e.g. holding a passenger vessel inspection certificate in 2010 or after). Fifty-five of these where built or rebuilt after 1979.  Of the remaining 36, seven are passenger vessels and not subject to risk of fire on car decks.  Of the remaining 29, a large number either have been or will be upgraded to current requirements for structural fire protection through mid-life refit, or will be withdrawn from service.

Transport Canada will continue to work with the owners and the Canadian Ferry Operators Association to monitor the status of the fleet and to verify that structural fire protection is upgraded when a major modification is made.

Accordingly, Transport Canada considers the risk to be low and given the above information that the recommendation is met, and that no amendment to the proposed Vessel Fire Safety Regulations is required.  The proposed Vessel Fire Safety Regulations are anticipated to be published in the Canada Gazette, Part II, in the 1st Quarter of 2012.

TSB assessment of Transport Canada's response to Recommendation M05-06 (March 2012)

TC has determined that the structural fire protection provisions of the proposed Vessel Fire Safety Regulations will not be amended to include certain non ro-ro passenger vessels built prior to 1979. Regardless of whether a passenger vessel is equipped with car decks or not, the risk of fire spreading through bulkheads and decks exists. The Board remains concerned that, because of a lack of regulatory requirements for such protection, there continues to be other Canadian-flagged passenger vessels with insufficient structural fire protection around high fire risk compartments placing passengers, crew and vessels at risk.

Since TC has restated that they will not be taking action to include and regulate vessels built before 1979, the assessment of the response remains as Satisfactory in Part.

Transport Canada's response to Recommendation M05-06 (April 2018)

There are currently 38 passenger vessels of more than 500 gross tonnage built before 1979 still operating in Canada. TC indicates that a large number of these vessels have already been subject to modernization and have had their structural fire protection upgraded. The new Vessel Fire Safety Regulations require that the part of vessel subject to modifications be compliant with the new requirements. A number of other vessels will be removed from service in the coming years.

Transport Canada does not currently have the compiled numbers for how many of these 38 vessels have upgraded structural fire protection. TC knows that older vessels are eventually taken out of service, considering all major operators have new building projects. For example, BC Ferries has put in service 3 liquefied natural gas (LNG) fuelled ferries to replace existing vessels. Two new ferries are also being built to serve the Northern Gulf Islands. In Quebec, the Société des traversiers du Québec (STQ) has replaced the Camille Marcoux with the F.A. Gauthier, and two new ferries are being built for the Saguenay River crossing. Other large and medium size ferries are being replaced across the country, such as the MV Legionnaire in Newfoundland, which was built in 2015, as well as the new Pelee Islander, Wolfe Island and Amherst Island ferries projects in Ontario. In addition to ferry replacement projects, major operators have mid-life/modernization programs, such as the current BC Ferries Spirit class conversion project.

Transport Canada considers that the residual risk is low and will continue to decrease. Taking the potential costs and benefits into consideration, TC does not believe that regulatory action is justified.

TSB reassessment of Transport Canada's response to Recommendation M05-06 (June 2018)

TC has not compiled exact numbers on how many of the 38 passenger vessels in question have upgraded structural fire protection, but expects that a large number of these vessels will be phased out, as operators have built or are in the process of building replacement vessels that comply with the new Vessel Fire Safety Regulations. Although there have been no major occurrences of fire on passenger vessels since the Queen of Surrey occurrence in 2003 and TC considers the residual risks to be low, the number of passenger vessels built before 1979 operating in Canadian waters that would need either an upgrade or removal from service is unknown. Without having exact numbers, the TSB cannot confirm that the risk to these vessels has been mitigated.

The Board considers the response to the recommendation to be Satisfactory in Part.

Next TSB Action

The TSB will ask TC to compile detailed information so that the residual risk can be properly assessed.

The deficiency file is Active.

Recommandation M05-06

Évaluation des réponses à la recommandation en matière de sécurité maritime M05-06

Protection structurale contre l'incendie

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Introduction

Le matin du 12 mai 2003, pendant qu'il fait route depuis la baie Horseshoe (Colombie-Britannique) en direction de Langdale (Colombie-Britannique), le Queen of Surrey, avec 318 passagers et 137 véhicules à son bord, subit un incendie de carburant diesel (CO2) dans son moteur principal no 2. La salle des machines est évacuée et rendue étanche aux gaz et aux fumées, et le dispositif au CO2 est activé. Une défaillance de la tubulure de distribution de CO2 permet à une partie du CO2 de fuir, mais il s'en rend une quantité suffisante dans la salle des machines pour éteindre l'incendie. Le navire est remorqué à la gare maritime de Langdale, où les passagers débarquent. Il n'y a aucune perte de vie.

Le Bureau a formulé la recommandation de sécurité le 9 février 2006.

Recommandation M05-06 (le 9 février 2006)

Il y a actuellement 118 navires à passagers d'une jauge brute de plus de 500 qui sont immatriculés au Canada (données du Système de recherche d'informations sur l'immatriculation des navires de Transports Canada consultées le 30 août 2005). Le Bureau sait que le BC Ferry Services a doté le plafond (et les pénétrations des cloisons) de la salle des machines du Queen of Coquitlam, du Queen of Cowichan et du Queen of Oak Bay (navires jumeaux du Queen of Surrey) d'une protection structurale contre l'incendie de type A-60, et entend rehausser la protection des autres navires de sa flotte qui n'ont pas cette protection au moment de leur radoub de mi-vie. Le Bureau se préoccupe toutefois du fait que, faute d'exigences réglementaires visant cette protection, d'autres navires immatriculés au Canada peuvent avoir une protection structurale insuffisante près des compartiments qui posent un risque élevé d'incendie. Des modifications proposées à la réglementation intégreront des dispositions assurant une protection adéquate, mais les navires existants pourraient ne pas être modifiés en conséquence, ce qui exposerait le navire, les membres d'équipage, les passagers et l'environnement à des risques indus. Par conséquent, le Bureau recommande que :

le ministère des Transports impose aux navires à passagers canadiens ayant une jauge brute supérieure à 500 une norme de protection structurale contre l'incendie assurant un niveau de sécurité équivalent à celui des navires conformes à la Convention internationale pour la sauvegarde de la vie humaine en mer (Convention SOLAS).

Recommandation M05-06 du BST

Réponse de Transports Canada (le 9 mai 2006)

Le ministre des Transports, de l'Infrastructure et des Collectivités est d'accord avec l'esprit de cette recommandation. Le Règlement sur la sécurité-incendie proposé exigera que les nouveaux navires à passagers d'une jauge brute supérieure à 150 respectent et, à certains égards, surpassent les normes de la Convention internationale pour la sauvegarde de la vie humaine en mer (Convention SOLAS) visant la protection structurale contre l'incendie. Le règlement proposé traitera aussi des modifications apportées à des navires existants. Ainsi, toute modification majeure devra respecter les exigences les plus récentes en matière de protection structurale contre l'incendie.

Tous les navires à passagers immatriculés au Canada qui ont été construits après 1979 devaient respecter les Normes équivalentes de protection contre l´incendie des navires à passagers (TP 2237).

Le rapport indique, dans le préambule à cette recommandation, qu'il y a actuellement 118 navires à passagers d'une jauge brute supérieure à 500 qui sont immatriculés au Canada. Selon les dossiers de Transports Canada (TC), 53 de ces 118 navires ont été construits avant 1979. Sur ces 53 navires, 14 ont bénéficié ou bénéficieront d'une mise à niveau de leur protection structurale contre l'incendie. Certains de ces 14 navires dont la protection structurale contre l'incendie sera améliorée sont la propriété de British Columbia Ferry Services. TC considère que, parmi les 39 autres navires à passagers, plusieurs navires disposent d'une protection incendie adéquate, de sorte qu'il reste un nombre réduit de navires représentant un risque acceptable qui peut être géré.

Néanmoins, TC examinera davantage l'état de ces derniers navires pour confirmer que le risque est faible. Au besoin, le Ministère modifiera en conséquence le Règlement sur la sécurité-incendie,qui est proposé.

Évaluation du Bureau (le 31 octobre 2006)

L'enquête du BST a révélé que les normes du TP 2237 étaient facultatives et que les propriétaires des navires étaient libres de se conformer à leurs dispositions ou à celles du Règlement sur la construction de coques. Par exemple, les cinq traversiers de catégorie « C » construits par BC Ferry Services (dont le Queen of Surrey, construit en 1981) ne respectaient pas les normes du TP 2237 et ne disposaient donc pas d'une protection structurale adéquate contre l'incendie.

Les modifications proposées au Règlement sur la sécurité-incendie comprendront des dispositions visant les nouveaux navires et les navires plus anciens faisant l'objet d'importantes modifications, mais les autres navires pourraient ne pas être mis à niveau. Ces navires, leurs équipages, leurs passagers et l'environnement seraient ainsi exposés à un risque indu.

Les mesures prévues ou prises par TC permettront d'atténuer la lacune notée, mais ne permettront pas de l'atténuer sensiblement ou de l'éliminer.

Par conséquent, le Bureau estime qu'une « attention en partie satisfaisante » a été accordée à la lacune.

Réponse de Transports Canada (juin 2008)

TC a indiqué, en juin 2008, que le Règlement sur la sécurité-incendie proposé exigera que les nouveaux navires à passagers d'une jauge brute supérieure à 150 respectent et, à certains égards, surpassent les normes de la Convention internationale pour la sauvegarde de la vie humaine en mer (Convention SOLAS) visant la protection structurale contre l'incendie. Le règlement proposé traitera aussi des modifications majeures apportées à des navires existants. Ainsi, toute modification majeure devra respecter les exigences les plus récentes en matière de protection structurale contre l'incendie.

Tous les navires à passagers immatriculés au Canada qui ont été construits après 1979 devaient respecter les Normes équivalentes de protection contre l´incendie des navires à passagers (TP 2237). TC examinera la situation de ces derniers navires pour confirmer que le risque est faible. Au besoin, le Ministère modifiera en conséquence le Règlement sur la sécurité-incendie. Le projet de Règlement sur la sécurité-incendie devrait faire l'objet d'une prépublication dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada à l'automne 2008.

Évaluation du Bureau (septembre 2008)

Depuis la dernière évaluation, aucun élément nouveau d'importance n'a été noté au regard de la lacune de sécurité. Un complément d'information a indiqué que le Règlement sur la sécurité-incendie proposé devrait faire l'objet d'une prépublication dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada à l'automne 2009.

En conséquence, le Bureau estime toujours qu'une « attention en partie satisfaisante » a été accordée à la lacune.

Réponse de Transports Canada (novembre 2009)

TC a indiqué, en novembre 2009, que le Règlement sur la sécurité-incendie proposé exigera que les nouveaux navires à passagers d'une jauge brute supérieure à 150 respectent et, à certains égards, surpassent les normes de la Convention SOLAS visant la protection structurale contre l'incendie. Le règlement proposé traitera aussi des modifications majeures apportées à des navires existants. Ainsi, toute modification majeure devra respecter les exigences en matière de protection structurale contre l'incendie. Tous les navires à passagers immatriculés au Canada qui ont été construits après 1979 devaient respecter les Normes équivalentes de protection contre l´incendie des navires à passagers (TP 2237).

TC examinera la situation de ces derniers navires pour confirmer que le risque est faible. Au besoin, le ministère modifiera en conséquence le Règlement sur la sécurité-incendie qui est proposé. Le projet de Règlement sur la sécurité-incendie devrait faire l'objet d'une prépublication dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada au printemps de 2010.

Évaluation du Bureau (mai 2010)

TC n'a pas encore déterminé si l'on modifierait ou non le Règlement sur la sécurité-incendieproposé pour qu'il tienne compte des navires construits avant 1979, lesquels ne sont pas visés par le règlement actuel. Toutefois, TC a indiqué que le Règlement sur la sécurité-incendie proposé exigera que les nouveaux navires à passagers d'une jauge brute supérieure à 150 respectent et, à certains égards, surpassent les normes de la Convention SOLAS visant la protection structurale contre l'incendie. On prévoit maintenant que le projet de Règlement sur la sécurité-incendie fera l'objet d'une prépublication dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada à l'été 2010.

En conséquence, le Bureau estime toujours qu'une « attention en partie satisfaisante » a été accordée à la lacune.

Réponse de Transports Canada (décembre 2010)

TC a indiqué, en décembre 2010, que le Règlement sur la sécurité-incendie proposé exigera que les nouveaux navires à passagers d'une jauge brute supérieure à 150 respectent et, à certains égards, surpassent les normes de la Convention SOLAS visant la protection structurale contre l'incendie. Le règlement proposé traitera aussi des modifications apportées à des navires existants. Ainsi, toute modification majeure devra respecter les exigences en matière de protection structurale contre l'incendie. Tous les navires à passagers immatriculés au Canada qui ont été construits après 1979 devaient respecter les Normes équivalentes de protection contre l´incendie des navires à passagers (TP 2237).

Un examen des dossiers de TC montre qu'il y a 36 traversiers et navires à passagers construits avant 1979 qui sont encore en activité. Dix de ces navires sont des navires à passagers qui ne sont pas susceptibles d'être touchés par un incendie sur leurs ponts-garages. Un grand nombre de ces navires ont bénéficié ou bénéficieront d'une mise à niveau de leur protection structurale contre l'incendie au moment de leur radoub de mi-vie, ou bien seront retirés du service.

En conséquence, TC considère que le risque est faible et qu'il n'est pas nécessaire de modifier le Règlement sur la sécurité-incendie proposé. On prévoit que le projet de Règlement sur la sécurité-incendie fera l'objet d'une prépublication dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada au cours du deuxième trimestre de 2011.

Évaluation du Bureau (mai 2011)

TC a déterminé que les dispositions du projet de Règlement sur la sécurité-incendie qui portent sur la protection structurale contre l'incendie ne seront pas modifiées pour inclure les navires à passagers non rouliers construits avant 1979. Qu'un navire à passagers soit muni ou non de ponts-garages, il y a toujours un risque de propagation des incendies à travers des cloisons et d'un pont à l'autre. Le Bureau est encore préoccupé par le fait que, faute d'exigences réglementaires visant cette protection, d'autres navires immatriculés au Canada peuvent avoir une protection structurale insuffisante près des compartiments posant un risque élevé d'incendie.

TC a fait savoir qu'il ne prendra pas de mesures pour inclure les navires construits avant 1979. Par conséquent, le Bureau estime toujours qu'une attention en partie satisfaisante a été accordée à la lacune.

Réponse à la recommandation M05 06 (décembre 2011)

Le Règlement sur la sécurité‑incendie proposé exigera que les nouveaux navires à passagers d'une jauge brute supérieure à 150 tonneaux respectent et, à certains égards, surpassent les normes de la Convention internationale pour la sauvegarde de la vie humaine en mer (SOLAS) visant la protection structurelle contre l'incendie. Le Règlement traitera aussi des modifications majeures apportées à des navires existants, qui devront respecter les exigences les plus récentes en matière de protection structurelle contre l'incendie. Tous les navires à passagers immatriculés au Canada qui ont été construits après 1979 devaient respecter les Normes équivalentes de protection contre l´incendie des navires à passagers (TP 2237).

Aux termes du Règlement sur la construction des coques, les navires à passagers doivent déjà disposer d'une isolation de type A60 entre la salle des machines, les locaux d'habitation et les autres locaux, notamment les postes de commande. Toutefois, les traversiers rouliers ne nécessitaient pas de système de protection contre les incendies au plafond des salles des machines donnant sur un pont‑garage, car ce pont était considéré comme un espace ouvert jusqu'à la publication des Normes équivalentes de protection contre l´incendie des navires à passagers (TP 2237).

Les dossiers d'inspection de Transports Canada (TC) montrent que 91 navires à passagers d'une jauge brute supérieure à 500 tonneaux sont en service au Canada (ou le seront bientôt) – p. ex. certificat d'inspection en 2010 ou ultérieurement. Selon les dossiers de TC, 55 de ces navires ont été construits ou remis à neuf après 1979. Des 36 navires restants, 7 sont des navires à passagers qui ne sont pas susceptibles d'être affectés par un incendie sur leurs ponts‑garages. Un grand nombre des 29 bâtiments restants ont bénéficié ou bénéficieront d'une mise à niveau de leur protection structurelle contre les incendies au moment de leur radoub de mi‑vie, ou bien seront retirés du service.

TC continuera de collaborer avec les propriétaires et l'Association canadienne des opérateurs de traversiers afin de surveiller l'état de la flotte et de vérifier que la protection structurale contre les incendies est mise à niveau lorsqu'une modification majeure est réalisée.

En conséquence, TC considère que le risque est faible; de plus, comme on indique ci‑dessus que la recommandation a été suivie, il n'est pas nécessaire de modifier le Règlement sur la sécurité‑incendie proposé. Le Règlement sur la sécurité‑incendieproposédevrait être publié dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada au cours du premier trimestre de 2012.

Réévaluation par le BST de la réponse à la recommandation M05 06 (mars 2012)

TC a choisi de ne pas modifier les dispositions sur la protection structurelle contre les incendies dans la proposition de Règlement sur la sécurité‑incendie,afin d'inclure certains navires à passagers non rouliers construits avant 1979. Peu importe si un navire à passagers est doté de ponts‑garages, il existe un risque de propagation de l'incendie par les cloisons et les ponts. Le BST demeure préoccupé par l'absence d'exigences réglementaires sur ce type de protection, qui fait en sorte que des navires à passagers battant pavillon canadien disposent d'une protection insuffisante dans les compartiments où il existe un risque élevé d'incendie, ce qui fait courir des risques aux passagers, à l'équipage et au navire.

Comme TC a réitéré qu'il ne prendrait pas de mesures pour inclure les navires construits avant 1979, le BST estime que la réponse à la recommandation demeure en partie satisfaisante.

Suivi exercé par le BST

Le présent dossier est mis en veilleuse.