Recommendation M93-03

Reassessment of the Responses to Marine Safety Recommendation M93-03

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Stowage and Launching of Liferafts

Background

On 16 December 1990, while returning from fishing grounds in the Gulf of St. Lawrence in heavy weather, the "NADINE", a 37-metre fishing vessel, listed to port and sank by the stern. There is evidence that several openings on the after deck had not been secured/closed, and the vessel flooded through these openings, disabling the steering unit in the lazaret, eventually leading to the sinking.

In a separate occurrence on 30 January, 1993, the 35.4 m scallop dragger "CAPE ASPY" of Lunenburg, Nova Scotia, with a crew of 16, sank off the south coast of Nova Scotia south-east of Cape Sable, Island.  Evidence provided by the survivors indicates that several watertight/weathertight doorways and hatches were left in the open position during the severe weather conditions prevailing at the time.

The Board issued interim recommendation M93-03 in 1993. The Board concluded its investigation and released report M93M4004 on 07 July 1994.

Board Recommendation M93-03 (25 March 1993)

Prior to sinking, the "CAPE ASPY" listed to starboard and some crew members reported they were physically unable to launch the liferaft. On many vessels, such as the "CAPE ASPY", manual launching of the liferafts weighing 250 to 350 lbs (which are normally stowed behind fixed railings) is required for safe abandonment. To manually launch such liferafts, they must be lifted over fixed railings. Icing on the liferaft and its securing devices in winter months may exacerbate the difficulty of launching and require extreme effort, perhaps unnecessarily delaying the abandonment. The Board, therefore, recommended that:

The Department of Transport ensure that liferafts on all federally approved or inspected vessels are stowed in such a manner as to permit easy manual launching under any conditions likely to be encountered by that vessel.

M93-03

Response to M93-03 (23 June 1993)

The Minister of Transport accepts the recommendation. The stowage and availability of liferafts is extremely important. Present regulations already address this issue. A Ship Safety Bulletin with recommendations for their installation and subsequent easier manual launching will be issued.

Board Assessment of the Response to M93-03 (23 July 1993)

As indicated in the response, a SSB with recommendations for installation of inflatable liferafts and subsequent easier launching was issued (SSB No. 9/93 dated 93-07-06).

The response also indicates that the Transportation Development Centre and the Canadian Coast Guard are jointly funding a research and development project into ways of improving the stowage of liferafts on board small vessels. It was further pointed out that proposed amendments to LSE regulations, currently under development, will require liferafts to be stowed in such a manner as to be available for direct launching under unfavourable conditions of trim and list. However, TSB staff has noted that the inflatable liferafts installed on several fishing vessels in the past were not in accordance with the intent of similar existing regulations. The staff believes that to ensure that these liferafts are stowed to permit easy manual launching, not only the regulations have to be in place but also effective implementation of such regulations is essential, i.e., the need for vigilance in monitoring and enforcement of such regulations. For example, it is felt that corrective measures could be taken by the Department of Transport during the ship plan approval process, during construction surveys, and during periodical inspections of vessels in service to ensure proper installation of inflatable liferafts. There was no explicit indication that this type of follow-up is being planned.

The response is considered Satisfactory in Part.

Response to M93-03 (14 March 2002)

Amendments regarding the stowage of liferafts have been incorporated into the Life Saving Equipment Regulations.

Board Reassessment to the Response to M93-03 (15 September 2004)

The amendments regarding the stowage of liferafts have been incorporated into the amended LSE Regulations; however these regulations do not apply to fishing vessels. As a result, the new Fishing Vessel Safety Regulations, which are still in the development stage will contain the same requirements when they are released, which will be in 2006. Vessels less than 25 m and classed a IV under the LSE (such as the Famille Dufour II) are not required to have their liferafts fitted with a float free arrangement. The response is considered Satisfactory Intent.

Response to M93-03 (07 December 2005)

TC has circulated the discussion paper of it intention to pursue provisions (Life Saving Equipment Regulations and the Fishing Vessel Safety Regulations) that all liferafts carried on passenger vessels and fishing vessels float free in the event of sinking.

Board Reassessment of the Response to M93-03 (07 December 2005)

Although TC considers this recommendation closed, TC has circulated the discussion paper of it intention to pursue provisions (Life Saving Equipment Regulations and the Fishing Vessel Safety Regulations) that all liferafts carried on passenger vessels and fishing vessels float free in the event of sinking. If fully implemented, the proposed action will substantially reduce the risks associated with non-deployment of liferafts.

No substantial change to address the safety deficiency since the last re-assessment.

Response to M93-03 (November 2006)

TC's update, dated November 2006, indicated that TC amended the Life Saving Equipment Regulations to require float free liferafts on passenger vessels and has proposed that similar provisions be adopted in the Fishing Vessel Safety Regulations for fishing vessels. The Fishing Vessel Safety Regulations are expected to be finalized in 2008.

Board Reassessment of the Response to M93-03 (November 2006)

The proposal to require float free liferafts for fishing vessels, if fully implemented, will substantially reduce the risks associated with non-deployment of liferafts

Therefore, the assessment remains as Satisfactory Intent.

Response to M93-03 (June 2008)

TC's update, dated June 2008, indicated that TC has amended the Life Saving Equipment Regulations to require float free liferafts on passenger vessels and has proposed that similar provisions be adopted in the proposed Fishing Vessel Safety Regulations for fishing vessels. Work is ongoing with respect to the carriage of liferafts in the proposed Fishing Vessel Safety Regulations. (Follow-up information indicated that the regulations are expected to be pre-publication of the proposed regulations in Canada Gazette, Part I, is the fall/winter 2009/2010.)

Ship Safety Bulletin 07/2007 was issued in August 2007 to shipowners, masters, mariners, operators, and fishers concerning the optimum stowage of liferafts. The Bulletin advises all shipowners and operators that the float free requirement for liferafts (including those that are davit launched) will be proposed to become mandatory for all vessels as part of the proposed Fishing Vessel Safety Regulations and the proposed Small Vessel Regulations.

Board Reassessment of the Response to M93-03 (September 2008)

The proposal to require float free liferafts for fishing vessels, if fully implemented, will substantially reduce the risks associated with non-deployment of liferafts.

Therefore, the assessment of the response remains as Satisfactory Intent.

Response to M93-03 (March 2010)

TC's update, dated March 2010, indicated that the Life Saving Equipment Regulations currently require float free liferafts on passenger vessels and similar provisions are included in the proposed new Fishing Vessel Safety Regulations for fishing vessels. Work is ongoing with respect to the carriage of liferafts in the proposed new Fishing Vessel Safety Regulations. Ship Safety Bulletin 07/2007 advised all shipowners and operators that the float free requirement for liferafts will be proposed to become mandatory for all vessels as part of the proposed new Fishing Vessel Safety Regulations and the proposed Small Vessel Regulations.

The proposed new Fishing Vessel Safety Regulations are anticipated to be pre-published in Part I of the Canada Gazette in the fourth quarter of 2011.

The proposed Small Vessel Regulations were pre-published in Part I of the Canada Gazette on April 25, 2009. Final approval and publication in Part II of the Canada Gazette is anticipated for the second quarter of 2010.

Board Reassessment of the Response to M93-03 (May 2010)

The Small Vessel Regulations were approved and published in Part II of the Canada Gazette on 12 May, 2010. Every liferaft stored on board a passenger-carrying vessel of not more than 15 gross tonnage that carry not more than 12 passengers, and a workboat of not more 15 gross tonnage, is to be stored in a manner that allows it to automatically float free if the vessel sinks.

The proposal to require float free liferafts for fishing vessels, if fully implemented, will substantially reduce the risks associated with non-deployment of liferafts.

Therefore, the assessment of the response remains as Satisfactory Intent.

Response to M93-03 (December 2010)

TC’s update, dated December 2010, restated that Life Saving Equipment Regulations currently require float free liferafts on passenger vessels and similar provisions are included in the proposed new Fishing Vessel Safety Regulations for fishing vessels. Work is ongoing with respect to the carriage of liferafts in the proposed new Fishing Vessel Safety Regulations. Ship Safety Bulletin 07/2007 advised all shipowners and operators that the float free requirement for liferafts will be proposed to become mandatory for all vessels as part of the proposed new Fishing Vessel Safety Regulations and the approved Small Vessel Regulations.

The proposed new Fishing Vessel Safety Regulations are anticipated to be prepublished in Part I of the Canada Gazette in the second quarter of 2012. The proposed regulations require that every liferaft that is carried on board the vessel be stored in a manner that allows it to automatically float free if the vessel sinks.

Board Reassessment of the Response to M93-03 (March 2011)

Since the proposed new Fishing Vessel Safety Regulations and the approved Small Vessel Regulations include the requirement that liferafts float free, the risk of not being able to launch under distress and in adverse environmental conditions will be substantially reduced or eliminated. However, the protracted delay in implementing these Fishing Vessel Safety Regulations continues to place lives at risk. Therefore, the assessment of the response remains as Satisfactory Intent.

Response to M93-03 (December 2011)

TC’s update, dated December 2011, focused on the training that is provided to TC Ship Safety Inspectors – both initially and as part of the Inspector update process. Information concerning life rafts is included in the Inspectors Training Program, and the Small Vessel Inspector Training Program given to all new inspectors and as an update to existing inspectors during refresher training.

Furthermore, Ship Safety Bulletin No. 07/2007 was issued and provides guidance information to both owners and Marine Safety Inspectors regarding the importance of optimum storage of life rafts onboard vessels. As well, the Small Vessel Regulations were published in the Canada Gazette, Part II, on May 12, 2010.  These regulations require all life rafts to be float free. The proposed new Fishing Vessel Safety Regulations are anticipated to be published in Canada Gazette, Part II in the 2nd quarter of 2013  The proposed regulations also require that every life raft that is carried on board the vessel is stored in a manner that allows it to automatically float free if the vessel sinks.

Board Reassessment of the Response to M93-03 (March 2012)

Through the Inspector training that TC has implemented, TC is providing a mechanism to ensure that the location of life rafts on all federally approved or inspected vessels are examined to verify that they are stowed to permit easy launching under any distress situation. The Small Vessel Regulations and the proposed Fishing Vessel Safety Regulations include the requirement that life rafts be float-free. The risk of not being able to launch under distress and in adverse environmental conditions will be substantially reduced or eliminated.

Therefore, the assessment of the response remains as Satisfactory Intent.

Response to M93-03 (November 2012)

Transport Canada has met this recommendation by way of the following actions and verifications and considers this closed:

  1. Life Saving Equipment Regulations S.143(5)(c) require every survival craft to be “stowed in a state of continuous readiness so that crew members may carry out preparation for embarkation and launching in less than 5 minutes”. This clause has been adopted from SOLAS Chapter III Regulation 13.1.3.  The intent of this clause is to apply in all weather conditions.
  2. The Small Vessel Regulations published in the Canada Gazette, Part II, on May 12, 2010 require all life rafts to be float free.
  3. Every member of a vessel’s complement, who is required to be onboard in order for the vessel to meet safe manning requirements of the Marine Personnel Regulations, must undergo Marine Emergency Duties (MED) training in which they are trained to launch life rafts in severe environmental conditions.
  4. Ship Safety Bulletin No. 07/2007 was issued and provides the guidance information to both owners and Marine Safety Inspectors regarding the importance of optimum stowage of life rafts onboard vessels.
  5. The information concerning life rafts is included in both the Inspector’s National Training Program and the Small Vessel Inspector Training Program that is given to all new inspectors and as an update to existing inspectors during refresher training.  Inspectors are also shown and given access to a manufacturer-specific (Hammar) executable file which explains the operation and fitting of hydrostatic type releases on life rafts.
  6. The Ship Inspection Reporting System includes an entry field for the last life raft servicing date, which is mandatorily required to be updated by an inspector at each periodic inspection.  The information is contained on the life raft itself, which ensures that the inspector visually checks the position of installation of the life raft.

Board reassessment of the response to M93-03 (March 2013)

As indicated by Transport Canada’s response of November 2012, TC’s Life Saving Equipment Regulations specify that life rafts are to be “stowed in a state of continuous readiness” and in addition, the Small Vessel Regulations require all life rafts to be float free. TC has also issued  Ship Safety Bulletin (SSB) 07/2007 providing guidance to shipowners, masters, operators, and fishers regarding the stowage of liferafts as indicated:

  1. Liferafts should be easily accessible and stowed in such a manner so as to ensure they have sufficient space around them for launching, they are not required to be lifted more than 1.5 m (5ft) from their cradles, and that at no time would it be necessary for persons to lift a liferaft over their heads.
  2. Unless launching arrangements are provided, liferafts should be stowed in a location so that, when lifted from their cradles and moved over to the shipside railing or bulwark, they fall directly overboard.
  3. Launching ramps used to assist in the deployment of liferafts should be significantly inclined to the horizontal so that their functioning is not adversely affected by an unfavourable 20º list.
  4. Mariners operating in conditions of potential icing are reminded to pay particular attention to ensuring that their survival appliances are operationally ready at all times.

This SSB satisfies the recommendation, and in addition, TC inspectors are checking the float free mechanisms, installation position and the date of the last life raft servicing. Also the TC Ship Inspection Reporting System requires the TC inspector to verify that the position and installation of the life raft has been inspected.

Therefore, the assessment of this response has been changed to Fully Satisfactory.

Next TSB action

The deficiency file is assigned Inactive status.

Recommandation M93-03

Réévaluation des réponses à la recommandation en matière de sécurité maritime M93-03

Arrimage et mise à l'eau des radeaux de sauvetage

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Introduction

Le 16 décembre 1990, en retournant par gros temps de lieux de pêche dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent, le Nadine, navire de pêche de 37 mètres, a gîté sur bâbord et coulé par l’arrière. Il semble que diverses ouvertures sur le pont arrière n’aient pas été fermées convenablement; le bateau a été envahi par ces ouvertures, ce qui a mis hors d’état l’appareil de gouverne de la cambuse et mené au naufrage.

Dans un autre événement, le 30 janvier 1993, le dragueur à pétoncles de 35,4 mètres Cape Aspy de Lunenburg (Nouvelle-Écosse), avec un équipage de 16 personnes, a sombré au large de la côte sud de la Nouvelle-Écosse, au sud-est de l’île Cape Sable. Selon le témoignage des survivants, plusieurs portes et écoutilles étanches à l’eau et aux intempéries étaient restées ouvertes malgré les conditions météorologiques violentes.

Le Bureau a présenté la recommandation provisoire M93‑03 en 1993. Le Bureau a conclu son enquête et publié le rapport M93M4004 le 7 juillet 1994.

Recommandation M93-03 du Bureau (le 25 mars 1993)

Avant de sombrer, le Cape Aspy a gîté sur tribord et certains membres d’équipage ont indiqué avoir été physiquement incapables de mettre le radeau de sauvetage à l’eau. Sur de nombreux navires, comme le Cape Aspy, les radeaux pesant de 250 à 350 lb (qui sont habituellement arrimés derrière des rambardes fixes) doivent être mis à l’eau manuellement en cas d’abandon. Pour ce faire, ils doivent être soulevés au-dessus de rambardes fixes. En hiver, la présence de glace sur le radeau de sauvetage et son dispositif d’arrimage peut rendre la mise à l’eau encore plus difficile et exiger un effort extrême, ce qui risque de retarder inutilement l’abandon. Le Bureau a donc recommandé que :

Le ministère des Transports s’assure qu’à bord de tous les navires approuvés ou inspectés par le gouvernement fédéral, les radeaux de sauvetage soient arrimés de façon à faciliter la mise à l’eau manuelle dans toutes les conditions que le navire est susceptible de rencontrer.

Recommandation M93-03 du BST

Réponse à M93-03 (le 23 juin 1993)

Le ministre des Transports accepte la recommandation. L’arrimage et l’accessibilité des radeaux de sauvetage revêtent une importance extrême. La réglementation actuelle en traite déjà. Un Bulletin de la sécurité des navires contenant des recommandations sur leur disposition visant à faciliter leur mise à l’eau manuelle sera publié.

Évaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à M93-03 (le 23 juillet 1993)

Comme l’indique la réponse, un Bulletin de la sécurité des navires contenant des recommandations sur la disposition des radeaux de sauvetage pneumatiques visant à faciliter leur mise à l’eau a été publié (BSN 9/93, daté du 6 juillet 1993).

La réponse indique aussi que le Centre de développement des transports et la Garde côtière canadienne financent conjointement un projet de recherche-développement visant les moyens d’améliorer l’arrimage des radeaux de sauvetage à bord de petits navires. Elle indique aussi que des modifications proposées au Règlement sur l’équipement de sauvetage exigeront que les radeaux de sauvetage soient arrimés de façon à être accessibles en vue d’une mise à l’eau directe dans des conditions défavorables de gîte et d’assiette. Cependant, le personnel du BST a noté que les radeaux de sauvetage pneumatiques qui se trouvaient à bord de nombreux bateaux de pêche dans le passé ne respectaient pas l’esprit de règlements semblables existants. Le personnel croit que pour s’assurer que les radeaux de sauvetage sont arrimés de façon à faciliter la mise à l’eau manuelle, il faut non seulement des règlements pertinents, mais aussi une application efficace de ces règlements – c’est-à-dire une vigilance dans la surveillance et le contrôle de leur mise en application. Par exemple, il semble que le ministère des Transports pourrait prendre des mesures correctives dans le cadre du processus d’approbation des plans des navires, pendant la surveillance de la construction et lors des inspections périodiques, pour veiller à la bonne disposition des radeaux de sauvetage pneumatiques. Rien n’indique explicitement qu’un tel suivi est prévu.

Le Bureau estime que la réponse est en partie satisfaisante.

Réponse à M93-03 (le 14 mars 2002)

Des modifications concernant l’arrimage des radeaux de sauvetage ont été apportées au Règlement sur l’équipement de sauvetage.

Réévaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à M93-03 (le 15 septembre 2004)

Les modifications concernant l’arrimage des radeaux de sauvetage ont été intégrées au Règlement sur l’équipement de sauvetage, mais ce règlement ne s’applique pas aux bateaux de pêche. Le nouveau Règlement sur la sécurité des bateaux de pêche, qui est toujours en voie d’élaboration, contiendra les mêmes exigences lorsqu’il sera adopté, en 2006. Les navires de moins de 25 mètres et de classe IV en vertu du Règlement sur l’équipement de sauvetage (comme le Famille Dufour II) ne sont pas tenus de prévoir un dispositif de dégagement libre pour leurs radeaux de sauvetage. Le Bureau estime que la réponse dénote une intention satisfaisante.

Réponse à M93-03 (le 7 décembre 2005)

Transports Canada a diffusé un document de discussion sur son intention de prévoir des dispositions (dans le Règlement sur l’équipement de sauvetage et le Règlement sur la sécurité des bateaux de pêche) voulant que tous les radeaux de sauvetage à bord de navires à passagers et de bateaux de pêche se dégagent librement en cas de naufrage.

Réévaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à M93-03 (le 7 décembre 2005)

Transports Canada considère que le dossier de cette recommandation est clos, mais il a diffusé le document de discussion sur son intention de prévoir des dispositions (dans le Règlement sur l’équipement de sauvetage et le Règlement sur la sécurité des bateaux de pêche) voulant que tous les radeaux de sauvetage à bord de navires à passagers et de bateaux de pêche se dégagent librement en cas de naufrage. Si elles sont pleinement mises en œuvre, les mesures proposées réduiront sensiblement les risques associés au non-dégagement des radeaux de sauvetage.

Il n’y a aucun changement de fond face à la lacune de sécurité depuis la dernière réévaluation.

Réponse à M93-03 (novembre 2006)

La mise à jour de Transports Canada datée de novembre 2006 indiquait que le ministère a modifié le Règlement sur l’équipement de sauvetage de façon à exiger des radeaux de sauvetage à dégagement libre à bord des navires à passagers, et a proposé que des dispositions semblables soient adoptées pour les bateaux de pêche, dans le Règlement sur la sécurité des bateaux de pêche. On prévoit que le Règlement sur la sécurité des bateaux de pêche sera parachevé en 2008.

Réévaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à M93-03 (novembre 2006)

La proposition visant à exiger des radeaux de sauvetage à dégagement libre pour les bateaux de pêche, si elle est pleinement mise en œuvre, réduira sensiblement les risques associés au non-dégagement des radeaux de sauvetage.

Le Bureau estime donc encore que la réponse dénote une intention satisfaisante.

Réponse à M93-03 (juin 2008)

La mise à jour de Transports Canada datée de juin 2008 indiquait que le ministère a modifié le Règlement sur l’équipement de sauvetage de façon à exiger des radeaux de sauvetage à dégagement libre à bord des navires à passagers, et a proposé que des dispositions semblables soient adoptées pour les bateaux de pêche, dans le Règlement sur la sécurité des bateaux de pêche. Le travail se poursuit à l’égard des radeaux de sauvetage dans le projet de Règlement sur la sécurité des bateaux de pêche. (Un complément d’information a indiqué que la prépublication du règlement proposé dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada est prévue à l’automne ou à l’hiver 2009-2010.)

Le Bulletin de la sécurité des navires07/2007 a été diffusé en août 2007 à l’intention des propriétaires de navires, des capitaines, des navigateurs, des exploitants et des pêcheurs, au sujet de l’arrimage optimal des radeaux de sauvetage. Le bulletin informe les propriétaires et exploitants de navires que l’obligation de prévoir des dispositifs à dégagement libre des radeaux de sauvetage (y compris les radeaux sous bossoir) sera proposée pour tous les navires dans le cadre du Règlement sur la sécurité des bateaux de pêche proposé et du Règlement sur les petits bâtiments proposé.

Réévaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à M93-03 (septembre 2008)

La proposition visant à exiger des radeaux de sauvetage à dégagement libre pour les bateaux de pêche, si elle est pleinement mise en œuvre, réduira sensiblement les risques associés au non-dégagement des radeaux de sauvetage.

Le Bureau estime donc encore que la réponse dénote une intention satisfaisante.

Réponse à M93-03 (mars 2010)

La mise à jour de Transports Canada datée de mars 2010 indiquait que le Règlement sur l’équipement de sauvetage exige actuellement des radeaux de sauvetage à dégagement libre à bord des navires à passagers, et que des dispositions semblables sont comprises dans le nouveau Règlement sur la sécurité des bateaux de pêche proposé. Le travail se poursuit à l’égard des radeaux de sauvetage dans le projet de Règlement sur la sécurité des bateaux de pêche. Le Bulletin de la sécurité des navires07/2007 a informé tous les propriétaires et exploitants de navires que l’obligation de prévoir des dispositifs à dégagement libre des radeaux de sauvetage (y compris les radeaux sous bossoir) sera proposée pour tous les navires dans le cadre du Règlement sur la sécurité des bateaux de pêche proposé et du Règlement sur les petits bâtiments proposé.

La prépublication dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada du nouveau Règlement sur la sécurité des bateaux de pêche proposé est prévue au quatrième trimestre de 2011.

Le Règlement sur les petits bâtiments proposé a été prépublié dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada le 25 avril 2009. L’approbation finale et la publication dans la partie II de la Gazette du Canada sont prévues au deuxième trimestre de 2010.

Réévaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à M93-03 (mai 2010)

Le Règlement sur les petits bâtiments a été approuvé et publié dans la partie II de la Gazette du Canada le 12 mai 2010. Chaque radeau de sauvetage à bord d’un navire à passagers faisant au plus 15 tonneaux de jauge brute et ne transportant pas plus de 12 passagers, et à bord d’un bateau de travail faisant au plus 15 tonneaux de jauge brute doit être arrimé de sorte qu’il se dégage automatiquement en cas de naufrage du navire.

La proposition visant à exiger des radeaux de sauvetage à dégagement libre pour les bateaux de pêche, si elle est pleinement mise en œuvre, réduira sensiblement les risques associés au non-dégagement des radeaux de sauvetage.

Le Bureau estime donc encore que la réponse dénote une intention satisfaisante.

Réponse à M93-03 (décembre 2010)

La mise à jour de Transports Canada datée de décembre 2010 réaffirmait que le Règlement sur l’équipement de sauvetage exige actuellement des radeaux de sauvetage à dégagement libre à bord des navires à passagers, et que des dispositions semblables sont comprises dans le nouveau Règlement sur la sécurité des bateaux de pêche proposé. Le travail se poursuit à l’égard des radeaux de sauvetage dans le projet de Règlement sur la sécurité des bateaux de pêche. Le Bulletin de la sécurité des navires07/2007 a informé tous les propriétaires et exploitants de navires que l’obligation de prévoir des dispositifs à dégagement libre pour les radeaux de sauvetage sera proposée pour tous les navires dans le cadre du nouveau Règlement sur la sécurité des bateaux de pêche proposé et du Règlement sur les petits bâtiments approuvé.

La prépublication dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada du nouveau Règlement sur la sécurité des bateaux de pêche proposé est prévue au deuxième trimestre de 2012. Le règlement proposé exige que chaque radeau de sauvetage à bord d’un navire soit arrimé de sorte qu’il se dégage automatiquement en cas de naufrage du navire.

Réévaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à M93-03 (mars 2011)

Puisque le nouveau Règlement sur la sécurité des bateaux de pêche proposé et le Règlement sur les petits bâtiments approuvé comportent l’exigence selon laquelle les radeaux de sauvetage doivent pouvoir se dégager librement, le risque de ne pouvoir les mettre à l’eau en cas de détresse ou de conditions environnementales défavorables s’en trouvera réduit sensiblement, voire éliminé. Toutefois, le retard prolongé dans la mise en œuvre du Règlement sur la sécurité des bateaux de pêche continue de mettre des vies en péril. Par conséquent, le Bureau estime encore que la réponse dénote une intention satisfaisante.

Réponse à la recommandation M93‑03 (décembre 2011)

Dans sa mise à jour de décembre 2011, TC s’est concentré sur la formation donnée aux inspecteurs de la sécurité des navires, dans le cadre de l’embauche et du processus de mise à jour des connaissances. De l’information sur les radeaux de sauvetage est incluse dans le programme de formation des inspecteurs. De plus, le programme de formation des inspecteurs de petits bâtiments est donné à tous les nouveaux inspecteurs ainsi qu’à tous les inspecteurs déjà en poste, dans le cadre d’une formation d’appoint.

Par ailleurs, le Bulletin de la sécurité des navires 07/2007, à l’intention des propriétaires et des inspecteurs de la Sécurité maritime, souligne l’importance d’un rangement optimal des radeaux de sauvetage à bord des bâtiments. De plus, aux termes du Règlement sur les petits bâtiments, publié dans la partie II de la Gazette du Canada le 12 mai 2010, tous les radeaux de sauvetage doivent être munis d’un dispositif leur permettant de se dégager librement. En vertu du Règlement sur la sécurité des bateaux de pêche proposé, qui devrait être publié dans la partie II de la Gazette du Canada durant le 2e trimestre de 2013, tous les radeaux de sauvetage doivent être entreposés de manière à pouvoir se dégager librement, de façon automatique, si le navire coule.

Réévaluation par le BST de la réponse à la recommandation M93‑03 (mars 2012)

Par le biais de la formation mise en œuvre à l’intention des inspecteurs, TC établit un mécanisme permettant de s’assurer que l’endroit où sont rangés les radeaux de sauvetage à bord des navires approuvés ou inspectés par le gouvernement fédéral est inspecté afin de vérifier qu’ils peuvent être lancés facilement en cas d’urgence. D’ailleurs, le Règlement sur les petits bâtiments et le Règlement sur la sécurité des bateaux de pêche proposé exigent que les radeaux de sauvetage puissent se dégager librement. Le risque de ne pas pouvoir les lancer en cas d’urgence est ainsi réduit considérablement ou éliminé.

Le Bureau estime encore que la réponse dénote une intention satisfaisante.

Suivi exercé par le BST (mars 2012)

Le personnel de la division Marine du BST surveillera la mise en œuvre des mesures proposées.

Réponse à la recommandation M93-03 (novembre 2012)

Transports Canada a atteint l’objectif de cette recommandation en prenant les mesures suivantes et considère que le dossier est clos :

  1. L’alinéa 143 (5)(c) du Règlement sur l’équipement de sauvetage stipule que les bateaux de sauvetage doivent être arrimés « de manière qu’ils soient prêts à être utilisés à tout moment pour que deux membres de l’équipage puissent mener à bien les préparatifs d’embarquement et de mise à l’eau en moins de cinq minutes ». Cet alinéa est tiré de la Convention internationale SOLAS (chapitre III, règle 13.1.3.) Il s’applique dans toutes les conditions météorologiques.
  2. Le Règlement sur les petits bâtiments qui a été publié dans la partie II de la Gazette du Canada le 12 mai 2010 exige que tous les radeaux de sauvetage soient à dégagement libre.
  3. Tous les membres de l’équipage qui doivent se trouver à bord afin de respecter les exigences sur l’effectif de sécurité du Règlement sur le personnel maritime (RPM) doivent suivre une formation sur les interventions en cas d’urgence maritime qui leur apprendra à mettre à l’eau les radeaux de sauvetage dans des conditions environnementales difficiles.
  4. Le Bulletin de la sécurité des navires 07/2007 à l’intention des propriétaires et des inspecteurs de la Sécurité maritime souligne l’importance d’un rangement optimal des radeaux de sauvetage à bord des bâtiments.
  5. De l’information sur les radeaux de sauvetage est incluse dans le programme national de formation des inspecteurs ainsi que dans le programme de formation des inspecteurs de petits bâtiments qui est donné à tous les nouveaux inspecteurs ainsi qu’à tous les inspecteurs déjà en poste, dans le cadre d’une formation d’appoint. Les inspecteurs ont de plus accès au fichier exécutable d’un fabricant (Hammar) qui explique le fonctionnement et l’installation des dispositifs de largage hydrostatiques sur les radeaux de sauvetage.
  6. Le système de rapport d’inspection des navires comprend un champ où doit être entrée la date du dernier entretien du radeau de sauvetage. L’inspecteur à l’obligation de mettre ce champ à jour à chacune des inspections périodiques. Comme l’information figure directement sur le radeau de sauvetage, l’inspecteur est à même d’observer la position d’installation du radeau de sauvetage.

Réévaluation par le BST de la réponse à la recommandation M93-03 (mars 2013)

Comme le mentionne Transports Canada dans sa réponse de novembre  2012, son Règlement sur l’équipement de sauvetage stipule que les bateaux de sauvetage doivent être arrimés « de manière qu’ils soient prêts à être utilisés à tout moment ». De plus, le Règlement sur les petits bâtiments exige que tous les radeaux de sauvetage soient à dégagement libre. TC a aussi publié le Bulletin sur la sécurité des navires 07/2007 qui comprend des « rappels à l’intention des propriétaires de bâtiments, des capitaines, des exploitants et des pêcheurs concernant l’arrimage des radeaux de sauvetage :

  1. Les radeaux de sauvetage devraient être facilement accessibles et arrimés de manière à laisser suffisamment d’espace pour leur mise à l’eau, sans qu’il soit nécessaire de les soulever à plus d’un mètre et demi (5 pieds) au-dessus du berceau et sans qu’il soit nécessaire pour les personnes de les lever au-dessus de leur tête.
  2. S’il n’est pas muni d’un dispositif de mise à l’eau, un radeau de sauvetage devrait être arrimé de façon à pouvoir tomber directement par-dessus bord lorsqu’il est levé hors du berceau et déplacé au-dessus du garde-corps ou du pavois.
  3. La rampe de mise à l’eau prévue pour faciliter le déploiement des radeaux de sauvetage devrait être inclinée considérablement par rapport à l’axe horizontal, afin que son fonctionnement ne soit pas gêné par une gîte défavorable de 20º.
  4. Lorsque les conditions sont propices à la formation de givre, les marins doivent s’assurer que leurs dispositifs de survie sont opérationnels en tout temps. »

Ce Bulletin sur la sécurité des navires est conforme à l’esprit de la recommandation. De plus, les inspecteurs de TC vérifient les dispositifs de dégagement libre, la position d’installation et la date du dernier entretien des radeaux de sauvetage. En outre, le Système de rapport d’inspection des navires de TC demande aux inspecteurs de TC de vérifier la position et l’installation des radeaux de sauvetage.

Ainsi, le Bureau estime que cette réponse est maintenant Entièrement satisfaisante.

Suivi exercé par le BST

Le présent dossier est classé inactif.