Recommendation A13-02

Reassessment of the response to TSB Recommendation A13-02

Underwater egress training for commercial flightcrews

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Background

On 25 May 2012, the Cochrane Air Service de Havilland DHC-2 Mk.1 Beaver floatplane (registration C-FGBF, serial number 168) departed Edgar Lake, Ontario, with 2 passengers and 300 pounds of cargo on board. The aircraft was destined for the company's main base located on Lillabelle Lake, Ontario, approximately 77 miles to the south. On arrival, a southwest-bound landing was attempted across the narrow width of the lake, as the winds favoured this direction. The pilot was unable to land the aircraft in the distance available and executed a go-around. At 1408, Eastern Daylight Time, shortly after full power application, the aircraft rolled quickly to the left and struck the water in a partially inverted attitude. The aircraft came to rest on the muddy lake bottom, partially suspended by the undamaged floats. The passenger in the front seat was able to exit the aircraft and was subsequently rescued. The pilot and rear-seat passenger were not able to exit and drowned.

The Board concluded its investigation and released report A12O0071 on 23 October 2013.

Board Recommendation A13-02 (October 2013)

Seaplane travel is common in Canada, particularly in British Columbia. In the Vancouver Harbour alone, there are about 33 000 floatplane movements per year, carrying approximately 300 000 passengers.

The Transportation Safety Board (TSB) has found that the risk of drowning for occupants involved in seaplane accidents is high. TSB and British Columbia Coroners Service data show that, over the last 20 years, about 70% of the fatalities resulting from accidents where aircraft crashed and were submerged in water were attributed to drowning. Half of the deceased were found in the submerged wreckage. While it could not be determined in all cases, some investigations found that the occupants were conscious and able to move around the cabin before they drowned. These past occurrences validate the probability that able-bodied persons can be trapped in sinking aircraft and drown as a result.

This investigation concluded that the pilot survived the impact, but was unable to locate a suitable exit and drowned. Pilots who receive underwater egress training have a greater probability of escaping from the aircraft and a greater chance of surviving the accident.

Transport Canada (TC) has recognized the critical importance of underwater egress training. However, at this point, such training remains voluntary. TC indicated that a process is currently underway to initiate the drafting of new regulations requiring underwater egress training using an accelerated procedure, but it did not provide a timeframe for these actions.

The TSB is concerned that pilots who have not received training in underwater egress may not be able to exit the aircraft and subsequently help passengers to safety.

Therefore the Board recommends that:

The Department of Transport require underwater egress training for all flight crews engaged in commercial seaplane operations.
TSB Recommendation A13-02

Transport Canada's response to Recommendation A13-02 (January 2014)

Transport Canada is currently drafting a proposed regulation that will introduce mandatory emergency underwater egress training for flight crews of commercially operated fixed wing seaplanes (Subpart 703 and 704) by amending current mandatory emergency training set out in the Standard 723 Aeroplanes and Standard 724 Aeroplanes of the Canadian Aviation Regulations.

The proposed regulation makes egress training mandatory for initial training, with recurrent training required every 3 years thereafter on an ongoing basis.

The proposed regulation is anticipated to be pre-published in the Canada Gazette, Part I in summer 2014.

Board assessment of Transport Canada's response to Recommendation A13-02 (March 2014)

In its response, TC indicated that it will amend the current mandatory emergency training to include initial and recurrent underwater egress training for commercial seaplane flight crews and that this proposed regulation will be pre-published in the Canada Gazette in summer 2014.

This could substantially reduce or eliminate the safety deficiency. However, for the present, the action has not yet been sufficiently advanced to reduce the risks to transportation safety.

Therefore, the response is assessed as Satisfactory Intent.

Transport Canada's response to Recommendation A13-02 (March 2015)

Transport Canada agrees with the recommendation.

The proposed regulations that address this recommendation are anticipated to be pre-published in the Canada Gazette, Part I in summer 2015.

Board reassessment of Transport Canada's response to Recommendation A13-02 (March 2015)

In its response, TC indicated that this proposed regulation will be pre-published in the Canada Gazette, Part I in summer 2015, a year later than the previous estimate of the summer of 2014. The proposed action could substantially reduce or eliminate the safety deficiency, but for the present, the action has not yet been sufficiently advanced to reduce the risks to transportation safety.

Therefore, the Board considers the response to the recommendation to indicate Satisfactory Intent.

Transport Canada's response to Recommendation A13-02 (November 2015)

Transport Canada (TC) agrees with the recommendation.

Stakeholders were consulted on a Notice of Proposed Amendment in summer 2014. The regulatory proposal was adjusted following stakeholder comments. Due to the 2015 Federal Elections, the expected publication date in the Canada Gazette, Part I is now spring 2016.

Board reassessment of Transport Canada's response to Recommendation A13-02 (March 2016)

In its response, TC indicated that this proposed regulation will be pre-published in the Canada Gazette, Part I in spring 2016, almost two years later than the first estimate of the summer of 2014. The proposed action could substantially reduce or eliminate the safety deficiency, but for the present, the action has not yet been sufficiently advanced to reduce the risks to transportation safety.

Therefore, the Board considers the response to the recommendation to indicate Satisfactory Intent.

Transport Canada's response to Recommendation A13-02 (January 2017)

Proposed amendments were published in Canada Gazette, Part I on May 21, 2016. Canada Gazette, Part II publication is anticipated in 2017.

TSB reassessment of Transport Canada's response to Recommendation A13-02 (March 2017)

The Board is encouraged that the proposed regulatory changes were published in the Canada Gazette, Part I, on 21 May 2016. TC anticipates the proposed regulatory changes to be published in the Canada Gazette, Part II, in 2017. Although these changes could substantially reduce or eliminate the safety deficiency, until they are fully implemented, the risks to transportation safety remain.

Therefore, the response to Recommendation A13-02 is assessed as Satisfactory Intent.

Transport Canada's response to Recommendation A13-02 (March 2018)

TC agrees with the recommendation.

Proposed amendments were published in the Canada Gazette, Part I on May 21, 2016. Canada Gazette, Part II publication is anticipated in fall 2018.

TSB reassessment of Transport Canada's response to Recommendation A13-02 (September 2018)

The Board is encouraged with the proposed regulatory amendments that were published in the Canada Gazette, Part I, in May 2016. These amendments will require mandatory initial and recurrent training, every 3 years thereafter, on underwater egress for pilots operating under the Canadian Aviation Regulations subparts 703 and 704.

The Board is, however, concerned with the additional delay for the publication of these amendments in the Canada Gazette, Part II. Although these amendments will, if published as currently proposed, substantially reduce or eliminate the safety deficiency identified in Recommendation A13-02, until they are fully implemented, the risks to transportation safety remain.

Therefore, the response to Recommendation A13-02 is assessed as Satisfactory Intent.

Next TSB action

The Board will continue to monitor the publication date of the amendments to the seaplane pilot egress training requirements in the Canada Gazette, Part II, currently scheduled for fall 2018.

This deficiency file is Active.

Recommandation A13-02

Réévaluation de la réponse à la recommandation en matière de sécurité aérienne A13-02

Formation sur l'évacuation subaquatique à l'intention des équipages de vols commerciaux

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Contexte

Le 25 mai 2012, l'hydravion à flotteurs de Havilland DHC-2 Mk.1 Beaver exploité par Cochrane Air Service (immatriculé C-FGBF et portant le numéro de série 168) décolle d'Edgar Lake (Ontario), avec à son bord 2 passagers et 300 livres de fret. L'aéronef se dirige vers la base principale de la société située au lac Lillabelle (Ontario), à environ 77 milles au sud. À l'arrivée, le pilote tente d'effectuer un amerrissage en direction sud-ouest, selon une trajectoire traversant le lac sur sa partie étroite, étant donné que les vents sont favorables dans cette direction. Constatant que la distance est insuffisante pour poser l'appareil, le pilote remet les gaz. À 14 h 8, heure avancée de l'Est, peu de temps après la remise des gaz à pleine puissance, l'avion s'incline rapidement vers la gauche et frappe l'eau selon une assiette de vol partiellement inversée. L'avion s'immobilise sur le fond boueux du lac, en partie suspendu par les flotteurs, qui sont toujours en bon état. Le passager occupant le siège avant réussit à sortir de l'avion et est secouru. Le pilote et le passager occupant le siège arrière sont incapables de sortir et se noient.

Le Bureau a conclu son enquête et a publié le rapport A12O0071 le 23 octobre 2013.

Recommandation du Bureau A13-02 (octobre 2014)

Au Canada, les voyages en hydravions sont fréquents, notamment en Colombie-Britannique. Chaque année, dans le port de Vancouver, environ 33 000 mouvements d'hydravions transportent près de 300 000 passagers.

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports (BST) a conclu que le risque de noyade en cas d'accident est élevé pour les occupants d'hydravions. Les données du BST et du British Columbia Coroners Service (bureau des médecins légistes de la Colombie-Britannique) montrent en effet que, au cours des 20 dernières années, près de 70 % des victimes d'accidents d'hydravion ont péri par noyade à la suite d'un écrasement dans l'eau. Dans la moitié des cas, les corps ont été trouvés dans l'épave submergée. S'il n'est pas toujours possible de déterminer les faits avec certitude, certaines enquêtes ont toutefois pu établir que les occupants étaient conscients et capables de se déplacer dans la cabine avant de se noyer. De tels événements confirment la probabilité selon laquelle des personnes physiquement aptes peuvent se retrouver coincées dans un avion immergé et se noyer.

L'enquête a permis de conclure que le pilote avait survécu à l'impact, mais s'est noyé, n'ayant pas pu trouver une issue. Les pilotes qui reçoivent une formation sur l'évacuation subaquatique ont de meilleures chances de sortir d'un hydravion et de survivre à un accident.

Transports Canada (TC) a reconnu l'importance capitale de la formation sur l'évacuation subaquatique. À l'heure actuelle, cette formation demeure toutefois facultative. TC a indiqué qu'un processus accéléré était en cours afin d'entreprendre la rédaction de règlements rendant obligatoire la formation sur l'évacuation subaquatique, mais n'a pas fourni de date d'échéance pour ces activités.

Le BST se préoccupe du fait que les pilotes qui n'ont pas reçu la formation sur l'évacuation subaquatique puissent être incapables de sortir d'une épave pour ensuite secourir les passagers. En conséquence, le Bureau recommande que :

Le ministère des Transports exige que tous les équipages d’hydravions commerciaux suivent une formation sur l’évacuation subaquatique.
Recommandation A13-02 du BST

Réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation A13-02 (janvier 2014)

Transports Canada est en train de rédiger un projet de règlement prévoyant une formation obligatoire sur l'évacuation subaquatique en cas d'urgence à l'intention des équipages d'hydravions à voilure fixe exploités à des fins commerciales (sous-parties 703 et 704) en modifiant les dispositions actuelles relatives à la formation obligatoire sur les opérations d'urgence prévue par la norme 723 (Avions) et la norme 724 (Avions) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien.

Le règlement proposé rend obligatoire la formation sur l'évacuation dans le cadre de la formation initiale, ainsi qu'une formation périodique obligatoire tous les 3 ans.

Le règlement proposé devrait faire l'objet d'une publication préalable dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada au cours de l'été 2014.

Évaluation par le Bureau de la réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation A13-02 (mars 2014)

Transports Canada indique dans sa réponse qu'il modifiera la formation obligatoire actuelle relative aux opérations d'urgence de manière à inclure une formation initiale et une formation périodique sur l'évacuation subaquatique à l'intention des équipages d'hydravions commerciaux, et que le règlement proposé fera l'objet d'une publication préliminaire dans la Gazette du Canada au cours de l'été 2014.

Cette mesure pourrait réduire de manière importante ou éliminer complètement le manquement à la sécurité. Toutefois, à l'heure actuelle, l'évolution des mesures n'est pas encore assez avancée pour réduire les risques liés à la sécurité des transports.

En conséquence, le BST évalue que la réponse dénote une intention satisfaisante.

Réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation A13-02 (mars 2015)

Transports Canada est d'accord avec la recommandation.

On s'attend à ce que les règlements proposés à l'égard de cette recommandation fassent l'objet d'une prépublication dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada à l'été 2015.

Réévaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à la recommandation A13-02 (mars 2015)

Dans sa réponse, TC a indiqué que les règlements proposés feront l'objet d'une prépublication dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada à l'été 2015, soit un an plus tard que prévu. La mesure proposée pourrait considérablement réduire ou éliminer cette lacune de sécurité. Toutefois, à l'heure actuelle, cette mesure n'a pas atteint un stade d'évolution suffisant pour réduire les risques liés à la sécurité des transports.

En conséquence, le BST évalue que la réponse dénote une intention satisfaisante.

Réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation A13-02 (novembre 2015)

Transports Canada (TC) est d'accord avec cette recommandation.

Au cours de l'été 2014, on a consulté les intervenants au sujet d'un Avis de proposition de modification. La proposition réglementaire a été modifiée en fonction des commentaires de ces intervenants. En raison des élections fédérales de 2015, on s'attend désormais à ce que cette réponse soit publiée dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada au printemps 2016.

Réévaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à la recommandation A13-02 (mars 2016)

Dans sa réponse, TC a indiqué qu'il prévoit la prépublication du règlement proposé dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada au printemps 2016, c'est-à-dire près de deux ans après le moment initialement prévu (l'été 2014). La mesure proposée pourrait considérablement réduire ou éliminer cette lacune de sécurité; toutefois, à l'heure actuelle, cette mesure n'a pas atteint un stade d'évolution suffisant pour réduire les risques liés à la sécurité des transports.

C'est pourquoi le Bureau estime que la réponse à la recommandation dénote une intention satisfaisante.

Réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation  A13-02 (janvier 2017)

Les modifications proposées ont été publiées dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada le 21 mai 2016. La publication dans la partie II de la Gazette du Canada est prévue en 2017.

Réévaluation par le BST de la réponse à la recommandation A13-02 (mars 2017)

Le Bureau juge encourageant le fait que les modifications aux règlements proposées ont été publiées dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada le 21 mai 2016. TC prévoit que les modifications aux règlements proposées seront publiées dans la partie II de la Gazette du Canada en 2017. Les mesures proposées pourraient considérablement réduire ou éliminer cette lacune de sécurité; toutefois, tant qu’elles ne seront pas entièrement mises en œuvre, les risques pour la sécurité des transports demeureront.

C’est pourquoi le Bureau estime que la réponse à la recommandation A13-02 dénote une intention satisfaisante.

Suivi exercé par le BST

Le BST continuera de surveiller la progression des changements réglementaires proposés par TC et réévaluera cette lacune annuellement ou au besoin.

Le présent dossier est classé actif.