Recommendation A11-03

Reassessment of the response to Aviation Safety Recommendation A11-03

Safe ditching and successful evacuation

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Background

On 12 March 2009, at 0917 Newfoundland and Labrador Daylight Time, a Cougar Helicopters' Sikorsky S-92A (registration C-GZCH, serial number 920048), operated as Cougar 91, departed St. John's International Airport, Newfoundland and Labrador, with 16 passengers and 2 flight crew, to the Hibernia oil production platform. At approximately 0945, 13 minutes after levelling off at a flight-planned altitude of 9000 feet above sea level (asl), a main gearbox (MGB) oil pressure warning light illuminated. The helicopter was about 54 nautical miles (nm) from the St. John's International Airport. The flight crew declared an emergency, began a descent to 800 feet asl, and diverted back towards St. John's. At 0955, approximately 35 nm from St. John's, the crew reported that they were ditching. Less than 1 minute later, the helicopter struck the water in a slight right-bank, nose-high attitude, with low speed and a high rate of descent. The fuselage was severely compromised and sank quickly in 169 metres of water. One passenger survived with serious injuries and was rescued approximately 1 hour and 20 minutes after the accident. The other 17 occupants of the helicopter died of drowning.

The Board concluded its investigation and released report A09A0016 on 09 February 2011.

Board Recommendation A11-03 (February 2011)

Overwater helicopter operations transporting passengers to and from offshore oil and gas installations occur with the knowledge that an emergency situation may arise requiring a forced landing or ditching. In such circumstances the first priority must be preservation of life and safety of the passengers and crew.

Most helicopters in use to support the global offshore oil and gas industry, including the S-92A, have an emergency flotation system (EFS) which provides adequate ditching stability in “reasonably probable water conditions” of at least sea state 4 World Meteorological Organization (WMO)Footnote 1 and is intended to keep the helicopter upright while occupants escape to the life rafts.

However, helicopters frequently operate over water where the conditions exceed sea state 4 WMO. For instance, in the waters off Newfoundland, statistics from Environment Canada indicate that sea state 4 is exceeded approximately 50% of the time over the course of the entire year, and 83% of the time between December and February. Sea state 6 WMO, by comparison, is exceeded much less frequently; 3.3% over the year and 8.9% between December and February.

Twin-engine helicopters typically have a high center of gravity because of the weight of the engines and the main rotor gearbox located on the cabin roof. Consequently, there is a strong likelihood that these helicopters will capsize after ditching unless they are equipped with an EFS which is appropriate for the prevailing sea state.

When EFS systems do not operate successfully, twin-engine helicopters invariably turn upside down, leading to complete flooding of the cabin and immersion of all doors and windows. Escape is very difficult because all escape routes are submerged and occupants who do not escape from the cabin within a matter of seconds will drown.

Although some steps have been taken in Newfoundland to ensure EFS capability for sea states beyond sea state 4, helicopter crews and passengers in Canada remain at risk where helicopters are operated over sea states exceeding the capability of the EFS.

Therefore, the Board recommends that:

Transport Canada prohibit commercial operation of Category A transport helicopters over water when the sea state will not permit safe ditching and successful evacuation.
TSB Recommendation A11-03

Transport Canada's response to Recommendation A11-03 (June 2011)

“Transport Canada (TC) is initiating a focus group during the summer of 2011 with industry stakeholders to review the recommendations related to when the sea state will not permit safe ditching, and successful evacuation as well as mandatory supplemental breathing apparatus be made mandatory for all occupants of helicopters involved in overwater flights who are required to wear a Passenger Transportation Suit System (PTSS).

On the basis of these discussions, Transport Canada will develop an advisory bulletin for publication in the fall of 2011. Transport Canada will also present the results from the focus group to the Canadian Aviation Regulation Advisory Council (CARAC) at the next meeting in fall 2011 as the basis for amendments to the rules that would be consulted using the accelerated process.

Transport Canada has further initiated a comprehensive review of other offshore helicopter operations (such as North Sea operations) and the existing Canadian regulatory framework to determine if other specific regulations are required.

TC will also continue to work with the Canada Newfoundland and Labrador Offshore Petroleum Board (CNLOPB) enquiry (sic) and the resulting recommendations, expected by the fall of 2011 that may need to be taken account of in changes to the rules.”

Board assessment of Transport Canada's response to A11-03 (June 2011)

In its response, TC indicated that during the summer of 2011, a focus group will complete a review of the recommendations related to when the sea state will not permit safe ditching, and successful evacuation. Depending on the outcome of these discussions, TC will publish an advisory bulletin. In addition, it will submit the results to CARAC, as the basis for amendments to the rules. TC has also indicated it will be using an accelerated process to consider amendments to the rules.

If rules are put in place to limit overwater helicopter operations when the sea state exceeds the capability of the helicopter's EFS, they will significantly reduce the associated risk.

Therefore, the response is assessed as Satisfactory Intent.

Transport Canada's response to Recommendation A11-03 (September 2011)

“Transport Canada completed a Focus Group meeting (August 8th through 12th, 2011) which reviewed TSB Recommendation A11-03. The Focus Group proposed that performance-based regulations be drafted to meet the intent of the TSB Recommendation. These proposals were subsequently examined in depth and agreed-to by TC senior management at a CARC meeting in early September. The process is currently underway to initiate the drafting of appropriate regulations, using an accelerated process.

Target for completion is December 2012.”

On 17 January 2012, TC advised that an advisory bulletin, originally planned for publication in the fall of 2011 would be published by the end of March 2012.

On 28 March 2012, TC submitted an update stating the following:

Following the results of the focus group which took place in the summer of 2011, proposed regulations are being developed. A Notice of Intent has been sent to stakeholders for comment on the policy objectives.

Transport Canada (TC) is proposing to amend the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs) to introduce a new definition of offshore operations in accordance with that from the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) and introduce performance-based provisions in Part 6, subpart 2 to require all helicopters operated offshore be equipped with an emergency flotation system (EFS), that is designed for use in the event of a forced ditching, and its rating is based on the sea state at destination

In addition, TC provided an explanation of its accelerated rulemaking process.

Recommendations A11-06, A11-05 and A11-04, A11-03 are part of a pilot project initiated by TCCA introducing an accelerated rulemaking process. Two risk analysis focus groups were formed (involving industry representatives) resulting in recommended actions. As part of the next steps, CARAC members received a Notice of Intent indicating what regulatory changes are proposed and were invited to provide comments. The drafting of the proposed regulations by the Department of Justice and the public consultation take place simultaneously; the proposed regulations are finalized only after the public consultation period has closed and comments have been disposed of.

Board reassessment of the response to Recommendation A11-03 (March 2012)

A Transport Canada focus group has proposed performance–based regulations be drafted to meet the intent of the TSB Recommendation and this has been accepted by TC senior management. An accelerated process to draft the new regulations and complete the process is currently underway with a target date for completion set for December 2012. If these new regulations meet the intent of Recommendation A11-03, when fully implemented, they should substantially reduce or eliminate the safety deficiency as described in Recommendation A11-03.

The response is considered Satisfactory Intent.

Transport Canada's response to Recommendation A11-03 (December 2012)

“Industry is complying with these recommendations without regulation through the Canadian Newfoundland Labrador Offshore Petroleum Board (C-NLOPB))

As part of the accelerated rulemaking process, a focus group was held in the summer of 2011. Amendments to the regulations will be pre-published in the Canada Gazette Part I as soon as possible, likely in early 2013.”

In an email dated 12 December 2012, TC provided the following clarification:

“TC is expecting the draft regulations to be pre-published in Gazette 1 in early 2013. Should there be no unforeseen issues, TC is anticipating the regulations to be published in Gazette 2 late in 2013.”

Board reassessment of the response to Recommendation A11-03 (March 2013)

In its response, TC indicates that the offshore oil industry is following these recommendations without regulation. However, the intent of Recommendation A11-03 was that TC prohibit commercial operation of Category A transport helicopters over water when the sea state will not permit safe ditching and successful evacuation, for all operators, not only Newfoundland operators. Therefore, it is important that progress continues on the new requirement to prohibit commercial operation of Category A transport helicopters over water when the sea state will not permit safe ditching and successful evacuation.

TC anticipates that amendments to the regulations will be pre-published in the Canada Gazette Part I in early 2013 and then be published in Gazette Part 2 late in 2013.

While in January 2012, TC indicated that an advisory bulletin would be developed for publication in March 2012, as of 18 December 2012, no update on the status of this advisory bulletin was provided.

Therefore, the response is assessed as Satisfactory Intent.

Transport Canada's response to Recommendation A11-03 (November 2013)

Proposed regulations that address this recommendation were pre-published in Part I of the Canada Gazette on 16 November 2013.

Board reassessment of the response to Recommendation A11-03 (April 2014)

In its response of 04 December 2012, Transport Canada indicated that the offshore oil industry in Canada is already following these recommendations without regulation. TC has also now finalized a new regulation prohibiting commercial operation of Category A transport helicopters over water when the sea state will not permit safe ditching and successful evacuation. This new regulation was published in Part I of the Canada Gazette on 16 November 2013. If this regulation comes into effect, the action that TC has taken will substantially reduce the safety deficiency.

Therefore, the response is assessed as Satisfactory Intent.

Transport Canada's response to Recommendation A11-03 (April 2015)

TC announced the coming into force of amendments to the Canadian Aviation Regulations that will prohibit helicopter operations over water when the sea state exceeds the helicopter's certified limits for ditching.

The objectives of these amendments are to reduce the risks associated with offshore operations flights by ensuring that future offshore flight operators follow a consistent national standard, to further harmonize the Canadian regulations with the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) standards and best practices, and to address the TSB's recommendations.

These amendments will

  • introduce a definition of “offshore operations flight”.
  • introduce a requirement that helicopters cannot be used for the conduct of offshore operations when the sea state reported or forecast prior to departure along the planned flight route, or reported at the destination, exceeds the sea state for which the helicopter is certified for ditching in water (an exemption is provided for emergency operations). The aircraft float manufacturers provide data to specify the maximum sea state level for which the helicopter is certified for ditching;
  • introduce a requirement that the pilot-in-command shall proceed directly to a land base if the sea state, at any point along the planned route, exceeds the sea state for which the helicopter is certified

Board reassessment of the response to Recommendation A11-03 (May 2015)

In its response dated 28 April 2015, TC announced the coming into force of amendments to the Canadian Aviation Regulations that will introduce a requirement that helicopters cannot be used for the conduct of offshore operations when the sea state reported or forecast prior to departure along the planned flight route, or reported at the destination, exceeds the sea state for which the helicopter is certified for ditching in water (an exemption is provided for emergency operations).

These regulations will come into effect in July 2015 and will align Canadian requirements with international standards and best practices for offshore helicopter operations.

This action will substantially reduce the safety deficiency identified in A11-03 and therefore the Board re-assesses TC's response to the recommendation as being Fully Satisfactory.

Next TSB action (May 2015)

The deficiency file is Closed.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

WMO Sea State Code defines sea state 4 as being moderate with waves of 1.25 to 2.5 metres, sea state 5 as being rough with waves of 2.5 to 4 metres, and sea state 6 as being very rough, waves of 4 to 6 metres.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Recommandation A11-03

Réévaluation de la réponse à la recommandation en matière de sécurité aérienne A11-03

Amerrissage sécuritaire et évacuation réussie

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Contexte

Le 12 mars 2009 à 9 h 17, heure avancée de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, le Sikorsky S-92A (immatriculation C-GZCH, numéro de série 920048) de Cougar Helicopters exploité sous le numéro de vol Cougar 91 (CHI91), décolle de l’aéroport international de St. John’s (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador) à destination de la plateforme de forage Hibernia avec à son bord 16 passagers et 2 membres d’équipage. Vers 9 h 45, soit 13 minutes après la mise en palier à l’altitude prévue de 9000 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer (asl), un voyant d’alarme pour la pression d’huile de la boîte de transmission principale s’allume. L’hélicoptère est à environ 54 milles marins de l’aéroport de St. John’s. L’équipage déclare une situation d’urgence et commence à descendre en faisant demi-tour pour revenir à St. John’s. Il descend jusqu’à 800 pieds asl. À 9 h 55, à environ 35 milles marins de St. John’s, l’équipage signale qu’il fait un amerrissage forcé. Moins d’une minute plus tard, l’hélicoptère percute la surface de l’eau en cabré légèrement incliné à droite, à une faible vitesse avant mais à un taux de descente élevé. Le fuselage est lourdement endommagé et l’hélicoptère coule rapidement par 169 mètres de fond. Un passager gravement blessé survit et est secouru environ 1 heure et 20 minutes après l’accident. Les 17 autres passagers périssent noyés.

Le Bureau a terminé son enquête. Le rapport d’enquête A09A0016 a été publié le 9 février 2011.

Recommandation du Bureau A11-03 (février 2011)

Les opérations extracôtières de transport par hélicoptère de passagers entre la côte et les plateformes de forage ont lieu sachant qu’en cas d’urgence, l’hélicoptère pourrait être forcé d’atterrir ou d’amerrir. Dans cette perspective, la vie et la sécurité des passagers et des membres d’équipage doit constituer la priorité absolue.

La plupart des hélicoptères qui desservent l’industrie du pétrole et du gaz en haute mer, y compris le S-92A, sont munis d’un dispositif de flottaison d’urgence (DFU) qui offre, en cas d’amerrissage, une stabilité raisonnable selon des « conditions maritimes assez probables » équivalentes au moins à une mer de force 4 OMMNote de bas de page 1. Ce dispositif permet de maintenir l’hélicoptère debout assez longtemps pour que les occupants évacuent dans les radeaux de survie.

Cependant, les hélicoptères sont exploités fréquemment dans des régions où les mers dépassent la force 4 OMM. Par exemple, au large de Terre-Neuve, les statistiques d’Environnement Canada montrent que la mer dépasse la force 4 environ 50 % du temps durant l’année, et 83 % du temps entre les mois de décembre et février. En comparaison, la mer dépasse beaucoup moins souvent la force 6 OMM : 3,3 % du temps au cours de l’année, et 8,9 % du temps entre décembre et février.

Les hélicoptères bimoteurs ont normalement un centre de gravité élevé en raison du poids des moteurs et de la boîte de transmission principale, qui sont situés sur le toit de la cabine. Par conséquent, il est très probable qu’un tel hélicoptère chavirera après avoir amerri à moins d’être équipé d’un DFU adapté aux conditions dominantes de la mer.

Lorsque les DFU font défaut, les hélicoptères bimoteurs se renversent toujours sens dessus dessous, ce qui fait que la cabine est complètement inondée et que toutes les portes et fenêtres sont immergées. L’évacuation devient alors très difficile, les issues étant sous l’eau, et les occupants qui n’évacuent pas dès les premières secondes se noieront.

Bien que certaines démarches ont été faites à Terre-Neuve pour veiller à ce que les DFU fonctionnent sur une mer dépassant la force 4, les passagers et les équipages d’hélicoptères au Canada courent tout de même un risque lorsque les hélicoptères survolent des mers dont la force dépasse la capacité des DFU.

En conséquence, le Bureau recommande que :

Transports Canada interdise l’exploitation commerciale d’hélicoptères de transport de catégorie A en survol maritime lorsque l’état des mers ne permet pas d’amerrir de façon sécuritaire et de réussir l’évacuation de l’appareil.
Recommandation A11-03 du BST

Réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation A11-03 (juin 2011)

Transports Canada (TC) procédera à la mise sur pied d’un groupe de discussion au cours de l’été 2011 auquel participeront les intervenants du milieu aéronautique pour examiner les recommandations concernant l’état des mers ne permettant pas d’amerrir de façon sécuritaire et de réussir à évacuer un appareil, de même que l’obligation d’avoir des appareils respiratoires submersibles supplémentaires pour tous les occupants des hélicoptères en survol maritimes qui sont tenus de revêtir une combinaison pour passagers d’aéronef.

En se fondant sur ces discussions, Transports Canada élaborera un bulletin d’information qui sera diffusé à l’automne 2011. Transports Canada présentera également les conclusions du groupe de discussion au Conseil consultatif sur la réglementation aérienne canadienne (CCRAC) au cours de la prochaine réunion qui aura lieu à l’automne 2011 afin de servir de fondement aux modifications à la réglementation qui feront l’objet d’une consultation dans le cadre d’un processus accéléré.

Transports Canada a aussi entrepris un examen complet des autres entreprises de transport par hélicoptère en haute mer (telles les entreprises qui travaillent dans la mer du Nord) et du cadre actuel de la réglementation canadienne pour déterminer si d’autres règlements spécifiques sont nécessaires.

Transports Canada continuera de travailler avec l’Office Canada-Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador des hydrocarbures extracôtiers sur l’enquête effectuée par l’Office et tiendra compte des recommandations découlant de cette enquête qui sont attendues d’ici l’automne 2011, lors des modifications qui seront apportées aux règlements.

Évaluation du Bureau de la réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation A11-03 (juin 2011)

Dans sa réponse, TC précise qu’au cours de l’été 2011, un groupe de discussion examinera la recommandation concernant l’état des mers ne permettant pas d’amerrir de façon sécuritaire et de réussir à évacuer un appareil. Selon les conclusions de ces discussions, TC publiera un bulletin d’information. De plus, TC soumettra les conclusions du groupe de discussion au CCRAC afin qu’elles servent de fondement aux modifications à la réglementation. TC a aussi précisé qu’il emploiera un processus plus expéditif pour évaluer les modifications à la réglementation.

La mise en place de règlements pour limiter l’exploitation commerciale d’hélicoptères en survol maritime lorsque la force des mers dépasse la capacité des DFU devrait réduire les risques de façon importante.

Par conséquent, on estime que la réponse dénote une intention satisfaisante.

Réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation A11-03 (septembre 2011)

Au cours d’une réunion (du 8 au 12 août 2011), un groupe de discussion formé par Transports Canada a évalué la recommandation A11-03 du BST. Le groupe de discussion a proposé la rédaction de règlements fondés sur le rendement afin de corriger la lacune qui est décrite dans la recommandation du BST. Ces propositions ont été étudiées en détail par la haute direction de Transports Canada et ont été acceptées par celle-ci à une réunion du Comité réglementaire de l’aviation civile (CRAC) au début septembre. Les travaux de rédaction des règlements appropriés sont en cours en vertu d’un processus accéléré. (traduction)

L’échéance a été fixée à décembre 2012.

Le 17 janvier 2012, Transports Canada a annoncé que le bulletin d’information qui devait être publié à l’automne 2011 serait finalement publié à la fin de mars 2012.

Le 28 mars 2012, Transports Canada a publié la mise à jour suivante [traduction] :

Les travaux que le groupe de discussion a réalisés au cours de l’été 2011 ont mené à la préparation de propositions de règlements. Un avis d’intention a été envoyé aux parties intéressées afin d’obtenir leurs commentaires sur les objectifs de la politique.

Transports Canada (TC) propose de modifier le Règlement de l’aviation canadien (RAC) afin d’ajouter une nouvelle définition du terme « en haute mer » harmonisée avec celle de l’Organisation de l’aviation civile internationale (OACI) ainsi que des exigences fondées sur le rendement à la Partie 6, sous-partie 2, pour que tous les hélicoptères exploités au large des côtes soient munis d’un dispositif de flottaison d’urgence (DFU) conçu pour les amerrissages forcés et convenant à la force de la mer à destination.

De plus, Transports Canada a expliqué son processus de réglementation accéléré [traduction] :

Les recommandations A11-06, A11-05, A11-04 et A11-03 font partie d’un projet pilote lancé par la Division de l’aviation civile de Transports Canada portant sur un processus de réglementation accéléré. Deux groupes ayant pour mandat de discuter de l’analyse des risques ont été formés avec des représentants de l’industrie afin de recommander des mesures. Un avis d’intention a été envoyé aux membres du CCRAC pour les informer des changements proposés au règlement et les inviter à présenter leurs commentaires. La préparation de l’ébauche des règlements proposés par le ministère de la Justice et la consultation publique auront lieu simultanément. Les modifications proposées seront finalisées au terme de la période de consultation publique et de la lecture des commentaires.

Évaluation du Bureau de la réponse à la recommandation A11-03 (mars 2012)

Un groupe de discussion de Transports Canada a proposé la rédaction de règlements fondés sur le rendement afin de corriger la lacune qui est l’objet de la recommandation du BST et le projet a été approuvé par la haute direction de Transports Canada. Un processus de rédaction accéléré des nouveaux règlements a été lancé et les travaux sont en cours. L’échéance cible est décembre 2012. Si ces nouveaux règlements respectent les objectifs de la recommandation A11‑03, leur mise en vigueur devrait permettre de réduire de façon substantielle ou d’éliminer la lacune de sécurité décrite dans la recommandation A11-03.

Le Bureau estime que la réponse dénote une intention satisfaisante.

Réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation A11-03 (décembre 2012)

(En l’absence de réglementation, l’industrie se conforme à ces recommandations par le truchement de l’Office Canada-Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador des hydrocarbures extracôtiers.)

Dans le cadre du processus accéléré de rédaction des règlements, un groupe de consultation a été formé à l’été 2011. Des modifications à la réglementation feront l’objet dès que possible d’une prépublication dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada, vraisemblablement au début de 2013.

Dans un courriel daté du 12 décembre 2012, Transports Canada a fourni les précisions suivantes :

TC s’attend à ce que le projet de réglementation fasse l’objet d’une prépublication dans la partie I de la Gazette au début de 2013. Si tout se déroule sans anicroche, TC prévoit que la réglementation sera publiée dans la partie II de la Gazette à la fin de 2013.

Évaluation du Bureau de la réponse à la recommandation A11-03 (mars 2013)

Dans sa réponse, Transports Canada indique que l’industrie des hydrocarbures extracôtiers observe ces recommandations en l’absence de réglementation. Cependant, la recommandation A11-03 visait l’interdiction par TC de l’exploitation commerciale d’hélicoptères de transport de catégorie A en survol maritime lorsque l’état des mers ne permet pas d’amerrir de façon sécuritaire et de réussir l’évacuation de l’appareil, et ce, pour tous les exploitants, y compris les exploitants de l’extérieur de Terre-Neuve. Par conséquent, il importe de poursuivre le développement de la nouvelle exigence visant à interdire l’exploitation commerciale d’hélicoptères de transport de catégorie A en survol maritime lorsque l’état des mers ne permet pas d’amerrir de façon sécuritaire et de réussir l’évacuation de l’appareil.

Transports Canada prévoit que les modifications à la réglementation feront l’objet d’une prépublication dans la partie I de la Gazette au début de 2013 avant d’être publiées dans la partie II de la Gazette à la fin de 2013.

En janvier 2012, TC a fait part de l’établissement d’un bulletin d’information aux fins de publication en mars 2012. Au 18 décembre 2012, aucun compte rendu n’avait été fourni sur l’état d’avancement de ce bulletin d’information.

En conséquence, la réponse a été évaluée comme dénotant une intention satisfaisante.

Réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation A11-03 (novembre 2013)

Les règlements proposés pour répondre à cette recommandation ont fait l’objet d’une prépublication dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada le 16 novembre 2013; on peut les consulter en ligne à l’adresse :

http://www.gazette.gc.ca/rp-pr/p1/2013/2013-11-16/html/reg4-fra.html

Évaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à la recommandation A11-03 (avril 2014)

Dans sa réponse datée du 4 décembre 2012, Transports Canada a indiqué que l’industrie pétrolière extracôtière au Canada se conforme déjà à ces recommandations, sans réglementation. De plus, TC a mis la dernière main à un nouveau règlement qui interdit l’exploitation commerciale d’hélicoptères de transport de catégorie A en survol maritime lorsque l’état de mer ne permet pas un amerrissage sécuritaire et une évacuation réussie de l’appareil. Ce nouveau règlement sera publié dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada le 16 novembre 2013. Si ce règlement venait à être adopté, la mesure prise par TC atténuerait considérablement cette lacune de sécurité.

En conséquence, la réponse a été évaluée comme dénotant une intention satisfaisante.

Réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation A11-03 (avril 2015)

TC a annoncé l’entrée en vigueur de modifications au Règlement de l’aviation canadien qui interdiront l’exploitation des hélicoptères en survol maritime lorsque l’état de la mer excède celui pour lequel l’hélicoptère est certifié pour effectuer un amerrissage forcé.

Ces modifications visent à réduire les risques associés aux vols d’exploitation extracôtière en garantissant que les futurs exploitants aériens qui utilisent des hélicoptères pour effectuer des vols d’exploitation extracôtière respectent une norme nationale uniformisée; à harmoniser les règlements canadiens avec les normes et les meilleures pratiques de l’Organisation de l’aviation civile internationale (OACI), ainsi qu’à répondre aux recommandations du BST.

Ces modifications

  • donneront une définition des « vols d’exploitation extracôtière »;
  • stipuleront qu’il est interdit d’utiliser un hélicoptère pour effectuer un vol d’exploitation extracôtière si les prévisions météorologiques et les données obtenues avant le départ indiquent que l’état de la mer à tout point sur le trajet prévu du vol entre la position de l’hélicoptère et sa destination excède celui pour lequel l’hélicoptère est certifié pour effectuer un amerrissage forcé (une exception est prévue pour les opérations d’urgence); - demanderont que le fabricant des flotteurs de l’aéronef fournisse l’état de la mer maximal pour lequel l’hélicoptère est certifié pour effectuer un amerrissage forcé;
  • exigeront que le commandant de bord se dirige directement vers une base terrestre si l’état de la mer en un point quelconque sur le trajet prévu du vol excède celui pour lequel l’hélicoptère est certifié pour effectuer un amerrissage forcé.

Réévaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à la recommandation A11-03 (mai 2015)

Dans sa réponse datée du 28 avril 2015, TC a  annoncé l’entrée en vigueur de modifications au Règlement de l’aviation canadien qui stipuleront qu’il est interdit d’utiliser un hélicoptère pour effectuer un vol d’exploitation extracôtière si les prévisions météorologiques et les données obtenues avant le départ indiquent que l’état de la mer à tout point sur le trajet prévu du vol entre la position de l’hélicoptère et sa destination excède celui pour lequel l’hélicoptère est certifié pour effectuer un amerrissage forcé (une exception est prévue pour les opérations d’urgence).

Ces règlements entreront en vigueur en juillet 2015 et harmoniseront les exigences canadiennes avec les normes internationales et les meilleures pratiques sur l’exploitation extracôtière des hélicoptères.

Cette mesure réduira de façon importante la lacune de sécurité décrite dans la recommandation A11-03 et, par conséquent, le BST a réévalué la réponse de TC comme étant entièrement satisfaisante.

Suivi exercé par le BST (mai 2015)

Le dossier est fermé.

Note en bas de page

Note 1

L'échelle de l'état de la mer de l'Organisation météorologique mondiale décrit une mer de force 4 comme modérément agitée, avec des vagues de 1,25 à 2,5 mètres, une mer de force 5 comme étant agitée, avec des vagues de 2,5 à 4 mètres, et une mer de force 6 comme très forte, avec des vagues de 4 à 6 mètres.

Retour à la note 1 référent