Recommendation A08-03

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.

Reassessment of the Response from Transport Canada to Aviation Safety Recommendation A08-03

Vertical Structure of Airspace

Background

On 04 August 2006, two light aeroplanes collided in mid-air near Caledon, Ontario. Both aeroplanes were operating in accordance with visual flight rules in Class E airspace that lay beneath Class C airspace in the Toronto Terminal Control Area. All three occupants of the aeroplanes received fatal injuries and both aeroplanes were destroyed.

The collision occurred in Class E airspace where there is no requirement for an air traffic control (ATC) clearance or radio contact with air traffic services. In this type of airspace, there is no requirement for position reports, traffic advisory calls, or for aircraft to be on a common very high frequency (VHF) radio frequency. Aircraft are not required to have a communication radio, a radar transponder, or collision-avoidance equipment on board. The investigation found no indication that crew performance or mechanical malfunction of either aeroplane had a role in the accident.

Collision avoidance in this airspace relies completely on the principle of see-and-avoid. A pilot's ability to visually detect another aircraft is affected by many factors, including physiological limitations of the human visual and motor-response systems, obstructions to field of view, aircraft conspicuity, pilot scanning techniques, workload, and alerting to the presence of another aircraft. None of these factors were unusual in this accident.

The collision involved a Cessna 172P aeroplane being flown by an instructor and student and a Cessna 182T aeroplane being flown by its owner. One aeroplane was southeastbound in a gradual descent, wings level. The other was northbound in straight and level flight. The angle between the tracks of the two aeroplanes was approximately 120°. Studies have determined that under these circumstances, taking into account the size, speed, and closing angle of each aeroplane, the realistic probability of either aeroplane detecting the other was 25 per cent, and without detection, collision was unavoidable. The two aeroplanes were on a constant collision course; therefore, there was no relative angular movement that could be detected by peripheral vision to aid in detection. There was no other means of alerting either aeroplane as to the presence of the other. The failure of the see-and-avoid principle to avert this collision reflects a residual risk that is inherent in sole reliance on unalerted see-and-avoid.

The probability of two aeroplanes being on a collision course is essentially a function of traffic density, and the risk of collision is proportional to the square of the traffic density. The Class C airspace around Toronto/Lester B. Pearson International Airport (LBPIA) naturally concentrates circumnavigating traffic around its periphery. Terrain elevation in the vicinity of the accident site was 1400 to 1500 feet above sea level (asl). Due to built-up areas and noise-sensitive locations, aircraft normally maintain 1000 feet above ground level (agl) in the area. The floor of nearby Class C airspace was 2500 feet asl; therefore, aircraft without an ATC clearance had to maintain 2400 feet asl or lower. The combination of surface elevation of 1400 feet, flight at or above 1000 feet agl, and a Class C floor of 2500 feet results in all traffic being concentrated vertically essentially at the single altitude of 2400 feet.

Risk of collision can be reduced by dispersing traffic laterally, such as building a visual flight rules (VFR) route structure with lateral separation between opposite-direction traffic. Such a routing structure would have to be clearly depicted on the VFR terminal area (VTA) chart. However, this structure does not eliminate conflict between aircraft on intersecting tracks, as in this occurrence. Avoidance of collision between aircraft on intersecting tracks requires that traffic be dispersed vertically.

The Board concluded its investigation and released report A06O0206 on 20 May 2008.

Board Recommendation A08-03 (20 May 2008)

Measures such as improving aircraft conspicuity, pilot scanning technique, and pilot traffic awareness can reduce risk, but they do not overcome the underlying physiological limitations that create the residual risk associated with unalerted see-and-avoid. The current design of Toronto airspace in the vicinity of this accident results in a concentration of traffic in a very small altitude band, immediately below the floor of Class C airspace, and immediately outside the radius at which the floor of Class C airspace steps down toward LBPIA. The combination of a ground elevation of 1400 feet asl, flight at or above 1000 feet agl, and a Class C floor of 2500 feet asl results in all traffic being concentrated vertically at the single altitude of 2400 feet asl. Changing the vertical structure of the airspace is one way of reducing this traffic concentration.

Radar data reviewed for this area during a 10-day period around the accident indicated a heavy volume of VFR traffic below the Class C floor, and several occasions where aircraft were within about 1500 feet horizontally and 200 feet vertically of each other. In this and other congested airspaces, it has been shown that the see-and-avoid principle for VFR aircraft is not always sufficient to ensure the safety of flight. Therefore, there continues to be a high risk of a mid-air collision between aircraft operating under the VFR principle in that airspace.

Therefore, the Board recommended that:

The Department of Transport, in coordination with NAV CANADA, take steps to substantially reduce the risk of collision between visual flight rules aircraft operating in Class E airspace surrounding the Toronto/Lester B. Pearson International Airport.

A08-03

Transport Canada's Response to A08-03 (19 September 2008)

The Department had requested NAV CANADA to review the architecture of the airspace underlying the Terminal Control Area surrounding LBPIA. As part of a more extensive airspace review of the Windsor, Toronto, Montréal corridor, the air navigation service provider has submitted a proposal in the form of an aeronautical study that addresses the very issues identified in the Board's Aviation Investigation Report A06O0206. This submission, while far more ranging than the airspace issues addressed in the recommendation, is presently under review by Transport Canada. However, the proposed changes to the airspace surrounding LBPIA have been accepted.

More specifically, the Class C airspace exclusion surrounding the Brampton Airport will be expanded to more than double its present area while the floor of this airspace will be raised to commence above 2500 feet asl between the 12 and 15 nautical mile arcs centered on LBPIA. In addition, segregated and unidirectional VFR routes to and from the Brampton Airport, based on prominent geographical and planimetric features, will be published. In respect of Class E airspace surrounding and underlying the Toronto terminal area serving other general airports and access to commonly used flight training areas, common frequency areas and segregated routes will be established.

Due to the extent of the changes to be implemented, implementation of the airspace structure and operational procedures are planned to take effect on 12 March 2009, to coincide with regular publication dates. In the intervening period, an awareness and education program for the general and recreational aviation community will continue to be enhanced.

Board Assessment of the Response to A08-03 (15 February 2010)

The airspace in the Toronto area was revised effective 12 March 2009 and published in the Canada Flight Supplement and the 36th edition of the Toronto VTA Chart. Significant changes are as follows:

  • enlargement of Class E airspace based at 700 feet agl up to and including 2500 feet asl around the Brampton Airport. Previously, the Class E airspace did not include 2500 feet.
  • change of the vertical boundaries between layers of airspace around LBPIA so that the altitude of the boundary is included in the lower level of airspace; that is, where the boundary was previously shown as 2500 feet, it is now shown such that the underlying airspace goes up to 2500 feet and overlying Class C airspace starts above 2500 feet rather than at 2500 feet.
  • several new VFR routes are depicted including two one-way routes (one outbound, the other inbound) between the Brampton Airport and areas to the northwest and two westbound routes and one eastbound route beginning north of the Brampton Airport and extending to the east to points north of the Toronto/Buttonville Airport.
  • realignment of airspace associated with Toronto/City Centre Airport, Downsview Airport, and Toronto/Buttonville Airport to eliminate small pockets of Class E airspace between Toronto/Buttonville and Toronto/City Centre airports.
  • establishment of three common frequency areas (CFAs) in the vicinity of Toronto. Guidance for the use of the CFAs and the VFR transit routes is published on the reverse side of the Toronto VTA Chart.

These changes provide improved structure and guidance to facilitate the flow of VFR traffic operating in Class E airspace in the vicinity of Toronto and they address many of the issues that were previously identified in the Transport Canada safety review in 2001-2002 of VFR operations in the vicinity of Toronto following a previous mid-air collision.1 As such, they represent an improvement to the safety of VFR operations in the vicinity of Toronto.

However, in its response, Transport Canada does not address the specific circumstances that led to Recommendation A08-03; namely that the combination of ground elevation of 1400 feet asl, normal minimum height of flight of 1000 feet agl, and a Class C floor of 2500 feet asl results in traffic being concentrated vertically at the single altitude of 2400 feet asl. Changing the Class C floor from 2500 feet to above 2500 feet does not significantly redress the lack of vertical dispersion of VFR traffic in the vicinity of the accident location. Furthermore, the new VFR transit routes do not provide separation from aircraft on intersecting transit routes or from traffic that is northbound (as was one of the aeroplanes in the accident) or southbound and therefore not on a transit route. Traffic is still concentrated both vertically and geographically and therefore there remains a risk of a mid-air collision between aircraft operating under the VFR principle of see-and-avoid.

Because Transport Canada's action will improve the safety of VFR operations in the Toronto area, but will not substantially reduce or eliminate the deficiency raised in Board Recommendation A08-03, the response is assessed as Satisfactory in Part.

Next TSB action

The Board will follow up with Transport Canada and NAVCANADA in order to explore what other options exist to reduce the risk of collision due to vertical and geographical concentration of VFR aircraft operating in Class E airspace surrounding the Toronto/Lester B. Pearson International Airport.

Transport Canada Response to A08-03 (21 January 2011)

Aeronautical Information Circular 3/09 was cancelled March 11, 2010. All airspace changes in the area surrounding Toronto/Lester B. Pearson International Airport as described in circular 3/09 have been incorporated in all editions of the Toronto VNC and VTA charts beginning January 2009.

TC is satisfied of the actions that have been implemented by NAV CANADA to address this safety issue and considers this recommendation closed.

TC continues to monitor VFR operations in the vicinity of Toronto.

Board Reassessment of the Response to A08-03 (09 March 2011)

The airspace changes in the area surrounding Toronto/Lester B. Pearson International Airport were incorporated in the Toronto VNC and VTA charts prior to the previous assessment and it was acknowledged at that time that they represented an improvement to the safety of VFR operations in the vicinity of Toronto. However, the changes did not address the specific circumstances that led to Recommendation A08-03. The minor change in the Class C floor from "2500 feet" to "above 2500 feet" did not significantly redress the lack of vertical dispersion of VFR traffic in the vicinity of the accident location and the new VFR transit routes did not provide separation between aircraft on routes in and out of Brampton and traffic on the intersecting transit routes. Traffic was still concentrated both vertically and geographically and therefore there remained a risk of a mid-air collision between aircraft operating under the VFR principle of see-and-avoid. Consequently, it was concluded that the risk identified in Board Recommendation A08-03 had not been eliminated or substantially reduced.

In its January 2011 response, Transport Canada has concluded that the NAV CANADA actions have now addressed the residual risk; however, no additional measures have been taken since the previous assessment. No information is provided to indicate what effect the airspace changes have had on air traffic movement around Toronto in general or specifically on traffic concentration at the location concerned. No objective factor or quantitative measure is presented by which to assess the concentration of traffic, the resulting risk of collision, or the degree of change or improvement either now or in the future as TC continues to monitor VFR operations in the vicinity of Toronto.

In its latest response, TC states that it plans to monitor VFR operations in the vicinity of Toronto and considers the recommendation closed. Because no further action has been taken or is proposed that will substantially reduce or eliminate the deficiency raised in Board Recommendation A08-03, the assessment remains as Satisfactory in Part.

Next TSB action

The Board feels that as the residual risk associated with the deficiency identified in Recommendation A08-03 is substantial and no further action is planned by TC continued reassessments will not likely yield further results. Therefore, this deficiency file status is changed to Dormant.


  1. Transport Canada, TP 13796E, Safety Review of VFR Operations within the Greater Toronto Area, Final Report, July 2000-April 2001, October 2004.

Recommandation A08-03

Évaluation de la réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation en matière de sécurité aéronautique A08-03

Structure verticale de l'espace aérien

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Introduction

Le 4 août 2006, deux avions légers sont entrés en collision en vol à proximité de Caledon (Ontario). Les deux avions effectuaient un vol selon les règles de vol à vue (VFR) en espace aérien de classe E, sous l'espace aérien de classe C de la région de contrôle terminal de Toronto. Les trois occupants des appareils ont subi des blessures mortelles. Les deux avions ont été détruits.

La collision en vol s'est produite en espace aérien de classe E où il n'est pas nécessaire de recevoir des autorisations du contrôle de la circulation aérienne (ATC) ou de rester en communication avec un service de contrôle. Dans un tel espace aérien, les comptes rendus de position, les avis de circulation et l'utilisation d'une fréquence commune sur une radio à très haute fréquence (VHF) ne sont pas obligatoires. Les aéronefs ne sont pas tenus d'être équipés d'une radio, d'un transpondeur radar ou d'un système anticollision. Rien n'indique que le comportement des équipages ou qu'un dysfonctionnement mécanique de l'un ou l'autre des avions a joué un rôle dans l'accident.

L'évitement des collisions dans cet espace aérien est fondé uniquement sur le principe voir et éviter. La capacité d'un pilote à repérer visuellement un autre aéronef est influencée par de nombreux facteurs, notamment les limites physiologiques liées aux réactions motrices et au système de vision de l'être humain, les obstacles dans le champ de vision, la perceptibilité des aéronefs, les techniques d'observation des pilotes, la charge de travail et l'avertissement de la présence d'un autre aéronef. Aucun de ces facteurs ne sortait de l'ordinaire dans le présent accident.

Les deux avions accidentés sont un Cessna 172P avec à son bord un instructeur et un élève, ainsi qu'un Cessna 182T avec à son bord le propriétaire de l'appareil. L'un des avions exécutait une descente progressive vers le sud-est, les ailes à l'horizontale. L'autre avion était en vol rectiligne en palier en direction nord. L'angle entre les trajectoires des deux avions était d'environ 120°. Des études ont montré que dans ces circonstances, en tenant compte de la taille, de la vitesse et de l'angle auquel les avions s'approchaient l'un de l'autre, la probabilité réaliste qu'un des avions détecte l'autre était de 25 %, et, en l'absence de détection, l'abordage était inévitable. Comme les deux avions maintenaient un cap constant, les pilotes ne pouvaient pas percevoir de mouvements angulaires relatifs au moyen de leur vision périphérique et voir l'autre avion. Il n'y avait aucun autre moyen d'alerter les pilotes de la présence de l'autre avion.

L'application du principe voir et éviter comme seul moyen de protection n'a pas permis d'éviter le présent abordage et montre le risque résiduel associé au principe voir et éviter non appuyé par un système d'avertissement.

La probabilité que deux avions soient sur une trajectoire de collision dépend essentiellement de la densité du trafic, et le risque d'abordage est proportionnel au carré de la densité du trafic. Le trafic devant contourner l'espace aérien de classe C situé à proximité de l'aéroport international de Toronto/Lester B. Pearson se trouve naturellement concentré dans la périphérie de cet espace. L'élévation dans la région du lieu de l'accident varie de 1400 à 1500 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer (asl). En raison des zones bâties ainsi que des zones sensibles au bruit à proximité, les aéronefs maintiennent habituellement une altitude de 1000 pieds au-dessus du sol (agl) dans ce secteur. Le plancher de l'espace aérien de classe C qui se trouve à proximité est de 2500 pieds asl. Par conséquent, les aéronefs qui ne reçoivent pas d'autorisations de l'ATC doivent maintenir une altitude égale ou inférieure à 2400 pieds asl. Comme l'élévation est de 1400 pieds, que les vols sont effectués à au moins 1000 pieds agl et que le plancher de l'espace aérien de classe C est de 2500 pieds, le trafic se trouve concentré dans le plan vertical à l'unique altitude de 2400 pieds.

Le risque d'abordage peut être réduit en dispersant le trafic latéralement, par exemple par l'établissement d'une structure de routes selon les règles de vol à vue (VFR) prévoyant un espacement latéral entre les aéronefs évoluant dans des directions opposées. Une telle structure de routes devrait être clairement indiquée sur les cartes de région terminale VFR (VTA). Toutefois, cette structure n'éliminerait pas les conflits entre les aéronefs suivant des routes convergentes comme dans le présent accident. Pour éviter les collisions entre les aéronefs suivant des routes convergentes, il faut disperser le trafic dans le plan vertical.

Le Bureau a terminé son enquête. Le rapport d'enquête A06O0206 a été publié le 20 mai 2008.

Recommandation du Bureau A08-03 (20 mai 2008)

Des mesures comme une meilleure perceptibilité des aéronefs, la technique d'observation des pilotes et la conscientisation des pilotes au trafic peuvent réduire le risque, mais elles ne peuvent pas surmonter les limites physiologiques sous-jacentes engendrées par le risque résiduel associé au principe voir et éviter non appuyé par un système d'avertissement. La conception actuelle de l'espace aérien de Toronto, à proximité du lieu de l'accident, aboutit à une concentration d'aéronefs dans une tranche d'altitude très étroite, immédiatement sous le plancher de l'espace aérien de classe C et immédiatement à l'extérieur du rayon où le plancher de l'espace aérien de classe C diminue graduellement à l'approche de l'aéroport international de Toronto/Lester B. Pearson. Comme l'élévation est de 1400 pieds asl, que les vols sont effectués à au moins 1000 pieds agl et que le plancher de l'espace aérien de classe C est de 2500 pieds asl, les aéronefs se trouvent concentrés dans le plan vertical à la seule altitude de 2400 pieds asl. Un changement de la structure verticale de l'espace aérien s'avère une des solutions possibles pour réduire la concentration du trafic.

Les données radar de cette zone, recueillies au cours de la période de 10 jours entourant la date de l'accident, indiquent un volume important de trafic VFR sous le plancher de l'espace aérien de classe C, ainsi que plusieurs cas d'aéronefs avec un espacement horizontal d'environ 1500 pieds et un espacement vertical de 200 pieds. Dans cet espace aérien très fréquenté comme dans d'autres, il a été démontré que l'application du principe voir et éviter par les aéronefs VFR pour l'évitement des collisions ne permettait pas toujours d'assurer la sécurité des vols. En conséquence, il existe toujours un risque élevé d'abordage entre les aéronefs VFR qui appliquent le principe voir et éviter dans cet espace aérien.

En conséquence, le Bureau a recommandé que :

Le ministère des Transports, en collaboration avec NAV CANADA, prenne des mesures pour réduire de façon substantielle le risque de collision entre les aéronefs en vol à vue dans l'espace aérien de classe E près de l'aéroport international de Toronto/Lester B. Pearson.

Recommandation A08-03 du BST

Réponse de Transports Canada (19 septembre 2008)

Le Ministère avait demandé à NAV CANADA de revoir l'architecture de l'espace aérien sous-jacent de la zone de contrôle terminal entourant l'aéroport international Lester B. Pearson de Toronto. Dans le cadre d'une revue approfondie de l'espace aérien du corridor Windsor, Toronto et Montréal, le fournisseur de services de navigation aérienne a soumis une proposition sous la forme d'une étude aéronautique portant sur les mêmes questions que le Bureau a relevées dans son rapport d'enquête aéronautique A06O0206. Même si elle se veut de nature plus générale que les questions touchant l'espace aérien qui sont traitées dans la recommandation, la proposition est à l'étude par Transports Canada. Toutefois, les changements proposés dans l'espace aérien entourant l'aéroport international Lester B. Pearson ont été acceptés.

En termes précis, la superficie de la zone d'exclusion d'espace aérien de classe C qui entoure l'aéroport de Brampton sera plus que doublée, tandis que le plancher de cet espace aérien sera rehaussé pour commencer à plus de 2500 pieds asl entre les arcs de 12 et de 15 milles marins ayant pour centre l'aéroport international Lester B. Pearson. De plus, des routes selon les règles de vol à vue spécialisées et unidirectionnelles, à destination et en provenance de l'aéroport de Brampton, seront établies en fonction de caractéristiques géographiques et planimétriques marquantes et seront publiées. En ce qui concerne l'espace aérien de classe E qui entoure et sous-tend la zone terminale de Toronto qui dessert d'autres aéroports généraux, ainsi que l'accès aux zones de formation au pilotage couramment utilisées, des zones de fréquence commune et des routes spécialisées seront établies.

Vu l'importance des changements envisagés, il est prévu que la mise en œuvre de la structure de l'espace aérien et des procédures d'exploitation aura lieu le 12 mars 2009, de façon à coïncider avec les dates régulières de publication. Dans l'intervalle, un programme de sensibilisation et d'éducation à l'intention de la collectivité de l'aviation générale et récréative continuera d'être amélioré.

Évaluation du Bureau (15 février 2010)

La révision de l'espace aérien de la région de Toronto est entrée en vigueur le 12 mars 2009 et elle a été publiée dans le Supplément de vol - Canada ainsi que dans l'édition no 36 de la carte VTA de Toronto. Les modifications importantes sont les suivantes :

  • L'espace aérien de classe E est agrandi de 700 pieds agl à 2500 pieds asl inclusivement autour de l'aéroport de Brampton. Auparavant, l'espace aérien de classe E ne comprenait pas l'altitude de 2500 pieds.
  • Les limites verticales entre les couches de l'espace aérien autour de l'aéroport international de Toronto/Lester B. Pearson sont modifiées, de sorte que l'altitude de la limite est comprise dans la couche inférieure. Autrement dit, alors que la limite était auparavant à 2500 pieds, l'espace aérien qui est situé sous l'espace aérien de classe C s'étend à présent jusqu'à 2500 pieds inclusivement, et l'espace aérien de classe C commence au-dessus de 2500 pieds plutôt qu'à cette altitude.
  • Quelques nouvelles routes VFR sont représentées, notamment deux routes à sens unique (l'une en éloignement et l'autre en rapprochement) entre l'aéroport de Brampton et des régions au nord-ouest, ainsi que deux routes en direction ouest et une route en direction est commençant au nord de l'aéroport de Brampton et se dirigeant à l'est jusqu'à des points au nord de l'aéroport de Toronto/Buttonville.
  • L'espace aérien autour des aéroports du centre-ville de Toronto, de Downsview et de Toronto/Buttonville est réagencé afin d'éliminer de petites bulles d'espace aérien de classe E entre les aéroports de Toronto/Buttonville et du centre-ville de Toronto.
  • Trois zones d'utilisation de fréquence commune (CFA) sont mises en place autour de Toronto. Des directives sur l'utilisation des CFA et sur les routes de transit sont publiées au verso de la carte VTA de Toronto.

Ces modifications améliorent la structure de l'espace aérien et ajoutent des directives qui facilitent la circulation du trafic VFR dans l'espace aérien de classe E autour de Toronto. Elles remédient également aux questions soulevées dans l'examen de la sécurité des vols VFR effectués dans l'espace aérien de Toronto en 2001-2002 à la suite d'un abordage précédent1. Les modifications représentent donc une amélioration de la sécurité des vols VFR autour de Toronto.

Toutefois, la réponse de Transports Canada ne traite pas des circonstances spécifiques qui sont à l'origine de la recommandation A08-03; plus précisément, comme l'élévation est de 1400 pieds asl, que les vols sont effectués à au moins 1000 pieds agl et que le plancher de l'espace aérien de classe C est de 2500 pieds asl, les aéronefs se trouvent concentrés dans le plan vertical à la seule altitude de 2400 pieds asl. Changer le plancher de l'espace aérien de classe C de 2500 pieds à au-dessus de 2500 pieds ne permet pas une dispersion marquée du trafic VFR dans le plan vertical autour du lieu de l'accident. De plus, les nouvelles routes de transit VFR n'assurent pas l'espacement des aéronefs sur des routes de transit sécantes ni l'espacement du trafic se dirigeant vers le nord (comme un des aéronefs impliqués dans l'accident) ou vers le sud, lequel n'est donc pas sur une route de transit. Le trafic est encore concentré géographiquement et dans le plan vertical, ce qui veut dire qu'un risque d'abordage subsiste entre les aéronefs exploités selon le principe VFR voir et éviter.

Puisque les mesures prévues par Transports Canada amélioreront la sécurité des vols VFR dans la région de Toronto, mais ne permettront ni de réduire considérablement, ni d'éliminer la lacune soulevée dans la recommandation A08-03, le Bureau estime qu'une attention en partie satisfaisante a été accordée à cette lacune.

Suivi exercé par le BST (15 février 2010)

Le Bureau exercera un suivi auprès de Transports Canada et de NAV CANADA afin d'étudier les possibilités de réduire les risques d'abordage causés par une concentration géographique et dans le plan vertical d'aéronefs VFR dans l'espace aérien de classe E près de l'aéroport international de Toronto/Lester B. Pearson.

Réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation A08-03 (21 janvier 2011)

La Circulaire d'information aéronautique 3/09 a été annulée le 11 mars 2010. Tous les changements dans l'espace aérien près de l'aéroport international de Toronto/Lester B. Pearson décrits dans la Circulaire 3/09 ont été intégrés dans toutes les éditions des cartes VNC et VTA de Toronto à compter de janvier 2009.

TC est satisfait des mesures qu'a prises NAV CANADA pour régler ce problème de sécurité et il estime que le dossier de cette recommandation est clos.

TC continue de surveiller les opérations VFR autour de Toronto.

Réévaluation du Bureau de la réponse à la recommandation A08-03 (9 mars 2011)

Les changements dans l'espace aérien près de l'aéroport international de Toronto/Lester B. Pearson ont été intégrés dans les cartes VNC et VTA de Toronto avant l'évaluation précédente, et il était alors reconnu qu'ils constituaient une amélioration à la sécurité des opérations VFR autour de Toronto. Cependant, ces changements ne concernaient pas les circonstances particulières qui ont mené à la recommandation A08-03. Le changement mineur du plancher de l'espace aérien de classe C de « 2500 pieds » à « au-dessus de 2500 pieds » n'a pas permis une dispersion marquée du trafic VFR dans le plan vertical autour du lieu de l'accident, et les nouvelles routes de transit VFR n'ont pas permis d'assurer l'espacement des aéronefs sur les routes permettant d'entrer à Brampton et d'en sortir, ainsi que sur les routes de transit sécantes. Le trafic était encore concentré géographiquement et dans le plan vertical, ce qui veut dire qu'un risque d'abordage subsistait entre les aéronefs exploités selon le principe VFR « voir et éviter ». Par conséquent, on a conclu que le risque mentionné dans la recommandation A08-03 du Bureau n'avait été ni éliminé ni réduit considérablement.

La réponse de janvier 2011 implique que Transports Canada a conclu que les mesures prises par NAV CANADA ont maintenant éliminé le risque résiduel, mais aucune mesure additionnelle n'a été prise depuis l'évaluation précédente. Aucun renseignement n'est fourni pour indiquer les effets que les changements dans l'espace aérien ont eu sur le mouvement du trafic aérien autour de Toronto en général ou, plus particulièrement, sur la concentration du trafic à l'endroit concerné. Il n'y a présentation d'aucun facteur objectif ni d'aucune mesure quantitative par lesquels évaluer la concentration du trafic, le risque de collision résultant ou le degré de changement ou d'amélioration actuel ou à venir alors que TC continue de surveiller les opérations VFR autour de Toronto.

Dans sa plus récente réponse, TC mentionne qu'il prévoit surveiller les opérations VFR autour de Toronto et il estime que le dossier de cette recommandation est clos. Comme aucune mesure supplémentaire n'a été prise ni proposée pour réduire considérablement ou éliminer la lacune mentionnée dans la recommandation A08-03 du Bureau, ce dernier estime toujours qu'une attention en partie satisfaisante a été accordée à cette lacune.

Suivi exercé par le BST (9 mars 2011)

Compte tenu du fait que le risque résiduel associé à la lacune dont il est question dans la recommandation A08-03 est considérable et que TC ne prévoit aucune autre mesure, le Bureau est d'avis que toute nouvelle réévaluation ne donnera probablement pas de résultats différents. Par conséquent, le présent dossier est maintenant classé en veilleuse.


  1. Transports Canada, TP 13796E, Safety Review of VFR Operations within the Greater Toronto Area, Final Report, July 2000-April 2001, octobre 2004.