Aviation Recommendation rec-A04H0001

TRANSPORTATION SAFETY BOARD OF CANADA
AVIATION SAFETY RECOMMENDATIONS

DATE ISSUED: 6 October 2004

FORWARDED TO:

The Honourable Jean-C. Lapierre, P.C., M.P. Minister of Transport

SUBJECT: Standard Passenger Weights - Use and Validity of Standard Values

Background

On 17 January 2004 at 1638 eastern standard time, Georgian Express Flight 126 (GGN 126), a Cessna Caravan 208B, C-FAGA, departed Pelee Island, Ontario, en route to Windsor, Ontario. There were nine passengers and one crew member on board. Shortly after take-off, the aircraft struck the ice-covered surface of Lake Erie, fatally injuring all 10 occupants. Although the investigation (A04H0001) is ongoing, there is factual information to suggest that the aircraft's weight was a contributing factor in the accident. The maximum take-off weight in the Cessna aircraft manual is 8750 pounds (cargo pod installed) or 8550 pounds if flying into known icing conditions. The investigation determined that the actual weight of the occurrence aircraft on departure from Pelee Island was approximately 9820 pounds, 1270 pounds over gross weight (see Appendix A).

Regulations prohibit the operation of an aircraft unless its weight and centre of gravity conform to the limitations specified in the aircraft manual (Canadian Aviation Regulations [CARs] 703.37, 704.32 and 705.39). For passenger-carrying operations, the calculation of passenger weight is one of the primary determinants of total aircraft weight. In Canadian aviation, the use of Aeronautical Information Publication (A.I.P. Canada) standard weights is the common means of determining passenger weight. However, recent studies in the United States have shown that the current values for standard passenger weights are no longer representative of the general population.

The standard weights published in A.I.P. Canada incorporate the weight of clothing and carry-on baggage. In the Pelee Island accident, the calculated weight for the persons on board using standard weights was 1833 pounds; the actual weight of the persons on board and their clothing was 2400 pounds. This represents a difference of 567 pounds (see Appendix A). For a small aircraft such as the Cessna Caravan, using average weight instead of actual weight can have serious performance implications.

Validity of Standard Weight Values

On 27 January 2003, the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) issued Notice N8400.40 in reaction to a recent commuter air crash that had raised concerns related to aircraft loading and the use of average weights in weight and balance control programs. The Notice required operators of aircraft with 10 to 19 seats to conduct a survey to validate average passenger weights. The results of the survey indicated that the current standard weight values contained in FAA Advisory Circular 120-27C (dated 11 July 1995) underestimate the average weight of passengers by 20.63 pounds and underestimate the average weight of carry-on baggage by 5.72 pounds.

In light of the similarity between Canadian and American demographics, it is reasonable to conclude that the average weights published in A.I.P. Canada, which include both the weight of passengers and carry-on baggage, no longer reflect the current realities of Canadian society. It is therefore likely that many flights conducted in Canada are operating at a heavier weight than calculated.

The average weight of the passengers on Georgian Express Flight 126 using standard weights was 183.3 pounds (9 men at 188 pounds, 1 woman at 141 pounds). Using actual weights, the average passenger weight was 240 pounds. This represents an increase of 56.7 pounds per passenger from the published standard weights. This is a biased sample, but nonetheless indicates the increased weight of the Canadian population.

The Canadian Aviation Safety Board (the Transportation Safety Board of Canada's predecessor) issued three safety recommendations during the investigation into the crash of a DC-8 aircraft in Gander, Newfoundland (CASB 86-01, 86-02 and 86-03, dated 13 February 1986). These recommendations to Transport Canada (TC) and the National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) in the United States were directed towards the adequacy of provisions for the use of actual weights versus standard weights. The responses from TC and the NTSB were fully accepted by the Board.

Use of Standard Weights in Small Aircraft

In any statistical application, the larger the sample size, the more closely the sample mean will match the population mean. For large airliners, deviations between the calculated standard passenger weight and the actual weight are minimized by the larger sample size of passengers. Additionally, some airlines apply a larger ratio of men to women to further minimize any weight discrepancies.

A comparison of various aircraft types indicates that the ratio of passenger weight to overall aircraft weight is inversely proportional to the size of the aircraft. For example, in a Boeing 747, the passenger weight represents approximately 9 per cent of the aircraft's weight (450 passengers at 188 pounds, aircraft of 875 000 pounds) whereas the passenger weight in a Caravan can represent approximately 22 per cent (10 passengers at 188 pounds, aircraft of 8550 pounds). For aircraft under 12 500 pounds, there can be significant deviations from the published standard passenger weights due to the small sample size (nine passengers or fewer). This deviation error is further amplified in small aircraft due to the higher percentage of total aircraft weight that the passengers represent. If a small aircraft is being loaded to maximum gross weight, this discrepancy in passenger weight could result in an overweight condition that adversely affects the safety of flight. For example, stall speeds increase with increased aircraft weight; if the pilot is unaware of this change to aircraft performance, the reference speeds used for critical phases of flight will be incorrect.

The NTSB has published numerous recommendations relating to the calculation of aircraft weight. Several of these recommendations dealt specifically with aircraft under 12 500 pounds and the issue of standard versus actual weight. In response to these recommendations, the FAA released an Advisory Circular (120-27C, dated 11 July 1995) outlining the new policy on aircraft weight and balance control. This document states that actual weights for passengers are to be used for aircraft carrying nine passengers or fewer.

There have been numerous accidents in Canada related to overweight aircraft. At least five of these accidents involved small aircraft where discrepancies between the standard and actual weight of passengers contributed to the overweight condition and the accident. Four of these accidents were fatal, involving 24 fatalities. There are 3564 commercial aircraft in the small aircraft category (less than 12 500 pounds) operating in Canada. These aircraft conduct thousands of flights on a daily basis. Companies will naturally try to maximize the load to optimize the service and remain competitive with other companies. This means that, on any given day, many flights operate at close to maximum gross weight on paper when, in fact, some of these flights are operating above maximum gross weight. The use of standard weights in these aircraft exposes the industry to a high degree of risk.

TC's Generic Company Operations Manual - CAR 704, section 3.9.6, and A.I.P. Canada RAC 3.5 state that actual weight should be used to calculate passenger weight unless that information is unavailable. Air operators have three options to calculate passenger weight: use actual weight, use standard weights as published in A.I.P. Canada RAC 3.5, or use standard weights obtained through an operator survey. The most common practice is to use standard weights, as indicated in the Pelee Island operation where standard weights were used for 155 of the 165 flights.

The defences against the risks associated with using standard weights are not adequate for aircraft carrying nine passengers or fewer. The use of actual passenger weights in small aircraft would provide a greater margin of safety. Additionally, the surveyed passenger weights in the United States and the investigation results indicate that the published standard weights no longer reflect Canadian society. It is therefore likely that many flights conducted in Canada are operating at a heavier weight than calculated.

Therefore, the Board recommends that:

The Department of Transport require that actual passenger weights be used for aircraft involved in commercial or air taxi operations with a capacity of nine passengers or fewer.

A04-01

Assessment/Reassessment Rating: Satisfactory Intent

The Department of Transport re-evaluate the standard weights for passengers and carry-on baggage and adjust them for all aircraft to reflect the current realities.

A04-02

Assessment Rating: Fully Satisfactory

As the investigation proceeds, the Board may make further safety recommendations should additional safety deficiencies be identified.

Appendix A -  TSB Calculated Weights for C-FAGA on Take-off at Pelee Island (CYPT)


Aircraft basic weight 4991 lb.
Weight of fuel on departure 1735 lb.
Fuel for start/taxi -35 lb.
Weight of cargo 589 lb.
Weight of dogs 140 lb.
Actual passenger weight 2400 lb.
Gross weight on take-off 9820 lb.
Maximum gross weight in icing 8550 lb.
Excess weight 1270 lb.
Aircraft basic weight 4991 lb.
Weight of fuel on departure 1735 lb.
Fuel for start/taxi -35 lb.
Weight of cargo 589 lb.
Weight of dogs 140 lb.
Standard passenger weight 1833 lb.
Gross weight on take-off 9253 lb.
Maximum gross weight in icing 8550 lb.
Excess weight 703 lb.
Actual passenger weight 2400 lb.
Standard passenger weight (9 men at 188 pounds, 1 woman at 141 pounds)
1833 lb.
Underestimation of passenger weight 567 lb.

Recommandation A04-04

BUREAU DE LA SÉCURITÉ DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA
RECOMMANDATIONS EN MATIÈRE DE SÉCURITÉ AÉRIENNE

DATE DE DIFFUSION : le 6 octobre 2004

TRANSMIS À :

L'honorable Jean-C. Lapierre, C.P., député Ministre des Transports

OBJET : Poids passagers standard - Utilisation et validité des valeurs normalisées

Contexte

Le 17 janvier 2004, à 16 h 38 heure normale de l'Est, le Cessna Caravan 208B immatriculé C-FAGA assurant le vol 126 de Georgian Express (GGN 126) décollait de l'île Pelée (Ontario) à destination de Windsor (Ontario) avec à son bord neuf passagers et le pilote. Peu après le décollage, l'avion a heurté la surface gelée du lac Érié, tuant ses dix occupants. L'enquête (A04H0001) n'est pas encore terminée, mais les données factuelles semblent indiquer que la masse de l'aéronef a été un facteur contributif. Le manuel de vol de l'avion Cessna précise que la masse maximale autorisée au décollage est de 8750 livres (avec le conteneur de fret installé) ou de 8550 livres si l'avion vole dans des conditions de givrage connues. L'enquête révèle que la masse de l'avion au décollage de l'aéroport de l'île Pelée était de quelque 9820 livres, soit 1270 livres au-dessus de la masse brute (voir l'Annexe A).

La réglementation interdit l'utilisation d'un aéronef si sa masse et son centre de gravité ne sont pas conformes aux limites précisées dans le manuel de l'appareil (articles 703.37, 704.32 et 705.39 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien). Dans le cas des aéronefs de transport de passagers, le calcul du poids des passagers est l'un des principaux facteurs déterminants de la masse totale de l'aéronef. Dans l'aviation canadienne, l'utilisation des valeurs normalisées publiées dans la Publication d'information aéronautique (A.I.P. Canada) constitue le moyen commun de déterminer le poids passagers. Toutefois, des études récentes menées aux États-Unis ont démontré que les poids passagers standard publiés ne sont plus représentatifs de la population générale.

Les poids standard publiés dans l'A.I.P. Canada tiennent compte du poids des vêtements et des bagages à main. Dans le cas de l'avion qui s'est écrasé à l'île Pelée, le poids total des occupants, calculé en utilisant les poids standard, est de 1833 livres; cependant, le poids réel des occupants et de leurs vêtements est de 2400 livres, soit une différence de 567 livres (voir l'Annexe A). Dans le cas d'un petit avion comme le Cessna Caravan, l'utilisation du poids moyen plutôt que du poids réel peut avoir des répercussions graves sur les performances de l'appareil.

Validité des valeurs normalisées

Le 27 janvier 2003, la Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) a diffusé l'avis N8400.40 à la suite d'un accident survenu à un avion de transport régional ayant soulevé des préoccupations concernant le chargement et l'utilisation du poids moyen dans les programmes de contrôle de masse et centrage. L'avis exigeait que les exploitants d'aéronefs d'une capacité de 10 à 19 sièges mènent une enquête visant à valider les poids passagers moyens. L'enquête révèle que les poids standard actuels publiés dans la circulaire d'information 120-27C de la FAA (en date du 11 juillet 1995) sous-estiment le poids moyen des passagers de 20,63 livres et le poids moyen des bagages à main de 5,72 livres.

Compte tenu des similarités entre les populations canadienne et américaine, il est raisonnable de conclure que les poids moyens publiés dans l'A.I.P. Canada, qui comprennent le poids des passagers et des bagages à main, ne correspondent plus aux réalités actuelles de la société canadienne. Selon toute vraisemblance, de nombreux aéronefs au Canada sont exploités à une masse supérieure à la masse calculée.

Le poids moyen d'un passager du vol 126 de Georgian Express, en utilisant les poids standard, était de 183,3 livres (9 hommes d'un poids moyen de 188 livres et 1 femme d'un poids moyen de 141 livres), alors que si on utilise les poids réels, le poids moyen d'un passager est de 240 livres, ce qui correspond à une augmentation de 56,7 livres par passager comparativement aux poids standard publiés. Il s'agit d'un échantillon biaisé, mais qui révèle malgré tout une augmentation du poids de la population canadienne.

Le Bureau canadien de la sécurité aérienne (le prédécesseur du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada) a émis trois recommandations (BCSA 86-01, 86-02 et 86-03, en date du 13 février 1986) dans le cadre de l'enquête sur l'accident du DC-8 qui s'est écrasé à Gander (Terre-Neuve). Ces recommandations à Transports Canada et au National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) des États-Unis portaient sur les dispositions liées à l'utilisation des poids réels plutôt que des poids standard. Le Bureau est entièrement satisfait des réponses qu'il a reçues de Transports Canada et du NTSB dans ce dossier.

Utilisation des poids standard pour les petits aéronefs

Pour les opérations statistiques, plus l'échantillon est important, plus la moyenne correspond à la moyenne de la population. Pour les gros avions de ligne, les écarts entre le poids calculé et le poids réel des passagers sont minimisés par l'échantillon plus important de passagers. De plus, certains transporteurs aériens appliquent un ratio homme-femme plus élevé afin de minimiser davantage tout écart de poids. Une comparaison de divers types d'aéronefs révèle que le ratio poids passagers-masse totale de l'aéronef est inversement proportionnel à la taille de l'aéronef. Par exemple, dans un Boeing 747, le poids passagers représente environ 9 % de la masse de l'appareil (450 passagers d'un poids moyen de 188 livres à bord d'un avion d'une masse de 875 000 livres), alors que le poids passagers dans un Cessna Caravan peut représenter environ 22 % de la masse de l'avion (10 passagers d'un poids moyen de 188 livres à bord d'un avion d'une masse de 8550 livres). Pour les aéronefs dont la masse est inférieure à 12 500 livres, il peut y avoir des écarts importants par rapport aux valeurs normalisées publiées en raison de l'échantillon de petite taille (9 passagers ou moins). Cet écart est d'autant plus grand pour les petits appareils parce que les passagers représentent un pourcentage plus élevé de la masse totale de l'appareil. Quand un petit aéronef est chargé à sa masse brute maximale, cet écart pourrait créer une surcharge et ainsi compromettre la sécurité du vol. Par exemple, la vitesse de décrochage augmente en fonction de la masse de l'aéronef. Si le pilote n'est pas au courant de ce changement dans les performances de l'appareil, les vitesses de référence utilisées pour les phases critiques de vol seront incorrectes.

Le NTSB a diffusé de nombreuses recommandations relatives au calcul de la masse des aéronefs. Plusieurs de ces recommandations traitaient spécifiquement des aéronefs d'une masse inférieure à 12 500 livres et de la question touchant les poids standard et les poids réels. La FAA a répondu à ces recommandations en publiant la circulaire d'information 120-27C, en date du 11 juillet 1995, qui souligne la nouvelle politique relative au contrôle de la masse et du centrage des aéronefs. Le document précise que les poids passagers réels doivent être utilisés pour les aéronefs transportant neuf passagers ou moins.

De nombreux aéronefs en surcharge ont eu des accidents au Canada. Au moins cinq de ces accidents sont survenus à des petits aéronefs dont l'écart entre les poids passagers standard et les poids réels a contribué à la surcharge de l'appareil et à l'accident. Quatre de ces accidents ont entraîné des pertes de vie, causant la mort de 24 personnes. On compte 3564 aéronefs commerciaux dans la catégorie des petits aéronefs (d'une masse inférieure à 12 500 livres) en exploitation au Canada. Ces appareils effectuent des milliers de vols chaque jour. Les transporteurs ont tendance à maximiser la charge parce qu'ils cherchent à optimiser leurs services et à rester concurrentiels. Cela signifie que, tous les jours, de nombreux aéronefs volent à une masse qui avoisine la masse brute maximale sur papier, alors qu'en fait, certains de ces aéronefs sont en surcharge. L'utilisation des valeurs normalisées pour les calculs de masse de ces aéronefs fait courir des risques importants à l'industrie.

On précise au paragraphe 3.9.6 du Manuel d'exploitation de la compagnie - RAC 704 de Transports Canada et à la section RAC 3.5 de l'A.I.P. Canada que le poids réel des passagers doit être utilisé pour faire le calcul du poids passagers, à moins que ces données ne soient pas disponibles. Les exploitants aériens peuvent calculer le poids passagers de trois façons : ils peuvent utiliser les poids réels, ou les poids standard publiés à la section RAC 3.5 de l'A.I.P. Canada, ou des poids standards obtenus à la suite d'une enquête effectuée par l'exploitant aérien. La pratique la plus répandue veut qu'on utilise les poids standards, comme c'était le cas pour les vols de l'île Pelée où cette méthode a été utilisée pour 155 vols sur 165.

Les mesures de protection contre les risques associés à l'utilisation des poids standard sont insuffisantes pour les aéronefs qui transportent neuf passagers ou moins. L'utilisation des poids passagers réels pour les petits aéronefs donnerait une marge de sécurité plus importante. De plus, les études menées aux États-Unis et les résultats d'enquête révèlent que les poids passagers standard publiés ne correspondent plus à la réalité canadienne. Selon toute vraisemblance, de nombreux aéronefs au Canada sont exploités à une masse supérieure à la masse calculée.

En conséquence, le Bureau recommande que :

le ministère des Transports exige que les poids passagers réels soient utilisés pour les aéronefs d'une capacité de neuf passagers ou moins exploités dans le cadre d'un service aérien commercial ou d'un service de taxi aérien.
A04-01

Évaluation/Réévaluation Catégorie : Intention satisfaisante

et que

le ministère des Transports réévalue les poids standard pour les passagers et les bagages à main et les ajuste pour tous les aéronefs en fonction des réalités actuelles.
A04-02

Évaluation Catégorie : Attention entièrement satisfaisante

Le Bureau se réserve le droit de formuler d'autres recommandations si l'enquête révèle d'autres lacunes de sécurité.


Annexe A -Masses et poids calculés par le BST pour le C-FAGA au départ de l'île Pelée (CYPT)


Masse à vide de l'avion 4991 lb
Poids du carburant au départ 1735 lb
Carburant pour le décollage et la circulation au sol -35 lb
Poids du chargement 589 lb
Poids des chiens 140 lb
Poids réel des passagers 2400 lb
Masse brute au décollage 9820 lb
Masse brute maximale dans des conditions de givrage 8550 lb
Poids excédentaire 1270 lb
Masse à vide de l'avion 4991 lb
Poids du carburant au départ 1735 lb
Carburant pour le décollage et la circulation au sol -35 lb
Poids du chargement 589 lb
Poids des chiens 140 lb
Poids passagers standard 1833 lb
Masse brute au décollage 9253 lb
Masse brute maximale dans des conditions de givrage 8550 lb
Poids excédentaire 703 lb