Recommendation A04-01

Reassessment of the Responses to Aviation Safety Recommendation A04-01

Use Of Standard Weights In Small Aircraft

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Background

On 17 January 2004 at 1638 Eastern standard time, Georgian Express Flight 126 (GGN 126), a Cessna Caravan 208B, C-FAGA, departed Pelee Island, Ontario, en route to Windsor, Ontario. There were nine passengers and one crew member on board. Shortly after take-off, the aircraft struck the ice-covered surface of Lake Erie, fatally injuring all 10 occupants. Although the investigation (A04H0001) is ongoing, there is factual information to suggest that the aircraft's weight was a contributing factor in the accident. The maximum take-off weight in the Cessna aircraft manual is 8750 pounds (cargo pod installed) or 8550 pounds if flying into known icing conditions. The investigation determined that the actual weight of the occurrence aircraft on departure from Pelee Island was approximately 9820 pounds, 1270 pounds over gross weight.

For aircraft under 12 500 pounds, there can be significant deviations from the published standard passenger weights due to the small sample size (nine passengers or fewer). This deviation error is further amplified in small aircraft due to the higher percentage of total aircraft weight that the passengers represent (22% for a Cessna 208 and 9% for a Boeing 747). If a small aircraft is being loaded to maximum gross weight, this discrepancy in passenger weight could result in an overweight condition that adversely affects the safety of the flight.

Although air operators have three options to calculate passenger weight, the most common practice is to use standard weights, as indicated in the Pelee Island operation where standard weights were used for 155 of the 165 flights. The average weight of the passengers on Georgian Express Flight 126 using standard weights was 183.3 pounds (nine men at 188 pounds, one woman at 141 pounds). Using actual weights, the actual average passenger weight was 240 pounds.

There have been numerous accidents in Canada related to overweight aircraft. At least five of these accidents involved small aircraft where discrepancies between the standard and actual weight of passengers contributed to the overweight condition and the accident. Four of these accidents were fatal, involving 24 fatalities.

On 07 October 2004, the Board released interim safety recommendations as part of its investigation (A04H0001) into this occurrence.

Board Recommendation A04-01 (07 October 2004)

The existing defences against the risks associated with using standard weights are not adequate for aircraft carrying nine passengers or fewer. The use of actual passenger weights in small aircraft would provide a greater margin of safety. Therefore, the Board recommended that:

The Department of Transport require that actual passenger weights be used for aircraft involved in commercial or air taxi operations with a capacity of nine passengers or fewer.

A04-01

Response to A04-01 (22 December 2004)

In its 22 December 2004 letter, Transport Canada (TC) provided the following comments:

  • Current regulations make it clear that air operators are to ensure that their aircraft are flown within the limits of the weight and balance envelope and that the standards provide options that may be used but do not override the regulatory requirement to remain within the weight limits of the aircraft.
  • TC continues to review the standards with a view to improving the direction provided. One option that is under consideration is the use of actual weights for all operations conducted under subpart 3 (Air Taxi Operations) of Part VII (Commercial Air Services) in the Canadian Aviation Regulations. Once our review, including a risk assessment, is complete, Notice of Proposed Amendments (NPAs) (if required) will be developed and submitted to the Canadian Aviation Regulation Advisory Council (CARAC) for consultation.

Board Assessment of the Response to A04-01 (18 February 2005)

TC's response states that current regulations clearly place the responsibility for weight and balance control on the air operator, and that current standards do provide for the use of actual passenger weights. TC's response does not address the specific thrust of the Board recommendation that the use of actual passenger weights be mandated for aircraft carrying nine passengers or fewer. Although TC's response indicates that TC is willing to review its standards, and that this review will consider the option of using actual weights for Air Taxi operators, TC's response did not promise a time frame within which this review will be conducted, nor did it contain specific action to improve its oversight of air taxi operators in this regard.

TC has proposed action, which, if implemented in full, will substantially reduce or eliminate the safety deficiency. However, the present risks associated with using standard weights will remain until a new standard is put in place to ensure that actual weights are used for aircraft carrying nine passengers or fewer. The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) is also concerned that the length of time required to change/modify the standard could be excessive.

TC's response to this recommendation is assessed as Satisfactory Intent.

Next TSB action

The staff will closely monitor TC's actions related to this recommendation and will update this assessment when appropriate. This deficiency file is assigned an Active status.

Response to A04-01 (14 December 2005)

In its update letter of 14 December 2005, TC reported that it had reviewed the regulations and standards related to this specific issue. A risk assessment related to the use of actual passenger weights for 703 (Air Taxi) operations was conducted in May 2005. The risk assessment suggested that NPA be developed to require the use of actual passenger weights for all 703 passenger-carrying operations. These NPA are under development and will be submitted to the CARAC for consultation.

Board Reassessment of the Response to A04-01 (12 July 2006)

TC's update letter dated 14 December 2005 indicates that TC has reviewed the regulations and standards related to this specific issue. A risk assessment related to the use of actual passenger weights for 703 (Air Taxi) operations was conducted in May 2005. The risk assessment suggested that NPA be developed to require the use of actual passenger weights for all 703 passenger-carrying operations. These NPA are under development and will be submitted to the CARAC for consultation. The stated action, if fully implemented, will substantially reduce the risks associated with Recommendation A04-01.

Therefore, the assessment remains at Satisfactory Intent.

Next TSB action

The staff will closely monitor TC's actions related to this recommendation and will update this assessment when appropriate.

Response to A04-01 (07 February 2007)

In its latest update TC is considering harmonizing with FAA Advisory Circular AC 120-27E Aircraft Weight and Balance Control, Table 2-5. TC also mentions that NPA are under development and will be submitted to CARAC for consultation.

Board Reassessment of the Response to A04-01 (24 July 2007)

FAA AC 120-27E Table 2-5 provides operators with the option of using segmented weights for adult passengers; the passenger weight increases as the passenger seating capacity decreases. Notwithstanding, the FAA states that it would be unsafe for an aircraft operator to use standard weights or segmented weights in any of the following aircraft:

  • All single-engine piston-powered aircraft.
  • All multiengine piston-powered aircraft.
  • All turbine-powered single-engine aircraft.

As TC's response does not provide details as to whether or not its NPA will require operators of aircraft carrying nine or less passengers to use actual weights, the stated action, if fully implemented, will substantially reduce the risks associated with Recommendation A04-01. Therefore, the reassessment remains at Satisfactory Intent.

Next TSB action

TSB staff will liaise with TC to determine the status and content of the NPA related to this recommendation and update this assessment accordingly.

Response to A04-01 (6 March 2008)

In its 6 March 2008 response, TC reports that Commercial and Business Aviation Advisory Circular 0235 and Policy Letter 168 have been issued to remind air operators that they are responsible for the accuracy of: "… weight of passengers, carry-on baggage and checked baggage, determined either by actual weight, by using approved standard weights or by using approved survey weights, and the actual weight of cargo".

To provide the means to satisfactorily meet this regulatory requirements for Subpart 703 operations, an NPA currently being developed will require affected air operators to use either actual passenger weights or segmented weight values derived from acceptable Canadian data sources, similar to Table 2-5 of FAA Advisory Circular AC 120-27E, Aircraft Weight and Balance Control.

In addition, TC reports that the notice of intent to draft an NPA has already been approved, that a draft NPA has been circulated, and that Canadian-derived segmented weight values are under development. This NPA, once completed, will be submitted to the Canadian Aviation Regulation Advisory Council (CARAC) for consultation as early as June 2008.

Board Reassessment of the Response to A04-01 (13 August 2008)

TC's response indicates that it continues to progress safety action that, if fully implemented, will address the deficiencies underlying Recommendation A04-01.

Therefore, the reassessment remains at Satisfactory Intent.

Next TSB action

TSB Air Branch staff will liaise with TC to monitor the progress of the NPA related to this recommendation.

Response to A04-01 (15 February 2010)

In its response, TC reports that NPA 2008-058 has been developed, presented and accepted at the June 2008 CARAC. Prior to publication of the standard, the Advisory Circular No. 0235R must be amended.

Board Reassessment of the Response to A04-01 (28 July 2010)

TC's response indicates that it continues to progress safety action that, if fully implemented, will address the deficiencies underlying Recommendation A04-01

Therefore, the reassessment remains at Satisfactory Intent.

Next TSB action

TSB staff will liaise with TC to monitor the progress of the NPA and related amendments to Advisory Circular No. 0235R.

Transport Canada Response to A04-01 (21 January 2011)

TC's response indicates that NPA 2008-058, along with the associated Advisory Circular, is now being reviewed for final publication. The Advisory Circular is expected to be published by the end of the summer 2011 and once the industry has been informed of the methods available to them to account for passenger weights, the revised standard will be published accordingly. TC also indicates that it will also publish an amendment to the Aeronautical Information Manual, which will give operators the necessary information to comply with the segmented weight requirements upon publication of the revised standard.

Board Reassessment of the Response to A04-01 (09 March 2011)

TC's response indicates that it continues to progress safety action that, if fully implemented, will address the deficiencies underlying Recommendation A04-01.

Therefore, the reassessment remains at Satisfactory Intent.

Next TSB action

TSB staff will liaise with TC to monitor the progress of the NPA and related amendments to Advisory Circular No. 0235R.

Transport Canada's Response to A04-01 (07 December 2011)

"AC 703-004 – Use of Segmented Passenger Weights by Commercial Air Operators Under Subpart 703 of the CARs (http://www.tc.gc.ca/eng/civilaviation/opssvs/managementservices-referencecentre-acs-700-703-004-1436.htm) was published on Nov. 30, 2011.

The next step is to publish, in the CAR Standards, NPA 2008-058 which is expected in June of 2012."

Board Reassessment of the Response to A04-01 (07 March 2012)

TC's response indicates that it continues to progress safety action that, if fully implemented, will substantially reduce or eliminate the safety deficiency underlying Recommendation A04‑01.

The response is considered Satisfactory Intent.

Next TSB action

The TSB will liaise with TC to monitor the progress of the NPA.

The deficiency file is assigned an Active status.

Transport Canada's response to A04-01 (04 December 2012)

On 28 August 2012, TC provided the following information:

Transport Canada has published an amendment to subsection 723.37(3), Weight and Balance Control, of the Commercial Air Services Standard. The amendment can be found at the following link: http://www.tc.gc.ca/eng/civilaviation/regserv/cars/part7-standards-723a-2171.htm#723a_37.

CAR723.37 (3) now states:

Weight of passengers, carry on baggage and checked baggage, where the weight of passengers and carry-on baggage is determined either by actual weight, or by using segmented weight values, either as published, or derived from statistically meaningful data using a methodology acceptable to the Minister, and where the weight of checked baggage and cargo is determined by actual weight

On 04 December 2012, TC provided the following update:

In response to this recommendation, NPA 2008-058 was published and made effective 01 June 2012. TC sent a letter to the TSB on 28 August 2012, recommending that this recommendation be closed.

Board assessment of the response to A04-01 (06 March 2013)

TC has amended the CARs to reflect that actual passenger weights should be used for aircraft certified for less than 5 passengers, and that segmented weights be used for aircraft certified for 5 to 11 passenger seats. Guidance Material for Regulations & Standards – Part 703 – Air Taxi Operations – Division III – section 743.37(5) provides direction on how to compute passenger weights. The segmented weight tables were developed by TCCA for use by subpart 703 of the CARs operators seeking an alternative to actual weights for computing weight and balance for the given number of passengers on board. The above reference also states that the use of segmented weights provide a 95% confidence level and a 1% margin of error tolerance that the actual weight of passengers will not exceed the total weight of passengers obtained by using segmented weights for the given number of passengers on board.

Although TSB Recommendation A04-01 called for using actual weights for aircraft with a capacity of 9 or fewer passengers, the use of actual weights for aircraft certified for less than 5 passengers and segmented weights for 5 to 11 passengers will significantly reduce the deficiencies underlying Recommendation A04-01.

The response is considered Fully Satisfactory.

Next TSB action

The deficiency file is assigned an Inactive status.

Recommandation A04-01

Réévaluation des réponses à la recommandation en matière de sécurité aérienne A04-01

Utilisation des poids passagers standard pour les petits aéronefs

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Introduction

Le 17 janvier 2004, à 16 h 38, heure normale de l'Est, le Cessna Caravan 208B, immatriculé C FAGA assurant le vol 126 de Georgian Express (GGN 126) décolle de l'île Pelée (Ontario) à destination de Windsor (Ontario) avec à son bord neuf passagers et le pilote. Peu après le décollage, l'avion heurte la surface gelée du lac Érié, tuant ses dix occupants. L'enquête (A04H0001) n'est pas encore terminée, mais les données factuelles semblent indiquer que la masse de l'aéronef a été un facteur contributif. Le manuel de vol de l'avion Cessna précise que la masse maximale autorisée au décollage est de 8750 livres (avec le conteneur de fret installé) ou de 8550 livres si l'avion vole dans des conditions de givrage connues. L'enquête révèle que la masse de l'avion au décollage de l'aéroport de l'île Pelée était de quelque 9820 livres, soit 1270 livres au-dessus de la masse maximale.

Pour les aéronefs dont la masse est inférieure à 12 500 livres, il peut y avoir des écarts importants par rapport aux valeurs normalisées publiées pour les poids des passagers en raison de leur faible nombre (neuf passagers ou moins). Cet écart est d'autant plus grand pour les petits appareils parce que les passagers représentent un pourcentage plus élevé de la masse totale de l'appareil (22 % pour un Cessna 208 et 9 % pour un Boeing 747). Quand un petit aéronef est chargé à sa masse maximale, cet écart au niveau du poids des passagers peut entraîner une surcharge et ainsi compromettre la sécurité du vol.

Les exploitants aériens peuvent calculer le poids des passagers de trois façons, la plus courante étant l'utilisation des poids standard, comme c'était le cas pour les vols de l'île Pelée où cette méthode a été utilisée pour 155 vols sur 165. Le poids moyen des passagers du vol 126 de Georgian Express, en utilisant les poids standard, était de 183,3 livres (neuf hommes d'un poids moyen de 188 livres et une femme d'un poids moyen de 141 livres). Si l'on avait utilisé les poids réels, le poids moyen d'un passager aurait été de 240 livres.

De nombreux aéronefs en surcharge ont eu des accidents au Canada. Au moins cinq de ces accidents sont survenus à des petits aéronefs dont l'écart entre les poids standard des passagers et les poids réels a contribué à la surcharge de l'appareil et à l'accident. Quatre de ces accidents ont entraîné des pertes de vie, causant la mort de 24 personnes.

Le 7 octobre 2004, le Bureau a publié une recommandation provisoire sur la sécurité aérienne dans le cadre de son enquête (A04H0001) sur cet événement.

Recommandation A04-01 (7 octobre 2004)

Les mesures de protection contre les risques associés à l'utilisation des poids standard sont insuffisantes pour les aéronefs qui transportent neuf passagers ou moins. L'utilisation des poids passagers réels pour les petits aéronefs donnerait une marge de sécurité plus importante. En conséquence, le Bureau a recommandé que :

le ministère des Transports exige que les poids passagers réels soient utilisés pour les aéronefs d'une capacité de neuf passagers ou moins exploités dans le cadre d'un service aérien commercial ou d'un service de taxi aérien.

Recommandation A04-01 du BST

Réponse de Transports Canada (22 décembre 2004)

Dans sa lettre du 22 décembre 2004, Transports Canada fait les observations suivantes :

  • Le règlement actuel mentionne clairement que les exploitants de services de transport aérien doivent s'assurer que leurs aéronefs ne dépassent pas la limite de masse et de centrage avant le décollage et que les normes offrent des options de rechange sans déroger à l'exigence réglementaire de rester dans les limites de masse de l'aéronef.
  • Transports Canada poursuit son examen des poids standard en vue d'améliorer les directives. L'utilisation des poids réels est prise en considération pour les vols effectués en vertu de la sous-partie 3 (Exploitation d'un taxi aérien) de la Partie VII (Services aériens commerciaux) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC). Une fois l'examen terminé, y compris l'évaluation des risques, un Avis de proposition de modification (APM) sera élaboré en cas de besoin et soumis au Conseil consultatif sur la réglementation aérienne canadienne (CCRAC) pour consultation.

Évaluation du Bureau (18 février 2005)

Dans sa réponse, Transports Canada indique que le règlement en vigueur prévoit clairement qu'il incombe à l'exploitant de l'aéronef d'assurer le contrôle de la masse et du centrage et que les poids passagers standard actuels permettent l'utilisation des poids passagers réels. La réponse de Transports Canada ne traite pas de la portée spécifique de la recommandation du Bureau concernant l'utilisation obligatoire des poids passagers réels dans le cas des aéronefs d'une capacité de neuf passagers ou moins. Même si, dans sa réponse, Transports Canada indique qu'il est disposé à revoir ses poids standard et que cette révision prendra en considération l'option pour les exploitants de taxis aériens d'utiliser les poids passagers réels, la réponse de Transports Canada ne fait pas état de la date à laquelle cette révision sera terminée et ne mentionne aucun moyen particulier pour mieux surveiller les exploitants de taxis aériens à ce chapitre.

Transports Canada a proposé des mesures qui permettront de réduire de beaucoup cette lacune, voire de l'éliminer, si elles sont mises en œuvre. Par contre, les risques actuels associés à l'utilisation des poids standard ne seront pas éliminés tant que de nouveaux poids passagers standard n'auront pas été adoptés pour garantir que les poids passagers réels sont utilisés pour les aéronefs d'une capacité de neuf passagers ou moins. Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) croit que le délai requis pour modifier les poids passagers standard pourrait être excessif.

Le Bureau estime que la réponse de Transports Canada dénote une intention satisfaisante.

Suivi exercé par le BST (18 février 2005)

Le personnel du BST surveillera de près les mesures qui seront prises par Transports Canada dans le cadre de cette recommandation et révisera la présente évaluation au besoin.

Réponse de Transports Canada (14 décembre 2005)

Dans sa lettre de mise à jour datée du 14 décembre 2005, Transports Canada a souligné qu'il a analysé les règlements et les normes liés à cette question. Une évaluation des risques liés à l'utilisation des poids passagers réels dans les taxis aériens (703) a été menée en mai 2005. Cette évaluation des risques a permis de conclure qu'il pourrait y avoir lieu d'élaborer des APM pour imposer l'utilisation des poids passagers réels pour le transport de passagers selon le RAC 703. Ces APM sont en cours d'élaboration et seront soumis au CCRAC pour consultation.

Réévaluation du Bureau (12 juillet 2006)

Dans sa lettre de mise à jour datée du 14 décembre 2005, Transports Canada a souligné qu'il a analysé les règlements et les normes liés à cette question. Une évaluation des risques liés à l'utilisation des poids passagers réels dans les taxis aériens (703) a été menée en mai 2005. Cette évaluation des risques a permis de conclure qu'il pourrait y avoir lieu d'élaborer des APM pour imposer l'utilisation des poids passagers réels pour le transport de passagers selon le RAC 703. Ces APM sont en cours d'élaboration et seront soumis au CCRAC pour consultation. La mesure proposée, si elle est entièrement mise en œuvre, permettra de réduire considérablement les risques décrits dans la recommandation A04-01.

C'est pourquoi on estime encore que la réponse dénote une intention satisfaisante

Suivi exercé par le BST (12 juillet 2006)

Le personnel du BST surveillera de près les mesures qui seront prises par Transports Canada dans le cadre de cette recommandation et révisera la présente évaluation au besoin.

Réponse de Transports Canada (7 février 2007)

Dans sa dernière mise à jour, Transports Canada dit qu'il envisage d'harmoniser ses règlements et ses normes selon le tableau 2-5 de la circulaire d'information 120-27E de la FAA intitulée Aircraft Weight and Balance Control (Contrôle de la masse et du centrage des aéronefs). Transports Canada mentionne également que les APM sont en cours d'élaboration et seront soumis au CCRAC pour consultation.

Réévaluation du Bureau (24 juillet 2007)

Le tableau 2-5 de la circulaire d'information 120-27E de la FAA donne le choix aux exploitants d'utiliser des valeurs graduelles pour le poids des passagers adultes; le poids passagers augmente à mesure que le nombre de sièges passagers diminue. Néanmoins, la FAA dit qu'il serait dangereux pour un exploitant d'aéronef d'utiliser des poids standard ou des valeurs graduelles pour les aéronefs suivants :

  • tous les monomoteurs à pistons
  • tous les multimoteurs à pistons
  • tous les monomoteurs à turbine

Étant donné que la réponse de Transports Canada ne donne pas de détails à savoir si les APM exigeront que les exploitants des aéronefs transportant neuf passagers ou moins utilisent les poids réels, les mesures énoncées, si elles sont entièrement mises en œuvre, permettront de réduire considérablement les risques liés à la recommandation A04-01. Par conséquent, on estime encore que la réponse dénote une intention satisfaisante.

Suivi exercé par le BST (24 juillet 2007)

Le personnel du BST communiquera avec Transports Canada afin de déterminer où en sont les APM liés à cette recommandation et leur contenu. Il révisera la présente évaluation au besoin.

Réponse de Transports Canada (6 mars 2008)

Dans sa réponse du 6 mars 2008, Transports Canada indique qu'il a publié la Circulaire d'information de l'Aviation commerciale et d'affaires 0235 et la Lettre de politique 168 afin de rappeler aux exploitants qu'ils ont la responsabilité d'établir avec précision : « ... la masse des passagers, des bagages de cabine et des bagages enregistrés, obtenue à partir des masses réelles, des masses normalisées homologuées ou des masses générales homologuées et de la masse réelle du fret ».

Afin d'apporter un moyen satisfaisant de répondre à ces dispositions, un APM actuellement en cours de développement obligera les exploitants 703 à utiliser la masse réelle des passagers ou une valeur graduelle d'après des données canadiennes similaires au tableau 2-5 de la circulaire d'information 120-27E, Aircraft Weight and Balance Control (Contrôle de la masse et du centrage des aéronefs), publiée par la FAA.

De plus, Transports Canada précise que l'avis d'intention de rédiger un APM a déjà été approuvé. L'ébauche de l'APM a été mise en circulation, et des valeurs de masses graduelles de sources canadiennes sont en cours de préparation. Lorsque l'APM sera prêt, il sera soumis au CCRAC pour consultation dès juin 2008.

Réévaluation du Bureau (13 août 2008)

La réponse de Transports Canada montre qu'il poursuit l'élaboration d'une mesure de sécurité qui, si elle est entièrement mise en œuvre, permettra de répondre aux lacunes de sécurité dont fait état la recommandation A04-01.

Par conséquent, on estime encore que la réponse dénote une intention satisfaisante.

Suivi exercé par le BST (13 août 2008)

Le personnel de la Direction des enquêtes (Air) du BST communiquera avec Transports Canada pour suivre le développement des APM liés à cette recommandation.

Réponse de Transports Canada (15 février 2010)

Dans sa réponse, Transports Canada indique que l'APM 2008-058 a été préparé, présenté et accepté à la réunion du CCRAC de juin 2008. Avant la publication de la norme, il faudra modifier la Circulaire d'information 0235R.

Réévaluation du Bureau (28 juillet 2010)

De par sa réponse, Transports Canada montre qu'il continue de travailler sur la mesure de sécurité qui, si elle est entièrement mise en œuvre, permettra de réduire considérablement les risques sous-jacents à la recommandation A04-01.

Par conséquent, on estime encore que la réponse dénote une intention satisfaisante.

Suivi exercé par le BST (28 juillet 2010)

Le personnel du BST communiquera avec Transports Canada pour suivre l'évolution de l'APM et des modifications connexes à la Circulaire d'information 0235R.

Réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation A04-01 (21 janvier 2011)

La réponse de TC mentionne que l'APM 2008-058 ainsi que la Circulaire d'information connexe sont actuellement passés en revue en vue de leur publication définitive. La Circulaire d'information est censée être publiée avant la fin de l'été 2011 et, une fois que l'industrie aura été informée des techniques dont elle disposera pour calculer le poids des passagers, la norme révisée sera publiée en conséquence. TC mentionne également qu'il publiera aussi une modification au Manuel d'information aéronautique, laquelle modification fournira aux exploitants les renseignements nécessaires pour qu'ils se conforment aux exigences relatives aux valeurs graduelles pour le poids lors de la publication de la norme révisée.

Réévaluation du Bureau de la réponse à la recommandation A04-01 (9 mars 2011)

De par sa réponse, TC montre qu'il continue de travailler sur la mesure de sécurité qui, si elle est entièrement mise en œuvre, permettra de réduire considérablement les risques sous-jacents à la recommandation A04-01.

Par conséquent, on estime encore que la réponse dénote une intention satisfaisante.

Suivi exercé par le BST (9 mars 2011)

Le personnel du BST communiquera avec TC pour suivre l'évolution de l'APM et des modifications connexes à la Circulaire d'information 0235R.

Réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation A04‑01 (7 décembre 2011)

La circulaire d'information 703-004 — Utilisation du poids pondéré des passagers par les transporteurs aériens commerciaux relevant de la sous-partie 703 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (http://www.tc.gc.ca/fra/aviationcivile/opssvs/servicesdegestion-centredereference-ci-700-703-004-1436.htm) a été publiée le 30 novembre 2011.

La prochaine étape est la publication de l'Avis de proposition de modification (APM) 2008-058 dans le RAC, qui est prévue pour juin 2012.

Réévaluation du Bureau de la réponse à la recommandation A04-01 (7 mars 2012)

De par sa réponse, TC montre qu'il continue de travailler sur la mesure de sécurité qui, si elle est entièrement mise en œuvre, permettra de réduire considérablement ou d'éliminer les risques sous-jacents à la recommandation A04-01.

Le Bureau estime que l'évaluation dénote une intention satisfaisante.

Suivi exercé par le BST (7 mars 2012)

Le personnel du BST communiquera avec Transports Canada pour obtenir une mise à jour sur la publication de l'APM.

Le présent dossier est classé actif.

Réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation A04-01 (4 décembre 2012)

Le 28 août 2012, TC a fourni les renseignements suivants :

Transports Canada a publié une modification au paragraphe 723.37(3), Contrôle de la masse et du centrage, des Normes de service aérien commercial. La modification peut être consultée à l'adresse suivante : http://www.tc.gc.ca/fra/aviationcivile/servreg/rac/partie7-normes-723a-2171.htm.

Le paragraphe 723.37 (3) du RAC se lit maintenant comme suit :

« de la masse des passagers, des bagages de cabine et des bagages enregistrés, lorsque la masse des passagers et des bagages de cabine est obtenue à partir des masses réelles, ou des poids pondérés, publiés ou fondés sur des données statistiques pertinentes obtenues selon une méthode acceptable de l’avis du ministre, et lorsque la masse des bagages enregistrés et du fret est obtenue à partir des masses réelles »

Le 4 décembre 2012, TC a fourni la mise à jour suivante :

Suivant cette recommandation, l’Avis de proposition de modification (APM) 2008-058 a été publié et est entré en vigueur le 1er juin 2012. Le 28 août 2012, TC a adressé une lettre au BST, lui proposant de fermer cette recommandation

Évaluation du Bureau de la réponse à la recommandation A04-01 (6 mars 2013)

TC a modifié le RAC afin de préciser que les poids passagers réels doivent être utilisés dans le cas des avions qui sont certifiés pour moins de 5 passagers, et que des poids pondérés doivent être utilisés dans le cas des avions qui sont certifiés pour 5 à 11 passagers. Le paragraphe S743.37 (5) de la Section III du Document d'orientation sur le règlement et les normes - Partie 703 - Exploitation d'un taxi aérien,  fournit des directives sur la manière de calculer le poids passagers. Les tableaux de poids pondérés ont été préparés par TCAC à l’intention des exploitants visés par la partie 703 du RAC qui, pour déterminer le poids et le centrage en fonction du nombre de passagers à bord, cherchent une façon autre que l'utilisation du poids réel. Le document de référence mentionné ci-dessus indique également que l’utilisation des poids pondérés garantit, avec un intervalle de confiance de 95 % et un niveau d’exactitude de 1 %, que le poids réel des passagers ne dépassera pas le poids total des passagers obtenus en utilisant des poids pondérés pour un nombre donné de passagers à bord.

Bien que la recommandation A04-01 du BST préconise d’utiliser le poids réel pour les avions d'une capacité de 9 passagers ou moins, l'utilisation des poids réels dans le cas des avions certifiés pour moins de 5 passagers et des poids pondérés pour les avions de 5 à 11 passagers permettra de réduire considérablement les lacunes dont traite la recommandation A04-01.

Le BST estime que la réponse est entièrement satisfaisante.

Suivi exercé par le BST (6 mars 2013)

Le présent dossier est classé inactif.