Recommendation A02-04

REASSESSMENT OF THE RESPONSES FROM TRANSPORT CANADA AND THE FEDERAL AVIATION ADMINISTRATION TO AVIATION SAFETY RECOMMENDATION A02-04

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

POTENTIAL FOR WATER LINE RIBBON HEATER INSTALLATION FAILURES TO START A FIRE

Background

The Boeing 767-300 aircraft (C-GHML, serial number 24948), operating as Air Canada Flight 116 with 8 crew members and 177 passengers on board, was on a scheduled flight from Vancouver, British Columbia, to Toronto/Lester B. Pearson International Airport, Ontario. At 2132 Coordinated Universal Time, while on final approach, approximately 10 miles from the airport, the flight crew received an aft cargo bay fire warning. The flight crew followed emergency checklist procedures, activated the cargo bay fire extinguishers, and declared an emergency. The fire warning light extinguished approximately 50 seconds after activation of the fire extinguishers. Flight 116 landed on Runway 06L and stopped to allow airport firefighters to inspect the aircraft for indications of fire.

Firefighters, using infrared sensing equipment, did not detect any sign of fire, but an odour of smoke was noted by both the cabin crew and flight crew. The flight crew taxied the aircraft to the terminal but stopped approximately 40 feet back from the gate to allow firefighters to open the aft cargo compartment for a detailed inspection. When firefighters entered the cargo compartment, they encountered a significant amount of smoke but did not detect any other signs of fire. During this time, the flight crew had prepared the aircraft for emergency evacuation. However, the situation was secured and passengers were deplaned using portable stairs. The aircraft was taken to a hangar for further inspection; company maintenance personnel discovered substantial soot and fire damage on the floor of the cargo bay.

On 14 November 2002, the Board released interim safety recommendations as part of its investigation (A02O0123) into this occurrence.

Board Recommendation A02-04 (14 November 2002)

Widespread use of heater ribbons on transport category aircraft exposes the travelling public to the risks associated with heater ribbon fires. Recent actions taken to reduce these risks are not comprehensive and do not address the risk in the long term. Consequently, there remain inadequate defences against heater ribbon installations starting a fire. Therefore, the Board recommended that:

The Department of Transport take action to reduce the short term risk and eliminate the long term risk of heater ribbon installation failures starting fires, and coordinate and encourage a similar response from other appropriate regulatory authorities.
A02-04

Responses to A02-04 (Transport Canada - 05 February 2003 and Federal Aviation Administration - 25 February 2003)

As an interim response, the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) issued Airworthiness Directive (AD) 2002-11-11 requiring the performance of a one-time general visual inspection for foreign object debris or contamination in visually accessible areas on or near potable water and drain lines and for discrepancies of potable water and drain lines located below the cargo floor in the non-fully enclosed forward and aft cargo compartments, in accordance with Boeing Alert Service Bulletin 767-30A0037, dated 28 May 2002.

In its 05 February 2003 response, Transport Canada (TC) reported the following short-term actions:

  • TC's Aircraft Certification Branch, Continuing Airworthiness Division, is working closely with the FAA to determine if this interim action is required for other model types that use similar heater tapes.
  • On 27 December 2002, TC submitted a letter to the FAA and the manufacturer of the Boeing 767 aircraft, requesting that a review of the initial development of Maintenance Significant Items, which preceded the B767 Maintenance Review Board analysis, be performed. Should this review be found inadequate in light of the incident on 20 December 2002 at Edmonton International Airport, Alberta, involving an Air Canada Boeing 767-200 aircraft, it was requested that a complete re-analysis of the system be conducted to ensure that all failure modes are included.
  • Boeing has been asked to take into consideration the overheating/arcing failure mode combined with combustible contaminants, which may result in a fire. In addition, a request for a review of the installation instructions of the heater ribbon tape and the configuration of the related electrical circuit, including the circuit breaker, will be made.
  • TC contacted other foreign civil aviation authorities in January 2003, and requested their support in assessing the potential failure for similar heater ribbon installations on type-certified aircraft for which they are the responsible design authority. TC will share this information with the TSB once it is available.

The 05 February 2003 TC letter also reported the following long-term actions:

  • TC is working closely with the FAA to determine corrective actions required to address this problem.


  • Bombardier has been requested to provide TC with information regarding the type of heater tapes installed on aircraft for which they are the type certificate holder.

In a February 25 letter, the FAA provided the following comments:

  • In its 06 February 2003 letter, the FAA's Seattle Office of Aircraft Certification (OAC) indicates that it agrees in part with the recommendation.
  • A notice of proposed rule making (NPRM) is being prepared for the Boeing Model 747 aircraft to perform an inspection similar to that of AD 2002-11-11.
  • Additionally, the Seattle OAC has requested service bulletins from Boeing to address the long-term risk for Boeing 747 and 767 aircraft without fully enclosed cargo floors. One corrective action is to identify any drain line hoses that do not require heat to keep from freezing and remove the heater ribbon via the requested service bulletin. For the remaining drain and fill lines in the area under the cargo floor, a new, more reliable heater ribbon will be developed and installed in accordance with the requested service bulletin. It is estimated that the service bulletins will be issued by December 2003, and that ADs mandating the service bulletins will be issued by December 2004.
  • The Seattle OAC does not agree that additional actions are required for other Boeing aircraft or for areas that are not accessible. It indicates that debris and contamination and not heater tape or insulation materials provide the fuel for a fire. Areas that are not accessible are not as exposed to debris or contamination; therefore, there is no risk of fire. It also indicates that there has never been a failure of a heater tape in an inaccessible area that has resulted in self-sustaining fire.
  • In a letter to the TSB dated 25 February 2005, the FAA stated that its Safety Recommendation Review Board had classified Recommendation A02-04, "Closed-Acceptable Action."

Board Assessment of the Responses to A02-04 (30 September 2003)

Although TC has indicated that it intends to work with the FAA, and has made requests to the FAA, TC has not indicated an intent to take action to directly address the safety deficiency identified by the Board beyond the areas being addressed by the FAA.

The FAA response indicates that it intends to issue an AD to either remove unnecessary heater ribbons or to replace them with more reliable heater ribbons. The FAA estimates that the AD will be issued in December 2004. The AD will only be applicable to heater ribbons on Boeing 747 and 767 aircraft, and only to those heater ribbons located in open cargo floor areas of these aircraft. This action by the FAA should satisfactorily address the safety deficiency only on these aircraft models in the open cargo floor areas.

The FAA action is limited to the Boeing 747 and 767 aircraft because only these aircraft have open cargo floor areas. The FAA believes that heater ribbons do not need to be removed or replaced in closed-in areas because such areas do not accumulate sufficient debris and contamination to pose a risk of a self-sustaining fire. The TSB does not share this view. Both the TSB and the NTSB have previously issued safety communications concerning the fire hazard associated with the accumulations of lint, dust, and debris on wires. As detailed in the TSB Recommendation A02-04 document, dust and lint accumulation on wires has led to self-sustaining fires in closed-in areas and the potential for such fires still exists. Consequently, the lack of FAA action concerning closed-in areas perpetuates the safety deficiency in these areas.

FAA action should adequately address the potential for heater ribbon installations to start a fire in open cargo floor areas, but not in closed-in areas. Although the risk of a fire starting in open floor areas is likely greater due to their vulnerability to the accumulation of debris and contamination, the lower risk of a fire starting in a closed-in area will remain.

The new enhanced zonal analysis procedure (EZAP) maintenance process referred to in the FAA response to TSB Recommendation A02-04 could result in action in the short term to monitor the condition of wiring, and contaminated materials and debris. The proposed action is applicable to large transport type aircraft in both the open and closed areas of the fuselage. This action should make it less likely that a failed heater ribbon will start a fire.

The action proposed by the FAA will reduce the deficiency in both the short and long term, but not substantially reduce or eliminate it.

Therefore, the response is assessed as being Satisfactory in Part.

Next TSB action

TC has indicated that it will provide an updated response to the TSB. The Air Branch will continue to monitor both the FAA's and TC's actions related to Recommendation A02-04. The assessment will be updated when more information is received.

Response to A02-04 (14 December 2005)

TC's letter dated 14 December 2003 did not include an update on the status of its action plan regarding Recommendation A02-04. Similarly, no further information has been received from the FAA.

Board Reassessment of the Responses to A02-04 (12 July 2006)

TC's letter to the TSB dated 14 December 2005 did not include an update to its original action plan with respect to Recommendation A02-04. It is the Board's understanding that TC remains committed to its original action plan, which, if fully implemented, will reduce but not substantially reduce or eliminate the deficiency associated with Recommendation A02-04.

Therefore, the assessment remains at Satisfactory in Part.

Next TSB action

TSB staff will liaise with TC to solicit an activity update with respect to the deficiency described in Recommendation A02-04.

Response to A02-04 (07 February 2007)

TC's letter dated 07 February 2007 indicated the following:

  • TC subjected these concerns to a risk assessment using a risk management process.


  • TC has reviewed the use of heater ribbon (tapes) on Canadian-registered aircraft and in aircraft for which it is the responsible design authority. It states that its review did not reveal any in-service difficulties on these aircraft that would require additional safety action.


  • In addition, for foreign-designed aircraft on the Canadian register, TC requested additional information and received responses from the responsible foreign Civil Aviation Authorities (CAA). Again, after performing the appropriate review, no concerns related to heater tapes were identified.


  • TC states that, although there is a safety concern identified by the TSB, it must be pointed out that the factors of type, installation and use have an influence on tape performance and these factors vary among aircraft.


  • In conclusion, after reviewing the use of heater tapes, TC has no service history related to safety events that would lead it to necessitate corrective actions similar to the Boeing occurrence.


Board Reassessment of the Responses to A02-04 (24 July 2007)

TC has done a thorough review and has identified no further concerns on Canadian-manufactured aircraft or Canadian-registered foreign aircraft. TC considers the issue closed. Although there have been no further identified failures that have led to fire and TC's research indicates there are no further concerns in Canada, the residual risk associated with heater ribbon installation failures as identified in Recommendation A02-04 will remain.

Because the actions taken by TC will reduce but not substantially reduce or eliminate the safety deficiency, the assessment remains at Satisfactory in Part.

Next TSB action

TSB staff will follow up in writing with TC as to options that could further mitigate the risks associated with the deficiency identified in Recommendation A02-04.

Response to A02-04 (11 March 2008)

In its response of 11 March 2008, TC repeats its response of 07 February 2007. Specifically, TC considers this recommendation CLOSED because

  • after reviewing the use of heater tapes, TC has no service history related to safety events that would lead it to necessitate corrective actions similar to the Boeing occurrence;
  • TC has completed the task and has communicated to the Board in response to the recommendation; and
  • appropriate mitigation is in place for the risks identified in the risk assessment process.

TC has decided not to take further action.

Board Reassessment of the Responses to A02-04 (13 August 2008)

TC's action taken to date has reduced the risk of fires starting in Boeing 747 and 767 aircraft with open cargo floor areas, where debris and contamination could accumulate and provide a source of fuel for a fire. However, no similar effort has gone into addressing the situation in the closed-in areas of these aircraft or of areas where heater ribbons are located in other aircraft.

Although TC's review of the use of heater tapes has not identified further concerns on Canadian-manufactured aircraft or Canadian-registered foreign aircraft, the risk of fires starting from heater ribbon failures in closed-in areas still remains.

The action taken by TC will reduce but not substantially reduce or eliminate the safety deficiency associated with Recommendation A02-04.

Therefore, the assessment remains as Satisfactory in Part.

Next TSB action

TSB staff will continue to monitor occurrences reflecting similar type deficiencies upon which this recommendation was based.

Review of A02-04 Deficiency File Status (23 September 2009)

In its latest position statement regarding the deficiency identified in Recommendation A02-04 TC states that appropriate mitigation is in place to deal with the risk. Additionally, TC considers this recommendation closed and plans no further action.

Therefore, the assessment remains at Satisfactory-in-Part.

The Board also concludes that, as no further action is planned by TC, continued reassessment will not likely yield further results.

Next TSB action

TSB Air Branch staff will not actively monitor TC's regulatory activities to reduce the short term risk and eliminate the long term risk of heater ribbon installation failures starting fires.

Recommandation A02-04

RÉÉVALUATION DES RÉPONSES DE TRANSPORTS CANADA ET DE LA FEDERAL AVIATION ADMINISTRATION À LA RECOMMANDATION EN MATIÈRE DE SÉCURITÉ AÉRONAUTIQUE A02-04

POSSIBILITÉ QU'UNE DÉFAILLANCE D'UN DISPOSITIF DE CHAUFFAGE DE CONDUITE D'EAU À RUBANS DÉCLENCHE UN INCENDIE

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Introduction

Le Boeing 767-300, immatriculé C-GHML, portant le numéro de série 24948, assurant le vol 116 d'Air Canada, avec à son bord 177 passagers et 8 membres d'équipage effectue un vol régulier entre Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique) et l'aéroport international de Toronto/Lester B. Pearson (Ontario). À 21 h 32, temps universel coordonné, pendant l'approche finale, à une dizaine de milles de l'aéroport, l'équipage de conduite reçoit une alarme incendie de la soute arrière. L'équipage de conduite exécute la liste de vérifications en cas d'urgence, déclenche les extincteurs de la soute et déclare une situation d'urgence. Le voyant d'alarme incendie s'éteint une cinquantaine de secondes après le déclenchement des extincteurs. L'avion atterrit sur la piste 06L et s'immobilise pour permettre aux pompiers de faire un examen à la recherche de signes d'incendie.

Les pompiers utilisent des caméras à infrarouges mais ne décèlent aucun signe d'incendie. Toutefois, le personnel de cabine et l'équipage de conduite perçoivent une odeur de fumée. L'avion roule en direction de l'aérogare et s'immobilise à une quarantaine de pieds de la porte d'embarquement pour permettre aux pompiers de faire une inspection minutieuse de la soute arrière. Les pompiers entrent dans la soute et découvrent une quantité importante de fumée, mais ils ne décèlent aucun autre signe d'incendie. Pendant ce temps, l'équipage de conduite prépare l'avion pour une évacuation d'urgence. Une fois la situation maîtrisée, les passagers empruntent des passerelles mobiles pour évacuer l'avion. L'appareil est ensuite remorqué jusqu'à un hangar où le personnel de maintenance de la compagnie fait une inspection plus poussée qui révèle une quantité importante de suie et des dommages causés par le feu sur le plancher de la soute.

Le 14 novembre 2002, le Bureau a publié des recommandations provisoires sur la sécurité aérienne dans le cadre de son enquête (A02O0123) sur cet événement.

Recommandation A02-04 (le 14 novembre 2002)

L'usage fort répandu des rubans chauffants sur les aéronefs de la catégorie transport expose le public voyageur aux risques liés aux incendies provoqués par des rubans chauffants. Les mesures prises récemment pour réduire ces risques ne sont pas complètes et ne traitent pas des risques à long terme. Elles demeurent donc un moyen de protection insuffisant contre les dispositifs à rubans chauffants capables de déclencher un incendie. En conséquence, le Bureau recommande que :

le ministère des Transports prenne des mesures pour réduire les risques d'incendie à court terme, et supprime les risques d'incendie à long terme, liés à des défaillances de dispositifs à rubans chauffants, et que le Ministère coordonne ses efforts avec les autorités réglementaires compétentes et les encourage à prendre des mesures semblables.

Recommandation A02-04 du BST

Réponses (de Transports Canada le 5 février 2003 et de la Federal Aviation Administration le 25 février 2003)

Comme mesure provisoire, la Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) a publié la consigne de navigabilité (CN) 2002-11-11 qui demande de procéder à une inspection visuelle générale non récurrente à la recherche d'éventuels débris provenant de corps étrangers ou de contamination dans les zones visibles à proximité ou autour des conduites d'alimentation et de récupération d'eau potable et d'éventuelles anomalies des conduites d'alimentation et de récupération d'eau potable situées sous le plancher des soutes avant et arrière qui ne sont pas entièrement fermées, conformément au bulletin de service alerte numéro 767-30A0037 de Boeing publié le 28 mai 2002.

Dans sa réponse du 5 février 2003, Transports Canada a signalé avoir pris les mesures à court terme suivantes :

  • La Direction de la certification des aéronefs de Transports Canada, Division du maintien de la navigabilité, travaille en étroite collaboration avec la FAA afin de déterminer si cette mesure provisoire doit s'appliquer à d'autres modèles qui utilisent des rubans chauffants semblables.


  • Le 27 décembre 2002, Transports Canada a envoyé une lettre à la FAA et au constructeur du Boeing 767 leur demandant d'effectuer un examen de la première ébauche des éléments importants de maintenance, laquelle a précédé l'analyse du Comité d'étude de la maintenance relative au B767. Si cet examen n'était pas satisfaisant compte tenu de l'incident mettant en cause un Boeing 767-200 d'Air Canada, lequel s'est produit le 20 décembre 2002 à l'aéroport international d'Edmonton (Alberta), on demandait alors qu'une nouvelle analyse complète du système soit effectuée tout en s'assurant que l'ensemble des modes de défaillance soit inclus.


  • On a demandé à Boeing de prendre en considération le mode de défaillance surchauffe/arc électrique combiné à des contaminants inflammables, situation qui pourrait donner lieu à un incendie. De plus, on demandera de procéder à un examen des instructions d'installation des rubans chauffants et du circuit électrique associé, y compris le disjoncteur.


  • Transports Canada a communiqué avec des autorités étrangères de l'aviation civile en janvier 2003 et leur a demandé leur appui dans l'évaluation du risque de défaillance lié à des rubans chauffants similaires installés sur des avions possédant un certificat de type pour lesquels elles sont les autorités responsables en matière de conception. Transports Canada fera part de cette information au BST dès qu'elle sera disponible.

Dans sa lettre du 5 février 2003, Transports Canada a aussi mentionné les mesures à long terme suivantes :

  • Transports Canada travaille en étroite collaboration avec la FAA à la recherche de solutions visant à corriger la situation.


  • On a demandé à Bombardier d'envoyer à Transports Canada les renseignements relatifs aux types de rubans chauffants installés sur les aéronefs possédant un certificat de type dont Bombardier est le titulaire.

Dans sa lettre du 25 février, la FAA a fourni les commentaires suivants :

  • Dans sa lettre du 6 février 2003, le bureau de la certification des aéronefs (Office of Aircraft Certification) de la FAA à Seattle a indiqué qu'il était plutôt en accord avec la recommandation.


  • Un avis de projet de réglementation (NPRM) est en cours d'élaboration pour les Boeing 747, visant l'exécution d'une inspection semblable à celle mentionnée dans la CN 2002-11-11.


  • De plus, le bureau de la certification des aéronefs à Seattle a demandé que les bulletins de service de Boeing traitent les risques à long terme auxquels les Boeing 747 et 767, qui ne sont pas équipés de soutes à plancher fermé, font face. Une mesure corrective est d'identifier tous les tuyaux souples de vidange qui n'ont pas besoin de chaleur pour ne pas geler et d'enlever les rubans chauffants conformément au bulletin de service. Pour les autres conduites de vidange et de remplissage se trouvant sous le plancher des soutes, un nouveau ruban chauffant plus fiable sera conçu et installé conformément au bulletin de service exigé. On estime que les bulletins de service seront distribués en décembre 2003, et que les CN mandatant les bulletins de service seront distribuées en décembre 2004.
  • Le bureau de la certification des aéronefs de la FAA à Seattle ne pense pas que des mesures supplémentaires soient nécessaires pour les autres Boeing, ou pour les zones qui ne sont pas accessibles sur les aéronefs concernés. Il a indiqué que ce sont plutôt les débris et les matériaux contaminés qui alimentent les incendies, et non les rubans chauffants ni les matériaux isolants. Les zones inaccessibles ne sont pas aussi exposées aux débris et à la contamination des matériaux et ne présentent pas de risque d'incendie. Le bureau de Seattle a aussi indiqué qu'il n'y a jamais eu de défaillance de ruban chauffant dans une zone inaccessible ayant causé un incendie qui se propage de lui-même.


  • Dans une lettre au BST datée du 25 février 2005, la FAA a déclaré que sa commission d'examen des recommandations de sécurité avait jugé la recommandation A02-04 comme étant un « dossier clos avec mesure acceptable ».

Évaluation du Bureau (le 30 septembre 2003)

Même si Transports Canada a indiqué avoir l'intention de collaborer avec la FAA et même s'il a présenté des demandes à la FAA, Transports Canada n'a pas mentionné avoir l'intention d'adopter des mesures qui permettront de corriger la lacune de sécurité établie par le Bureau allant au-delà des questions soulevées par la FAA.

Dans la réponse de la FAA, on peut lire qu'elle prévoit publier une CN visant à retirer tous les rubans chauffants inutiles ou à les remplacer par des rubans chauffants plus fiables. La FAA prévoyait que la CN serait publiée en décembre 2004. La CN ne toucherait que les rubans chauffants des Boeing 747 et 767, et uniquement les rubans chauffants installés sur le plancher ouvert des soutes de ces appareils. La mesure adoptée par la FAA devrait permettre de corriger de façon satisfaisante la lacune de sécurité touchant le plancher ouvert des soutes de ces modèles seulement.

La mesure de la FAA ne s'applique qu'aux Boeing 747 et 767, car seuls ces appareils ont un plancher ouvert dans la soute. Selon la FAA, les rubans chauffants n'ont pas à être retirés ni remplacés dans les endroits fermés, car ces endroits n'accumulent pas suffisamment de débris ni de matériaux contaminés pour poser un risque d'incendie qui se propage de lui-même. Le BST ne partage pas ce point de vue. Le BST et le NTSB ont déjà publié des communications sur la sécurité concernant le risque d'incendie associé à l'accumulation de peluche, de poussière et de débris sur les câbles. Comme l'indique la recommandation A02-04 du BST, l'accumulation de poussière et de peluche sur les câbles a déjà causé des incendies qui se propageaient d'eux-mêmes dans des endroits fermés. Ce risque d'incendie existe toujours. Par conséquent, la lacune de sécurité existe toujours dans ces endroits, car la FAA n'a adopté aucune mesure relativement aux endroits fermés.

La mesure de la FAA devrait traiter correctement le fait que les rubans chauffants installés peuvent causer un incendie dans les planchers ouverts de la soute, mais pas dans les planchers fermés. Même si le risque de déclenchement d'un incendie dans un plancher ouvert est plus élevé en raison d'une vulnérabilité attribuable à l'accumulation de débris et de matériaux contaminés, il existe toujours le risque, plus faible, qu'un incendie soit déclenché dans un endroit fermé.

Le nouveau processus de maintenance appelé programme amélioré d'analyse de zones (EZAP) auquel renvoie la FAA dans sa réponse à la recommandation A02-04 du BST peut entraîner l'adoption d'une mesure à court terme pour surveiller l'état du câblage, des matériaux contaminés et des débris. La mesure proposée s'applique aux endroits ouverts et fermés du fuselage des gros porteurs. Grâce à cette mesure, les risques qu'un ruban chauffant défectueux soit la cause d'un incendie sont moindres.

La mesure proposée par la FAA permettra de corriger en partie à court et à long terme la lacune de sécurité, sans la corriger grandement ni l'éliminer.

En conséquence, le Bureau estime qu'une attention en partie satisfaisante a été accordée à la lacune.

Suivi exercé par le BST (le 30 septembre 2003)

Transports Canada a indiqué qu'il fournirait une mise à jour au BST. La Direction des enquêtes (Air) continuera de surveiller les mesures de la FAA et de Transports Canada en ce qui a trait à la recommandation A02-04. L'évaluation sera mise à jour dès que le BST recevra de plus amples renseignements.

Le présent dossier est classé actif.

Réponse de Transports Canada (le 14 décembre 2005)

La lettre de Transports Canada datée du 14 décembre 2003 ne comprenait pas de mise à jour sur l'état du plan d'action relativement à la recommandation A02-04. De plus, la FAA n'avait fourni aucune autre information.

Réévaluation du Bureau (le 12 juillet 2006)

La lettre de Transports Canada datée du 14 décembre 2005 à l'intention du BST ne comprenait pas de mise à jour du plan d'action initial en ce qui a trait à la recommandation A02-04. Selon le Bureau, Transports Canada maintient toujours son plan d'action initial qui, s'il est entièrement mis en œuvre, permettra de corriger en partie la lacune de sécurité décrite dans la recommandation A02-04 sans la corriger grandement ni l'éliminer.

En conséquence, le Bureau estime toujours qu'une attention en partie satisfaisante a été accordée à la lacune.

Suivi exercé par le BST (le 12 juillet 2006)

Le personnel de la Direction des enquêtes (Air) du BST communiquera avec Transports Canada pour obtenir une mise à jour des activités en ce qui a trait à la lacune de sécurité décrite dans la recommandation A02-04.

Le présent dossier est classé actif.

Réponse de Transports Canada (le 7 février 2007)

Dans sa lettre du 7 février 2007, Transports Canada fait les observations suivantes :

  • Transports Canada a soumis ces préoccupations à un processus de gestion de risque.


  • Transports Canada a passé en revue l'utilisation des rubans chauffants dans les aéronefs immatriculés au Canada et les aéronefs dont la conception relève de son autorité. Cet examen n'a révélé aucune difficulté en service sur ces appareils pouvant justifier une quelconque mesure de sécurité.


  • De plus, pour les aéronefs de conception étrangère immatriculés au Canada, Transports Canada a demandé des renseignements supplémentaires et obtenu des réponses des autorités de l'aviation civile étrangères concernées. Là encore, une étude pertinente n'a révélé aucun problème concernant les rubans chauffants.


  • Bien qu'une préoccupation liée à la sécurité ait été signalée par le BST, Transports Canada est d'avis que des facteurs comme le type, l'installation et l'utilisation ont une influence sur le comportement des rubans chauffants et que ces facteurs varient d'un aéronef à un autre.


  • En conclusion, après avoir passé en revue l'utilisation des rubans chauffants, Transports Canada ne dispose pas d'antécédent lié à la sécurité qui pourrait justifier des mesures correctives similaires au cas du Boeing.


Réévaluation du Bureau (le 24 juillet 2007)

Transports Canada a mené un examen exhaustif des aéronefs fabriqués au Canada et des aéronefs étrangers immatriculés au Canada et n'a trouvé aucun autre problème. Transports Canada estime que le dossier est fermé. Bien qu'il n'y ait pas eu d'autres défectuosités ayant provoqué un incendie, et que l'étude de Transports Canada indique qu'il n'y a aucun autre problème au Canada, le risque résiduel dû à une défectuosité d'installation des rubans chauffants mentionné dans la recommandation A02-04 persiste.

Étant donné que les mesures prises par Transports Canada devraient corriger en partie sans toutefois corriger grandement ou éliminer la lacune de sécurité, le Bureau estime qu'une attention en partie satisfaisante a été accordée à la lacune.

Suivi exercé par le BST (le 3 octobre 2007)

Le personnel du BST communiquera par écrit avec Transports Canada pour connaître les options qui permettraient d'atténuer davantage les risques liés à la lacune mentionnée dans la recommandation A02-04.

Le présent dossier est classé actif.

Réponse de Transports Canada (le 11 mars 2008)

Dans sa réponse du 11 mars 2008, Transports Canada répète sa réponse du 7 février 2007. Plus précisément, Transports Canada estime que le dossier de cette recommandation est fermé pour les raisons suivantes :

  • après avoir passé en revue l'utilisation des rubans chauffants, Transports Canada ne dispose pas d'antécédent lié à la sécurité qui pourrait justifier des mesures correctives similaires au cas du Boeing;


  • Transports Canada a terminé le travail et a communiqué les résultats au Bureau en réponse à la recommandation;


  • des mesures d'atténuation sont en place pour les risques identifiés dans le processus de gestion de risque.

Transports Canada a décidé de ne pas prendre d'autres mesures.

Réévaluation du Bureau (le 13 août 2008)

Les mesures prises par Transports Canada jusqu'à maintenant ont permis de réduire les risques d'incendie auxquels sont exposés les Boeing 747 et 767 qui ont un plancher ouvert dans la soute, où des débris et des matériaux contaminés pourraient s'accumuler et servir de source d'incendie. Toutefois, aucun autre effort n'a été déployé pour corriger la situation dans les endroits fermés de ces aéronefs ou les endroits où sont situés des rubans chauffants dans d'autres aéronefs.

L'examen par Transports Canada de l'utilisation des rubans chauffants n'a pas permis de trouver aucun autre problème à bord des aéronefs fabriqués au Canada et des aéronefs étrangers immatriculés au Canada, mais il existe toujours le risque qu'un incendie provoqué par des rubans chauffants soit déclenché dans un endroit fermé.

Les mesures prises par Transports Canada devraient corriger en partie sans toutefois corriger grandement ou éliminer la lacune de sécurité.

Par conséquent, le Bureau estime qu'une attention en partie satisfaisante a été accordée à la lacune.

Suivi exercé par le BST (le 13 août 2008)

Le personnel du BST continuera de surveiller les événements présentant des lacunes semblables à la lacune décrite dans la recommandation.

Examen du dossier sur la lacune de sécurité A02-04 (23 septembre 2009)

Dans son plus récent énoncé de position en ce qui concerne les lacunes de sécurité identifiées dans la recommandation A02-04, Transports Canada indique que les mesures d'atténuations appropriées sont en place pour se charger du risque. De plus, Transports Canada considère cette recommandation comme classée et ne prévoit pas d'actions futures.

Par conséquent, la recommandation demeure en partie satisfaisante.

Le Bureau conclut également que, étant donné que Transports Canada ne prévoit pas d'actions futures, des réévaluations continues n'apporteraient aucuns nouveaux résultats.

Suivi exercé par le BST (23 septembre 2009)

Le personnel de la Direction des enquêtes (Air) du BST ne fera pas de suivi auprès des activités de Transports Canada afin de réduire les risques d'incendie à court terme, et supprimer les risques d'incendie à long terme, liés à des défaillances de dispositifs à rubans chauffants.

Le présent dossier est classé en veilleuse.