Recommendation A00-13

Reassessment of the Responses to Aviation Safety Recommendation A00-13

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Packaging Standards

Background

The Aerospatiale AS 355 F1 Twinstar helicopter had completed a routine gas pipeline patrol and was returning to Fairview, Alberta, with the pilot and one passenger on board. During a shallow cruise descent into Fairview, at about 800 feet above ground, the red battery temperature light illuminated on the warning caution advisory panel. The pilot observed that the voltmeter and ammeter indications were normal and turned off the battery. About three minutes later, at approximately 500 feet above ground and as the pilot was contemplating a precautionary landing, the helicopter lost all electrical power and the cabin and cockpit began to fill with smoke and fumes. The pilot and passenger opened the side windows to ventilate the cabin, and the pilot accomplished an emergency landing at once on an available farm field. After landing, the pilot shut down the engines and both occupants evacuated the helicopter without further incident or injury. Flames were observed to be emanating from the vicinity of the right baggage compartment, and the helicopter was subsequently destroyed by an intense ground fire.

The Board concluded its investigation and released report A99W0061 on 28 August 2000.

Board Recommendation A00-13 (28 August 2000)

The survival and emergency equipment carried on board the helicopter included a five-person survival shelter and an emergency survival kit that contained emergency flares. The bags that housed the survival and emergency equipment were made of flammable nylon; the bags were not required to be flame-resistant. During testing, the bag materials ignited quickly, melted, dripped, and were totally destroyed by fire. The highly combustible nature of this packaging material contributed to the severity of this occurrence by providing a ready source of fuel in the face of the arcing event. In addition, survival equipment transported in flammable packaging reduces the likelihood that this equipment will be available for its intended purpose.

The survival kits in each of the four company helicopters contained two hand-held, marine-type, parachute flares and four day/night smoke flares. All flares on board the accident helicopter had ignited and discharged during the fire. The flares are classified as 1.2G and 1.4G explosives. Materials classified as 1.2G explosives are forbidden to be shipped on cargo and passenger aircraft under International Air Transport Association (IATA) dangerous goods regulations. Goods classified as 1.4G explosives can be shipped on cargo aircraft, provided that they are packaged in accordance with the appropriate packaging instructions. The emergency flares in two of the three survival bags in the company sister ships were packaged in crumpled newspaper to prevent abrasion. IATA Dangerous Goods Packing Instruction 905 requires signal devices transported as dangerous goods to be packaged in plastic or fibreboard inner containers. Current dangerous goods regulations do not apply to products that are necessary for the safety of the persons on board the means of transport. Any condition that unnecessarily increases the potential for the initiation or propagation of a fire on board an aircraft is hazardous, putting passengers and crew at risk. Therefore the Board recommended that:

The Department of Transport ensure that air operators store aircraft survival gear on aircraft in flame-resistant material and package emergency pyrotechnics and other highly flammable survival equipment at least to the standards required by International Air Transport Association (IATA) Dangerous Goods Regulations.
A00-13

Response to A00-13 (22 November 2000)

In its letter of 22 November 2000, Transport Canada (TC) agrees with the intent of the recommendation, which is to ensure the likelihood that survival equipment will be available after an accident for the intended purposes and to reduce the potential for this equipment to initiate or propagate a fire on board an aircraft.

TC stated that it will proceed with the development and distribution of a Commercial & Business Aviation Advisory Circular (CBAAC) incorporating the TSB recommendation to store flares in survival equipment to International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) Technical Instruction packing standards. A Notice of Proposed Amendment (NPA) to the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs) will also be prepared. The NPA will be submitted to the Part VI Technical Committee of the Canadian Aviation Regulation Advisory Council (CARAC) for consultation with stakeholders by June 2001.

Board Assessment of the Response to A00-13 (22 November 2000)

In its reply of 22 November 2000, TC indicated that it agrees with the intent of the recommendation and that it will proceed with the development and distribution of a CBAAC incorporating the TSB recommendation to store flares in survival equipment to ICAO Technical Instruction packing standards. Additionally, an NPA to the CARs will be prepared and submitted to the Part VI Technical Committee of the CARAC for consultation with stakeholders by June 2001. Given that the CBAAC has not been issued, that the proposed amendments to the CARs may depend on a positive response from the CARAC Technical Committee, and that amendments to the CARs will not occur until after the consultative process with CARAC is completed, the response is considered Satisfactory Intent.

Next TSB action

TSB Air Branch staff will closely monitor the progress of TC activities to determine if their action plan addresses the identified deficiency.

Response to A00-13 (14 December 2005)

On 14 May 2001, TC issued CBAAC 0184 entitled Stowage and Packaging of Survival Equipment and Emergency Flares incorporating the TSB recommendation to store flares in survival equipment to ICAO Technical Instruction packing standards. Subsequently, the Survival Equipment Working Group report was presented on 06 January 2005. An NPA to the CARs will be prepared. The NPA will be submitted at a future Part VI Technical Committee of the CARAC for consultation with stakeholders.

Board Reassessment of the Response to A00-13 (12 Jul 2006)

On 14 May 2001, TC issued CBAAC 0184 recommending that air operators ensure that "life-saving appliances" such as survival equipment are stored in compliance with ICAO's Packing Instruction 905 when required to be carried on board the aircraft in accordance with pertinent airworthiness requirements or operating regulations. TC's activity update of 14 December 2005 states that an NPA will be prepared to address the deficiency raised in Recommendation A00-13. The NPA will be submitted to a future Part VI Technical Committee of the CARAC for consultation with stakeholders.

Because the proposed action, if fully implemented, will reduce the safety deficiency described in Recommendation A00-13, the assessment remains at Satisfactory Intent.

Next TSB action

TSB Air Branch staff will closely monitor the progress of TC activities to determine if the action plan addresses the identified deficiency.

Response to A00-13 (07 February 2007)

Preliminary research for the development of an NPA indicates that imposing a particular flammability standard for survival equipment packaging may be difficult, as no such standard currently exists. Research is on going.

Board Reassessment of the Response to A00-13 (24 July 2007)

TC is continuing to look into this issue; however, no action has yet to be taken. The stated action, if fully implemented, will substantially reduce the risks associated with Recommendation A00-13.

Therefore, the assessment remains at Satisfactory Intent.

Next TSB action

TSB Air Branch staff will closely monitor the progress of TC activities in order to determine if their action plan addresses the identified deficiency.

Response to A00-13 (6 March 2008)

In its response of 6 March 2008, TC reported that, in May 2001, it distributed a Commercial & Business Aviation Advisory Circular (CBAAC - 0184) incorporating the TSB recommendation to store flares in survival equipment to the ICAO Technical Instruction packing standards.

TC also stated that research for the development of an NPA indicates that imposing a particular flammability standard for survival equipment packaging is insurmountable as no such standard currently exists to reference.

In addition, TC considers this recommendation CLOSED because:

  • Implementation of the original recommendation is not feasible given that no standard exists to reference.
  • Over and above the original recommendation, TC raised operator's awareness of this issue thus reducing the risks associated with the identified safety deficiency.

TC also stated that it would not be taking any further action in response to Recommendation A00-13.

Board Reassessment of the Response to A00-13 (13 August 2008)

TC's development and distribution, in May 2001, of a Commercial & Business Aviation Advisory Circular (CBAAC - 0184) incorporating the TSB recommendation to store flares in survival equipment to the ICAO Technical Instruction packing standards is commendable, in that it should have made air operators aware of the risks indentified in TSB Recommendation A00-13 in the short term.

Although, TC states that no standard exists for reference, IATA Dangerous Goods Regulations exist and are published on a yearly basis. As well, TC has changed from its original plan to establish permanent regulatory requirements for packaging survival equipment.

TC's decision to not pursue its original plan to establish permanent regulatory requirements for packaging survival equipment and to not take further mitigating action will result in a situation wherein the action taken will reduce but not substantially reduce or eliminate the deficiency underlying Recommendation A00-13.

Therefore, the assessment rating has regressed to Satisfactory in Part.

Next TSB action

TSB Air Branch staff will continue to communicate concerns to TC regarding the TC position that no standard exists to reference, and will continue to monitor occurrences reflecting similar type deficiencies upon which this recommendation was based.

Response to A00-13 (15 February 2010)

TC's latest response restates the fact that it issued CBAAC 0184 in 2001. Additionally, it states that the issue remains open and will be addressed as part of its ongoing implementation of the CARAC's Survival Equipment Working Group (SEWG) Final Report recommendations. The response does not provide details of the SEWG recommendation that deals with the deficiency identified in TSB Recommendation A00-13. However, it does state that the SEWG's recommendations have been ranked 211th in a Branch priority setting exercise.

Board Reassessment of the Response to A00-13 (28 July 2010)

TC's recent response does not describe the relevant SEWG recommendation or whether or not it advocates on behalf of the establishment of a regulatory requirement for packaging survival equipment. Nor does it indicate how or when, given its 211th ranking on the Branch priority list, TC plans to implement the SEWG recommendation.

The lack of information in TC's response with respect to its action plan to address the deficiency identified in Recommendation A00-13 results in a status quo situation. The planned action may reduce but not substantially reduce or eliminate the deficiency underlying Recommendation A00-13.

Therefore, the assessment rating remains as Satisfactory in Part.

Next TSB action

The Board feels that as the residual risk associated with the deficiency identified in Recommendation A00-13 is substantial and no further action is planned by TC continued reassessments will not likely yield further results.

Recommandation A00-13

Réévaluation des réponses à la recommandation en matière de sécurité aérienne A00-13

Normes d'emballage

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Introduction

L'hélicoptère Aerospatiale AS 355 F1 Twinstar, à bord duquel se trouvent le pilote et un passager, vient de terminer une mission de surveillance de gazoducs et retourne à Fairview (Alberta). Pendant la croisière en descente lente vers Fairview, à quelque 800 pieds au-dessus du sol, le voyant rouge de température batterie s'allume sur le tableau annonciateur des alarmes et des avertissements. Le pilote observe que les indications du voltmètre et de l'ampèremètre sont normales et il coupe la batterie. Environ trois minutes plus tard, à quelque 500 pieds au-dessus du sol, alors que le pilote songe à faire un atterrissage de précaution, l'hélicoptère subit une panne complète d'alimentation électrique, et la cabine se remplit de fumée et d'émanations. Le pilote et le passager ouvrent les fenêtres latérales pour aérer la cabine, et le pilote effectue immédiatement un atterrissage d'urgence dans un champ qui se prête à la manœuvre. Une fois au sol, le pilote coupe les moteurs, et les deux occupants sortent de l'appareil sans autre incident. Personne n'est blessé. Des flammes sont aperçues à proximité du compartiment à bagages de droite. L'hélicoptère est ensuite détruit par un violent incendie au sol.

Le Bureau a terminé son enquête. Le rapport d'enquête A99W0061 a été publié le 28 août 2000.

Recommandation A00-13 (28 août 2000)

L'équipement de survie et de secours transporté à bord de l'hélicoptère comprenait un abri de survie pour cinq personnes ainsi qu'une trousse de survie contenant des fusées éclairantes de secours. Les sacs qui contenaient l'équipement de survie et de secours étaient en nylon inflammable, mais rien n'obligeait à ce que les sacs soient ignifugés. Pendant les essais, le matériau constituant les sacs s'est enflammé rapidement, a fondu et a dégoutté avant d'être complètement détruit par le feu. La nature hautement combustible de ce matériau d'emballage a contribué à la gravité des faits en offrant une source de carburant facile en présence d'un arc électrique. De plus, si de l'équipement de survie est transporté dans un emballage inflammable, les chances sont plus minces que cet équipement soit encore utilisable en cas de besoin.

Chaque trousse de survie des quatre hélicoptères de la compagnie contenait deux fusées éclairantes à main munies d'un parachute de type maritime ainsi que quatre fumigènes jour/nuit. Tous les fumigènes et toutes les fusées transportés à bord de l'hélicoptère accidenté ont pris feu et ont été consumés dans l'incendie. Ces articles sont considérés comme des explosifs des classes 1.2G et 1.4G. En vertu du Règlement sur les marchandises dangereuses de l'Association du transport aérien international (IATA), il est interdit de mettre des matériaux considérés comme des explosifs de classe 1.2G à bord des aéronefs servant au transport de fret et de passagers. Les produits considérés comme des explosifs de classe 1.4G peuvent être mis dans des aéronefs servant au transport de fret, à condition qu'ils soient emballés conformément aux instructions d'emballage pertinentes. Les fusées éclairantes de secours de deux des trois trousses de survie des appareils jumeaux de l'entreprise avaient été enveloppées dans du papier journal pour empêcher le frottement. D'après l'instruction d'emballage des marchandises dangereuses 905 de l'IATA, les dispositifs de signalisation transportés à bord comme des marchandises dangereuses doivent être emballés dans des contenants en plastique ou en carton compact. L'actuel règlement sur le transport des marchandises dangereuses ne s'applique pas aux produits qui sont nécessaires à la sécurité des personnes à bord d'un moyen de transport. Toute condition qui augmente inutilement les risques de déclenchement ou de propagation d'un incendie à bord d'un aéronef est dangereuse et compromet la sécurité des passagers et de l'équipage. C'est pourquoi le Bureau a recommandé que :

le ministère des Transports s'assure que les exploitants aériens rangent le matériel de survie, transporté à bord des aéronefs, dans des contenants ignifugés et qu'ils emballent les dispositifs pyrotechniques de secours ainsi que les autres articles de survie hautement inflammables de manière à respecter au moins les normes établies en vertu du Règlement sur les marchandises dangereuses de l'Association du transport aérien international (IATA).

Recommandation A00-13 du BST

Réponse de Transports Canada (22 novembre 2000)

Dans sa lettre du 22 novembre 2000, Transports Canada est d'accord avec le but visé par la recommandation, à savoir qu'il faut s'assurer que l'équipement de survie pourra véritablement servir aux fins auxquelles il est destiné en cas d'accident et réduire les risques que cet équipement déclenche ou propage un incendie à bord de l'aéronef.

Transports Canada veillera donc à préparer et à diffuser une Circulaire d'information de l'aviation commerciale et d'affaires (CIACA) dans laquelle figurera la recommandation du BST voulant que les dispositifs pyrotechniques soient conditionnés conformément aux normes d'emballage de l'instruction technique de l'Organisation de l'aviation civile internationale (OACI). Un Avis de proposition de modification (APM) au Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) sera également rédigé, lequel sera ensuite présenté d'ici juin 2001 aux membres du Comité technique sur la partie VI du Conseil consultatif sur la réglementation aérienne canadienne (CCRAC).

Évaluation du Bureau (le 22 novembre 2000)

Dans sa réponse du 22 novembre 2000, Transports Canada a indiqué qu'il est d'accord avec le but visé par la recommandation et qu'il veillera donc à préparer et à diffuser une CIACA dans laquelle figurera la recommandation du BST voulant que les dispositifs pyrotechniques soient conditionnés conformément aux normes d'emballage de l'instruction technique de l'OACI. Un APM au RAC sera également rédigé, lequel sera ensuite présenté d'ici juin 2001 aux membres du Comité technique sur la partie VI du CCRAC. Puisque la CIACA n'a pas été publiée, que les modifications proposées au RAC varieront selon la réponse du comité technique du CCRAC, et que les modifications au RAC n'entreront en vigueur qu'à la fin du processus de consultation du CCRAC, on estime que la réponse dénote une intention satisfaisante.

Suivi exercé par le BST (12 mars 2001)

Le personnel de la Direction des enquêtes (Air) du BST surveillera étroitement l'évolution des activités de Transports Canada afin de déterminer si le plan d'action traite de la lacune de sécurité dont il est question.

Réponse de Transports Canada (le 14 décembre 2005)

Le 14 mai 2001, Transports Canada a publié la CIACA 0184, Emballage de l'équipement de survie et des fusées éclairantes de secours, intégrant la recommandation du BST voulant que les dispositifs pyrotechniques soient conditionnés conformément aux normes d'emballage de l'instruction technique de l'OACI. Par la suite, le rapport du Groupe de travail sur l'équipement de survie a été distribué le 6 janvier 2005. Un APM du RAC sera rédigé. L'APM sera présenté aux membres à des fins de consultation à une réunion ultérieure du Comité technique sur la partie VI du CCRAC.

Réévaluation du Bureau (12 juillet 2006)

Le 14 mai 2001, Transports Canada a publié la CIACA 0184 dans laquelle il recommande que les exploitants aériens s'assurent que l'équipement de sauvetage, comme les trousses de survie, est rangé conformément à l'instruction d'emballage 905 de l'OACI lorsque transporté à bord de l'aéronef tel que requis par les exigences de navigabilité applicables ou les règlements d'exploitation. Dans sa mise à jour du 14 décembre 2005, Transports Canada indique qu'un APM sera rédigé afin de régler la lacune constatée dans la recommandation A00-13. L'APM sera présenté à une réunion ultérieure du Comité technique sur la partie VI du CCRAC à des fins de consultation auprès des intervenants.

Étant donné que la mesure proposée, si elle est entièrement mise en œuvre, réduira la lacune de sécurité décrite dans la recommandation A00-13, on estime que la réponse dénote toujours une intention satisfaisante.

Suivi exercé par le BST (12 juillet 2006)

Le personnel de la Direction des enquêtes (Air) du BST surveillera étroitement l'évolution des activités de Transports Canada afin de déterminer si le plan d'action traite de la lacune de sécurité dont il est question.

Réponse de Transports Canada (7 février 2007)

Des recherches préliminaires pour la rédaction d'un APM révèlent qu'il pourrait être difficile d'imposer une norme particulière d'inflammabilité de l'emballage de l'équipement de survie puisque aucune norme du genre n'existe à l'heure actuelle. Les recherches se poursuivent.

Réévaluation du Bureau (24 juillet 2007)

Transports Canada continue de se pencher sur cette question; toutefois, aucune mesure n'a encore été prise. La mesure prise, si elle est entièrement mise en œuvre, réduira considérablement les risques liés à la recommandation A00-13.

On estime donc que la réponse dénote toujours une intention satisfaisante.

Suivi exercé par le BST (24 juillet 2007)

Le personnel de la Direction des enquêtes (Air) du BST surveillera étroitement l'évolution des activités de Transports Canada afin de déterminer si le plan d'action traite de la lacune de sécurité dont il est question.

Réponse de Transports Canada (6 mars 2008)

Dans sa réponse du 6 mars 2008, Transports Canada signale qu'en mai 2001, il a distribué la CIACA 0184 intégrant la recommandation du BST voulant que les dispositifs pyrotechniques soient conditionnés conformément aux normes d'emballage de l'instruction technique de l'OACI.

Transports Canada a aussi dit que la recherche visant la rédaction d'un APM indique que le fait d'imposer une norme particulière d'inflammabilité de l'emballage de l'équipement de survie n'est pas possible puisque aucune norme du genre n'existe pour servir de référence.

En outre, Transports Canada estime que le dossier de cette recommandation est fermé pour les raisons suivantes :

  • la mise en œuvre de la recommandation d'origine n'est pas possible puisque aucune norme n'existe pour servir de référence
  • en plus de la recommandation d'origine, Transports Canada a sensibilisé davantage les exploitants sur ce sujet, ce qui a permis de réduire les risques liés à la lacune de sécurité mise en évidence.

Transports Canada a également dit qu'il ne prendrait pas d'autres mesures par suite de la recommandation A00-13.

Réévaluation du Bureau (13 août 2008)

Le fait que Transports Canada ait rédigé et distribué, en mai 2001, la CIACA 0184 intégrant la recommandation du BST voulant que les dispositifs pyrotechniques soient conditionnés conformément aux normes d'emballage de l'instruction technique de l'OACI est louable. En effet, cette CIACA devrait avoir permis de sensibiliser à court terme les exploitants aux risques identifiés dans la recommandation A00-13 du BST.

Transports Canada dit qu'aucune norme n'existe pour servir de référence, mais le Règlement sur les marchandises dangereuses de l'IATA existe et est publié tous les ans. De plus, Transports Canada a dévié de son plan d'origine qui était d'établir des exigences réglementaires permanentes relatives à l'emballage de l'équipement de survie.

En raison de la décision de Transports Canada de ne pas poursuivre son plan d'origine d'établir des exigences réglementaires permanentes relatives à l'emballage de l'équipement de survie et de ne pas prendre d'autres mesures d'atténuation, les mesures prises permettront de réduire mais pas de réduire considérablement ni d'éliminer la lacune décrite dans la recommandation A00-13.

Par conséquent, le Bureau estime maintenant qu'une attention en partie satisfaisante a été accordée à la lacune.

Suivi exercé par le BST (13 août 2008)

Le personnel de la Direction des enquêtes (Air) du BST continuera de communiquer ses préoccupations à Transports Canada relativement à la position de Transports Canada qu'aucune norme n'existe pour servir de référence et continuera de surveiller les événements présentant des lacunes semblables sur lesquelles la recommandation s'est fondée.

Réponse de Transports Canada (15 février 2010)

Dans sa dernière réponse, Transports Canada réitère le fait qu'il a publié la CIACA 0184 en 2001. Le Ministère précise également que cette question reste ouverte et qu'elle sera traitée dans le cadre de la mise en œuvre progressive des recommandations du rapport final du Groupe de travail sur l'équipement de survie (GTÉS) du CCRAC. La réponse ne donne aucun détail sur la recommandation du GTÉS qui porte sur la lacune signalée dans la recommandation A00-13 du BST. Elle précise toutefois que les recommandations du GTÉS ont été classées au 211e rang au moment de l'établissement des priorités de la Direction.

Réévaluation du Bureau (28 juillet 2010)

La réponse reçue récemment de Transports Canada est muette sur la recommandation pertinente du GTÉS, pas plus qu'elle ne dit si celle-ci va ou non dans le sens de la mise en place d'une exigence réglementaire sur l'emballage de l'équipement de survie. On ne sait pas davantage, compte tenu du classement au 211e rang sur la liste des priorités de la Direction, quand et comment Transports Canada envisage de mettre en œuvre la recommandation du GTÉS.

Le manque de renseignements dans la réponse de Transports Canada quant à son plan d'action pour traiter de la lacune de sécurité dont il est question dans la recommandation A00-13 aboutit au statu quo. L'action prévue va peut-être permettre d'atténuer la lacune sous-jacente à la recommandation A00-13, mais pas de la réduire de beaucoup ni de l'éliminer.

On estime donc que la réponse dénote toujours une intention en partie satisfaisante.

Suivi exercé par le BST (28 juillet 2010)

Compte tenu du fait que le risque résiduel associé à la lacune dont il est question dans la recommandation A00-13 est important et que Transports Canada n'envisage aucune autre action, le Bureau est d'avis que toute nouvelle réévaluation ne donnera probablement pas de résultats différents.