Recommendation A00-06

Reassessment of the response to Aviation Safety Recommendation A00-06

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Pilot decision making

Background

The aircraft, a Pilatus PC-12, serial number 151, was on a scheduled domestic flight from St. John's, Newfoundland, to Goose Bay, Labrador, with the pilot, a company observer, and eight passengers on board. Twenty-three minutes into the flight, the aircraft turned back towards St. John's because of a low oil pressure indication. Eight minutes later, the engine (Pratt & Whitney PT6A-67B) had to be shut down because of a severe vibration. The pilot then turned towards Clarenville Airport, but was unable to reach the airfield. The aircraft was destroyed during the forced landing in a bog one and a half miles from the Clarenville Airport. The pilot, the company observer, and one passenger sustained serious injuries.

The Board concluded its investigation and released report A98A0067 on 29 March 2000.

Board Recommendation A00-06 (March 2000)

The accident pilot did not have formal pilot decision-making (PDM) training, company standard operating procedures (SOPs), or PC-12 simulator training to help him formulate his decision. Without a systemic approach to improving PDM, accidents resulting from ineffective decisions in complex situations will continue to affect commercial operations. The Board believes that improved formal PDM training is a necessity for all commercial pilots. The Board also believes that SOPs and an increased emphasis on appropriate decision making throughout pilot training and during all of a pilot's flying-related activities will serve to reduce the occurrence of PDM-related accidents. Therefore, the Board recommended that:

The Department of Transport improve the quality of pilot decision making in commercial air operations through appropriate training standards for crew members.
TSB Recommendation A00-06

Transport Canada's response to Recommendation A00-06 (June 2000)

Transport Canada's (TC) response, dated 21 June 2000, indicated that TC agrees that the generic PDM course currently offered to pilots and called for in the standard for low visibility can be improved for the purpose of single-engine instrument flight rules (SEIFR) conducted at high altitude in a pressurized aeroplane such as the PC-12. TC will review the training standard, and revise the standard as necessary through the Canadian Aviation Regulation Advisory Council (CARAC) consultative process.

Board assessment of the response to Recommendation A00-06 (September 2000)

In its reply, TC indicated that it agrees that the generic PDM course currently offered to pilots and called for in the standard for low visibility can be improved for the purpose of SEIFR conducted at high altitude in a pressurized aeroplane such as the PC-12. TC will review the training standard, and revise the standard as necessary through the CARAC consultative process.

Given that it will not be known what safety action TC intends to take until after it completes its review and then consults with the CARAC, the response is considered Satisfactory in Part.

Transport Canada's response to Recommendation A00-06 (December 2005)

TC reviewed this recommendation and drafted Notice of Proposed Amendment (NPA) 2001‑134 and presented the NPA to the CARAC for consultation. NPA 2001-134 affects CAR 703.107(1) as follows:

Standard Operating Procedures

(1) Every air operator shall, for each of its aircraft, establish and maintain standard operating procedures that enable the crew member(s) to operate the aircraft within the limitations specified in the aircraft flight manual and that meet the Commercial Air Services Standards.

Being accepted through the CARAC process, the amendment is currently with the Department of Justice awaiting formal promulgation following Canada Gazette activities.

Board reassessment of the response to Recommendation A00-06 (June 2006)

TC's activity update received on 14 December 2005 indicates that it has presented NPA 2001-134 to the CARAC for consultation. The NPA affects Section 703.107(1) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations as follows:

Standard Operating Procedures

(1) Every air operator shall, for each of its aircraft, establish and maintain standard operating procedures that enable the crew member(s) to operate the aircraft within the limitations specified in the aircraft flight manual and that meet the Commercial Air Services Standards.

The NPA has been approved by the CARAC. The amendment is currently with the Department of Justice awaiting formal promulgation following Canada Gazette activities. The proposed action, if fully implemented, will reduce the safety deficiency described in A00-06.

Therefore, the assessment is Satisfactory Intent.

Transport Canada's response to Recommendation A00-06 (February 2007)

TC's activity update received 07 February advises that the NPA has been approved by the CARAC. The amendment is currently with the Department of Justice awaiting formal promulgation following the Canada Gazette process.

Board reassessment of the response to Recommendation A00-06 (July 2007)

The proposed action, if fully implemented, will reduce the safety deficiency described in A00-06.

Therefore, the assessment remains Satisfactory Intent.

Transport Canada's response to Recommendation A00-06 (March 2008)

In its response of 6 March 2008, TC states that Notices of Proposed Amendment (NPAs) 2001‑134 and 2001-135 were approved by the Canadian Aviation Regulation Advisory Council (CARAC) consultation process in January 2002, and that the NPAs are still with the Department of Justice for legal drafting and publication in the Canada Gazette.

Board reassessment of the response to Recommendation A00-06 (August 2008)

The Board is concerned that, until the changes to regulations are put into effect, the deficiency continues to exist. The proposed regulatory changes, if fully implemented, will substantially reduce or eliminate the safety deficiency as described in Recommendation A00-06

Therefore, the assessment remains Satisfactory Intent.

Transport Canada's response to Recommendation A00-06 (February 2010)

In its response of 15 February 2010, TC essentially repeats the statement made in 2008 that its CARAC- approved NPAs 2001-134 and 2001-135 remain at the Department of Justice (DOJ RU file # 10000-654 refers) for regulation drafting. The response offers no explanation for the length of time taken to complete this process.

Board reassessment of the response to Recommendation A00-06 (July 2010)

According to TC's response, the Department of Justice is currently processing TC NPAs that were started in 2001. The Board remains concerned that, until the regulatory changes proposed by TC are enacted; the deficiency identified in Recommendation A00-06 continues to exist. The proposed regulatory changes, if fully implemented, will substantially reduce or eliminate the safety deficiency as described in Recommendation A00-06.

Therefore, the assessment remains Satisfactory Intent.

Transport Canada's response to Recommendation A00-06 (January 2011)

TC's most recent update states that its A00-06-related NPAs have been through the CARAC consultation process and are currently contained within a Department of Justice file. TC further states that this file will be drafted upon the completion of other priority files.

Board reassessment of the response to Recommendation A00-06 (March 2011)

According to TC's response, its proposed regulatory changes remain with the Department of Justice awaiting the completion of other higher priority files. Previous TC A00-06 updates indicate that this file has been with Department of Justice since 2005.

The Board is concerned about TC's failure to progress this file with the Department of Justice. Until the regulatory changes proposed by TC are enacted, the deficiency identified in Recommendation A00-06 will continue to exist. The proposed regulatory changes, if fully implemented, will substantially reduce or eliminate the safety deficiency as described in Recommendation A00-06.

Therefore, the assessment remains Satisfactory Intent.

Transport Canada's response to Recommendation A00-06 (May and September 2011)

May 2011 input

TC will take appropriate action to elevate these NPA's as a priority in order for the department of Justice to proceed with the drafting.

September 2011 update

NPAs on Pilot Decision Making (PDM) have been elevated to the Transport Canada list of regulatory priorities. A cross reference is to be made on recommendations residing in CRM. (A09-02, A07-01, A07‑03, A07-05, A00-06)

A focus group will be initiated in fall 2011 with regulatory proposals to be ready for consultation in spring 2012. NPA's for recommendation A00-06 will be revalidated to complement proposals for CRM.

Board reassessment of the response to Recommendation A00-06 (March 2012)

TC indicated that it will take action to elevate NPAs on Standard Operating Procedures (NPA 2001-134 and 2001-135) as a priority in order for the Department of Justice to proceed with the drafting.

TC also indicated that NPAs on Pilot Decision Making (PDM) have been elevated on its list of regulatory priorities. It is understood that in drafting these NPAs, TC will cross reference other TSB recommendations related to PDM and CRM.

Until all regulatory changes proposed by TC are enacted, the deficiency identified in Recommendation A00-06 will continue to exist. The proposed regulatory changes, if fully implemented, will substantially reduce or eliminate the risks associated with the safety deficiency identified in Recommendation A00-06.

Therefore, the assessment remains Satisfactory Intent.

Transport Canada's response to Recommendation A00-06 (December 2012)

A Focus Group met in January 2012, and the resulting recommendations were accepted by the Civil Aviation Regulatory Committee in May 2012. TC's intent is to incorporate threat and error management (TEM) and Pilot Decision Making (PDM) into draft regulations and standards as appropriate, for inclusion in Subparts 702, 703, 704, and 705 of the CARs. Associated recs are A07-03 and A09-02.

On 07 December 2012, the following update was received:

TC cannot commit to a timeline for the 3 CRM recommendations until such time the proposed amendments have been developed. Once this is done, TC will have an appreciation for the amount of work required which will be entailed in a work plan accordingly.

Board reassessment of the response to Recommendation A00-06 (March 2013)

Until all regulatory changes proposed by TC are enacted, the deficiency identified in Recommendation A00-06 will continue to exist. However, the proposed regulatory changes, if fully implemented, will substantially reduce or eliminate the risks associated with the safety deficiency identified in Recommendation A00-06.

Therefore, the assessment remains Satisfactory Intent.

Transport Canada's response to Recommendation A00-06 (November 2013)

This item remains a regulatory priority, and work to amend the Standard has begun. Recommendation A00-06 will be addressed in conjunction with the work being done on crew resource management (CRM) as described in Transport Canada's response to Recommendation A09-02.

Board reassessment of the response to Recommendation A00-06 (April 2014)

Until all regulatory changes proposed by TC are enacted, the deficiency identified in Recommendation A00-06 will continue to exist. However, the proposed regulatory changes, if fully implemented, will substantially reduce or eliminate the risks associated with the safety deficiency identified in Recommendation A00-06.

Therefore, the assessment remains Satisfactory Intent.

Transport Canada's response to Recommendation A00-06 (January 2015)

Transport Canada agrees with the intent of the recommendation. Work continues on the development of Standards and Guidance material for Crew Resource Management (CRM) and updated Pilot Decision Making (PDM) to be incorporated in the CRM modules. Public consultation on proposed amendments to the standards is underway, and the standards are expected to come into effect in late 2015.

Board reassessment of the response to Recommendation A00-06 (March 2015)

The Board issued this recommendation 15 years ago. Until all regulatory changes proposed by TC are enacted, the deficiency identified in Recommendation A00-06 will continue to exist. However, the proposed regulatory changes, if fully implemented, will substantially reduce or eliminate the risks associated with the safety deficiency identified in Recommendation A00-06.

Therefore, the assessment remains Satisfactory Intent.

Transport Canada's response to Recommendation A00-06 (November 2015)

Transport Canada agrees with the intent of the recommendation.

Work continues on the development of Standards for Crew Resource Management (CRM). A Notice of Proposed Amendment on CRM Standards was developed and will be published in 2016.

Board reassessment of Transport Canada's response to Recommendation A00-06 (March 2016)

The Board issued this recommendation 16 years ago. Until all regulatory changes proposed by TC are enacted, the deficiency identified in Recommendation A00-06 will continue to exist. However, the proposed regulatory changes, if fully implemented, will substantially reduce or eliminate the risks associated with the safety deficiency identified in Recommendation A00-06.

Therefore, the assessment remains Satisfactory Intent.

Transport Canada's response to Recommendation A00-06 (January 2017)

TCCA agrees with the intent of this recommendation. TCCA proposes to go beyond the scope of the recommendation and require crew resource management (CRM) training for CAR 702 (Aerial work) operations as well. A revised Notice of Proposed Amendment for CRM was posted to the CARAC Activity Reporting System under Activity #2014-021 and emailed to all CARAC stakeholders on May 9, 2016.

The new CRM Standard will be published in May/June 2017, together with guidance material for industry in the form of an Advisory Circular being published at the same time. Industry stakeholders will be briefed before publication.

The new standard will come into effect 30 days after publication.

TSB reassessment of Transport Canada's response to Recommendation A00-06 (March  2017)

TC's latest response suggests that its revised Notice of Proposed Amendment (NPA 2014-021) addresses the deficiency identified in Recommendation A00-06. The NPA states that TC's current framework for CRM training does not reflect many contemporary CRM training concepts. The NPA's objective is to integrate such concepts into commercial aviation crew training programs. Additionally, the proposed amendments will see a broader application of these updated CRM training requirements to include Commercial Air Service Standards (CASS) subparts 722, 723, 724, and 725.

Progress toward mitigation of the risks associated with this recommendation has been slow. Such extended delays have prompted the TSB to add an item to its key safety issues Watchlist that calls for both TC and the Government of Canada to move toward an improved and accelerated process for taking action on TSB recommendations.

The Board is encouraged that amendments to the CASS, and guidance material for industry, are planned to be published in May/June 2017 and come into effect 30 days following their publication.

The Board is pleased that the intent of NPA 2014-021 is to update CRM training standards across all CASS, including Aerial Work operations, which were not included in the original recommendation. Consequently, if fully implemented, the proposed changes should serve to mitigate the risks identified in Recommendation A00-06.

However, until the new CRM standards are fully implemented, the risks associated with the safety deficiency identified in Recommendation A00-06 will continue to exist.

Therefore, the response to Recommendation A00-06 is assessed as Satisfactory Intent.

Next TSB action

The TSB will continue to monitor the progress of TC's proposed regulatory amendments to mitigate the risks associated with the safety deficiency identified in Recommendation A00-06, and will reassess the deficiency on an annual basis or when otherwise warranted.

This deficiency file is Active.

Recommandation A00-06

Réévaluation de la réponse à la recommandation en matière de sécurité aérienne A00-06

Prise de décisions du pilote

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Contexte

L'avion Pilatus PC-12 portant le numéro de série 151 effectue un vol intérieur à horaire fixe entre St. John's (Terre-Neuve) et Goose Bay (Labrador). L'avion transporte le pilote, un observateur de la compagnie et huit passagers. Vingt-trois minutes après le départ, l'avion doit faire demi-tour pour revenir à St. John's à cause d'une indication de basse pression d'huile. Huit minutes plus tard, il faut couper le moteur (Pratt & Whitney PT6A-67B) à cause de fortes vibrations. Le pilote se dirige alors vers l'aéroport de Clarenville, mais il ne peut l'atteindre. Le pilote fait un atterrissage forcé dans un marécage situé à un mille et demi de l'aéroport de Clarenville, mais l'avion est détruit au cours de la manœuvre, et le pilote, l'observateur de la compagnie et un des passagers subissent des blessures graves.

Le Bureau a terminé son enquête. Le rapport d'enquête A98A0067 a été publié le 29 mars 2000.

Recommandation A00-06 du Bureau (mars 2000)

Le pilote de l'avion accidenté n'a pu compter ni sur une formation en prise de décisions du pilote (PDM), ni sur des procédures d'utilisation normalisées (SOP) de compagnie, ni sur une formation en simulateur de PC-12 pour l'aider à prendre des décisions. Sans une approche systémique visant à améliorer la PDM, des accidents liés à de mauvaises décisions prises dans des situations complexes vont continuer à se produire dans l'aviation commerciale. Le Bureau croit qu'une meilleure formation PDM officielle est nécessaire pour tous les pilotes professionnels. Le Bureau estime également qu'il faut insister davantage sur la prise de décisions lors de la formation des pilotes et de toutes les activités liées au pilotage et également que la mise en place de SOP devrait permettre de réduire le nombre d'accidents liés à de mauvaises décisions. C'est pourquoi le Bureau a recommandé que :

le ministère des Transports établisse des normes de formation pour les membres d’équipage en vue d’améliorer la qualité de la prise de décisions des pilotes de l’aviation commerciale.
Recommandation A00-06 du BST

Réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation A00-06 (juin 2000)

Dans la réponse de Transports Canada du 21 juin 2000, on peut lire que Transports Canada est d'accord avec l'éventualité que le cours Prise de décision du pilote – général, actuellement offert aux pilotes et exigé en vertu de la norme d'exploitation dans des conditions de visibilité réduite, soit amélioré dans le cas des vols selon les règles de vol aux instruments applicables aux monomoteurs (SEIFR) effectués à haute altitude dans un appareil pressurisé comme le PC-12. Transports Canada examinera la norme de formation et, s'il y a lieu, la modifiera par le processus de consultation du Conseil consultatif sur la réglementation aérienne canadienne (CCRAC).

Réévaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à la recommandation A00-06 (septembre 2000)

Dans sa réponse, Transports Canada indique qu'il est d'accord avec l'éventualité que le cours Prise de décision du pilote – général, actuellement offert aux pilotes et exigé en vertu de la norme d'exploitation dans des conditions de visibilité réduite, soit amélioré dans le cas des vols SEIFR effectués à haute altitude dans un appareil pressurisé comme le PC-12. Transports Canada examinera la norme de formation et, s'il y a lieu, la modifiera par le processus de consultation du CCRAC.

Puisqu'il est impossible de connaître les mesures de sécurité que prévoit adopter Transports Canada avant qu'il ne termine son examen et qu'il ne consulte le CCRAC, le Bureau estime qu'une attention en partie satisfaisante a été accordée à la lacune.

Réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation A00-06 (décembre 2005)

Transports Canada a examiné cette recommandation et a préparé l'Avis de proposition de modification (APM) 2001-134. Le Ministère a présenté cet APM au CCRAC dans le cadre d'une consultation. L'APM 2001-134 touche la norme CAR 703.107(1) qui stipule :

Procédures d'utilisation normalisées

(1) L'exploitant aérien doit, pour chacun de ses aéronefs, établir et tenir à jour des procédures d'utilisation normalisées qui permettent aux membres d'équipage d'utiliser l'aéronef selon les limites précisées dans le manuel de vol de l'aéronef et qui sont conformes aux Normes de service aérien commercial.

Acceptée dans le cadre du processus du CCRAC, la modification a été présentée au ministère de la Justice. Elle devrait être promulguée officiellement après sa publication dans la Gazette du Canada.

Réévaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à la recommandation A00-06 (juin 2006)

Dans la mise à jour des activités de Transports Canada du 14 décembre 2005, on peut lire que le Ministère a présenté l'APM 2001-134 au CCRAC à des fins de consultation. L'APM touche le paragraphe 703.107(1) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien qui stipule :

Procédures d'utilisation normalisées

(1) L'exploitant aérien doit, pour chacun de ses aéronefs, établir et tenir à jour des procédures d'utilisation normalisées qui permettent aux membres d'équipage d'utiliser l'aéronef selon les limites précisées dans le manuel de vol de l'aéronef et qui sont conformes aux Normes de service aérien commercial.

L'APM a été approuvé par le CCRAC. La modification a été présentée au ministère de la Justice. Elle devrait être promulguée officiellement après sa publication dans la Gazette du Canada. La mesure proposée, si elle est entièrement mise en œuvre, permettra de corriger la lacune de sécurité décrite dans la recommandation A00-06.

En conséquence, on estime que la réponse dénote une intention satisfaisante.

Réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation A00-06 (février 2007)

Dans la mise à jour des activités de Transports Canada du 7 février 2007, on peut lire que l'APM a été approuvé par le CCRAC. La modification a été présentée au ministère de la Justice et on attend qu'elle soit promulguée officiellement après sa publication dans la Gazette du Canada.

Réévaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à la recommandation A00-06 (juillet 2007)

La mesure proposée, si elle est entièrement mise en œuvre, permettra de corriger la lacune de sécurité décrite dans la recommandation A00-06.

En conséquence, on estime que la réponse dénote encore une intention satisfaisante.

Réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation A00-06 (mars 2008)

Dans sa réponse du 6 mars 2008, Transports Canada dit que les APM 2001-134 et 2001-135 ont été approuvés par le processus de consultation du CCRAC en janvier 2002 et que les APM sont encore en attente au ministère de la Justice pour rédaction légale et publication dans la Gazette du Canada.

Réévaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à la recommandation A00-06 (août 2008)

Le Bureau est préoccupé par le fait que, jusqu'à ce que les changements à la réglementation soient mis en œuvre, la lacune continuera d'exister. Les changements réglementaires proposés, s'ils sont entièrement mis en œuvre, permettront de réduire considérablement ou de corriger la lacune de sécurité décrite dans la recommandation A00-06.

En conséquence, on estime que la réponse dénote encore une intention satisfaisante.

Réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation A00-06 (février 2010)

Dans sa réponse du 15 février 2010, Transports Canada ne fait essentiellement que répéter ce qui figurait dans sa réponse de 2008, à savoir que les APM 2001-134 et 2001-135 approuvés par le CCRAC sont encore en attente de rédaction de la réglementation au ministère de la Justice (sous le numéro de référence RU 10000-654 de ce ministère). La réponse n'explique pas pourquoi le processus prend autant de temps.

Réévaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à la recommandation A00-06 (juillet 2010)

D'après la réponse de Transports Canada, le ministère de la Justice est en train de s'occuper des APM de Transports Canada qui remontent à 2001. Le Bureau est encore préoccupé par le fait que, jusqu'à ce que les changements réglementaires proposés par Transports Canada soient adoptés, la lacune indiquée dans la recommandation A00-06 continuera d'exister. Les changements réglementaires proposés, s'ils sont entièrement mis en œuvre, permettront de réduire considérablement ou de corriger la lacune de sécurité décrite dans la recommandation A00-06.

En conséquence, on estime que la réponse dénote encore une intention satisfaisante.

Réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation A00-06 (janvier 2011)

La plus récente mise à jour de TC mentionne que ses APM relatifs à la recommandation A00-06 ont été soumis au processus de consultation du CCRAC et se trouvent actuellement dans un dossier du ministère de la Justice. TC mentionne de plus que ce dossier sera préparé lors de l'achèvement d'autres dossiers prioritaires.

Réévaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à la recommandation A00-06 (mars 2011)

D'après la réponse de TC, ses changements réglementaires proposés demeurent au ministère de la Justice en attendant l'achèvement d'autres dossiers ayant une priorité supérieure. Des mises à jour antérieures de la recommandation A00-06 de TC indiquent que ce dossier se trouve au ministère de la Justice depuis 2005.

Le Bureau est préoccupé par l'incapacité de TC à obtenir réponse sur ce dossier de la part du ministère de la Justice. Jusqu'à ce que les changements réglementaires proposés par TC soient adoptés, la lacune indiquée dans la recommandation A00-06 continuera d'exister. Les changements réglementaires proposés, s'ils sont entièrement mis en œuvre, permettront de réduire considérablement ou de corriger la lacune de sécurité décrite dans la recommandation A00-06.

En conséquence, on estime que la réponse dénote encore une intention satisfaisante.

Réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation A00-06 (mai et septembre 2011)

Information (mai 2011)

Transports Canada prendra les mesures appropriées pour que ces Avis de proposition de modification (APM) soient placés sur la liste des priorités afin que le ministère de la Justice lance le processus de rédaction de l'ébauche.

Mise à jour (septembre 2011)

Les APM sur la Prise de décisions du pilote (PDP) ont été inscrits sur la liste des priorités réglementaires de Transports Canada. On doit préparer des renvois aux recommandations en matière de CRM (A09-02, A07-01, A07‑03, A07-05, A00-06).

Un groupe de discussion sera formé à l'automne 2011 afin de préparer des propositions de modification des règlements qui seront soumises à un processus de consultation au printemps 2012. L'APM qui traite de la recommandation A00-06 sera revalidé pour compléter les propositions sur la formation en gestion des ressources d'équipages (CRM).

Réévaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à la recommandation A00-06 (mars 2012)

Transports Canada a indiqué qu'il prendra les mesures appropriées pour que des Avis de proposition de modification (APM) sur les procédures d'utilisation normalisées (APM 2001-134 et 2001-135) soient placés sur la liste des priorités afin que le ministère de la Justice lance le processus de rédaction de l'ébauche.

Transports Canada a en outre indiqué que les APM sur la Prise de décisions du pilote (PDP) ont été portés sur sa liste de priorités réglementaires. Il est entendu que, au cours du processus de rédaction des ébauches de ces APM, Transports Canada fera des renvois aux autres recommandations du BST qui traitent des formations PDP et CRM.

La lacune ciblée dans la recommandation A00-06 demeurera tant que toutes les modifications aux règlements proposées par Transports Canada ne seront pas adoptées. Si elles sont entièrement mises en œuvre, les modifications aux règlements proposées réduiront considérablement ou élimineront les risques associés à la lacune de sécurité décrite dans la recommandation A00-06.

En conséquence, on estime que la réponse dénote une intention satisfaisante.

Réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation A00-06 (décembre 2012)

Un groupe de discussion s'est réuni en janvier 2012 et ses recommandations ont été acceptées par le Comité réglementaire de l'Aviation civile en mai 2012. TC a l'intention d'intégrer la gestion des menaces et des erreurs et la prise de décisions du pilote (PDM) dans un projet de règlement et dans les normes, s'il y a lieu, afin qu'elles soient incluses dans les sous-parties 702, 703, 704 et 705 du RAC. Les recommandations connexes sont A07-03 et A09-02.

Le 7 décembre 2012, la mise à jour suivante a été reçue :

TC ne peut pas s'engager à respecter un calendrier en ce qui a trait aux 3 recommandations relatives à la gestion des ressources d'équipages (CRM) jusqu'à ce que les modifications proposées aient été élaborées. Lorsque cela sera fait, TC aura une meilleure idée de la quantité de travail nécessaire, qui sera inscrit dans un plan de travail en conséquence.

Réévaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à la recommandation A00-06 (mars 2013)

D'ici à ce que toutes les modifications que TC propose d'apporter aux règlements soient adoptées, les lacunes soulevées dans la recommandation A00-06 continueront d'exister. Toutefois, si elles sont entièrement mises en œuvre, les modifications aux règlements proposées réduiront considérablement ou élimineront les risques associés à la lacune de sécurité décrite dans la recommandation A00-06.

En conséquence, on estime que la réponse dénote encore une intention satisfaisante.

Réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation A00-06 (novembre 2013)

Cet élément demeure une priorité d'ordre réglementaire, et les travaux pour modifier la norme ont commencé. La recommandation A00-06 sera traitée dans le cadre des travaux en cours sur la gestion des ressources d'équipages (CRM), comme le décrit Transports Canada dans sa réponse à la recommandation A09-02.

Réévaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à la recommandation A00-06 (avril 2014)

D'ici à ce que toutes les modifications que TC propose d'apporter aux règlements soient adoptées, les lacunes soulevées dans la recommandation A00-06 continueront d'exister. Toutefois, si elles sont entièrement mises en œuvre, les modifications aux règlements proposées réduiront considérablement ou élimineront les risques associés à la lacune de sécurité décrite dans la recommandation A00-06.

En conséquence, on estime que la réponse dénote encore une intention satisfaisante.

Réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation A00-06 (janvier 2015)

Transports Canada (TC) est d'accord avec le but de la recommandation. Les travaux d'élaboration des normes et des documents d'orientation en matière de gestion des ressources de l'équipage (CRM) et de prise de décisions des pilotes se poursuivent afin de les incorporer aux modules de formation en CRM. Une consultation publique sur les modifications aux normes proposées est en cours, et les normes devraient entrer en vigueur à la fin de 2015.

Réévaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à la recommandation A00-06 (mars 2015)

Le Bureau a émis cette recommandation il y a 15 ans. D'ici l'adoption de toutes les modifications que TC propose d'apporter aux règlements, les lacunes soulevées dans la recommandation A00-06 continueront d'exister. Toutefois, si elles sont entièrement mises en œuvre, les modifications proposées aux règlements réduiront considérablement ou élimineront les risques associés à la lacune de sécurité décrite dans la recommandation A00-06.

En conséquence, on estime que la réponse dénote encore une intention satisfaisante.

Réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation A00-06 (novembre 2015)

Transports Canada est d'accord avec l'intention de cette recommandation.

La préparation de normes sur la gestion des ressources de l'équipage (CRM) est toujours en cours. Un avis de proposition de modification des normes en matière de CRM sera publié en 2016.

Réévaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à la recommandation A00-06 (mars 2016)

Le Bureau a émis cette recommandation il y a 16 ans. D'ici l'adoption de toutes les modifications que TC propose d'apporter aux règlements, la lacune soulevée dans la recommandation A00-06 continuera d'exister. Toutefois, si elles sont entièrement mises en œuvre, les modifications proposées aux règlements réduiront considérablement ou élimineront les risques associés à la lacune de sécurité décrite dans la recommandation A00-06.

C'est pourquoi on estime encore que la réponse dénote une intention satisfaisante.

Réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation A00-06 (janvier 2017)

TCAC est d’accord avec l’intention de cette recommandation. En fait, TCAC propose d’aller plus loin que la recommandation en exigeant une formation en gestion des ressources de l’équipage (CRM) pour les activités assujetties à la sous-partie 702 (Opérations de travail aérien) du Règlement de l’aviation canadien. Un avis de proposition de modification révisé pour la CRM a été publié dans le Système de rapport des activités du CCRAC, sous le numéro d’activité 2014-021, et envoyé par courriel à tous les intervenants du CCRAC le 9 mai 2016.

La nouvelle norme de CRM sera publiée en mai ou juin 2017; une circulaire d’information sera publiée simultanément et servira de document d’orientation pour le secteur. Les intervenants du secteur seront informés avant la publication.

La nouvelle norme entrera en vigueur 30 jours après la publication.

Réévaluation par le BST de la réponse à la recommandation A00-06 (mars 2017)

La dernière réponse de TC suggère que son Avis de proposition de modification révisé (APM 2014‑021) remédie à la lacune soulevée dans la recommandation A00-06. Cet APM indique que le cadre actuel de TC concernant la formation en CRM ne reflète pas de nombreux concepts de la formation en CRM actualisée. L’objectif de l’APM est d’intégrer ces concepts aux programmes de formation des équipages de l’aviation commerciale. En outre, les modifications proposées auront pour effet d’élargir la portée de ces exigences de formation en CRM révisées pour inclure les normes 722, 723, 724 et 725 des Normes de service aérien commercial (NSAC).

La mise en place de mesures visant à atténuer les risques associés à cette recommandation a demandé beaucoup de temps. Ces longs délais ont incité le BST à ajouter un enjeu à sa Liste de surveillance des enjeux qui font courir les plus grands risques pour demander à TC et au gouvernement du Canada d’améliorer et d’accélérer le processus de réponse aux recommandations du BST.

Le Bureau juge encourageant le fait que les modifications aux NSAC et le document d’orientation pour le secteur devraient être publiés en mai ou juin 2017 et entrer en vigueur 30 jours plus tard.

Le Bureau se réjouit d’apprendre que le but de l’APM 2014-021 est de mettre à jour les normes de formation en CRM de toutes les NSAC, y compris celles touchant les opérations de travail aérien, qui n’étaient pas incluses dans la recommandation originelle. Par conséquent, si elles sont entièrement mises en œuvre, les modifications proposées devraient atténuer les risques soulevés dans la recommandation A00-06.

Cependant, d’ici à ce que les nouvelles normes de CRM soient entièrement mises en œuvre, les risques associés à la lacune de sécurité décrite dans la recommandation A00-06 continueront d’exister.

C’est pourquoi on estime que la réponse à la recommandation A00-06 dénote une intention satisfaisante.

Suivi exercé par le BST

Le BST va continuer de surveiller la progression des modifications proposées aux règlements par TC afin de réduire les risques associés à la lacune de sécurité décrite dans la recommandation A00-06, et réévaluera cette lacune annuellement ou au besoin.

Le présent dossier est classé actif.