Recommendation A00-02

Reassessment of Responses to Aviation Safety Recommendation A00-02

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Electrical System Requirements

Background

On 18 May 1998, a Pilatus PC-12 aircraft, serial number 151, was on a scheduled domestic flight from St. John's, Newfoundland, to Goose Bay, Labrador, with the pilot, a company observer, and eight passengers on board. Twenty-three minutes into the flight, the aircraft turned back towards St. John's because of a low oil pressure indication. Eight minutes later, the engine (Pratt & Whitney PT6A-67B) had to be shut down because of a severe vibration. The pilot then turned towards Clarenville Airport, but was unable to reach the airfield. The aircraft was destroyed during the forced landing in a bog one and a half miles from the Clarenville Airport. The pilot, the company observer, and one passenger sustained serious injuries.

The Board concluded its investigation and authorized the release of report A98A0067 on 04 February 2000.

Board Recommendation A00-02 (24 March 2000)

The single-engine instrument flight rules (SEIFR) requirement for electrical power is for two independent power generating sources, either of which is capable of sustaining essential flight instruments and electrical equipment. The PC-12 meets this requirement with two generators. According to the PC-12 Pilot Operating Handbook (POH), the battery provides power for engine starting, and can also provide power to essential electrical systems for 20 minutes in the event of a dual generator or engine failure if the electrical load is less than 60 amps. If the load is reduced to below 50 amps, the battery should last for 30 minutes. Maintaining optimal glide performance after an engine failure is fundamental and, during the glide, the aircraft battery is the sole source of electrical power. Instrument meteorological conditions may exist during the descent, and, therefore, it is crucial that the battery be capable of powering the flight instruments until landing.

At the PC-12's optimal glide speed and configuration, it would take about 32 minutes to descend from 30 000 feet to sea level; a glide from 25 000 feet would take about 28 minutes. The typical electrical load from essential equipment on the PC-12 is about 50 amps, and according to the aircraft manufacturer, a 70%-capacity battery with a rated battery power of 40 amp hours can supply this load for 31 minutes. Powering only the essential instruments and lights, battery power might be nearly or completely spent prior to touchdown. It may also be necessary to power other electrical systems, further reducing battery life. An attempted engine re-light or the use of a landing light at night would both place a large draw on a battery. Electric windshield heat may also be required. With the pilot windshield heat continuously on light mode, the estimated battery life is 24 minutes; on heavy mode, the estimated life is only 22.5 minutes, which is below the optimal gliding time from the maximum operating altitude.

Other rule-making authorities have recognized that standard battery supplies are inadequate for emergency SEIFR purposes. The Australian SEIFR requirement for emergency electrical supply is for a system of sufficient capacity and duration that is capable of providing power following the failure of all generated power, for those loads essential for:

  1. one attempt at engine restart; and
  2. descent from maximum operating altitude to be made at the best range gliding speed and in the best gliding configuration, or for a minimum of one hour, whichever is greater; and
  3. continued safe landing; and
  4. if appropriate, the extension of landing gear and flaps.

European Joint Aviation Requirement - Operations (JAR-OPS) SEIFR draft regulations have proposed a similar requirement.

The standard emergency power supply (battery) on SEIFR aircraft may be insufficient to power essential aircraft electrical systems throughout an engine-out descent from maximum operating altitudes at the optimal glide configuration and speed, and there is no Canadian Aviation Regulations (CAR) requirement that such a system be required. Therefore, the Board recommends that:

The Department of Transport require that SEIFR aircraft have a sufficient emergency electrical supply to power essential electrical systems following engine failure throughout the entirety of a descent, at optimal glide speed and configuration, from the aircraft's maximum operating level to ground level.
A00-02

Transport Canada's Response to A00-02 (21 June 2000)

In their reply, Transport Canada (TC) indicated that they concur with the recommendation and, subject to the Canadian Aviation Regulation Advisory Council (CARAC) consultation process, will develop Notices of Proposed Amendment (NPA) for applicable areas of the CARs and associated Standards. TC is anticipating submitting these documents to the December 2000 meeting of the CARAC's Commercial Air Services Operations Technical Committee.

Board Assessment of Transport Canada's Response to A00-02 (13 September 2000)

In their reply, TC indicated that they concur with the recommendation and, subject to the CARAC consultation process, will develop NPAs for applicable areas of the CARs and associated Standards. TC is anticipating submitting these documents to the December 2000 meeting of the CARAC's Commercial Air Services Operations Technical Committee.

Given that safety action will not take place until after the consultative process with CARAC, the response is considered Satisfactory Intent.

Next TSB action

The TSB staff will continue to monitor TC's future actions related to this recommendation, and will update this assessment if appropriate.

Board Reassessment of A00-02 (09 June 2004)

The Commercial Air Services Standard 723.22 has been amended to include subsection 2 (i) requiring "sufficient emergency electrical supply to power essential electrical systems, autopilot flight instruments and navigation systems following engine failure throughout the entirety of a descent at optimal glide speed configuration from the aeroplane's operating level to mean sea level."

Consequently, this response is considered Fully Satisfactory.

This deficiency file is assigned a Closed status.

Recommandation A00-02

Réévaluation des réponses à la recommandation en matière de sécurité aérienne A00-02

Exigences relatives au circuit électrique

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Introduction

Le 18 mai 1998, l'avion Pilatus PC-12 portant le numéro de série 151 effectue un vol intérieur à horaire fixe entre St. John's (Terre-Neuve) et Goose Bay (Labrador). L'avion transporte le pilote, un observateur de la compagnie et 8 passagers. Vingt-trois minutes après le départ, l'avion doit faire demi-tour pour revenir à St. John's à cause d'une indication de basse pression d'huile. Huit minutes plus tard, il faut couper le moteur (Pratt & Whitney PT6A-67B) à cause de fortes vibrations. Le pilote se dirige alors vers l'aéroport de Clarenville, mais il ne peut l'atteindre. Le pilote fait un atterrissage forcé dans un marécage situé à 1.5 mille de l'aéroport de Clarenville, mais l'avion est détruit au cours de la manœuvre, et le pilote, l'observateur de la compagnie et un des passagers subissent des blessures graves.

Le Bureau a terminé son enquête et a publié le rapport d'enquête A98A0067 le 4 février 2000.

Recommandation A00-02 (24 mars 2000)

En matière d'alimentation électrique, l'exigence relative aux règles de vol aux instruments applicables aux monomoteurs (SEIFR) est la suivante : 2 sources d'alimentation électrique indépendantes, ayant chacune une capacité suffisante pour alimenter les instruments de vol et les accessoires électriques essentiels. À l'aide de ses 2 génératrices, le PC-12 respecte cette exigence. D'après le manuel d'utilisation de l'avion (POH) du PC-12, la batterie fournit l'alimentation électrique nécessaire à un démarrage moteur et elle peut également alimenter les circuits électriques essentiels pendant 20 minutes en cas de panne des 2 génératrices ou de panne moteur si la charge est inférieure à 60 ampères. Si cette charge est réduite à moins de 50 ampères, la batterie peut tenir pendant 30 minutes. Conserver des performances optimales de plané après une panne moteur est essentiel et, pendant le plané, la batterie de l'avion est la seule source d'alimentation électrique. Des conditions météorologiques de vol aux instruments peuvent régner pendant la descente; par conséquent, il est primordial que la batterie soit capable d'alimenter les instruments en électricité jusqu'à l'atterrissage.

À la vitesse et en configuration optimales de plané, le PC-12 met 32 minutes pour descendre de 30 000 pieds jusqu'au niveau de la mer; si le plané débute à 25 000 pieds, il faut 28 minutes. La charge électrique typique nécessaire à l'équipement essentiel du PC-12 est de quelque 50 ampères et, d'après l'avionneur, une batterie d'une capacité de 70 % ayant une puissance nominale de 40 ampères-heures peut fournir cette charge pendant 31 minutes. En alimentant uniquement les instruments et les feux essentiels de l'avion, la batterie sera probablement déchargée, ou presque, avant l'atterrissage. De plus, il peut s'avérer nécessaire d'alimenter d'autres circuits électriques, ce qui réduit d'autant l'autonomie de la batterie. Une tentative de remettre le moteur en marche ou l'utilisation du phare d'atterrissage de nuit demande un gros effort à la batterie. Il se peut également qu'il faille utiliser le chauffage électrique du pare-brise. En cas d'utilisation continue du chauffage du pare-brise du pilote à basse intensité, la batterie est censée tenir pendant quelque 24 minutes; à haute intensité, elle ne tiendra plus que 22 minutes et demie, laps de temps inférieur à la durée du plané optimal depuis l'altitude d'exploitation maximale.

D'autres organismes de réglementation ont reconnu que l'alimentation électrique ordinaire fournie par la batterie ne convenait pas en cas d'urgence pendant les vols SEIFR. En Australie, l'exigence relative aux vols SEIFR portant sur l'alimentation électrique de secours fait état d'un circuit ayant une capacité et une durée de fonctionnement suffisantes pour subvenir, en cas de manque total de courant provenant des génératrices, aux charges électriques essentielles aux éléments suivants :

  1. une tentative de remise en marche du moteur;
  2. le temps d'une descente depuis l'altitude d'exploitation maximale effectuée à la vitesse de plané donnant la distance franchissable maximale et dans la meilleure configuration de plané, ou pendant 1 heure, selon la plus grande de ces 2 périodes;
  3. la poursuite d'un atterrissage en toute sécurité;
  4. le cas échéant, la sortie du train d'atterrissage et des volets.

Le projet de règlement des Joint Aviation Requirements - Operations (JAR-OPS) européennes en matière de vols SEIFR renferme une exigence similaire.

Il se peut que l'alimentation électrique de secours (la batterie) d'un aéronef effectuant des vols SEIFR soit insuffisante pour alimenter les circuits électriques essentiels de l'aéronef tout au long d'une descente sans moteur effectuée depuis l'altitude d'exploitation maximale à la vitesse et en configuration optimales de plané, mais le Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) n'exige pas la présence d'un système assurant une alimentation électrique suffisante. C'est pourquoi le Bureau recommande que :

le ministère des Transports exige que les aéronefs effectuant des vols SEIFR disposent d'une alimentation électrique de secours suffisante pour alimenter les circuits électriques essentiels après une panne moteur, tout au long d'une descente effectuée à la vitesse et en configuration optimales de plané, à partir de l'altitude d'exploitation maximale jusqu'au sol.

Recommandation A00-02 du BST

Réponse de Transports Canada (21 juin 2000)

Dans sa réponse, Transports Canada accepte cette recommandation et, sous réserve du processus de consultation du Conseil consultatif sur la réglementation aérienne canadienne (CCRAC), rédigera des Avis de proposition de modification (APM) portant sur les points pertinents du RAC et des normes connexes. Transports Canada prévoit soumettre ces documents lors de la réunion du Comité technique sur l'utilisation d'aéronefs dans le cadre d'un service aérien commercial du CCRAC, qui aura lieu en décembre 2000.

Évaluation du Bureau (13 septembre 2000)

Dans sa réponse, Transports Canada indique qu'il accepte cette recommandation et, sous réserve du processus de consultation du CCRAC, qu'il rédigera des APM portant sur les points pertinents du RAC et des normes connexes. Transports Canada prévoit soumettre ces documents lors de la réunion du Comité technique sur l'utilisation d'aéronefs dans le cadre d'un service aérien commercial du CCRAC, qui aura lieu en décembre 2000.

Comme la mesure de sécurité ne pourra être prise qu'après être passée par le processus de consultation du CCRAC, on estime que la réponse dénote une « intention satisfaisante ».

Suivi exercé par le BST (13 septembre 2000)

Le personnel du BST va continuer à surveiller les mesures qui seront prises par Transports Canada à l'égard de cette recommandation et il révisera la présente évaluation au besoin.

Réévaluation du Bureau (9 juin 2004)

La Norme de service aérien commercial 723.22 a été modifiée par l'ajout de l'alinéa 2i) exigeant « une alimentation électrique de secours suffisante pour alimenter les circuits électriques essentiels, incluant les instruments de vol du pilote automatique et les systèmes de navigation, après une panne moteur, tout au long d'une descente effectuée à la vitesse et en configuration optimales de plané, à partir de l'altitude d'exploitation jusqu'au niveau moyen de la mer ».

En conséquence, on estime que la réponse dénote une « Attention entièrement satisfaisante ».

Le dossier entourant cette lacune est classé « Fermé ».