Recommendation A95-07

Reassessment of the response to Aviation Safety Recommendation A95-07

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Global positioning system (GPS)

Background

On 10 November 1993, a Hawker Siddeley HS 748 Series 2A aircraft (C-GQTH), owned and operated by Air Manitoba Limited (Air Manitoba), departed Winnipeg, Manitoba, on a scheduled flight that included stops at Sandy Lake, Ontario; St. Theresa Point, Manitoba; Island Lake, Manitoba; and return to Winnipeg, Manitoba. On arrival at Sandy Lake, the crew attempted to land but was unable to because of the low ceiling and visibility. They then diverted to St. Theresa Point. After a normal turnaround, the flight returned to Sandy Lake. The aircraft took off from Sandy Lake and immediately entered a right turn. After turning through approximately 120 degrees, the aircraft descended into 100-foot trees and crashed. The aircraft struck the ground about one nautical mile northwest of the airport. All seven occupants of the aircraft were fatally injured, and the aircraft was destroyed.

The Board determined that, after takeoff, the crew most likely lost situational awareness and, as a result, did not detect the increasing deviation from their intended flight path. Contributing to the loss of situational awareness was the lack of AC power to some of the flight instruments; the reason for the lack of AC power could not be determined.

As a result of this accident, the Board issued 4 aviation safety recommendations.

The Board concluded its investigation and released Aviation Investigation Report A93H0023 on 14 March 1995.

Board Recommendation A95-07 (March 1995)

The global positioning system (GPS) installation in C-GQTH was used in instrument meteorological conditions (IMC) as a primary navigation aid during the approaches to Sandy Lake. The GPS installation was not approved for such use. The TSB has identified other occurrences in which pilots have misused GPS while conducting instrument flight rules (IFR) flights, or in which pilots on visual flight rules (VFR) flights have continued flight into adverse weather while using GPS and encountered conditions with which the pilot and/or aircraft could not cope. Evidence suggests that both recreational pilots (seeking an inexpensive navigational system) and commercial, passenger-carrying operators are employing GPS in order to get into airports without approved instrument approaches. It is doubtful that these locally improvised GPS approaches take into account the obstruction clearance criteria used in the design of approved approaches, including the acquisition of valid local altimeter settings.

While the Board is concerned over the misuse of GPS, it recognizes the potential of this equipment and what it could offer to the Canadian aviation community. The potential benefits of GPS have been widely publicized; the safety implications of improvising in the use of GPS in a non-regulated environment have received less publicity. The benefits may be tempting pilots and operators to accept risks that would normally be unacceptable without GPS. Therefore, to reduce the potential for GPS-related occurrences resulting from the use of unapproved equipment, inadequate understanding of the system, or lack of approved approaches, the Board recommends that:

The Department of Transport expedite the implementation of approved GPS standards and procedures for use in Canadian airspace.
TSB Recommendation A95-07

Transport Canada's response to Recommendation A95-07 (June 1995)

Transport Canada Aviation (TCA) agrees with both recommendations (A95-07 and A95-08). In fact, TCA has been devoting considerable resources to global positioning systems (GPS). In late 1992, a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) Working Group was established to explore the potential of GPS and develop safety standards. This was succeeded in July 1994 by a Satellite Navigation Program Office (SNPO), with dedicated staff and funding. The SNPO coordinates TCA's GPS efforts; its priorities are to develop safety standards and to communicate with users.

A considerable amount of information has been provided to users. In February 1993, a section on satellite navigation was included in the Aeronautical Information Publication (AIP) Canada. The text, updated regularly, explains the operation, features and shortcomings of GPS. It specifically warns against using uncertified receivers for instrument flight rules (IFR) flight. All major aviation organizations have been briefed, as have staff in regional offices. A “GNSS Update” newsletter provides technical information and the latest news on GPS. The first issue, published in April 1993, contained a clear warning against using uncertified receivers for IFR. In each region, a SNPO point of contact coordinates communications with local users.

These IFR GPS approvals are classified as supplemental (as opposed to sole means). Supplemental use imposes certain limitations. Firstly, the crew must always have available, and in some cases continuously monitor, a conventional navigation aid (i.e., VOR [VHF omnidirectional radio range] or NDB [non-directional beacon]). GPS can be used to navigate the aircraft, but because the chance of loss of service or provision of wrong information is greater than aviation standards permit, a navigation aid that meets the standards must be used as backup. This safeguard permits early benefits to the industry and increases operational experience with GPS. Secondly, the receiver used must be certified to the standards of TSO C129 and must meet installation requirements. This ensures acceptable receiver performance, user interface, and compatibility with other aircraft systems, etc.

TCA has also been active in standards development. In 1992, TCA began working with the United States Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) to explore the potential of GPS and to develop standards and procedures to ensure safe operations. A Technical Standard Order (TSO C129) for receivers was developed in the United States in 1992 and applies in Canada.

Joint TCA/FAA trials proved that TSO C129 receivers would support IFR en route and non‑precision approach operations. This led to the first approval to use GPS for IFR in the United States in June 1993 and in Canada in July 1993. The TCA approval (revised in February 1995) is detailed in a Special Aviation Notice provided to all Canadian pilots. The Notice specifies receivers meeting TSO C129. In August 1993, TCA issued an Air Carrier Advisory Circular encouraging all Canadian operators to use GPS and providing guidance to help them to obtain approval. During the same period, TCA Airworthiness developed receiver installation standards. An Aeronautical Information Circular (AIC) issued 21 July 1994 amended A.N.O. V, No.  22 - IFR Flight Instruments and Equipment Order to allow a certified GPS receiver to replace one VOR or ADF [automatic direction finder] receiver. TCA has designated 149 GPS non-precision approaches overlaying existing VOR and NDB approaches. Pilots must monitor the traditional aid during these approaches to ensure safety while gaining experience with GPS. There is no overlay approach at Sandy Lake. All TCA documents specify that TSO C129 receivers must be used for IFR operations.

TCA is currently working with the FAA to develop GPS augmentations to permit sole means use and precision approach. TCA will ensure that these new systems are safe through trials, studies and participation in standards development.

In summary, TCA agrees with the recommendations, will continue to expedite the development of standards, and will continue to promote the safe use of GPS. Specifically, an Aviation Notice and an article in the Aviation Safety Letter newsletter will be published at the next opportunity, highlighting the hazards of improper use of GPS.

Board assessment of the response to Recommendation A95-07 (July 1995)

Transport Canada (TC) agrees with the recommendations, and outlines several existing and planned initiatives to expedite the implementation of global positioning system (GPS) standards and raise the awareness of the aviation community to the limitations and safe use of GPS. Included in these efforts will be an Aviation Notice and an article on GPS in the Aviation Safety Letter (ASL). The ASL is distributed to all licensed pilots in Canada and is considered to be a very effective safety publication.

TC's efforts should address the deficiencies identified.

Therefore, the response to Recommendation A95-07 is assessed as Satisfactory Intent.

Board reassessment of the response to Recommendation A95-07 (November 1997)

NAV CANADA SAT NAV office is working in cooperation with the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) to implement a phased approach to the full realization of global positioning systems (GPS) for all phases of flight in Canada.

Therefore, the assessment of the response to Recommendation A95-07 remains Satisfactory Intent.

Board review of Recommendation A95-07 deficiency file status (April 2014)

The Board requested that A95-07 be reviewed to determine if the Deficiency File Status was appropriate. After an initial evaluation, it was determined that the safety deficiency addressed by Recommendation A95-07 needed to be reassessed.

A request for further information was sent to Transport Canada (TC) and a reassessment will be conducted upon receipt of TC's response.

Therefore, the assessment of the response to Recommendation A95-07 remains Satisfactory Intent.

Consequently, the status of Recommendation A95-07 is changed to Active.

Transport Canada's response to Recommendation A95-07 (July 2015)

Transport Canada has addressed this issue in Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs) 803.02/TP 308 and criteria that allow for the use of global navigation satellite systems (GPS [global positioning system] in this case). There exist today several GNSS instrument procedures in Canada as well as instrument flight rules (IFR)-approved GNSS receivers.

Board reassessment of the response to Recommendation A95-07 (March 2016)

The regulatory changes identified in Transport Canada's July 2015 response now allow for the use of global navigation satellite systems for all phases of flight in Canada.

These changes should substantially reduce or eliminate the safety deficiency identified in Recommendation A95-07.

Therefore, the response to Recommendation A95-07 is assessed as Fully Satisfactory, and no further action is required.

This deficiency file is Closed.

Recommandation A95-07

Réévaluation des réponses à la recommandation en matière de sécurité aérienne A95-07

Système de positionnement mondial (GPS)

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Contexte

Le 10 novembre 1993, un Hawker Siddeley HS 748 2A (C-GQTH), appartenant à Air Manitoba Limited (Air Manitoba) et exploité par cette compagnie, est parti de Winnipeg (Manitoba) pour effectuer un vol régulier avec escales à Sandy Lake (Ontario), St. Theresa Point (Manitoba), Island Lake (Manitoba), et retour à Winnipeg (Manitoba). En arrivant à Sandy Lake, l'équipage a tenté d'atterrir, mais il en a été incapable à cause du plafond bas et de la mauvaise visibilité. Il s'est donc dérouté sur St. Theresa Point. Après une escale normale, l'avion est retourné à Sandy Lake. Après avoir décollé de Sandy Lake, l'avion a immédiatement amorcé un virage à droite. Après avoir tourné sur environ 120 degrés, il est descendu dans des arbres de 100 pieds de hauteur et s'est écrasé. L'avion a percuté le relief à environ un mille marin au nord-ouest de l'aéroport. Les sept occupants de l'avion ont tous subi des blessures mortelles, et l'avion a été détruit.

Le Bureau a déterminé qu'après le décollage, l'équipage a fort probablement perdu conscience de la situation et, par conséquent, ne s'est pas rendu compte de l'écart croissant que prenait l'avion par rapport à la trajectoire de vol prévue. Le fait que certains instruments de vol n'étaient pas alimentés en courant c.a. a contribué à cette perte de conscience de la situation; la raison pour laquelle il y a eu cette panne de courant n'a pu être déterminée.

Par suite de cet accident, le Bureau a émis 4 recommandations en matière de sécurité aérienne.

Le Bureau a conclu son enquête et a publié le rapport d'enquête aéronautique A93H0023 le 14 mars 1995.

Recommandation A95-07 du Bureau (mars 1995)

Le système de positionnement global (GPS) du C-GQTH a été utilisé en conditions météorologiques de vol aux instruments (IMC) comme principale aide à la navigation au cours des approches sur Sandy Lake. Le poste GPS n'était pas homologué pour cet usage. Le BST a identifié d'autres accidents dans lesquels les pilotes avaient mal utilisé le GPS alors qu'ils volaient selon les règles de vol aux instruments (IFR), ou dans lesquels des pilotes en vol selon les règles de vol à vue (VFR) avaient poursuivi le vol par mauvais temps en utilisant le GPS, et qu'ils s'étaient retrouvés dans des conditions auxquelles ne pouvaient faire face ni le pilote, ni l'appareil. Des indices laissent croire que des pilotes qui effectuent des vols récréatifs (recherchant une aide à la navigation peu coûteuse) ainsi que des exploitants commerciaux transportant des passagers utilisent le GPS pour se rendre à des aéroports qui n'ont pas d'approches aux instruments approuvées. Il n'est pas certain que ces approches GPS improvisées tiennent compte des critères de franchissement d'obstacles intégrés dans la conception des approches approuvées, encore moins de l'acquisition de calages altimétriques locaux valides.

Le Bureau s'inquiète de la mauvaise utilisation qui est faite du GPS, mais il reconnaît les capacités de cet équipement et ce qu'il pourrait offrir à la communauté aéronautique au Canada. On a longuement parlé des avantages potentiels du GPS, mais on n'a guère parlé des conséquences sur le plan de la sécurité d'une utilisation improvisée du GPS dans un environnement non réglementé. Il est possible que les avantages d'un GPS en bon état puissent pousser les pilotes et les exploitants à prendre des risques qui seraient inacceptables dans le cas d'un aéronef sans GPS. Par conséquent, pour réduire les risques d'accidents relatifs au GPS résultant de l'utilisation d'un équipement inapproprié, d'une mauvaise compréhension du système ou d'une absence d'approches approuvées, le Bureau recommande que :

Le ministère des Transports accélère la mise en œuvre des normes et des procédures GPS approuvées, devant être utilisées dans l’espace aérien canadien.
Recommandation A95-07 du BST

Réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation A95-07 (juin 1995)

Transports Canada, Aviation (TCA) est d'accord avec les deux recommandations. En fait, TCA consacre des ressources considérables aux systèmes de positionnement mondial (GPS). Vers la fin de 1992, un groupe de travail sur les systèmes mondiaux de navigation par satellite (GNSS) a été créé pour explorer le potentiel des GPS et établir des normes de sécurité. Le groupe a été suivi en juillet 1994 par la mise sur pied d'un Bureau de programme de navigation par satellite (SNPO), avec le personnel et les fonds nécessaires. Le SNPO coordonne les efforts déployés par TCA en matière de GPS; ses priorités consistent à établir des normes de sécurité et à communiquer avec les utilisateurs.

Une quantité considérable de renseignements a été fournie aux utilisateurs. En février 1993, une section sur la navigation par satellite a été incluse dans la Publication d'information aéronautique (AIP) Canada. Le texte, régulièrement mis à jour, explique le fonctionnement, les caractéristiques et les lacunes des GPS. Il contient plus précisément des mises en garde contre l'utilisation des récepteurs non homologués pour les règles de vol aux instruments (IFR). Les grandes organisations de l'aviation ont été informées, tout comme le personnel des bureaux régionaux. Un bulletin « GNSS Mise à jour » fournit des renseignements techniques et les dernières nouvelles sur les GPS. Le premier volume, publié en avril 1993, contenait une mise en garde claire contre l'utilisation des récepteurs non homologués pour les IFR. Dans chaque région, une personne-ressource du SNPO coordonne les communications avec les utilisateurs locaux.

Les GPS IFR approuvés sont classés comme des moyens supplémentaires (par opposition à un unique moyen). L'utilisation d'un moyen supplémentaire impose certaines limitations. Premièrement, l'équipage doit toujours avoir à sa disposition, et dans certains cas doit toujours surveiller, une aide à la navigation classique (c.-à-d. VOR [radiophare omnidirectionnel VHF] ou NDB [radiophare non directionnel]). On peut utiliser un GPS pour assurer la navigation de l'aéronef, mais parce que les probabilités de perte de service ou de transmission d'informations erronées sont plus élevées que ce qui est autorisé par les normes de l'aviation, on doit utiliser une aide à la navigation répondant aux normes comme système auxiliaire.  Cette mesure permet à l'industrie de bénéficier plus tôt des avantages de la technologie GPS et d'acquérir de l'expérience sur le plan opérationnel. Deuxièmement, le récepteur utilisé doit être conforme aux normes de certification du TSO C129 (Technical Standard Order – certificat de conformité) et aux exigences d'installation. On obtient ainsi une performance acceptable du récepteur, une interface utilisateur, la compatibilité avec les autres systèmes, etc.

TCA a également déployé des activités dans la préparation des normes. En 1992, TCA a commencé à travailler avec la Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) des États-Unis, pour explorer le potentiel des GPS et établir des normes et des procédures pour faire en sorte que cette technologie soit exploitée de façon sûre. Le TSO C129 pour les récepteurs a été préparé aux États-Unis en 1992 et a été adopté par le Canada.

Les essais effectués par TCA et la FAA ont prouvé que les récepteurs conformes au TSO C129 pourraient être utilisés pour les vols IFR en route ainsi que pour les approches de non-précision. Ces résultats ont mené à la première autorisation d'utiliser des GPS avec les IFR, en juin 1993 aux États-Unis et en juillet 1993 au Canada. L'approbation de TCA (révisée en février 1995) est précisée dans un avis aéronautique spécial transmis à tous les pilotes canadiens. L'avis mentionne la réunion sur le TSO C129. En août  1993, TCA a publié une circulaire d'information pour les transporteurs aériens, encourageant tous les exploitants canadiens à utiliser un système GPS, avec des conseils pour les aider à obtenir l'approbation. Au cours de cette période, la direction de la Navigabilité aérienne de TCA a préparé des normes d'installation de récepteur. Une circulaire d'information aéronautique (AIC), publiée le 21 juillet 1994, a modifié l'Ordonnance sur les instruments et l'équipement de vol IFR (ONA) V, N 22  pour permettre le remplacement d'un récepteur VOR ou ADF [radiogoniomètre automatique] par un système GPS homologué. TCA a désigné 149 approches de non-précision avec GPS qui recouvrent des approches VOR et NDB. Les pilotes doivent surveiller l'aide traditionnelle au cours de ces approches pour des raisons de sécurité, tout en se familiarisant avec le GPS. Il n'existe pas d'approche de recouvrement à Sandy Lake. Tous les documents de TCA précisent que les récepteurs TSO C129 doivent être utilisés pour les vols IFR.

TCA travaille actuellement avec la FAA pour préparer des améliorations aux GPS, afin qu'il puisse être utilisé comme moyen unique de navigation et d'approche de précision. TCA veillera à ce que ces nouveaux systèmes soient sûrs, grâce à des essais, à des études et à la participation à l'établissement des normes.

En résumé, TCA est d'accord avec les recommandations, continuera à accélérer l'établissement des normes et à promouvoir l'utilisation sûre des systèmes GPS. En particulier, un avis aéronautique et un article dans la publication Sécurité aérienne – Nouvelles seront publiés à la prochaine occasion pour souligner les dangers d'une mauvaise utilisation de la technologie GPS.

Évaluation du Bureau de la réponse à la recommandation A95-07 (juillet 1995)

Transports Canada (TC) est d'accord avec les recommandations, et décrit les nombreuses activités existantes et prévues pour accélérer la mise en œuvre des normes GPS approuvées, et sensibiliser l'industrie de l'aviation aux limites opérationnelles et à l'utilisation en toute sécurité de GPS. Ces travaux comprennent un Avis aux navigants et un article sur les GPS dans la publication Sécurité aérienne — Nouvelles, qui est transmise à tous les pilotes brevetés au Canada et dont l'efficacité en matière de sécurité est bien établie.

Les efforts déployés par TC devraient corriger les lacunes ciblées.

En conséquence, on estime que la réponse à la recommandation A95­07 dénote une intention satisfaisante.

Évaluation du Bureau de la réponse à la recommandation A95-07 (novembre 1997)

Le bureau de la navigation par satellite de NAV CANADA collabore avec la Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) pour mettre en place une méthode progressive qui permettra l'utilisation des GPS dans toutes les phases de vol au Canada.

Par conséquent, la cote d'évaluation de la réponse à la recommandation A95-07 démontre toujours une intention satisfaisante.

Évaluation par le Bureau de l'état du dossier de lacune A95-07 (avril 2014)

Le Bureau a demandé que la recommandation A95-07 soit examinée pour déterminer si l'état du dossier de lacune était approprié. Après une évaluation initiale, il a été décidé que la lacune de sécurité soulevée dans la recommandation A95-07 devait être réévaluée.

Une demande de renseignements supplémentaires a été transmise à Transports Canada (TC), dont la réponse donnera lieu à une réévaluation du dossier.

Par conséquent, le Bureau estime que la réponse à la recommandation A95-07 démontre toujours une intention satisfaisante.

Ainsi, le dossier de la recommandation A95-07 devient actif.

Réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation A95-07 (juillet 2015)

Transports Canada a traité cette question dans le Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) 803.02/TP 308 et a publié des critères qui permettent l'utilisation de systèmes mondiaux de navigation par satellite (GNSS) (GPS [système de positionnement mondial] dans le présent cas). Au Canada, il existe aujourd'hui de nombreuses procédures de vol au GNSS ainsi que des récepteurs GNSS approuvés pour les vols aux instruments (IFR).

Réévaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à la recommandation A95-07 (mars 2016)

Les modifications aux règlements mentionnées dans la réponse de juillet 2015 de Transports Canada permettent maintenant l'utilisation de systèmes mondiaux de navigation par satellite dans toutes les phases de vol au Canada.

Ces modifications devraient considérablement réduire et même éliminer la lacune de sécurité soulevée par le BST dans la recommandation A95-07.

Par conséquent, la réponse à la recommandation A95-07 est entièrement satisfaisante, et aucune mesure supplémentaire n'est nécessaire.

Le présent dossier est classé fermé.