Recommendation A95-06

Reassessment of the response to Aviation Safety Recommendation A95-06

Pre-landing briefings

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Background

In February 1995, the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) made six aviation safety recommendations in its Safety Study of Evacuations of Large Passenger-Carrying Aircraft. This study examined the Canadian experience with the evacuation of passengers from large aircraft and identified safety deficiencies associated with communications during evacuations, exit operation, passenger preparedness for evacuations, and the presence of fire, smoke, and toxic fumes.

The safety study analyzed the results of investigations into 21 occurrences between 1978 and 1991. These occurrences involved 2444 persons and resulted in 91 fatalities and 78 serious injuries, of which 36 fatalities and 8 serious injuries occurred during the evacuation process.

The Board concluded its Safety Study and released the Safety Study of Evacuations of Large Passenger-Carrying Aircraft SA 9501 on 22 February 1995.

Board Recommendation A95-06 (February 1995)

Passengers' lack of preparedness to act appropriately during an evacuation was evident in several occurrences. There were two occurrences in which passengers might not have perceived the danger they were in and therefore reacted in an inappropriate manner.

Currently, Canadian air carriers routinely make pre-landing announcements requesting that passengers return to their seats, fasten seat-belts, place seatbacks and table trays in the upright and locked position, and stow carry-on-baggage in preparation for landing.

In April 1994, a proposed amendment to ANO Series VII, Nos. 2, 3 & 6, regarding bilingual safety briefings was published in the Canada Gazette. The proposed amendment stated that “An air carrier shall ensure that all passengers on board an aeroplane are provided with a standard safety briefing, ... prior to each landing.” The proposed standard safety briefing required prior to each landing would have included the basic pre-landing announcement currently made by Canadian air carriers with one addition: “on flights of two hours duration or more, the location of emergency exits and exit location signs” was to be included. Passengers would not, however, be advised to review the safety features card.

The Board has since been advised that Transport Canada has abandoned its original proposal and will now require pre-landing briefings only on flights in excess of four hours.

Over the years, various organizations and cabin safety specialists have advocated pre-landing safety briefings as an effective means of enhancing passenger preparedness and, ultimately, passenger performance during an evacuation. There is a general consensus that passengers should be reminded to relocate their primary and alternative exits, review the safety card, and, when appropriate, be advised of an overwater approach.

While the Board agrees with Transport Canada's recent initiative to require a standard safety briefing prior to landing on certain flights, there is concern that safety information found only on the safety features card, such as exit operation, recommended brace positions, floor proximity emergency path lighting, use of the escape slides, and life jacket location and donning instructions, will not be reinforced prior to landing.

Since most emergency evacuations are unplanned and occur during the landing phase, the Board recommends that:

The Department of Transport encourage carriers to include sufficient detail in their pre landing briefings to prepare passengers for an unplanned emergency evacuation.
TSB Recommendation A95-06

Transport Canada's response to Recommendation A95-06 (May 1995)

Transport Canada agrees with the concept of providing passengers with safety information that would assist them in the event of an emergency requiring an evacuation. In fact, Canada will be a world leader in requiring the safety briefing prior to landing to include the location of emergency exits on flights of four hours duration or more.

The issue of prior to landing briefings has been thoroughly reviewed and was discussed extensively during the Canadian Aviation Regulation Advisory Council (CARAC) process. During this review it was felt that some safety information needed to be reinforced on long flights, however there was insufficient data to support a requirement to provide passengers with information relative to an unplanned emergency evacuation prior to every landing.

Board assessment of the response to Recommendation A95-06 (June 1995)

In light of Transport Canada (TC)'s response “... there was insufficient data to support a requirement to provide passengers with information relative to an unplanned emergency evacuation prior to every landing...”, it appears that they may have misunderstood the intent of Recommendation A95-06.

The Board was not recommending that a pre-landing safety briefing be required prior to every landing. Rather, the Board was recommending that air carriers be encouraged to include “sufficient detail” in the routine pre-landing briefing so as to prepare passengers for an unplanned emergency evacuation. “Sufficient detail” is left to the discretion of the carriers and could range from a simple reminder to review the safety features card on short flights to a complete safety demonstration on long flights.

Following a discussion with TC personnel to clarify this point, staff were advised that when guidance material for the proposed CARs is developed, air carriers could be encouraged to include “sufficient detail” in their pre-landing briefing.

Based on TC's initiative to move towards safety briefings on flights of more than four hours, and on the follow-up staff discussion, the response to Recommendation A95-06 is assessed as Satisfactory Intent.

Board reassessment of the response to Recommendation A95-06 (November 1996)

After clarification, air carriers will be encouraged to use “sufficient detail” in safety briefings and TC has moved towards safety briefings on flights of more than 4 hours. Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs) 705.43 and 725.43 (1) (e) apply. On flights of four hours or more the location of emergency exits must be included.

The Board concludes that there is insufficient detail in safety briefings prior to landing.

Therefore, the response to Recommendation A95-06 is assessed as Satisfactory in Part.

Board reassessment of the response to Recommendation A95-06 (November 1997)

Reference CARs 705.43 and 725.43 (1) (e) - flights of four hours or more the location of emergency exits must be included.

There is no reference to the safety features card, which includes exit operation, brace positions, emergency lighting, slides, etc.

Therefore, the response to Recommendation A95-06 is assessed as Satisfactory in Part.

Board reassessment of the response to Recommendation A95-06 (April 1999)

There has been no change since the 1997 reassessment.

Therefore, the assessment of Recommendation A95-06 remains Satisfactory in Part.

Board reassessment of the response to Recommendation A95-06 (February 2004)

As indicated in the 1999 reassessment, CARs 725.43 addresses the original safety deficiency for the most part, however, some aspects of the deficiency, i.e. adequacy of briefing content, has not been actioned.

Therefore, the assessment of Recommendation A95-06 remains Satisfactory in Part.

As such, “Further Action is Unwarranted” with respect to Recommendation A95-06 and the status is changed to Inactive.

Board review of Recommendation A95-06 deficiency file status (April 2014)

The Board requested that Recommendation A95-06 be reviewed to determine if the deficiency file status was appropriate. After an initial evaluation, it was determined that the safety deficiency addressed by Recommendations A95-06 needed to be reassessed.

A request for further information was sent to Transport Canada and a reassessment will be conducted upon receipt of Transport Canada's response.

Therefore, the assessment remains Satisfactory in Part.

Consequently, the status of Recommendation A95-06 is changed to Active.

Transport Canada's response to Recommendation A95-06 (July 2015)

Transport Canada Civil Aviation (TCCA) agrees with the spirit of the recommendation.

As previously noted, the issue of pre-landing safety briefings was thoroughly reviewed and discussed extensively during the Canadian Aviation Regulation Advisory Council (CARAC) process.

Subparagraph 725.43(1) (d) (iii) requires that, prior to landing on flights scheduled for four hours or more, passengers be advised of the location of emergency exits.

Although no additional regulatory changes regarding the content of the pre-landing briefing have been made, air operators have received a reminder of their responsibilities regarding passenger safety briefings, along with a recommendation that passenger safety briefings include clear direction to leave all carry-on baggage behind during an evacuation. This guidance is available in Advisory Circular 700-012 – Passenger Safety Briefings.

Transport Canada will continue to monitor, and suggests closing this item.

Board reassessment of the response to Recommendation A95-06 (March 2016)

Transport Canada has taken the following actions to address this recommendation: the requirement to provide passengers with a safety briefing on flights in excess of four hours, which includes the location of emergency exits, was included in section 725.43 of the Commercial Air Service Standards. As well, an Advisory Circular was published, which encourages air operators to include information in their pre-landing briefing, reminding passengers to leave their personal belongings behind in the case of an evacuation.

These actions will substantially reduce the safety deficiency identified in Recommendation A95-06, and therefore, the Board re-assesses TC's response to the recommendation as being Fully Satisfactory.

Next TSB action

This deficiency file is Closed.

Recommandation A95-06

Réévaluation des réponses à la recommandation en matière de sécurité aérienne A95-06

Consignes avant l’atterrissage

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Contexte

En février 1995, le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a formulé six recommandations de sécurité aéronautique par suite de son Étude de sécurité portant sur l'évacuation des gros avions de passagers. Cette étude de sécurité portait sur les évacuations de gros avions de passagers survenues au Canada. Elle a fait ressortir les manquements à la sécurité associés à la présence d'incendies, de fumée et de gaz toxiques, aux communications pendant les évacuations, au fonctionnement des issues de secours et à la préparation des passagers en matière d'évacuation.

L'étude de sécurité a analysé les résultats d'enquêtes sur 21 événements survenus entre 1978 et 1991. Les avions en cause transportaient 2444 personnes. De ce nombre, 91 ont perdu la vie. Il y a aussi eu 78 personnes grièvement blessées, dont 36 ont succombé à leurs blessures et 8 ont été blessées au cours du processus d'évacuation.

Le Bureau a conclu et publié son Étude de sécurité aéronautique SA9501, intitulée Étude de sécurité portant sur l'évacuation des gros avions de passagers, le 22 février 1995.

Recommandation A95-06 du Bureau (février 1995)

Le manque de préparation des passagers en matière d'évacuation était évident dans plusieurs cas. Dans deux cas, il est possible que les passagers n'aient pas perçu le danger qui les guettait et qu'ils aient mal réagi.

Actuellement, les transporteurs aériens canadiens ont l'habitude de précéder leur arrivée d'annonces demandant aux passagers de retourner à leur place, de boucler leur ceinture, de redresser et de verrouiller le dossier et la tablette de leur siège et de ranger leurs bagages à main en vue de l'atterrissage.

En avril 1994, un projet d'amendement de l'Ordonnance sur la navigation aérienne, série VII, numéros 2, 3 et 6, à propos des consignes de sécurité bilingues a été publié dans la Gazette du Canada. L'amendement proposé stipulait ce qui suit : « le transporteur aérien doit s'assurer qu'est donné à tous les passagers à bord d'un avion un exposé général sur les mesures de sécurité (...) avant l'atterrissage. » L'exposé général sur les mesures de sécurité devant être donné avant l'atterrissage aurait compris l'annonce avant l'atterrissage que les transporteurs aériens canadiens donnent actuellement, en plus de mentionner les emplacements des issues de secours et des consignes lumineuses correspondantes, dans le cas des vols de deux heures ou plus. On n'aurait toutefois pas demandé au passager de relire la carte de consignes de sécurité.

Le Bureau a appris que Transports Canada avait renoncé à ce projet d'amendement et exige maintenant que les exposés de sécurité avant l'atterrissage soient donnés uniquement dans le cas des vols de quatre heures ou plus.

Depuis bon nombre d'années, des organismes et des spécialistes en sécurité des cabines préconisent que les exposés de sécurité qui sont donnés aux passagers avant l'atterrissage constituent un moyen efficace pour aider les passagers à se préparer et à mieux réagir dans le cas d'une évacuation. Ils sont d'avis qu'il faut rappeler aux passagers de repérer leur issue de secours principale et secondaire et de relire la carte de consignes de sécurité; de plus, lorsque l'approche doit se dérouler au-dessus de l'eau, il faut le mentionner aux passagers.

Le Bureau appuie l'initiative récente de Transports Canada voulant qu'un exposé de sécurité soit donné avant l'atterrissage pour certains vols. Le Bureau s'inquiète toutefois du fait que les renseignements de sécurité qui ne se trouvent que sur les cartes de consignes de sécurité ne seront pas répétés avant l'atterrissage, notamment les renseignements concernant le fonctionnement des issues de secours, les positions de protection recommandées, l'éclairage au niveau du plancher, l'utilisation des glissières d'évacuation, l'emplacement des gilets de sauvetage et les instructions pour enfiler ces gilets.

Puisque la plupart des évacuations d'urgence sont imprévues et surviennent pendant l'atterrissage, le Bureau recommande que :

le ministère des Transports encourage les transporteurs aériens à inclure suffisamment de détails dans leurs exposés généraux avant l’atterrissage de façon à préparer les passagers à une évacuation d’urgence.
Recommandation A95-06 du BST

Réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation A95-06 (mai 1995)

Transports Canada est d'accord pour donner aux passagers l'information sur la sécurité qui les aiderait dans le cas d'une évacuation requise par une urgence. En fait, en exigeant que les exposés de sécurité donnés avant l'atterrissage mentionnent l'emplacement des sorties de secours sur les vols d'une durée minimum de quatre heures, le Canada sera un chef de file mondial.

La question concernant les exposés de sécurité donnés avant l'atterrissage a été amplement examinée et débattue par le Comité consultatif sur la réglementation aérienne canadienne (CCRAC). Au cours de cet examen, on a éprouvé le besoin, pour les vols prolongés, de donner davantage de renseignements sur la sécurité. Cependant, les données s'avérèrent insuffisantes pour justifier l'exigence de fournir aux passagers, avant chaque atterrissage, l'information concernant une évacuation d'urgence imprévue.

Évaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à la recommandation A95-06 (juin 1995)

La réponse de Transports Canada (TC), « … les données s'avérèrent insuffisantes pour justifier l'exigence de fournir aux passagers, avant chaque atterrissage, l'information concernant une évacuation d'urgence imprévue… », semble indiquer que le ministère pourrait ne pas avoir bien compris l'intention de la recommandation A95-06.

Le Bureau ne recommandait pas d'exiger un exposé de sécurité avant chaque atterrissage. Le Bureau recommandait plutôt d'encourager les transporteurs aériens à inclure suffisamment de détails dans leurs exposés généraux avant l'atterrissage de façon à préparer les passagers à une évacuation d'urgence. La détermination de ce qui constitue des détails suffisants est laissée à l'appréciation des transporteurs. Ceux-ci ont le choix de simplement rappeler aux passagers de prendre connaissance de la carte de consignes de sécurité sur les vols de courte durée ou de donner une démonstration complète de sécurité lors de vols de longue durée.

Après des échanges avec des représentants de TC afin de clarifier ce point, le personnel a appris que lorsque les documents d'orientation du RAC proposé seront préparés, les transporteurs aériens pourraient être incités à inclure suffisamment de détails dans leurs exposés avant l'atterrissage.

Étant donné l'intention de TC d'exiger des exposés de sécurité lors des vols d'une durée minimale de quatre heures et les discussions de suivi du personnel, le Bureau estime que la réponse à la recommandation A95-06 dénote une intention satisfaisante.

Réévaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à la recommandation A95-06 (novembre 1996)

Après clarification, les transporteurs aériens seront invités à inclure « suffisamment de détails » dans leurs exposés de sécurité que TC rendra obligatoire pour les vols de plus de 4 heures. L'article 705.43 et l'alinéa 725.43 (1) e) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) s'appliquent. Sur les vols de 4 heures ou plus, il faut inclure l'emplacement des issues de secours.

Le Bureau conclut que les exposés de sécurité donnés avant l'atterrissage ne fournissent pas suffisamment de détails.

Par conséquent, le Bureau estime que la réponse à la recommandation A95-06 est en partie satisfaisante.

Réévaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à la recommandation A95-06 (novembre 1997)

L'article 705.43 et l'alinéa 725.43(1)e) du RAC indiquent que, sur les vols de quatre heures ou plus, il faut inclure l'emplacement des issues de secours.

Ils ne mentionnent nulle part la carte de consignes de sécurité, qui présente les issues de secours et leur fonctionnement, les positions de protection, l'éclairage de secours, les glissières d'évacuation, etc.

Par conséquent, le Bureau estime que la réponse à la recommandation A95-06 est en partie satisfaisante.

Réévaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à la recommandation A95-06 (avril 1999)

Il n'y a eu aucun changement depuis la réévaluation de 1997.

Par conséquent, le Bureau estime que la réponse à la recommandation A95-06 demeure en partie satisfaisante.

Réévaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à la recommandation A95-06 (février 2004)

Comme l'indiquait la réévaluation de 1999, l'article 725.43 du RAC remédie à l'essentiel de la lacune de sécurité, mais certains aspects, qui touchent le contenu approprié de l'exposé, n'ont pas été corrigés.

Par conséquent, le Bureau estime que la réponse à la recommandation A95-06 demeure en partie satisfaisante.

Ainsi, aucune autre mesure n'est nécessaire relativement à la recommandation A95-06 et le dossier est maintenant inactif.

Examen par le Bureau de l'état du dossier relatif à la recommandation A95-06 (avril 2014)

Le Bureau a demandé que la recommandation A95-06 soit examinée pour déterminer si l'état du dossier de lacune est approprié. Après une évaluation initiale, il a été décidé que la lacune de sécurité soulevée dans la recommandation A95-06 devait être réévaluée.

Une demande de renseignements supplémentaires a été transmise à Transports Canada, dont la réponse donnera lieu à une réévaluation du dossier.

Par conséquent, le Bureau estime que la réponse à la recommandation A95-06 demeure en partie satisfaisante.

Ainsi, l'état de la recommandation A95-06 devient actif.

Réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation A95-06 (juillet 2015)

Transports Canada, Aviation civile (TCAC) est d'accord avec l'intention de cette recommandation.

Comme on l'a mentionné précédemment, la question des exposés de sécurité donnés avant l'atterrissage a été amplement examinée et débattue par le Comité consultatif sur la réglementation aérienne canadienne (CCRAC).

Selon le sous-alinéa 725.43(1)d) (iii), il faut préciser l'emplacement des issues de secours sur les vols de quatre heures ou plus, et ce, avant l'atterrissage.

Il n'y a eu aucun changement de la réglementation sur les exposés sur les mesures de sécurité à l'intention des passagers avant l'atterrissage. Par contre, on a rappelé aux exploitants aériens leurs responsabilités en ce sens et on leur a recommandé de donner, dans le cadre de ces exposés, des instructions claires prescrivant aux passagers de ne pas emporter leurs bagages à main lors d'une évacuation. Ces recommandations se trouvent dans la Circulaire d'information 700-012 – Exposés sur les mesures de sécurité à l'intention des passagers.

Transports Canada continuera de surveiller la situation, et suggère de fermer le dossier.

Réévaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à la recommandation A95-06 (mars 2016)

Transports Canada a pris les mesures pour se conformer à cette recommandation : il a inclus à l'article 725.43 des Normes de service aérien commercial l'exigence de donner aux passagers des vols de plus de 4 heures un exposé de sécurité mentionnant l'emplacement des sorties de secours. Il a également publié une Circulaire d'information encourageant les exploitants aériens à inclure dans leurs exposés avant l'atterrissage des instructions rappelant aux passagers de ne pas emporter leurs effets personnels lors d'une évacuation.

Ces mesures réduiront de façon importante la lacune de sécurité décrite dans la recommandation A95-06. Le Bureau a donc réévalué la réponse de TC comme étant entièrement satisfaisante.

Suivi exercé par le BST

Le présent dossier est fermé.