Safety Issues Investigation into
 Fishing Safety in Canada

Summary

Since 1992, the Transportation Safety Board (TSB) has made 42 recommendations concerning fishing safety, and despite efforts by the fishing community, many of the causes of fishing accidents today are the same as those identified by the TSB two decades ago. From 1999 to 2008, more than 13 people on average had died in fishing accidents each year.

In 2009, the TSB began a broad safety issues investigation into accidents involving commercial fishing vessels in Canada. Investigators consulted over 300 fishermen, industry representatives and government agencies across the country. The TSB also reviewed its own research, as well as that of other institutions in Canada and abroad.

The study identified 10 key issues:

  • Stability
  • Fisheries resource management
  • Lifesaving appliances
  • The regulatory approach
  • Training
  • Safety information
  • The cost of safety
  • Fatigue
  • Fishing industry statistics
  • Safe work practices

The investigation reveals the complex relationships and interdependencies among issues. Real and lasting improvement in fishing safety can come only from acknowledging the interaction among safety issues and from addressing the issues in a coordinated way rather than on an issue-by-issue basis, as has been done until now.



Report

Safety Issues Investigation into Fishing Safety in Canada
(M09Z0001)



Video


TSB Safety Issues Investigation: Fishing Safety

Watch Investigator-in-Charge Glenn Budden as he explains the main points of the investigation.

Read the transcript of the video



Safety booklet


 

The booklet Fishing Safety - Working Together summarizes the 10 fishing safety issues highlighted in the Safety Issues Investigation into Fishing Safety in Canada. It is freely available for printing and redistribution.

Read the booklet in HTML (text only)

Download the booklet in PDF, save or print it



Media


 

28 June 2012—Transportation Safety Board targets 10 areas to improve fishing safety

Read the news release

Enquête sur les questions de sécurité
 relatives à l'industrie de la pêche au Canada

Résumé

Depuis 1992, le Bureau de la sécurité des transports (BST) a émis 42 recommandations sur la sécurité dans l'industrie de la pêche, et malgré les efforts du milieu de la pêche, les causes des accidents de pêche aujourd'hui sont souvent les mêmes que celles relevées par le BST il y a vingt ans. De 1999 à 2008, 13 personnes en moyenne ont perdu la vie chaque année dans des accidents de pêche.

En 2009, le BST a entrepris une vaste enquête sur les questions de sécurité relatives aux accidents mettant en cause des bateaux de pêche commerciale au Canada. Les enquêteurs ont consulté plus de 300 pêcheurs, représentants de l'industrie et organismes gouvernementaux de partout au pays. Le BST a également analysé ses propres données et celles d'autres institutions canadiennes et étrangères.

L'étude relève 10 questions clé :

  • Stabilité
  • Gestion des ressources halieutiques
  • Engins de sauvetage
  • Approche de réglementation de la sécurité
  • Formation
  • Information sur la sécurité
  • Coût de la sécurité
  • Fatigue
  • Statistiques de l'industrie de la pêche
  • Pratiques de travail sécuritaires

La présente enquête du BST montre combien ces relations entre les questions de sécurité sont complexes et interdépendantes. Il ne pourra y avoir une amélioration réelle et durable de la sécurité dans l'industrie de la pêche que si les parties intéressées reconnaissent ces interactions entre les questions de sécurité et prennent des mesures coordonnées pour corriger ces questions, plutôt que de procéder au cas par cas, comme on l'a fait jusqu'ici.


Rapport

Enquête sur les questions de sécurité relatives à l'industrie de la pêche au Canada
(M09Z0001)


Vidéo


Enquête sur les questions de sécurité du BST : Sécurité de la pêche

L'enquêteur désigné Guy Bussières explique les grandes lignes de l'enquête.

Lire la transcription de la vidéo


Livret de sécurité

Le livret Sécurité de la pêche – travaillons ensemble résume les 10 questions de sécurité liées à la pêche qui sont discutées dans l'Enquête sur les questions de sécurité relatives à l'industrie de la pêche au Canada. Il peut être imprimé et distribué gratuitement.

Lire le livret en HTML (texte seulement)

Télécharger le livret en PDF, le sauvegarder ou l'imprimer



Médias

28 juin 2012 – Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports cible 10 enjeux pour améliorer la sécurité dans l'industrie de la pêche

Lire le communiqué